Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In The Ward, Kristen, early 20’s, wakes to find herself bruised, cut, drugged and held against her will in a remote ward of a psychiatric hospital. She is disoriented and has no idea why she was brought to this place. The other patients in the ward, four equally troubled girls, offer noIn The Ward, Kristen, early 20’s, wakes to find herself bruised, cut, drugged and held against her will in a remote ward of a psychiatric hospital. She is disoriented and has no idea why she was brought to this place. The other patients in the ward, four equally troubled girls, offer no answers and Kristen quickly realizes things are not as they seem. At night, she becomes aware of a ghostly presence. It appears they are not alone. One-by-one the other girls begin to disappear and Kristen must find a way out of this hellish place before the ghost comes for her too. As she struggles to escape, she will uncover a truth far more dangerous and horrifying than anyone could have imagined. (FilmNation Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. 70
    While by no means a masterpiece of the form, John Carpenter's The Ward is an economical period piece that still effectively demonstrates what a skilled technician can accomplish in a single location with a compact cast and sturdy old-school effects.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 5, 2011
    67
    At least Carpenter the spook-meister knows how to goose you.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jul 5, 2011
    63
    Its ostentatious sense of horror -- think later-day Argento -- is far from suggestive, though some of its queasier moments effectively tap into our fears of not-so-bygone forms of invasive physical therapy.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jul 8, 2011
    40
    The Ward feels less indebted to cinema's past than a desperate attempt to keep up with the present. Carpenter has made his approximation of a cheap, twisty, shock-filled modern horror movie, and he has lost all but faint sighs of his minimalist swagger in the process.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 8, 2011
    38
    In the end, Carpenter offers a reasonably nice payoff to this whole misfire.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Jul 7, 2011
    30
    So yeah, the great man is welcome on our screens any day. On the other hand, Carpenter's comeback packs very little of his usual cinematic flair. It's not even all that scary.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 5, 2011
    20
    Lacking a single serious scare or sly idea, the movie dies in ways that merely mediocre horror films can't even dream of.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    We love you carpenter, but if you follow this with another ghosts of mars, i will be very disappointed, this is a perfect film, this lets usWe love you carpenter, but if you follow this with another ghosts of mars, i will be very disappointed, this is a perfect film, this lets us know that you are still an exceptional director, please, don't crush my faith in you - samarathenymph xoxo Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A magnificent return to form from john carpenter, a wholly original story, consistent and creepy tone, and decent performances steer this filmA magnificent return to form from john carpenter, a wholly original story, consistent and creepy tone, and decent performances steer this film into classic territory, kudos, carpenter, kudos. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    5
    The film was good, until the ending ruined it, the ending was one of those endings that ruins the film altogether.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    4
    Poor movie, made worst by a ridiculous ending which has been done over and over in the past. There is no glossing over the fact that this hasPoor movie, made worst by a ridiculous ending which has been done over and over in the past. There is no glossing over the fact that this has got to be one of the poorest movie I have seen in a long time (and I've watched some rubbish!!) Collapse
  5. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    I had high hopes for this movie but inevitably avoided watching "The Ward" in theatres after reading so many negative reviews. Needless toI had high hopes for this movie but inevitably avoided watching "The Ward" in theatres after reading so many negative reviews. Needless to say, I ended up renting for my own disappointing experience. Terrible character development and the supposed twist of an ending will likely be predictable for most. I give props to the makeup artists and for a few scenes that made me jump a bit but overall, Carpenter's latest flick failed to deliver. I would not recommend this movie to a friend and will avoid watching this in the future. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    Incredibly poorly acted and predictable movie with a completely misplaced cast and script reminiscent of a drunk teenager's recalling ofIncredibly poorly acted and predictable movie with a completely misplaced cast and script reminiscent of a drunk teenager's recalling of events the night before. The atmosphere inside the insane asylum is completely unbelievable for a 60's setting and the pacing of the movie is broken, there will be about 10 minutes of chatter, a minute or two of action and then the story will fall back into talking (or mostly denying, actually) what happened in the action scene before. The first and last death I saw was about 20 to 30 minutes in after which I turned off the movie. It seemed to me like that movie was going to take a torture porn-approach to the killings instead of creating truly suspenseful murdering scenes. I was very surprised to see John Carpenter's name on top of this monstrocity. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers