New Line Cinema | Release Date: March 11, 2005
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
6
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ElaineA.Jun 18, 2007
A selfless performance by Kevin Costner, showing what a versatile actor he is. Wonderful as the stoned has-been baseball player, really funny, tender and warm. A beautifully understated role. Better than Robert De Niro.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
stevenr.Aug 31, 2005
Unwatchable after 15 minutes. so i gave it another 15. i didn't care at all about these self absorbed spoiled people. and then to find out joan allen was completely wrong about her husband. there are too many good films to watch, Unwatchable after 15 minutes. so i gave it another 15. i didn't care at all about these self absorbed spoiled people. and then to find out joan allen was completely wrong about her husband. there are too many good films to watch, can't waste my time on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KariJan 6, 2006
Strange how all American girls look like Julia Stiles. And the way they scream: "Oh my GAAAAAAEEEEED". Gaaaaaaeeeeed means God, anyone? That´ts the downdise of this and all movies stuffed with this kind of girls. The person who Strange how all American girls look like Julia Stiles. And the way they scream: "Oh my GAAAAAAEEEEED". Gaaaaaaeeeeed means God, anyone? That´ts the downdise of this and all movies stuffed with this kind of girls. The person who discovered Scarlett Johansen dserves an Oscar for just that. The upside is the great, always great Joan Allen, and the joy to see Costner waves away magic bullet-theories and step into a part that Jeff Bridges can do in his sleep. Kevin pulls is of and is hysterical. Not the most original plot, but to watch these two is the movies worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrendaFeb 5, 2006
I loved the interaction between all the characters, but I just couldn't get past the fact that time goes by, life goes on, and this wife does not ever attempt to reach her husband? How unrealistic is that!! He would have had to have I loved the interaction between all the characters, but I just couldn't get past the fact that time goes by, life goes on, and this wife does not ever attempt to reach her husband? How unrealistic is that!! He would have had to have been some creep of a husband to simply abandon his wife and daughters with nary a word FOR YEARS??? I don't believe she would have been married to such a man. Did it not ever occur to her that something might have happened to him? This part of the storyline ruined the credibility for me. Also if Kevin Kostner's character is so great of a person, why is he making a play so early in the dissolution of his neighbors' marriage? What kind of morals does he have? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Oct 23, 2005
I had heard rumors that The Upside of Anger was an excellent film, but I had also seen some bad reviews and my wife generally hates Kevin Costner. I never realized what incredible chemistry Allen and Costner could have onscreen. And Keri I had heard rumors that The Upside of Anger was an excellent film, but I had also seen some bad reviews and my wife generally hates Kevin Costner. I never realized what incredible chemistry Allen and Costner could have onscreen. And Keri Russell is a real cutie. I think the plot and the writing of this film are dangerously close to Movie of the Week caliber, but the acting and the shocking twist at the end make this worth seeing. I also thought there was some depth to the writing: anger is not always appropriate but you can't deny how it changes people permanently. I rented this movie on Pay Per View and am watching it again before my 24 hours are up. If you check out this movie, enjoy the manic frenzy of Joan Allen chewing up this role and giving it an Oscar-worthy effort. And revel in having Kevin Costner back again as the friendly, quirky, observant jokester with a drink in his hand and a witty comeback on his lips. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarylS.Oct 24, 2005
Finally, a woman who can give THE LOOK like my mother gives THE LOOK. Joan Allen and Kevin Costner are fabulous beyond words, as many others have said before me. Nothing was overstated, which is possibly why some people didn't like it. Finally, a woman who can give THE LOOK like my mother gives THE LOOK. Joan Allen and Kevin Costner are fabulous beyond words, as many others have said before me. Nothing was overstated, which is possibly why some people didn't like it. After all, many movies catering for the lesser kind of American audiences use neon-sign-like devices to let the viewer know wha's going on. Not so here. It's not a formula piece, and that's a good thing. Sure, there are loose ends, and the whole 'missing husband' thing is just not right (or maybe I need to watch it again, to see how she is absolutely convinced he's gone off to Sweden). And yes, the leap from Shep-slapping to wedding-dancing is a bit of a stretch. But for some reason, it left me wanting to know more. And wanting to see a movie again is, for me, a sign that it has worked for me. Sure it might be a whole lot less than perfect. But what the hell? I'm still thinking about it three days on. Besides, I haven't laughed so hard since the 'gunshot in the car' scene in Pulp Fiction. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ShannonP.Jul 9, 2006
Costner is at his best, delivering a Bull Durham-esque performance and creating a character that is funny and lovable. But the plot twist at the end is like being slapped in the face and called an idiot for watching and believing for 90 Costner is at his best, delivering a Bull Durham-esque performance and creating a character that is funny and lovable. But the plot twist at the end is like being slapped in the face and called an idiot for watching and believing for 90 minutes that this was a decent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LaurenS.Oct 14, 2005
Huge waste of 2 hours!
0 of 0 users found this helpful