Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: August 16, 1995
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 467 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
431
Mixed:
23
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
SpangleFeb 5, 2014
Wow. This film is fantastic. Kevin Spacey and cast, as expected, are phenomenal. It lulls you into thinking you know how it will wrap up and then completely flips around. It is a tad hard to follow at the beginning, but wow does it ever payWow. This film is fantastic. Kevin Spacey and cast, as expected, are phenomenal. It lulls you into thinking you know how it will wrap up and then completely flips around. It is a tad hard to follow at the beginning, but wow does it ever pay off. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysFeb 15, 2014
"The Usual Suspects" runs second to "The Sixth Sense" for one of those movies you will enjoy watching more the second time. I won't give anything away, but there is not one but two twists you won't see coming. And for that sole purpose is a"The Usual Suspects" runs second to "The Sixth Sense" for one of those movies you will enjoy watching more the second time. I won't give anything away, but there is not one but two twists you won't see coming. And for that sole purpose is a reason to watch this movie. Also, Kevin Spacey might be another reason. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
With a brilliantly developed plot, excellent performances and provocative imagery, "The Usual Suspects" remains an absolutely stunning crime thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJul 9, 2014
I have to agree with ryancarroll88. The twist ending is certainly a shocker but it pretty much flaws the entire film and makes you question if any of it was real. Still a solid movie though and certainly, at least some-what, lives up to theI have to agree with ryancarroll88. The twist ending is certainly a shocker but it pretty much flaws the entire film and makes you question if any of it was real. Still a solid movie though and certainly, at least some-what, lives up to the hype around it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Usual Suspects" has a misleading storyline with limited settings applied throughout the movie. However, it is Brian Singer's clever direction associated with a two-face performance by Kevin Spacey that made the Climax of the movie possible.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It's fantastic from start to finish, and the twist at the end will blow your mind. An American crime classic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticAug 24, 2013
One of the most original and surprising films. Kevin Spacey nails his oscar as this enigma Verbal Kint. The ending is one of the biggest shocks in cinema. It takes more than two and two to get the ending. If you don't believe me, then GIVE MEOne of the most original and surprising films. Kevin Spacey nails his oscar as this enigma Verbal Kint. The ending is one of the biggest shocks in cinema. It takes more than two and two to get the ending. If you don't believe me, then GIVE ME THE F***ING KEYS YOU F***ING C*****KER, MOTHER****A!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
As the movie opens five well known criminals are rounded up and questioned as to their involvement in the hijacking of a truck full of guns. No one cracks and as the men sit together in jail they hatch a plan for an elaborate diamond heist.As the movie opens five well known criminals are rounded up and questioned as to their involvement in the hijacking of a truck full of guns. No one cracks and as the men sit together in jail they hatch a plan for an elaborate diamond heist.

The story is told in the past tense by one of the five men, Verbal Kint, as he sits across from a detective trying to uncover what happened during the attempted heist. This provides a unique twist in that not everything Kint describes is necessarily accurate or true and keeps the viewer constantly guessing as to the true nature of his involvement.

Featuring a fantastic cast The Usual Suspects features a plethora of interesting and entertaining characters, none more so than Kint himself and by the time the movie reaches its fantastically clever finale most viewers will realise they have just watched a cinematic masterpiece.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KivaAug 21, 2013
I really don't know where to start from. It's obviously one of the best films ever made and one of my favorites and it has like the very best twist I have seen in my life and I have seen a lot of films with great twists. The twist is evenI really don't know where to start from. It's obviously one of the best films ever made and one of my favorites and it has like the very best twist I have seen in my life and I have seen a lot of films with great twists. The twist is even better than Prestige's one. At the beginning the film is a little overcomplicated but when you start realizing what is happening you will not want to pause that film for any reason. It has action and suspense. It has everything that a film like that should have. It has great actors and an excellent storyline. The whole movie is interesting. I don't know what else to say just watch that movie and you will understand my words... It's a perfect masterpiece! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
chwSep 14, 2014
DAMN! This movie was incredibly extraordinarily awesome! Just because of the ending, everyone who hasn't seen this HAS GOT TO see this movie. Everyone'll love it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiOct 31, 2013
Does not waste any time at all. Every minute is utilized to set up suspense and action. And when we reach the climax, everything suddenly becomes ambiguous. You are not sure about what really happened, just about the things that matter theDoes not waste any time at all. Every minute is utilized to set up suspense and action. And when we reach the climax, everything suddenly becomes ambiguous. You are not sure about what really happened, just about the things that matter the most. Kevin Spacey acts splendidly. The first time I watched it the plot twist at the end made me a fan of the movie. But not so much on the second viewing after a gap of eight years. Frankly, apart from the awesome ending, it wasn't a very great script_ just a nicely plotted crime thriller but not very special. But I truly believe that everyone should watch it at least once, and don't talk about it before doing that because some smart-ass may spoil it for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
theahsanhaseebOct 3, 2012
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist - What an appropriate utilization of Charles Baudelaire's quote. First of all, hats off to Bryan Singer's outstanding direction, Christopher McQuarrie'sThe greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist - What an appropriate utilization of Charles Baudelaire's quote. First of all, hats off to Bryan Singer's outstanding direction, Christopher McQuarrie's confusing and thrilling screenplay and Kevin Spacey's remarkable and an Oscar-deserving performance which made the film too freaking awesome. I can't begin to appreciate the surprise Bryan Singer has managed to deliver to us. The mystery, the neo-noir elements, the puzzles and the way all the pieces are put together in the climax are just marvellous. I don't know why Roger Ebert found this movie confusing and gave it such a low rating (He did the same with Fight Club, starring Edward Norton and Brad Pitt). The plot is confusing, yes, but it's something really unusual and astounding and that's what makes this film so exciting. Although, the characterization is limited and there are a few possible plotholes as well. Those plotholes aren't explained properly but you can easily ignore them since they don't have anything to do with the real story. What I really like about this movie is that once you have started watching it, it will keep you interested. You might also find it difficult to follow the characters and the plot at some points but keep your mind and eyes open and you will be finally able to understand everything. Long story short, even with the limited characterization and confusing screenplay, The Usual Suspects is a classic and remarkable neo-noir thriller that you are definitely going to love and appreciate. So, don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 10, 2013
Bryan Singer provides an outstanding before I went to make superhero films movie that is strongly written and also provides the best Spacey performance ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SeriosityJul 11, 2013
A little sluggish at first, but the second half is superb. The film is clever, but the ending is obvious and it has a few loose ends. None of this stops it from being entertaining, but this is no classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WheelzFourReelzMar 10, 2015
The Usual Suspects contains a great narrative with memorable characters in an exciting crime drama. It's incredibly smart, extremely entertaining, and contains one of the greatest movie plot twists of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Viper8787Apr 21, 2014
A great thrilling movie. Great acting by all with a stand out performance by Kevin Spacey. The action was great in this film was awesome. And the way the stories were really cool and well done. And then the ending came and holy I can honestlyA great thrilling movie. Great acting by all with a stand out performance by Kevin Spacey. The action was great in this film was awesome. And the way the stories were really cool and well done. And then the ending came and holy I can honestly say I didn't see that one coming that's all I am going to say so that I don't give anything away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenNov 24, 2015
This is a really good crime thriller. Kevin Spacey acts splendidly. Although the twist could be suspected at the beginning of the film, as the movie proceeds the viewer can't be sure any longer and as a result the ending is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jun 4, 2015
The grandaddy of mysteries, the movie at first seems just like all ordinary detective thrillers, only this time its more shocking in entertaining suspense as it involves..... The Usual Suspects

Featuring an ensemble of supportive
The grandaddy of mysteries, the movie at first seems just like all ordinary detective thrillers, only this time its more shocking in entertaining suspense as it involves..... The Usual Suspects

Featuring an ensemble of supportive performances, particularly Spacey as crippled con-man Verbal Kint, the film is a disturbing and a tour de force modern noir that will keep you grasped for rewatches to see how clearly things soon go out of place, to unravel the mystery of the mythical gangster responsible for a mass shooting spree at a drug deal resulting in the death of Kints' fellow "Rat Pack.

The film is very climatic twisted and gory filled with a mixture of violence and the satanic underworld of crime, this film will be one of the most talked about thrillers of the 20th century.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
The Usual suspects is a smart well scripted. directed and, acted picture that is a classic for a reason. It has a twist ending that completes the movie precisely and the editing leaves nothing to be desired, it explains the storyline in full.The Usual suspects is a smart well scripted. directed and, acted picture that is a classic for a reason. It has a twist ending that completes the movie precisely and the editing leaves nothing to be desired, it explains the storyline in full. Fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
I'm not that much into cops and robbers and gangster movies, but this one was really good so even I like this one. It is a very well told story with an ending you will not see coming. You definitely should see this movie at least once.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JumpmanJan 7, 2016
Thrillingly captivating , the usual suspects involves great acting performances and a great storyline ,although there are points where the action moves kind of slow
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 25, 2014
Admittedly this movie starts off very slowly. The first 45 min are not very interesting and at times I found myself checking my emails instead of watching the film. However about half way through the movie it starts to get really interesting.Admittedly this movie starts off very slowly. The first 45 min are not very interesting and at times I found myself checking my emails instead of watching the film. However about half way through the movie it starts to get really interesting. Furthermore, the ending is one of the best I've ever seen.
Just watch it. It's great.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moslegend34Jun 12, 2015
Chilling, breathtaking and absolutely brillant! While the wheels sometimes shud to a halt with these sorts of mystery flicks the pendulum kept swinging. Spacey was fantastic in arguably his best career performance alongside American BeautyChilling, breathtaking and absolutely brillant! While the wheels sometimes shud to a halt with these sorts of mystery flicks the pendulum kept swinging. Spacey was fantastic in arguably his best career performance alongside American Beauty (and House of Cards more recently). This German-American neo noir mystery film combines a chilling soundtrack, intricate but palatable plot, As well as dazzling performances from Stephen Baldwin and Benicio Del Toro.
The action sequences are unpredictable if not spectacular while the dialogue is at times, utterly mesmerising. I finished the movie in total awe and with renewed faith in this troubled medium. Kaiser Sose is watching!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TECfilmsJan 9, 2013
At least the end gets your adrenaline flowing ... the feelings for this little, crippled man who convinced the police about a crime that never happend. But how did the things, that really happend, happen? The geniusly confusing storyline andAt least the end gets your adrenaline flowing ... the feelings for this little, crippled man who convinced the police about a crime that never happend. But how did the things, that really happend, happen? The geniusly confusing storyline and the amazing climax make you forgetting that this film is literaturally pointless because nothing pictured did actually happen ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wadewilliamsJul 24, 2015
i first saw it 4 or so years ago...I found the movie kinda quirky, got distracted by other family members who were in the room, so I watched it again a few nites later 'cause a few things were kinda hard to pick up on the first time,i first saw it 4 or so years ago...I found the movie kinda quirky, got distracted by other family members who were in the room, so I watched it again a few nites later 'cause a few things were kinda hard to pick up on the first time, especially if one doesn't or can't pay attn to exactly what's going on. saw it again 3 years ago, 2 years ago, 6 months ago and a few months ago. it's on cable again tonite. this is a movie that can be seen a few times and can be appreciated over and over. great storytelling, superb acting and cast, and more movies need to be made with this quality of directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZachSchellerJun 26, 2016
A classic of 90s cinema, everything with The Usual Suspects works; McQuarrie's script, Singer's direction, Ottoman's editing, and especially the performances, leading us down a complex and compelling story, all the while keeping us guessingA classic of 90s cinema, everything with The Usual Suspects works; McQuarrie's script, Singer's direction, Ottoman's editing, and especially the performances, leading us down a complex and compelling story, all the while keeping us guessing what really happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
796712Sep 24, 2010
this film was fantastic i loved the neonoir affect would highly reccomend watching this film my only negative feedback is the ending the twist in the film was over rated the film was famous because of its ending but the ending wasnt really for me
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrendanCogs99Mar 13, 2013
The Usual Suspects is a classic crime film that will bring you in and not let you go until the final twisted and unexpected climax. With the combination of Brian Singer's directing and Kevin Spacey's acting this is truly a great film. HangThe Usual Suspects is a classic crime film that will bring you in and not let you go until the final twisted and unexpected climax. With the combination of Brian Singer's directing and Kevin Spacey's acting this is truly a great film. Hang on, The Usual Suspects is one hell of a ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Codyk4545Jul 11, 2011
A true classic, with one of the most brilliant climaxes in the history of film, The Usual Suspects will not fail to make your head spin. You have everything in this movie. Solid cast. Wonderful script. Great camera work. A true gem.

With
A true classic, with one of the most brilliant climaxes in the history of film, The Usual Suspects will not fail to make your head spin. You have everything in this movie. Solid cast. Wonderful script. Great camera work. A true gem.

With Kevin Spacey leading the pack in his Academy Award winning performance, the acting in this film is very believable, and powerful. Your eyes will be glued to the film from the moment it begins, to the moment when your jaw hits the floor, in the end.

I would highly recommend this film to anyone and everyone who considers themselves a fan of movies. This is simply a must-see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nvnickSep 30, 2010
One of (or the best) mystery/crime movies I have ever seen. The twists are much crazier than seven, such a satisfying movie. I freaking love this movie. Just don't read any spoilers/etc. Just watch it, it's good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rafi_haha18May 1, 2014
the usual suspect is the best mystery movie I ever saw, the plot twist of the film was actually great and so magnificent, I have watching this film for several times and the film was hitting me up with the mind twisting story, I love this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudaManJan 15, 2015
This is arguably the greatest Mystery/Thriller of all time. The way the twist at the ending puts the whole movie together, and the little piece of the end which throws you off track. It is overall brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JaredPalmgrenSep 7, 2016
I'll be honest. I had a long flight back from London and I came across this movie. I had heard it was good so I tried it out. Holy....crap.... I did not realize that I had stumbled upon one of my favorite movies of all time. The cast wasI'll be honest. I had a long flight back from London and I came across this movie. I had heard it was good so I tried it out. Holy....crap.... I did not realize that I had stumbled upon one of my favorite movies of all time. The cast was perfect. The story was flawless. It kept me guessing until the final twist, which is up there with Vader being Luke's father. I feel this is a forgotten masterpiece that more needs to be seen more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
evilgeniusDec 31, 2011
This movie isn't perfect in every sense, but I do believe it deserves a perfect score. Everything has a low-budget, early Tarantino-esque feel, which is good for two reasons: First, the story and acting have to carry the movie and they do soThis movie isn't perfect in every sense, but I do believe it deserves a perfect score. Everything has a low-budget, early Tarantino-esque feel, which is good for two reasons: First, the story and acting have to carry the movie and they do so superbly. Secondly, the aura of simplicity adds to the feel of realism: instead of special effects and sleekness, one gets to feel as if there, with the characters. Without spoiling too much, I can say that this is one of the cleverest movies I've ever seen. So many details add together in subtle ways, allowing the viewer to slowly but surely come to conclusions just seconds before the characters do too. It never feels forced or obvious, yet the director manages to guide us through a mental maze. Apart from Spacey who is sublime, I believe that Byrne and Palminteri both diserve lots of credit, even though Palminteri's character has little depth, the actor plays the role to it's full potential, secretly enabling the story to go the way it goes. Overall, it's not a movie everyone will find fantastic, but if you're into the criminal heroes / messing with your mind kind of thriller, boy, are you in for a ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BertoAug 28, 2012
Hard to say why, but I enjoy this movie time and time again. I would have liked to see a bit more character development, but then again I think it's great this movie can fit it all in in less than two hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GeordieJul 8, 2002
One of the best films I have ever seen. Is is a must to view it twice, if only to put the intricate pieces of the puzzle together for yourself! Spacey is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertJan 6, 2003
Very possibly the best movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeN.Aug 9, 2003
Spacey's performance is remarkable----- on the best individual performance's in the history of cinema. And the last half of the movie is truly great, with superb tension and a sense of inevitability that makes it endlessly Spacey's performance is remarkable----- on the best individual performance's in the history of cinema. And the last half of the movie is truly great, with superb tension and a sense of inevitability that makes it endlessly rewatchable, even after you know the ending. But unfortunately the first half of the movie just isn't that great. It's slow, not especially well acted and doesn't have much to do with the ending. But none the less a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Jan 2, 2007
One of my favorite movies of all time. Kevin Spacey gives an absolutely brilliant performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Aug 7, 2001
