The Uninvited

The Uninvited Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the suspense thriller The Uninvited, based on the 2003 Korean motion picture "Changhwa, Hongryon" written and directed by Kim Jee-woon, Anna returns home after spending time in a psychiatric facility following her mother's tragic death and discovers that her mother's former nurse,In the suspense thriller The Uninvited, based on the 2003 Korean motion picture "Changhwa, Hongryon" written and directed by Kim Jee-woon, Anna returns home after spending time in a psychiatric facility following her mother's tragic death and discovers that her mother's former nurse, Rachel, has moved into their house and become engaged to her father, Steven. Soon after she learns this shocking news, Anna is visited by her mother's ghost, who warns her that Rachel has evil intentions. Together, Anna and her sister must convince their father that his new fiancee is not who she pretends to be, and what should have been a happy family reunion becomes a lethal battle of wills between stepdaughters and stepmother. (Paramount) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. 75
    The Uninvited is a flawed production, but gratifying in the way it delivers. The interesting and unique elements of the movie effectively compensate for the formulaic way in which the plot develops.
  2. 70
    A remake of the 2003 Korean horror film "A Tale of Two Sisters," The Uninvited is a Hand That Rocks the Cradle–type thriller that's been dressed up as a horror movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    Don't be too quick to turn down The Uninvited. A stylish horror thriller in the vein of "The Ring," it's well-acted, frightening and handsomely produced
  4. 50
    The horror flick The Uninvited is not unclever - but it is unoriginal.
  5. The plot borrows as freely from Hitchcock and Henry James as from the Bard of Avon, and doesn't make scrupulous sense, though I'd have to see the film again, which I won't do, to make sure it doesn't cheat.
  6. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Poor remake of the Korean thriller.
  7. Horror standbys like mangled corpses and stone-faced children pop up regularly, but sibling directors Charles and Thomas Guard haven't quite nailed the genre's rhythms.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    Remarkable flick! Most horror movies can only grab your attention for the first 30 minutes or so and then they wear off and becomeRemarkable flick! Most horror movies can only grab your attention for the first 30 minutes or so and then they wear off and become predictable. Here they managed to work horror scenes into thriller perfectly. And that plot twist... Expand
  2. MikeH.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    bunch of 'scary' movie cliches strung together, and hence not frightening at all... but as a movie it was fantastic! great acting bunch of 'scary' movie cliches strung together, and hence not frightening at all... but as a movie it was fantastic! great acting by the australian girl from 'the series of unfortunate events', and a surprising (at least to me it was...) twist at the end. very underrated movie, with scores from the stupid 'professional' movie critics that are much lower than it deserves. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2016
    9
    This is a great film with a big twist! You just don't expect the ending at all! Great watch.

    Watch it online for free:
    This is a great film with a big twist! You just don't expect the ending at all! Great watch.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-695-The-Uninvited-online-free
    Expand
  4. ChadS.
    Jan 30, 2009
    7
    Alt-rock sweetheart Juliana Hatfield had a cool sister. You may remember the elder Hatfield; she's the one who would have taken Juliana Alt-rock sweetheart Juliana Hatfield had a cool sister. You may remember the elder Hatfield; she's the one who would have taken Juliana to her first all-ages show. The Del-Fuegoes were playing. It's this same sisterly camaraderie which drove The Juliana Hatfield 3's near-hit "My Sister" out of alternative rock provincialism that also frees "The Uninvited" from the PG-13 horror film ghetto. Just back home after a stint in the mental ward, Anna's sister lightens the mood with remarks like "better food, crazier people" and "while you were searching for your inner-psycho;" remarks that only a sister could make. While Anna and her sister uncover the truth about their mother's death, "The Uninvited" imbues the girls' sleuthing with an appealing lightness that conveys a shared history together; a life before their mother's home-care provider(Elizabeth Banks) tore the family apart. In one scene, while they sit in the tub, we can picture their younger selves, just like old times, in cahoots; we sense their intimacy, as they plot their next move against the evil girlfriend. Even though the stakes are raised, the Nancy Drew twins can still muster up a smile if there's occasion to, like when they find Rachael's vibrator. Such a display of teen spirit is more important than all the undead children you can cram under a stove. In recent horror films such as "The Haunting of Molly Hartley" and "The Unborn", there's not a recognizable human being among them to be found. Alex(Arielle Kebbel) and especially Anna(Emily Browning), never feel like stock characters. It's the reason why this fatigued story has some giddy-up in its rote telling. Anna has Seoul. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2015
    5
    This is the remake of my favorite Asian horror film, A Tale of Two Sisters, so I think I set my sights high for this movie. I've gotta sayThis is the remake of my favorite Asian horror film, A Tale of Two Sisters, so I think I set my sights high for this movie. I've gotta say that I'm a little disappointed. The movie is about this girl that comes home from a mental hospital, her dad gets a new psycho girlfriend after his wife dies, and there's a ghost in the house. The supernatural parts of this were shoehorned in just to make it more appealing to American audiences, and the scares were mostly generic PG-13 jump scares with bad CGI ghost children. In the original movie, there was a ghost in the house, but it wasn't the main focus of the movie. Back to the crazy girlfriend, her story is what makes this movie interesting. There are a few good twists in the movie regarding her, and I wish that the entire movie was about the girlfriend rather than some random, unexplained ghost in the house because the movie's most intense scenes involved her. There's also this twist at the end that's really good if you haven't seen A Tale of Two Sisters. The Uninvited has a decently interesting story and a good ending, but it's mostly boring and not very scary. Expand
  6. EnzoP.
    Jul 15, 2009
    5
    Overall the movie was pretty fun to watch it kept me entertained throughout the whole movie. The ending I didn't like to much, I was Overall the movie was pretty fun to watch it kept me entertained throughout the whole movie. The ending I didn't like to much, I was expecting a better ending. So that backfired a lot for my rating. It was just way to much of a twist ending. Expand
  7. NickO
    May 23, 2009
    0
    I kinda... well... hated the ending sooo good till the end...(i realy wanted the older sister to live) i just preaty much hated the end i I kinda... well... hated the ending sooo good till the end...(i realy wanted the older sister to live) i just preaty much hated the end i mean you cant make that stuff up in your head. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.