User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    The Ward is not original or the best thriller but it still isn't that bad.It has scary moments and some really good parts that are worth seeing them but the bad thing about The Ward is the ending that has been seen and watched over and over in the past years. It is quite similar to Shutter Island and Identity which were much better in many ways. However it is not that bad so as to avoid it but the sad thing is that lacks of originality Expand
  2. May 5, 2013
    6
    The movie is average, it is not that great, but it stands out as a horror movie with a thought provoking story that makes the watcher asks questions that can't be answered, this is what makes it special, especially with the end that makes you confused which is a good thing about movies, it is just not a simple ghost story with characters, no it is a terrifying story of murder and revenge, although it has a tall boring scenes and not that shocking and scary as you think it might be but it is way too better than other ghost stories. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    Incredibly poorly acted and predictable movie with a completely misplaced cast and script reminiscent of a drunk teenager's recalling of events the night before. The atmosphere inside the insane asylum is completely unbelievable for a 60's setting and the pacing of the movie is broken, there will be about 10 minutes of chatter, a minute or two of action and then the story will fall back into talking (or mostly denying, actually) what happened in the action scene before. The first and last death I saw was about 20 to 30 minutes in after which I turned off the movie. It seemed to me like that movie was going to take a torture porn-approach to the killings instead of creating truly suspenseful murdering scenes. I was very surprised to see John Carpenter's name on top of this monstrocity. Collapse
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kristen is an attractive young woman, and if this damn ghost would stop bothering her, she could pretty much land a career in modeling. But no, she also has to be confined in a ward for the mentally unstable. This is very unfortunate. Things are already going bad for poor Kirsten, but the worst part is that she has to share the movie with supporting characters suffering from Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    We love you carpenter, but if you follow this with another ghosts of mars, i will be very disappointed, this is a perfect film, this lets us know that you are still an exceptional director, please, don't crush my faith in you - samarathenymph xoxo
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A magnificent return to form from john carpenter, a wholly original story, consistent and creepy tone, and decent performances steer this film into classic territory, kudos, carpenter, kudos.
  7. Jan 10, 2012
    4
    Poor movie, made worst by a ridiculous ending which has been done over and over in the past. There is no glossing over the fact that this has got to be one of the poorest movie I have seen in a long time (and I've watched some rubbish!!)
  8. Nov 6, 2011
    5
    The film was good, until the ending ruined it, the ending was one of those endings that ruins the film altogether.
  9. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    I had high hopes for this movie but inevitably avoided watching "The Ward" in theatres after reading so many negative reviews. Needless to say, I ended up renting for my own disappointing experience. Terrible character development and the supposed twist of an ending will likely be predictable for most. I give props to the makeup artists and for a few scenes that made me jump a bit but overall, Carpenter's latest flick failed to deliver. I would not recommend this movie to a friend and will avoid watching this in the future. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    3
    Terribly disappointing to this horror/Carpenter fan. Heard is fine, as are the supporting actresses - the other patients on The Ward. But it's simply not scary in the least. The twist is so banal, and the final "shock" is predictable. There's just not much to it, and there's not much at stake.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jul 9, 2011
    65
    The story's obvious and various potential is left to stand on its own, and the scares are largely uninspired.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jul 8, 2011
    40
    The Ward is bland shock therapy from the guy who reinvented bloody peek-a-boo with the classic "Halloween."
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 8, 2011
    38
    In the end, Carpenter offers a reasonably nice payoff to this whole misfire.