Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 30, 2009
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
24
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gagaforeverSep 20, 2010
One of my favorite movies ever. The movie really shows the revenge and sick mindedness that some people posess and the climax was the part that revealed how much a girl can alter and change the lif of everyone in the family. A definite must see
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LindsayH.Feb 1, 2009
You think you know exactly what's going to happen but a twist in the story proves you oh-so wrong. I wasn't bored of this movie for a minute- it keeps you on your toes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamM.Jun 14, 2009
Genuinely enjoyable film even when you guess whoo dunit. i was still impressed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatSFeb 5, 2009
I didn't see the end coming *at all*. The whole movie creeped me out for days afterwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshuaMar 9, 2009
Ok, this one was a stand alone winner as far as twisted endings come. So well put together, that the ending was completely unforseen. It's one that gives no keys to the puzzle until the last couple minutes, and then BANG, there's Ok, this one was a stand alone winner as far as twisted endings come. So well put together, that the ending was completely unforseen. It's one that gives no keys to the puzzle until the last couple minutes, and then BANG, there's the picture. I definitely want to see it again... great flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kylefJan 30, 2009
Surprising good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jan 30, 2009
Alt-rock sweetheart Juliana Hatfield had a cool sister. You may remember the elder Hatfield; she's the one who would have taken Juliana to her first all-ages show. The Del-Fuegoes were playing. It's this same sisterly camaraderie Alt-rock sweetheart Juliana Hatfield had a cool sister. You may remember the elder Hatfield; she's the one who would have taken Juliana to her first all-ages show. The Del-Fuegoes were playing. It's this same sisterly camaraderie which drove The Juliana Hatfield 3's near-hit "My Sister" out of alternative rock provincialism that also frees "The Uninvited" from the PG-13 horror film ghetto. Just back home after a stint in the mental ward, Anna's sister lightens the mood with remarks like "better food, crazier people" and "while you were searching for your inner-psycho;" remarks that only a sister could make. While Anna and her sister uncover the truth about their mother's death, "The Uninvited" imbues the girls' sleuthing with an appealing lightness that conveys a shared history together; a life before their mother's home-care provider(Elizabeth Banks) tore the family apart. In one scene, while they sit in the tub, we can picture their younger selves, just like old times, in cahoots; we sense their intimacy, as they plot their next move against the evil girlfriend. Even though the stakes are raised, the Nancy Drew twins can still muster up a smile if there's occasion to, like when they find Rachael's vibrator. Such a display of teen spirit is more important than all the undead children you can cram under a stove. In recent horror films such as "The Haunting of Molly Hartley" and "The Unborn", there's not a recognizable human being among them to be found. Alex(Arielle Kebbel) and especially Anna(Emily Browning), never feel like stock characters. It's the reason why this fatigued story has some giddy-up in its rote telling. Anna has Seoul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TDKinDallasFeb 8, 2009
If you don't see it in the theater then make sure you catch it on dvd. Pretty cool flick that makes you think you know what is going on and you want to yell at the characters for doing the stupidest things and then at the end your like, If you don't see it in the theater then make sure you catch it on dvd. Pretty cool flick that makes you think you know what is going on and you want to yell at the characters for doing the stupidest things and then at the end your like, ohhhh....that's what was going on! The only problem is that now I need to re-watch it so that I can see if the story holds water when you know what's going on........and I will be waiting for dvd to do that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Aug 25, 2009
bunch of 'scary' movie cliches strung together, and hence not frightening at all... but as a movie it was fantastic! great acting by the australian girl from 'the series of unfortunate events', and a surprising (at least bunch of 'scary' movie cliches strung together, and hence not frightening at all... but as a movie it was fantastic! great acting by the australian girl from 'the series of unfortunate events', and a surprising (at least to me it was...) twist at the end. very underrated movie, with scores from the stupid 'professional' movie critics that are much lower than it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonB.Jan 31, 2009
The first genuinely creepy at times movie ive seen in a long time. its somewhat predictable but is very interesting throughout. MUUUUCH better than The Unborn which bored me to tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
shlugalugSep 21, 2010
What is it about this film that I really liked? Was it Emily Browning, whose portrayal was focused and memorizing playing a girl who has been released out of a mental hospital as she was traumatized by the death of her mother? Was itWhat is it about this film that I really liked? Was it Emily Browning, whose portrayal was focused and memorizing playing a girl who has been released out of a mental hospital as she was traumatized by the death of her mother? Was it Elizabeth Banks, who played the stepmother that surprisingly charms and seduces the screen? Was it Christopher Young, who compose a score so beautifully for a horror movie? It certainly wasn't the rubbish special effects and child actors. But The Uninvited leaves you satisfied and never goes blatantly over the top. Some have said the ending was predictable, I didn't feel that at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
danielb1982May 1, 2014
I am so glad I purchased this film.

The Uninvited made me jump a few times, and totally didn't see the twist at the end coming, I hadn't read about the twist beforehand, and am glad I didn't. The two girls looked great in this film,
I am so glad I purchased this film.

The Uninvited made me jump a few times, and totally didn't see the twist at the end coming, I hadn't read about the twist beforehand, and am glad I didn't.

The two girls looked great in this film, especially Arielle.

I watched it a second time with my mum and her partner, and knowing how the story progressed while the other two were trying to work it all out, made me appreciate it more.

Definitely one of the best horror films I've seen, although not the scariest.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedJan 9, 2013
"The Uninvited" is a really amazingly great horror-thriller, this is what I call dramatically disturbingly scary movie, every second is enjoyable, from the beginning tell the end, perfect!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanilFeb 14, 2016
Remarkable flick! Most horror movies can only grab your attention for the first 30 minutes or so and then they wear off and become predictable. Here they managed to work horror scenes into thriller perfectly. And that plot twist...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Umbra7Jan 10, 2016
Absolutely loved this movie. The plot is fairly predictable at times, yes, but unless you've got a stick up your ass - which most people seem to these days - the plot twist at the end of the movie makes it worthwhile. I'd love to watchAbsolutely loved this movie. The plot is fairly predictable at times, yes, but unless you've got a stick up your ass - which most people seem to these days - the plot twist at the end of the movie makes it worthwhile. I'd love to watch something similar in the near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 1, 2016
This is a great film with a big twist! You just don't expect the ending at all! Great watch.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-695-The-Uninvited-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews