User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    4
    Poor movie, made worst by a ridiculous ending which has been done over and over in the past. There is no glossing over the fact that this has got to be one of the poorest movie I have seen in a long time (and I've watched some rubbish!!)
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    3
    Terribly disappointing to this horror/Carpenter fan. Heard is fine, as are the supporting actresses - the other patients on The Ward. But it's simply not scary in the least. The twist is so banal, and the final "shock" is predictable. There's just not much to it, and there's not much at stake.
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    Incredibly poorly acted and predictable movie with a completely misplaced cast and script reminiscent of a drunk teenager's recalling of events the night before. The atmosphere inside the insane asylum is completely unbelievable for a 60's setting and the pacing of the movie is broken, there will be about 10 minutes of chatter, a minute or two of action and then the story will fall back into talking (or mostly denying, actually) what happened in the action scene before. The first and last death I saw was about 20 to 30 minutes in after which I turned off the movie. It seemed to me like that movie was going to take a torture porn-approach to the killings instead of creating truly suspenseful murdering scenes. I was very surprised to see John Carpenter's name on top of this monstrocity. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    I had high hopes for this movie but inevitably avoided watching "The Ward" in theatres after reading so many negative reviews. Needless to say, I ended up renting for my own disappointing experience. Terrible character development and the supposed twist of an ending will likely be predictable for most. I give props to the makeup artists and for a few scenes that made me jump a bit but overall, Carpenter's latest flick failed to deliver. I would not recommend this movie to a friend and will avoid watching this in the future. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers. Kristen is an attractive young woman, and if this damn ghost would stop bothering her, she could pretty much land a career in modeling. But no, she also has to be confined in a ward for the mentally unstable. This is very unfortunate. Things are already going bad for poor Kirsten, but the worst part is that she has to share the movie with supporting characters suffering from Collapse
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jul 9, 2011
    65
    The story's obvious and various potential is left to stand on its own, and the scares are largely uninspired.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 8, 2011
    40
    The Ward is bland shock therapy from the guy who reinvented bloody peek-a-boo with the classic "Halloween."
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 8, 2011
    38
    In the end, Carpenter offers a reasonably nice payoff to this whole misfire.