This is my all-time favorite! Great dialouge by Christopher Maguire, first rate directing by Bryan Singer! Spacey is unbelieveable, as well as everyone else! A must-see! Brilliance! Rare gem! Flawless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewE.Jun 9, 2002
Best. Movie. Ever. Sticks with you for a long time after.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Oct 23, 2004
This movie is my third favorite movie of all time. It is such a great movie, I can't even begin to explain how excellent this thriller is! Well, I'll try. The acting is absolutley brilliant! Great performances by Gabriel Byrne, This movie is my third favorite movie of all time. It is such a great movie, I can't even begin to explain how excellent this thriller is! Well, I'll try. The acting is absolutley brilliant! Great performances by Gabriel Byrne, Stephen Baldwin, Kevin Pollack, Chazz Palminteri, Benico Del Toro, Pete Postelwaithe, and especially Kevin Spacey in his best performance ever known to screen, which won him his first Oscar for Best Supporting Actor in 1995. The directing is very creative with some neat camera angles. And the writing ... is OUTSTANDING!!! I'm not going to ruin the ending for any of you movies fans who haven't seen this wonderful masterpiece yet, but it is none other than pure genius! The way they sum up the ending is just perfect. This is a movie for mystery fans especially, as well as drama fans, thriller fans and pretty much everybody. This film deserved to win for Best Picture, but Braveheart did instead. This is the kind of movie that people really respect and love. I HIGHLY reccomend this to anyone. If you haven't seen this already, rent it as soon as you can. (14 February 2003) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jan 6, 2004
Elements of the story line and supporting character roles are hard to follow. On the other hand, the confrontation between intuitive law enforcement and unflappable mythical criminal is pulled off without a clue right to the end. A flawed Elements of the story line and supporting character roles are hard to follow. On the other hand, the confrontation between intuitive law enforcement and unflappable mythical criminal is pulled off without a clue right to the end. A flawed but memorable show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RDalviMar 7, 2006
Intelligent film. Excellent performances by Kevin Spacey, Chazz Palminteri. Stephen Baldwin surpises with a cool performance. Because of it Is aw many crime thrillers like Man On Fire, Se7en and Fight Club. Only the script has a couple of Intelligent film. Excellent performances by Kevin Spacey, Chazz Palminteri. Stephen Baldwin surpises with a cool performance. Because of it Is aw many crime thrillers like Man On Fire, Se7en and Fight Club. Only the script has a couple of loose ends. Also leaves some questions unanswered. Even then an intelligent and gritty thriller with a superb ending. McQuarrie is a brilliant writer and Singer a brilliant director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jun 1, 2006
Brilliant. The music is hauntingly beautiful, the acting supurb and the storyline one that will never be surpassed. A movie you have to see twice and probably will quite never figure out. One of the greatest joys in life is sitting in the Brilliant. The music is hauntingly beautiful, the acting supurb and the storyline one that will never be surpassed. A movie you have to see twice and probably will quite never figure out. One of the greatest joys in life is sitting in the same room where someone is watching it for the first time. I could see this flick over and over again, and never tire of it even though I must have seen it fifteen times. Perhaps not the greatest film ever made, but it stands as my number one favorite in the mature audience viewing category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Apr 10, 2001
One of the few perfect films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.May 28, 2001
The best movie ever made. Period. With staggering performances by Del Toro, Spacey, Baldwin, Pollak, and Byrne, this movie has a genuine twist at the end that will terrify you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahS.Oct 21, 2002
I would give it 11 if i could! The best film i've ever seen, an absolutely perfect work of art. Keeps you guessing till the very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyM.May 13, 2002
The best film I have ever seen. Perfect in every way and brings people back for at least a second viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NinjaMafiaOct 13, 2003
My friend once told me about a movie, it was called the Usual Suspects. I said I would probally watch it but it probally wouldn't be that great. I was very wrong. The Usual Suspects is about a group of criminals, each specified in a My friend once told me about a movie, it was called the Usual Suspects. I said I would probally watch it but it probally wouldn't be that great. I was very wrong. The Usual Suspects is about a group of criminals, each specified in a certain field, brought together by a legendary criminal to do some dirty work. This legend is named Keyser Soze. The only problem is, Keyser Soze might not be real. A lawyer named Kobayashi tells the five criminals about this job by Soze and they unwillingly accept. The whole movie is about one man that survived from that mission, Verbal(Kevin Spacey). Verbal is a crippled man who was the only survivor of the deadly mission. One cop wants a story from him about one of his partners that the cops suspects is more than an ordinary criminal, maybe even relations with Soze. This movie started off kind of slow which turned me off at first. The film then gradually started to pick up and gave me the best ending of a movie I have ever seen. Actually, the ending pumped my score up to 10. The acting in this movie is really good... there was a lot of suspense in this movie, especially toward the very end of it. This movie is on my top five favorite movies of all time. Rewatching it really makes you respect it more. My only big problem with this movie is they didn't develop a few characters very well. Overall, this movie is highly recommendable but a lot of people will be turned off by the movies somewhat slow start. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffM.Nov 5, 2004
What the hell is 76, are these guys sick or something this movie is the best movie of all time, the ending to this movie is so shocking that it makes you want to watch it again right then and there, you metacric guys don't know what What the hell is 76, are these guys sick or something this movie is the best movie of all time, the ending to this movie is so shocking that it makes you want to watch it again right then and there, you metacric guys don't know what you're talking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.Jul 5, 2004
I have never experienced a better drop-jaw, landmine, smack-in-the-face ending than the one this film delivers. It's especially effective for those not expecting it and luckily for me I wasn't, so I really got the full impact the I have never experienced a better drop-jaw, landmine, smack-in-the-face ending than the one this film delivers. It's especially effective for those not expecting it and luckily for me I wasn't, so I really got the full impact the Writer and Director had obviously intended! I liken it to the controversial (some would say criminal) yet brilliantly ingenious ploy the great Agatha Christie used in her masterpiece novel The Murder Of Roger Ackroyd. If you have read it, you know what I'm talking about, and this film employs a similar masterstroke. That's not to say it has the same twist - it's just equally brilliant. This is a taut and trim thriller that will please more than it will disappoint, as long as you can handle a little mild profanity :-o Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.GoldDec 5, 2005
Quite possibly the best film of all time, need more be said?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichH.Jun 30, 2005
I love it when the perceptive, intelligent movie-viewing public gives it to snooty reviewers in the neck! This film is "the people's choice," by far my favorite movie ever and I am glad to see that I am not the only one. I've I love it when the perceptive, intelligent movie-viewing public gives it to snooty reviewers in the neck! This film is "the people's choice," by far my favorite movie ever and I am glad to see that I am not the only one. I've probably seen it fifty times or more, and there is no doubt I could put in the player right now and watch it all the way through, or any part of it, and still be enthralled. How many movies can you say that about? This should be an object lesson for people who think you have to have star power or special effects to create suspense and excitement. Brilliant direction (get the DVD with the commentary + special features and find out how this was all worked out--it's astounding), unbelievable acting (from Kobayashi to Redfoot to that movie critic as smuggler--even the burned Hungarian in the hospital bed was effective!), wonderful cinematography/editing (plus the film editor also did a great soundtrack). And I've wanted to say this: everybody's on about Spacey and there's no doubt he's brilliant, but IMHO it is Chazz Palminteri who makes those Kujan/Kint scenes really work. Palminteri never gets the credit he deserves but in this film it is his heedless machismo posing that makes the perfect foil for Kint's (seeming) disjointed rambling. Ah, well...I only have another couple of thousand things I like :-), but let me just say: TUS looks exactly like what it is, a once in a lifetime artistic production, a labor of love that will be honored long after the dross on that pompous Ebert's annual top ten list has vanished from memory. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ATJul 30, 2005
Two words - Mind blowing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanC.Dec 7, 2007
Maybe best film ever. Mayber Disneys Snowwhite is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NDMay 27, 2007
Breathtakingingly superb! One to be watched again and again. As good as anything I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
allanrDec 27, 2008
One of the best endings ever. A true classic !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColeL.Nov 24, 2001
This dazzling performance of actors and directing is the best out there. Bryan Singer did an excellent job, everything in this masterpiece was maturely done with spunk and character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OluwaseunA.Jul 13, 2002
Best movie I have ever seen. It has you on the edge of your seat till the very last minute. Beautifully directed and excellent cast members. Except for the major profanity, I reccommend it 100%!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeD.Jul 29, 2003
Best Crime movie of our time. The ending says it all...that's all you need to know!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanP.Jun 29, 2004
Just proves beyond any doubt that Roger Ebert is an idiot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
johnj.Mar 22, 2005
This film is PURE magic!!This is quite simply a masterclass of screen-writing,acting,casting,directing etc.-it is just so UTTERLY,UTTERLY mesmerising every time you view it. Like fine wine it only improves with age. Actually a vote of 10 is This film is PURE magic!!This is quite simply a masterclass of screen-writing,acting,casting,directing etc.-it is just so UTTERLY,UTTERLY mesmerising every time you view it. Like fine wine it only improves with age. Actually a vote of 10 is not good enough for this film-it really is off the scale-that's how good it really IS. It is an absolute MASTERPIECE of a film and indeed people of all hues-fans,film making community,critics etc will discuss this real GEM of a film for decades to come-millenia -even. It is as close to PERFECTION as any film maker can possibly hope to achive.This is undoubtedly a true classic in every sense of the word which will effortlessly withstand the test of time.T he amazing thing about this movie is that almost never got made. Thank God the tenacity & sheer determination of McQuarrie & Singer finally paid off. To shoot the entire film in JUST 35 days is absolutely ASTONISHING!!! It is just so mind-blowing what they have achieved on a budget of less than $5M dollars. INCREDIBLE!!! It is a magnamonious testament to the magnificent quality of the entire cast & crew. The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing a certain Kevin Spacey to accect the role of Verbal Kint, collect his Academy Award, and like that...he's gone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmandoA.Feb 19, 2006
The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 10 is the fact that the impression that this movie gives you the first time you see is never the same (once you know the ending). I will never forget that first experience though. One of the The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 10 is the fact that the impression that this movie gives you the first time you see is never the same (once you know the ending). I will never forget that first experience though. One of the best movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.L.Dec 22, 2001
Great. Great. Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateM.Nov 11, 2007
I'm not sure why this movie would get lower than a 10? If you are one of those people who think the ending was less than an awesome perhaps you are also one of those people whom can't watch movies without ruining them for everyone I'm not sure why this movie would get lower than a 10? If you are one of those people who think the ending was less than an awesome perhaps you are also one of those people whom can't watch movies without ruining them for everyone else? And as far as what really happened in Verbal Kint's tale to the cops... does it really matter? Kaiser Soze was real. That's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeyzerSozeMar 3, 2011
This is definitely the best movie I have seen so far with a great ending and that's why I 'm using the name of a character of the film!!! (Keyzer Soze)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jon-RyoOct 14, 2011
Quite simply one of the best movies ever made. Kevin Spacey puts in a sensational performance and the supporting cast also do a great job of making it believable. One of my all time favourite films, and one of the best films ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkyBAug 10, 2013
This film is just great. Great crime/gangster film but also so much more. Thrills, suspense, good acting, great script and very clever. I do believe that everyone should try and see this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Galou3Nov 9, 2016
I just watched the movie. Although, i already knew who was Keyzer Soze (so many friends of mine already told me that), the film was directed and released back in the 1995, the misleading plot was very clever and also the direction. The bestI just watched the movie. Although, i already knew who was Keyzer Soze (so many friends of mine already told me that), the film was directed and released back in the 1995, the misleading plot was very clever and also the direction. The best asset, of course, is Kevin Spacey, who's performance is just divine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews