Screen Gems | Release Date: February 10, 2012
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
45
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TTW107May 14, 2012
This isn't really a chick flick at all because it's mostly from the guys perspective. When you watch this movie just put yourself in Channing Tatum's shoes and think of how frustrating that situation must have been. I know that the "true"This isn't really a chick flick at all because it's mostly from the guys perspective. When you watch this movie just put yourself in Channing Tatum's shoes and think of how frustrating that situation must have been. I know that the "true" story was exaggerated a ton but hey, that's hollywood. Not at all what I expected, a very pleasant surprise, and I'm a guy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ReviewCriticFeb 10, 2012
It's a fun date movie, that's all. Sometimes it captures your emotions, sometimes it fails. Overall, it's a good sappy romantic movie for a cold night
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleFeb 15, 2012
Tatum and McAdams are charming and fun to watch, but there's so little substance here, despite so much opportunity. There were probably 5 instances - potential plot twists - throughout the film in which I thought, "Yes, this is going to getTatum and McAdams are charming and fun to watch, but there's so little substance here, despite so much opportunity. There were probably 5 instances - potential plot twists - throughout the film in which I thought, "Yes, this is going to get good" - but the writers just smoothed them over. It needs more spice and excitement. Even for a Valentine's Day Rom-Com, its milquetoast. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4May 12, 2012
Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum have great chemistry and give gripping performances. Yet the humor is hit and miss, it takes itself too seriously at times. But I really enjoyed it even though I shouldn't have. I give this movie 60%.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
fryzeeFeb 22, 2012
The whole movie was great all the way up to the end... It was so close to being a great film, then is just fell short. Was disappointing. Similar ending feeling to The Break Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was essentially like a mediocre version of a Nicholas Sparks movie. The acting was great but the execution just wasn't there. Rachel McAdams' character seemed pretty stupid and, given that it's a true story, it just makes it seem even more dumb. There have got to be 1000 such stories with "smarter" people involved or better endings. The fact that this movie was based on one with a moronic character and a mediocre ending shows just how masochist viewers are. The movie is slow, not emotional enough given the subject matter, and just in general not all that good. The only emotional part of the movie was the scene with Paige interacting with her mom near the end of the movie. The movie wasn't terrible but it definitely doesn't reach the elite chick-flick level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Coco83Feb 11, 2012
Disappointing. Definitely not of the Notebook caliber. The chemistry between Channing and Rachel just wasn't there. A step above a Lifetime movie at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Sa5haFeb 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Vow is a sweet film that reminds us of how one falls in love and how one actually can pursue and hold onto love when it appears lost forever. It was an inspirational film, touching and cute. However, it was lacking a strong core, a center to define pure love which is ever present in the real life couple's story that this movie was based on. We do catch a glimpse of this in another couple's relationship in the movie, which only has survived against all odds. However, the biggest upset of this film is that it doesn't even hold true to it's title. If it had, it would have been a breath of fresh air in comparison to all the typical Hollywood adaptations of juvenile fantasy that is sold under the name "romance"; those culminations of high school daydreams that are ever predictable and unrealistic. Don't get me wrong. The Vow was okay, but it could have been ten times better if Hollywood hadn't dumbed it down to make it 'Hollywood' correct. Sometimes the center of a story, however controversial it may be, just can't be replaced, especially by adequate actors and good cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KaylaWFeb 25, 2012
I enjoyed this movie, however I am partial to both Channing Tatum and Rachael Mcadams, I adore both of them as actors. Not as great as all of the hype and expectations that I was holding it too, but I still think its a great rental.I enjoyed this movie, however I am partial to both Channing Tatum and Rachael Mcadams, I adore both of them as actors. Not as great as all of the hype and expectations that I was holding it too, but I still think its a great rental. Unfortunately, I think a lot of people automatically link The Notebook to Rachael Mcadams, and in my opinion, no love story will ever come close to that movie, so that could be held accountable for some of the disappoint for me personally. I still recommend, its definitely an easy, fun watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NotPCFeb 27, 2012
Ok, I went with a group of mostly women and the movie was good, not great, predictable, heart wrenching and worked your emotions, but lacking some punch. I liked that it didn't rely on bad language, drugs, drinking or sex to get you to seeOk, I went with a group of mostly women and the movie was good, not great, predictable, heart wrenching and worked your emotions, but lacking some punch. I liked that it didn't rely on bad language, drugs, drinking or sex to get you to see it. The acting was just good enough to make it convincing, but it wasn't a even a "two tissue" movie. The ending left you wanting more. Overall, wait for the DVD and watch it with your girlfriend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Katie466Mar 4, 2012
The Vow had a good plot going, but the middle was horrible. The ending sucked. They just left you hanging. I wish it was directed differently. The previews looked better than the actual movie. I would only pay to see this movie if there isThe Vow had a good plot going, but the middle was horrible. The ending sucked. They just left you hanging. I wish it was directed differently. The previews looked better than the actual movie. I would only pay to see this movie if there is absolutely nothing else that interests you to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
A_NorthernerFeb 22, 2013
With worldwide box office takings of $196M (IMDB), it's safe to say that plenty of people chose to see The Vow. Romance films sell, and let's face it, women love Channing Tattum. I can't say that I have seen many true 'roms', most romanticWith worldwide box office takings of $196M (IMDB), it's safe to say that plenty of people chose to see The Vow. Romance films sell, and let's face it, women love Channing Tattum. I can't say that I have seen many true 'roms', most romantic films I watch have the obligatory 'com' attached. The Vow's script has some light-hearted moments, however it definitely can't be classed as a 'rom-com'.

McAdams brings her typical sweetness to the role and Tattum does his best, which might not uproot any trees in the acting world, but through his limited abilities, does bring a certain realness to his character.

The plot is inevitably quite predictable, however, the writers deserve credit for not following the stereotypical plot sequence all the way through to the end. When my missus exclaims in horror that "that's not how it's supposed to end!", you know the film has achieved something at least.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheDRauchJul 28, 2012
The Vow is basically hokey date-night romance incarnate. It's fluff. It isn't really good for you, you know it, but you have no regret having ingested it. Like cotton candy. It's odd that in a genre that requires depth and honesty to earn itsThe Vow is basically hokey date-night romance incarnate. It's fluff. It isn't really good for you, you know it, but you have no regret having ingested it. Like cotton candy. It's odd that in a genre that requires depth and honesty to earn its audience, these kind of romances almost always come off as manufactured. Interestingly enough, it is Tatum here who gives the better performance. In fact, he's really improved in recent. It's McAdams who comes off as too cheery and slight for having her whole world tripped up. And happily, there are some laughably bad moments to enjoy for all the fuzz. It's all fairly harmless escapism, but don't get sucked up in the film's idea of romance. In other words, don't just eat cotton candy. In fact, stay away from it. It isn't good for you. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews