Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2012
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
60
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TheQuietGamerMay 7, 2013
The watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing myThe watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing my ass off at it. The cast comes together perfectly and their chemistry helps the laughs feel so natural. In the end it's a top notch vulgar comedy that I just enjoyed watching, and if this is your kind of comedy you'll enjoy it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticMar 15, 2013
So much comedic talent wasted on such an unfunny boring alien invasion movie. Besides a few chuckles here or there this film is just a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeMar 12, 2015
Ben Stiller is again in at his best in this action packed sci-fi comedy.Jonah Hill was really good but Vince Vaughn was not at his best.The jokes are funny and the aliens are really well made.I don't get all the hate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
The plot flatlines- not at a point in the film, but through the entire film. For an R rated comedy with aliens, guns, and explosions, The Watch is extremely boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMar 8, 2013
The Watch may have an inconsistent tone and some jokes may fall flat, but the film at least has interesting characters, with some nice dumb fun along the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took overThis movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took over the actual movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Feb 5, 2013
A pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almostA pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almost any movie he's in. He actually does better when he plays more serious roles. Jonah Hill tries far too hard, but I think that is also just to bad writing and character concept. Vince Vaughn just nails his role and creates a funny, but believable character. Billy Crudup is just all round funny. His jokes are great but also feel a little out of place in parts. Overall: Not a brilliant comedy, but for the most part it was better than I expected it to be and and had some pretty well done special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Jan 21, 2016
The cast are really funny and they really shine even as a group or individually.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1f7ab3-The-Watch-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonAug 26, 2015
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben Still, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn) will tell you exactly what type of movie this is and, while plenty of jokes fall flat meaning it's not up there with the best movies of its type, it's fairly funny throughout and fans of this kind of comedy will most likely enjoy it to some degree.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrMovieBuffJun 28, 2016
'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot and the jokes within the same context, so they do the best they can to try and combine the two which adds up to something uneven.

Ben Stiller stars as a senior manager of a Costco store, and one night after he leaves when his shift is over, one of his co-workers/friend stays over and ends up being killed by some strange extra-terrestrial being. After hearing about this, the police try to investigate the situation, but when they can't find any leads, they put the investigation in limbo. Stiller's character decides to form a "Neighborhood Watch" which consists of three men including; Bob (Vince Vaughn), Franklin (Jonah Hill) and Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade).

One night, during their watch, they discover something strange, a metallic orb of some kind that is also a dangerous weapon and seems to come from anywhere but Earth. During their time as the Neighborhood Watch, several more people in their town are mysteriously killed, and they are trying their best to get down on the situation.

The movie does well with its lead cast members of Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill and Richard Ayoade...these four men have fun with their comedic chemistry, and work well to make any audience member laugh. There are some hilarious scenes in there, but the jokes do fall very flat very quickly. Considering that the movie is about four men tracking down extra-terrestrial species, it's a wonder as to why there are so many crude, vulgar and sometimes offensive jokes. The material is written by Jared Stern, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, and it seems that they must have been side-tracked into thinking that more adult humor is needed. Subtlety is important sometimes, the biggest mistake this movie makes is going overboard.

Overall, this isn't a bad comedy, just more of a misguided one. It would have been a lot funnier if the jokes were dialed down instead of constantly bashing us over the head as to how dirty the material can get.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyJul 29, 2012
The Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. TheThe Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. The performances of Stiller and Hill are the most redeemable and the rest... I don't wanna talk about that. The movie is really good, have some cool and funny moments and it's all. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 12, 2013
Had its funny moments but it could have been much better. The plot was good and the cast great for a comedy. The director and the producers should have done a better job here
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group ofBetter then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dharmaJun 2, 2013
Let's look at the concept behind this movie: Get 3 of the most 'popular' comedians out there and have them investigate weird and spooky going on in their neighborhood. Who you gonna call? If you said Ghostbuster, but with Aliens instead ofLet's look at the concept behind this movie: Get 3 of the most 'popular' comedians out there and have them investigate weird and spooky going on in their neighborhood. Who you gonna call? If you said Ghostbuster, but with Aliens instead of ghosts, then you just got that one single film that The Watch tried so hard to emulate. What you get though is one the biggest flop of 2012, a film so bad that it deserves every score that the critics gave it. The casts, including Ben Stiller, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn tried so hard to make it funny, but they failed miserably. One of the worst film of the year Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StaticSpineAug 26, 2012
This movie is ok to watch it with your friends once. Nice actors, especially Stiller and Vaughn. The plot is okay. But in total the film is average. I prefer Attack On The Block!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Knicksfan7Aug 16, 2012
Listen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, andListen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, and awesome. Yes it got dull and boring and slightly annoying at some points but overall this was a funny movie, i was dying with laughter at some parts. I give this a 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroNov 22, 2012
A comedy is supposed to make you laugh, right ? Well, I did not laugh once. Vince Vaughn's overpowering presence was a big part of why this movie was so awful. He does the same thing for 20 years now, and it gets ever more annoying.
A
A comedy is supposed to make you laugh, right ? Well, I did not laugh once. Vince Vaughn's overpowering presence was a big part of why this movie was so awful. He does the same thing for 20 years now, and it gets ever more annoying.
A complete and utter waste of time.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
analogkid280Sep 24, 2012
Saw this movie almost 2 months ago and my opinion is still the same. It is the worst comedy I have seen all year. J Hill seems like he is phoning in his performance. Vaughn is doing his normal annoying shtick. Worst product placements in aSaw this movie almost 2 months ago and my opinion is still the same. It is the worst comedy I have seen all year. J Hill seems like he is phoning in his performance. Vaughn is doing his normal annoying shtick. Worst product placements in a movie ever. This should of never been released during the summer. It should of been straight to DVD. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
theahsanhaseebNov 15, 2012
Just an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're notJust an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so much potential but the screenplay wasn't that powerful or inspiring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Alien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't haveAlien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't have made any difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Viper8787Oct 4, 2014
This movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of theThis movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of the movie an enjoyable watch. An all-star comedy cast that was rolled were pretty funny but definitely not the best roles of any of there carers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theofficeAug 4, 2012
The movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen beingThe movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen being involved. You'd think combining all this talent in one movie would be golden but the script just didn't allow it. I suggest waiting for DVD but it can be theater worthy and not a bad way to spend an evening if you're otherwise free. Just don't go in expecting a comedy like Wedding Crashers, Old School, Meet the Parents, Superbad... yeah you get the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ExKingJun 8, 2013
they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
not totally unwatchable because there are FEW good scenes but the movie seems lazily produced, lazily
they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
not totally unwatchable because there are FEW good scenes but the movie seems lazily produced, lazily written and lazily directed.
i mean beyond the fact that the story is so dull and weird, the only way that you could know that this is a comedy movie is by reading the word "comedy" on the blue-ray box, THAT'S IT.
the characters is so lazily written that you don't even know what the hell is Jonah Hill role, he just standing there doing absolutely nothing, and what's with the British guy, you can totally remove him and that would not effect the movie at all, but then they decided to spice it up and make him an alien REALLY?
if this is where the comedy is going then we all completely doomed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GagaForGhibliAug 6, 2012
Overall A Good Movie
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
tropicAcesJul 27, 2012
The whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad andThe whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad and Pineapple Express) wrote it, and Stiller, Vaughn and Hill are Hollywood's top comedians. The film was just not funny at all and I'm a little worried that Hollywood has run out of original ideas. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
1
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
Do not be fooled by the impressive cast because this film is utterly atrocious. The story is weak to say the least whilst the characters are so unappealing that I can't even remember their names. The plot twist is not clever, nor is it evenDo not be fooled by the impressive cast because this film is utterly atrocious. The story is weak to say the least whilst the characters are so unappealing that I can't even remember their names. The plot twist is not clever, nor is it even needed because like the whole production it is basically a disgraceful, appalling and ridiculous proposition. Avoid setting your eyes upon this monstrosity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gimmedatsammichSep 5, 2012
If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed.If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
SpunkyMonkeyJan 2, 2013
Brilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neither are other great action-comedies such as Big Trouble In Little China or Ghostbusters (although itBrilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neither are other great action-comedies such as Big Trouble In Little China or Ghostbusters (although it does have more laughs and is more comedy orientated than both). There are also some genuinely clever laugh out loud moments too, and the film as a whole flows really well. Light-hearted, silly fun that - judging by the reviews - isn't for the more serious people out there, but IS for those who like a carefree, laddish laugh. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SFNJul 29, 2012
i was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed outi was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed out loud, the movie is totally inappropriate too, i was expecting a few sex related things and that's it, not an entire movie with swearing or some sex related thing, the overall movie is terrible and i don't how these people liked it, im disappointed in hill and vaughn for staring in the these piece of crap Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
monster_mealJul 8, 2013
How does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved inHow does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved in his role in this film. The twist in this film was totally bizarre and since I hadn't seen any trailers for it, it caught me totally off guard. I really do recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews