Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jan 28, 2014
    70
    The pained, textured performances of Sevigny and Malone enrich their scenes, but when it ranges away from its leads, The Wait can seem like an anthology of moments rather than a narrative whole, although those moments do accumulate into a mood of chilly, gently surreal isolation.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jan 30, 2014
    50
    An art film whose seductive qualities don't entirely erase the suspicion that its weirder elements might be empty affectation.
  3. 50
    The payoff isn’t nearly as interesting as the cryptic set-up and disquieting performances and scenes that precede it in The Wait.
  4. Reviewed by: Annlee Ellingson
    Jan 30, 2014
    40
    Writer-director M. Blash's sophomore film is ethereal and trippy, told less in scenes than in oblique snatches, not unlike the experience of emotional paralysis. This approach grows wearying.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Jan 29, 2014
    40
    While Blash intends The Wait to be a study in stasis, depicting emotional paralysis in various forms, the thin, amorphous nature of both this film and Lying suggest that he simply doesn’t have much to offer apart from uncontextualized moodiness.
  6. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jan 30, 2014
    38
    The dialogue is so vague, and the plot so minimal, it all feels like a rather pointless exercise.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jan 26, 2014
    38
    By the end, audiences will most likely feel as if they've been locked out of the drama that's presumably unfolding right in front of them.
  8. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jan 30, 2014
    30
    It’s all just so much empty eye candy.
  9. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jan 28, 2014
    20
    Probably best to dissuade the so-bad-it’s-good crowd: There’s nothing here to laugh at with the communal glee of a "Rocky Horror" or "The Room"; only a spectacularly bad composite shot of a fire-fighting plane induces any real giggles.
  10. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 29, 2014
    0
    Ms. Sevigny is not called “the queen of the weirdo Bs” for nothing. (In fairness, she was a weekly television addiction as one of the polygamous Mormon wives on the hit TV series Big Love.) But not since she performed real-time fellatio on scruffy Vincent Gallo in the forgettable 2003 bomb "The Brown Bunny" has she stooped this low.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    The Wait is the type of independent drama that the critics always love and that I usually hate. I decided to watch it though, because of one very special cast member, who is really coming into his own, Devon Gearhart. Even since I saw this young man in the movie Canvas, I knew he was really something special. Gearhart's unique ability to get the viewers to empathize with whatever character he is playing, gives him a strength that very few actors have. I knew from the description that the character of Ben, in The Wait, was a perfect outlet for him to express this ability and he does not disappoint. As for the rest of the film, it is a dark, eclectic film, full of odd symbolism and strange music, that to be honest is a bit over my head, but it's also a film that most audiences can relate to. The family portrayed, whose last name we never know, is pulling together and preparing for the tragic death of their terminally ill mother. The family is preparing themselves for the worst, that could happen any day, when they come in contact with a psychic. The psychic tells them that their mother is special and destine to come back from the grave, leading the family to not only hold off on making any funeral plans, but the prediction leads them to prepare a welcome home party. As I said the storyline is strange, the film is full of strange symbolism, and it moves rather slowly, but the cast here is unbelievable. Aside from Gearhart's out of this world performance, that will leave even the toughest person in tears, both Chloe Sevigny and Jena Malone are fantastic as the two eldest sisters. The sisters, always at odds are trying to pull themselves together for the inevitable, but are once again drawn apart by the psychic's prediction, leading to a dramatic rift in the storyline. The bottom line is, that The Wait, isn't a film for me, but I can see many people really enjoying it. The story is unique, the performances are terrific, and the future of Hollywood may be on display in this relatively unknown masterpiece. Full Review »