User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 164
  2. Negative: 42 out of 164
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, I laughed heaps, as did everyone else in the theater. I can understand why people would not like this film as Neighborhood watch fighting skin-stealing aliens is a pretty damn stupid movie concept. It depends on your expectations when you watch the film, I knew it had bad reviews, and that it was about a Neighborhood watch, but that was all I knew about theI really enjoyed this movie, I laughed heaps, as did everyone else in the theater. I can understand why people would not like this film as Neighborhood watch fighting skin-stealing aliens is a pretty damn stupid movie concept. It depends on your expectations when you watch the film, I knew it had bad reviews, and that it was about a Neighborhood watch, but that was all I knew about the film so it really wasn't what I was expecting at all. Sometimes stupid movies are just really fun, it really depends on your mood when you watch it, and who you watch it with, which I find is the same with like 'Family Guy' among other things. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    6
    The movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won't be able to enjoy the film. Even with what the film lacks, I would definitely suggest you see it. It has wonderful cast and entertaining plot, justThe movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won't be able to enjoy the film. Even with what the film lacks, I would definitely suggest you see it. It has wonderful cast and entertaining plot, just remember not to take it too seriously. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I never thought I'd see the day Ben Stiller would actually star in a movie worth watching. The Watch was more than worth watching, it's hilarious and cleverly written. Yes, it has immature jokes and yes the musical score is just downright bad but that's the thing; it manages to be bad in a good way, it gets everything right and it just makes for this relaxed science-fiction comedy thatI never thought I'd see the day Ben Stiller would actually star in a movie worth watching. The Watch was more than worth watching, it's hilarious and cleverly written. Yes, it has immature jokes and yes the musical score is just downright bad but that's the thing; it manages to be bad in a good way, it gets everything right and it just makes for this relaxed science-fiction comedy that doesn't go too deep, doesn't leave any unanswered questions and wraps up the story in a great way with explosions to boot. Of course, as soon as I discovered a cameo appearance by R. Lee Ermey (FMJ) and a lead role by Richard Ayoade (I.T crowd) I knew this movie had to be good. The other characters were great too, Jonah Hill (as Franklin) and Vince Vaughn made for a great team. And for once the lead female role isn't overly dramatic, Rosemarie DeWitt (as Abby) puts in a great performance despite not getting as much screen-time as the guys. I'm not sure why this movie is as underrated as it is, I thought it was a great departure from all the overly serious science-fiction movies that have come out lately. This one had everything most of those movies are missing; a plot, people we can identify with and character development and best of all: a pacing that makes it feel like time flew by. To think that I was considering not watching it when I noticed Ben Stiller's head on the box! Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    The Watch may have an inconsistent tone and some jokes may fall flat, but the film at least has interesting characters, with some nice dumb fun along the way.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Just an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so muchJust an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so much potential but the screenplay wasn't that powerful or inspiring. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    'The Watch' has been poorly reviewed and everyone seems to be dissapointed with it, but I wasn't. I enjoyed it. 'The Watch' WAS actually funny, it made me laugh then the majority of modern comedies, which are usually poor. The cast is brilliant. 'The Watch' has four strong lead actors, Jonah Hill & Richard Ayoade being the strongest, Ben Stiller being the weakest and Vince Vaughn is better'The Watch' has been poorly reviewed and everyone seems to be dissapointed with it, but I wasn't. I enjoyed it. 'The Watch' WAS actually funny, it made me laugh then the majority of modern comedies, which are usually poor. The cast is brilliant. 'The Watch' has four strong lead actors, Jonah Hill & Richard Ayoade being the strongest, Ben Stiller being the weakest and Vince Vaughn is better then usual. The narrative and premise is fun and the aliens actually look good (from a design perspective).
    Overall 'The Watch' is a fun, crude, rude comedy that's better than the majority, but overall to most people it's either a hit or a miss, I'd definately recommend it, at least give it a try.
    Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    "The Watch" definitely starts out a little slow, but picks up the comedic pace within about 10 minutes (thanks to Vince Vaughn). If you are the type of person that likes guys making awkward penis jokes and aliens getting shot to death in the crotch, then this is the film for you! It is definitely not for everyone, but it is definitely not half as bad as the critics are reporting. If you're"The Watch" definitely starts out a little slow, but picks up the comedic pace within about 10 minutes (thanks to Vince Vaughn). If you are the type of person that likes guys making awkward penis jokes and aliens getting shot to death in the crotch, then this is the film for you! It is definitely not for everyone, but it is definitely not half as bad as the critics are reporting. If you're a quasi-imature youngster age 14-25 (as I am) then you'll definitely have a good time.

    8 stars out of 10!
    Expand
  8. Jul 27, 2012
    3
    The whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad and Pineapple Express) wrote it, and Stiller, Vaughn and Hill are Hollywood's top comedians. The film was just not funny at all and I'm a little worriedThe whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad and Pineapple Express) wrote it, and Stiller, Vaughn and Hill are Hollywood's top comedians. The film was just not funny at all and I'm a little worried that Hollywood has run out of original ideas. Expand
  9. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Everything you have come to expect from Vaughn,Stiller, and Hill and surprisingly new comer (to US film) Ayoade is by far the most entertaining character.
  10. Jul 29, 2012
    6
    The Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. The performances of Stiller and Hill are the most redeemable and the rest... I don't wanna talk about that. The movie is really good, have some cool and funnyThe Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. The performances of Stiller and Hill are the most redeemable and the rest... I don't wanna talk about that. The movie is really good, have some cool and funny moments and it's all. Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    0
    Detestable, at best. There is not one character in this movie that has any likability. The dialogue is painfully unfunny, repetitive, and possesses the subtlety of a frying pan to the face. I don't necessarily look for high-brow jokes, but there's a difference between making jokes the masses get, and desperate humor that almost begs the audience to like it, pretty please with sugar onDetestable, at best. There is not one character in this movie that has any likability. The dialogue is painfully unfunny, repetitive, and possesses the subtlety of a frying pan to the face. I don't necessarily look for high-brow jokes, but there's a difference between making jokes the masses get, and desperate humor that almost begs the audience to like it, pretty please with sugar on top. Desperation is not appealing in any sense, but especially not in the comedy department. The plot is beyond ridiculous. The script should have been burned, the ashes buried, and the earth salted at the burial site so nothing can grow there again. Who greenlit this? How can any actors do a serious read on this and not have a piece of their soul die? There are no redeemable qualities to this movie whatsoever. Your money would be better spent elsewhere. Expand
  12. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    I'm pretty surprised this movie got such negative reviews from the critics. I laughed virtually the whole movie and so did everyone else in the theater. I guess if you're expecting a dumb, funny, goofy buddy movie go see it, it's a good middle of the summer flick
  13. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best.
  14. Jul 29, 2012
    3
    Cheap, superficial, and immature. Even though the movie tries to be packed with laughs, they're few and far between. The best part of this movie is Vince Vaughn.
  15. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This is the kick-ass-est movie of the year, guys. It had comedy, horror, action, and more comedy. The laughs were non-stop, about 5 a minute during the funny bits, in between the action and horror bits. This movie is truly guy-humor comedy gold, but as a girl I effing loved it so it has something for everyone as long as you're not easily offended. I dare you to not like it.
  16. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    I laughed so hard... and everyone else in the theater did too. I don't know what the critics are thinking but my suggestion is to ignore them and go watch this if you want a great laugh.
  17. SFN
    Jul 29, 2012
    0
    i was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed out loud, the movie is totally inappropriate too, i was expecting a few sex related things and that's it, not an entire movie with swearing or some sexi was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed out loud, the movie is totally inappropriate too, i was expecting a few sex related things and that's it, not an entire movie with swearing or some sex related thing, the overall movie is terrible and i don't how these people liked it, im disappointed in hill and vaughn for staring in the these piece of crap Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    This is a movie starring Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill. There is a good amount of vulgar humor involved. Based on these two statements, you should have a pretty good idea of whether or not you will enjoy this movie. I found this movie to be very funny, definitely worth the ticket price. Richard Ayoade (the fourth member of the watch) did a great job in my opinion. He didn'tThis is a movie starring Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill. There is a good amount of vulgar humor involved. Based on these two statements, you should have a pretty good idea of whether or not you will enjoy this movie. I found this movie to be very funny, definitely worth the ticket price. Richard Ayoade (the fourth member of the watch) did a great job in my opinion. He didn't steal the show, but I found a couple of his lines to be the highlights of the movie. Expand
  19. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    Saw this movie almost 2 months ago and my opinion is still the same. It is the worst comedy I have seen all year. J Hill seems like he is phoning in his performance. Vaughn is doing his normal annoying shtick. Worst product placements in a movie ever. This should of never been released during the summer. It should of been straight to DVD.
  20. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, I thought this movie was completely awful. The previews are quite misleading. The previews have you believe it's a slapstick funny flick about some average guys who discover some aliens. In reality, the movie is a medley of immature sex/penis jokes, overall crude and vulgar language every 30 seconds, a plot with a potential to be cute and funny but was instead butchered, and maybe 3 actually funny moments. the movie doesn't stick to the plot either, as it jumps around between the guys's personal problems, it was like two movies smacked together. Not to mention there is a disgusting orgy halfway through. No warning at all, just a ton of people having graphic sex, a lot of naked people (which personally, I do NOT like to see in movies, there are other places for that), and a shot of several sex toys. I have no idea how these other people are rating it so high, it was dreadful. And before you say I'm some old lady prude, I am a regular 20 year old girl, and as a member of a generation that usually likes these kind of things, I was truly repulsed. I would NOT see it again and heartily wish I had seen something else instead. Expand
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    A comedy is supposed to make you laugh, right ? Well, I did not laugh once. Vince Vaughn's overpowering presence was a big part of why this movie was so awful. He does the same thing for 20 years now, and it gets ever more annoying.
    A complete and utter waste of time.
  22. Jul 28, 2012
    6
    The Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to its cast, which do their best with the script and provide some very good laughs. Had it been other comedic actors like Happy Madison actors this movie wouldThe Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to its cast, which do their best with the script and provide some very good laughs. Had it been other comedic actors like Happy Madison actors this movie would have been downright awful. I would only recommend this to people who enjoy stupid vulgar comedies. Don't go in expecting some great movie. I didn't and had a few laughs that I felt was somewhat worth it. Expand
  23. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    So much comedic talent wasted on such an unfunny boring alien invasion movie. Besides a few chuckles here or there this film is just a waste of time.
  24. May 7, 2013
    9
    The watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing my ass off at it. The cast comes together perfectly and their chemistry helps the laughs feel so natural. In the end it's a top notch vulgar comedy thatThe watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing my ass off at it. The cast comes together perfectly and their chemistry helps the laughs feel so natural. In the end it's a top notch vulgar comedy that I just enjoyed watching, and if this is your kind of comedy you'll enjoy it as well. Expand
  25. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

    One look at the cast list (which includes Ben Still, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn) will tell you exactly what type of movie this is and, while it's not up there with the best movies of its type,
    When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

    One look at the cast list (which includes Ben Still, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn) will tell you exactly what type of movie this is and, while it's not up there with the best movies of its type, it's pretty funny throughout and fans of this kind of comedy will certainly find plenty to enjoy.
    Expand
  26. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a fewThis movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a few **** out of a few undiscerning 14-year old boys.

    Atrocious.
    Expand
  27. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    Listen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, and awesome. Yes it got dull and boring and slightly annoying at some points but overall this was a funny movie, i was dying with laughter at some parts. IListen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, and awesome. Yes it got dull and boring and slightly annoying at some points but overall this was a funny movie, i was dying with laughter at some parts. I give this a 7/10 Expand
  28. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    How does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved in his role in this film. The twist in this film was totally bizarre and since I hadn't seen any trailers for it, it caught me totally off guard. IHow does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved in his role in this film. The twist in this film was totally bizarre and since I hadn't seen any trailers for it, it caught me totally off guard. I really do recommend this film. Expand
  29. May 16, 2013
    8
    All's forgiven if it's funny right? It might be a little hokey and unbelievable but the difference between this one and others that are complete garbage is that this movie is funny.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Lacking the bite of "Attack The Block," Stiller and co. are happy to fall back on their usual shtick, with director Schaffer providing barely enough juice to power the laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Aug 25, 2012
    60
    If you can ignore the disturbing parallels with recent events, this middle-aged, Middle-American "Attack The Block" raises a laugh.
  3. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 28, 2012
    40
    There's a secret weapon embedded within The Watch, however, and his name is Richard Ayoade.