The United States of Leland

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LarryJ
    Sep 30, 2005
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] Professional critics, for the most part, missed the point of this movie. Why did Leland do it? In the first part of the movie we are led to think that there might have been a motivation akin to what we might find in Camus' "The Stranger": I just wanted to see what it'd feel like. However, as the movie progresses, and we are given more insight into Leland's[***SPOILERS***] Professional critics, for the most part, missed the point of this movie. Why did Leland do it? In the first part of the movie we are led to think that there might have been a motivation akin to what we might find in Camus' "The Stranger": I just wanted to see what it'd feel like. However, as the movie progresses, and we are given more insight into Leland's psyche, we discover that he is deeply troubled. His perceptions of the world as full to the brim of profound sadness reveal his inadequate grasp of reality. His comiseration with some of the afflicted is what leads him to do it. Leland's killing is a mercy killing. He took himself to be helping, not hurting. When Leland perceives the kid eyeing a woman, Leland knows that the desire will go forever unsatisfied. When Leland sees the kid trying to ride through the tree, he sees that though the kid may want to progress, there are obstacles that will never allow it. Leland commits a mercy killing. Has he done something wrong? Of course. Does he deserve our pity? Yes. Have any critics who panned this movie understood it's subtle take on the complexity of desire and motivation? No! Expand
  2. BrittanyF.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    This is the most amazing movie i have ever seen. It made me think so much, and has changed how i look at life. Matthew Hoge is an amazing writer and this movie was an amazing idea. Everyone that is giving it bad reviews must either not be open to new views on things or is an idiot.
  3. StaceyG.
    Dec 22, 2004
    9
    Amazing and brutaly honust.
  4. AndrewD.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutly fantastic film....will make you think
  5. LindseyL.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This movie was awesome! A lot of deep thoughts and interesting views. If you like donnie darko you'll like this movie.. except it's easier to follow.
  6. elizabethm
    Aug 18, 2005
    8
    This was a great movie! Yeah a little confusing, but still really great. And so was Ryan Gosling in this movie. USL was also a learning experience!
  7. IsaacF.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    The world is pretty inhuman, Doctor.
  8. KuoT.
    Jun 23, 2005
    8
    The United States of Leland is, at the very least, full of talented actors that made their characters come to life, especially Leland. Other characters, even with brief parts, are well-developed. The movie raised many questions but did not provide answers for them. It does get you think about life in a different way. There are some memorable scenes in the movie that I can definite replay The United States of Leland is, at the very least, full of talented actors that made their characters come to life, especially Leland. Other characters, even with brief parts, are well-developed. The movie raised many questions but did not provide answers for them. It does get you think about life in a different way. There are some memorable scenes in the movie that I can definite replay again and again. Expand
  9. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Ryan Gosling is drawn to flawed characters; Believer, Fracture, the Slaughter Rule, Lars and the Real Girl, Stay, all these movies portray a flawed character but one that the audience can sympathize with U.S. of Leland is no different a very thought provoking movie, with quality acting, and an excellent original soundtrack by Jeremy Enigk of Sunny Day Real Estate. Outside of the story andRyan Gosling is drawn to flawed characters; Believer, Fracture, the Slaughter Rule, Lars and the Real Girl, Stay, all these movies portray a flawed character but one that the audience can sympathize with U.S. of Leland is no different a very thought provoking movie, with quality acting, and an excellent original soundtrack by Jeremy Enigk of Sunny Day Real Estate. Outside of the story and acting there are no other exceptional film making characteristics. Expand
  10. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    I saw this movie when it first came out, I thought it was great. So many talented actors, good plot and with just the right amount of drama and suspense. It is a drama, but I was so intrigued to know the reasoning behind Gosling's character Leland's life changing action when it seemed so unbelievably heinous...but the outcome was in a strange way understandable and that made me enjoy thisI saw this movie when it first came out, I thought it was great. So many talented actors, good plot and with just the right amount of drama and suspense. It is a drama, but I was so intrigued to know the reasoning behind Gosling's character Leland's life changing action when it seemed so unbelievably heinous...but the outcome was in a strange way understandable and that made me enjoy this movie so much. Although, I am very disappointed that the writer/director Matthew Ryan Hoge has not put another amazing movie like this one out since. I hope he does because I truly believe this was an extremely underrated piece of work. Wonderful job Matthew R. Hoge!! Expand
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27
  1. 80
    Thoroughly entertaining and will possibly get you thinking about certain choices you've made in your life.
  2. A complex and often compelling melodrama, at times almost verging on soap opera.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    40
    Hoge shows no particular directorial style, bringing a bland, anonymous look to the generic Southern California suburban locations.