Anchor Bay Entertainment | Release Date: April 11, 2008
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 77 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
MarcD.Apr 16, 2008
Just a beautiful, elegant film. I wasn't expecting too much from this movie, but by the end, my heart was in my throat, and I had an amazing sympathy for the characters - partly a function of the story, but also because of some amazing Just a beautiful, elegant film. I wasn't expecting too much from this movie, but by the end, my heart was in my throat, and I had an amazing sympathy for the characters - partly a function of the story, but also because of some amazing acting performances. Richard Jenkins and Haaz Sleiman will be recognized, no doubt, but Hiam Abbass, as Tarek's mother, is spectacular. For any adult male who has a close relationship with his mother (like me!), or for those mothers who remain close with their adult children, this movie will grab you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Oct 1, 2008
What a beautiful film, unique and brilliantly acted by all, especially Richard Jenkins. The writing is superb, so touching and believable. Excellent direction. The slow pace works well for the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.May 12, 2008
A moving and subtly-told fable about opening one's heart to the beauty of the world. This film will, sadly, be seen by too few people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
crypticriticJul 7, 2008
This movie was beautiful in every way. Richard Jenkins acting was superb. The casting was fantastic. The plot believably tragic. For anyone interested in immigration issues, this is a must-see, but there is more to the movie than this. This movie was beautiful in every way. Richard Jenkins acting was superb. The casting was fantastic. The plot believably tragic. For anyone interested in immigration issues, this is a must-see, but there is more to the movie than this. Issues of aging, academic hypocrisy, grieving, cross-cultural connections, and inter-generational relationships are explored as well. I would hope that The Visitor would be nominated for more than one OSCAR... including Best picture of the Year. I hope to purchase this movie as soon as it is released ! It is one of the best that I have seen in recent years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollycMar 4, 2009
Loved the subtle story and really true-to life characters. From the immigrants, to the professor (Jenkins was brilliant), the mother and the institutional workers---all of it was put together perfectly, to avoid both a ham-fisted hollywood Loved the subtle story and really true-to life characters. From the immigrants, to the professor (Jenkins was brilliant), the mother and the institutional workers---all of it was put together perfectly, to avoid both a ham-fisted hollywood cliche story, or the opposite--an overly PC, agenda indie film. Well done Jenkins--definitely earned his Oscar nom---and bravo McCarthy---I will definitely keep watching what he does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SMDec 31, 2008
Really thought-provoking. Shows why every culture is respected and how all people from different backgrounds can live together in peace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrandenR.Oct 31, 2008
Richard Jenkins is great as Walter in this movie, but I think the movie is shallow. The topic of illegal immigration was not explored here. You feel like you know Walter instead of Tarek and Zainab. Shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarbyF.Apr 18, 2008
I've never been felt so lucky, that by chance, I was born here in America. A beautiful movie, one of the few I've ever cried in. I forgot I was watching actors act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Apr 30, 2008
A good movie with excellent acting. Very touching story about a man who loses his wife and his passion for living until encountering these touching people and their lives living underground as illegals
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RalphC.May 26, 2008
Ot the two plots, the reinvigoration of Walter, the tired American, gets a 10. The tragedy of Tarek, the vigorous illegal, being deported, gets a 6. He came here without permission, then cries "I did nothing wrong." That's pretty flawed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewCOct 5, 2009
I think this film was especially good on a number of levels. For the certain people in the US giving it a negative score based on "leftist crap": I really hope one day you have a situation where 'humanity' and 'humanism' I think this film was especially good on a number of levels. For the certain people in the US giving it a negative score based on "leftist crap": I really hope one day you have a situation where 'humanity' and 'humanism' comes into play in your personal life, and this film comes back into your mind. We're not talking politics here in the general sense, even though of course the film portrays both major sides. I was very impressed with the elegance and above all dignity that comes across throughout the film. The characters are well fleshed out and very believable. Even the characters who some might label the "evil" guys I find sympathy with - the film shows how the System works and even the people with the bad news are just tracking along their rails, as per their job. This movie is both a wake-up call to the average middle class individual stuck in their "life" and yet not actually living it, and also a call to post-9/11 --> we all understand the reason for tightened security, but I really hope we don't lose our humanity in the process. (apologies this wasn't a true review - the lame negative reviews affected me! - the legitimate negatives were fine!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferLApr 26, 2009
The reviews that try to paint this as some sort of "leftist" movie are ridiculous. It's not a political movie by any means and subscribes to no ideology. The film is emotionally honest and masterfully executed. Don't listen to the The reviews that try to paint this as some sort of "leftist" movie are ridiculous. It's not a political movie by any means and subscribes to no ideology. The film is emotionally honest and masterfully executed. Don't listen to the diatribes trying to politicize this movie. See it and you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreaD.Nov 28, 2008
This movie dares to do what few films do today: it makes you think. It also doesn't take the easy route out like so many Hollywood blockbusters do. There is no heavy message here, no ham-fisted diatribe. The great power in this movie is This movie dares to do what few films do today: it makes you think. It also doesn't take the easy route out like so many Hollywood blockbusters do. There is no heavy message here, no ham-fisted diatribe. The great power in this movie is its subtlety and its heart. Richard Jenkins gives a quiet yet astounding performance. I think this is one of the top ten films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilaN.Oct 19, 2008
I just can't believe how lovely this movie is. A thought-provoking movie that deals so well with the immigration/deportation process. Heartbreaking. Made me realize how fortunate we are to live in a country people are still willing to I just can't believe how lovely this movie is. A thought-provoking movie that deals so well with the immigration/deportation process. Heartbreaking. Made me realize how fortunate we are to live in a country people are still willing to risk everything to be a part of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LauraS.Apr 19, 2008
I wanted it to last longer, just to continue watching Richard Jenkins' amazing and subtle performance. Each one of his gestures, movements and silences were terrific and magnetic. Good story, a very current American-International fable. I wanted it to last longer, just to continue watching Richard Jenkins' amazing and subtle performance. Each one of his gestures, movements and silences were terrific and magnetic. Good story, a very current American-International fable. I felt the Syrian drummer and his Senegalese girlfriend were a bit less rich, less multi-dimensional; not sure how much of that has to do with the acting, the script or the direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tmApr 25, 2008
This movie was excellent. Scott Foundas' (Village Voice) review is totally ludicrous. Excellent acting from all, excellent writing. Richard Jenkins, mainly a character actor, is superb, showing so much thought and emotion with his eyes This movie was excellent. Scott Foundas' (Village Voice) review is totally ludicrous. Excellent acting from all, excellent writing. Richard Jenkins, mainly a character actor, is superb, showing so much thought and emotion with his eyes and face. The actresses playing Tarek's wife and mother are incredible. Alternately funny and touching. Just a wonderful little movie in which I didn't know what would happen next, which is always good. Shows how much can be done with a small budget and no "stars". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennyN.May 3, 2008
Anyone not touched by this film does not have a heart and soul. Including Damon C below...how sad are you. The predictability of your existence is too boring to detail, and a waste of space on metacritic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorO.Jun 7, 2008
Richard Jenkins is always excellent, and in this feature he's truly come into his own as a movie star and should win Best Actor at the Academy Awards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarilynD.Jul 26, 2008
Delightfully entertaining! Beautiful, yet tragically depressing story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UzKFeb 14, 2009
Very touching. Loved the emotions exemplified in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobinH.Nov 22, 2008
A lovely, poignant film that touches your heart and your mind. Do not miss this wonderful gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NanApr 12, 2008
Excellent performance by Richard Jenkins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenS.Apr 29, 2008
The interesting thing about this film is that just when you think you know where it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.May 11, 2008
I loved it, both funny and touching, staying "real" throughout. I want more and more movies like this, not the crap that Hollywood makes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.May 12, 2008
Walter Vale(Richard Jenkins) plays the piano, because his late wife played the piano. Quitting the piano; parting ways with the piano itself, in favor of the African drum, living and breathing the drum, as Walter does in "The Visitor", he is Walter Vale(Richard Jenkins) plays the piano, because his late wife played the piano. Quitting the piano; parting ways with the piano itself, in favor of the African drum, living and breathing the drum, as Walter does in "The Visitor", he is saying goodbye to his wife and his bourgeoise lifestyle. Walter's living space is representative of our country, a microcosm. Walter perceives Tarek(Haaz Sleiman) and Zainab(Danai Jekesai Gurira) as intruders when he first encounters the third world couple in his New York apartment. After having second thoughts, he allows them to stay, to be visitors. Soon, Walter and Tarek become fast friends, and soon after Tarek undergoes a Kafkaesque ordeal, Zainab becomes friends with the economics professor, too. For contrast, Zainab, a jewelry-maker, deals with a customer who treats the Senegalese street vendor as if she WAS a visitor. Zainab isn't the visitor; Walter is. That's because Walter doesn't impose a protocol with his new friends. He rides the Staten Island ferry. He escorts Hiam(Mouna Khalil), Tarek's mother, to "The Phantom of the Opera". And most stirringly, he goes underground to perform as a street musician, not to ride the subway. "The Visitor" is a movie about tolerance; tolerance so real, it starts to look like acceptance. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.May 31, 2008
This is a perfect film. Loved every minute of it. Beautifully acted and directed. Go see this wonderful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kate_mediaAug 12, 2010
Easily one of my favorite films in recent years. I have recommended this film countless times and it was equally as good on the second viewing. The blossoming of the professor character, given a new set of influences in his life, wasEasily one of my favorite films in recent years. I have recommended this film countless times and it was equally as good on the second viewing. The blossoming of the professor character, given a new set of influences in his life, was realistic and a captivating story. If only all films had such a brilliant personal portrait as the main theme. Issues of the tragic impacts of illegal immigration are played out effectively, but to me was a side story to that of our professor finding himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Ageing widowed professor, goes to New York conference, immigrants living in his flat, makes friends, learns how to drum, male immigrant gets caught, mother turns up.
Slow-paced but enjoyable film which I did think in parts was like Lost in
Ageing widowed professor, goes to New York conference, immigrants living in his flat, makes friends, learns how to drum, male immigrant gets caught, mother turns up.
Slow-paced but enjoyable film which I did think in parts was like Lost in Translation where not much happens but the characters build up.
Well acted, nice music & a film with it's heart is in the right place.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexSAug 8, 2011
Richard Jenkins gives the performance of a lifetime in this touching,subtle film.Tom McCarthy's vision is unflinchingly humanistic as well as politically and culturally relevant.It's at times funny,always moving and incrediblyRichard Jenkins gives the performance of a lifetime in this touching,subtle film.Tom McCarthy's vision is unflinchingly humanistic as well as politically and culturally relevant.It's at times funny,always moving and incredibly absorbing.Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
An excellently structured, skillfully acted drama that effectively weaves sincere, relevant, and affecting thematic elements throughout its very unique story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews