Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2012
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 179 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
63
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ti00rkiNov 28, 2013
Nie wiem dlaczego film zbiera aż takie złe recenzje. Rozumiem że nie jest to jakieś zaskakujące i pełne polotu kino, ale to dobrze zrobiona, luźna komedia w amerykańskim stylu, którą się po prostu przyjemnie ogląda. Jeżeli ktoś lubi takieNie wiem dlaczego film zbiera aż takie złe recenzje. Rozumiem że nie jest to jakieś zaskakujące i pełne polotu kino, ale to dobrze zrobiona, luźna komedia w amerykańskim stylu, którą się po prostu przyjemnie ogląda. Jeżeli ktoś lubi takie poczucie humoru oczywiście. Nie można od tego filmu zbyt wiele wymagać, a wtedy ogląda sie go fajnie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took overThis movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took over the actual movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theofficeAug 4, 2012
The movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen beingThe movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen being involved. You'd think combining all this talent in one movie would be golden but the script just didn't allow it. I suggest waiting for DVD but it can be theater worthy and not a bad way to spend an evening if you're otherwise free. Just don't go in expecting a comedy like Wedding Crashers, Old School, Meet the Parents, Superbad... yeah you get the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bb6640Aug 3, 2012
This is an hour and a half Costco commercial with a not very good movie squeezed in. There is obnoxious product placement... And then there is this movie, which, to paraphrase, is some next level **** I felt I was being product raped. ItThis is an hour and a half Costco commercial with a not very good movie squeezed in. There is obnoxious product placement... And then there is this movie, which, to paraphrase, is some next level **** I felt I was being product raped. It seems obvious to me Stiller and Vaughn could not give a **** anymore and just filmed themselves and their friends riffing. Sometimes that can work. Sometimes just the sheer chemistry of the cast can make a movie. The Oceans Eleven movies are a good example of this. Not this time. This feels like a blatant money grab and an excuse for Vaughn & Co. to hang out and make raunchy jokes. Watch it as a rental or download because this is the very definition of a time waster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StaticSpineAug 26, 2012
This movie is ok to watch it with your friends once. Nice actors, especially Stiller and Vaughn. The plot is okay. But in total the film is average. I prefer Attack On The Block!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
artstalkerAug 26, 2012
Very funny film. In the theater I'm laughting a lot and too loudy :)
After the filem, I came back at home and was surprised to see such low rating here.
It's one of the best comedies since last several years I've seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Alberto6470Oct 2, 2012
Excellent movie, even with some jokes does not make you laugh, the combination science fiction-comedy is perfect. If you want to have fun with your friends, watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rkeincAug 11, 2013
I would give this movie a -10 but couldn't. Bad acting, stupid, vulgar, not funny, waste of my time, I could go on. Ben Stiller continues to make F- movies and cashing in all the way to the bank!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
The plot flatlines- not at a point in the film, but through the entire film. For an R rated comedy with aliens, guns, and explosions, The Watch is extremely boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Feb 5, 2013
A pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almostA pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almost any movie he's in. He actually does better when he plays more serious roles. Jonah Hill tries far too hard, but I think that is also just to bad writing and character concept. Vince Vaughn just nails his role and creates a funny, but believable character. Billy Crudup is just all round funny. His jokes are great but also feel a little out of place in parts. Overall: Not a brilliant comedy, but for the most part it was better than I expected it to be and and had some pretty well done special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RantAboutFutureJun 4, 2013
You know, at first I thought this movie felt like a dud, but I stuck it out and really enjoyed it. Good work on the part of the actors for pulling this thing out of a nose-dive. Everything came back around, even if sometimes predictably,You know, at first I thought this movie felt like a dud, but I stuck it out and really enjoyed it. Good work on the part of the actors for pulling this thing out of a nose-dive. Everything came back around, even if sometimes predictably, and by the end of the movie I had a smile on my face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SvoidJan 2, 2013
A fair film. It has some funny moments. The strength and absurdity of the characters creates some of the really funny bits early on, but as the plots develop some of this is lost into the usual feel good comedy plot - do weirdoes haves toA fair film. It has some funny moments. The strength and absurdity of the characters creates some of the really funny bits early on, but as the plots develop some of this is lost into the usual feel good comedy plot - do weirdoes haves to show personal growth? Vince Vaughn is great as usual. The humour is a bit crude but if you don't overthink it, it is a fun way to spend an evening; and doesn't require so much attention that you can't cook dinner in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PapuniittiJan 14, 2013
I don't know why people dislike this movie because it was hilarious and full of action. In my opinion it was one of the best comedies of 2012. Sometimes it was a little over the top but still a masterpiece of comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
metamomFeb 8, 2013
This was really, really funny! Maybe you just have to have lived in suburbia and shopped at Costco to appreciate the humor! Or maybe the reviewers who disliked this movie live in suburbia, shop at Costco, and are easily offended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
makinghergagFeb 9, 2013
Very Poor, looking at the cast I thought this movie would be brilliant. Very hard to find a laugh unless you look in your pocket and realise you spent money on this trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ExKingJun 8, 2013
they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
not totally unwatchable because there are FEW good scenes but the movie seems lazily produced, lazily
they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
not totally unwatchable because there are FEW good scenes but the movie seems lazily produced, lazily written and lazily directed.
i mean beyond the fact that the story is so dull and weird, the only way that you could know that this is a comedy movie is by reading the word "comedy" on the blue-ray box, THAT'S IT.
the characters is so lazily written that you don't even know what the hell is Jonah Hill role, he just standing there doing absolutely nothing, and what's with the British guy, you can totally remove him and that would not effect the movie at all, but then they decided to spice it up and make him an alien REALLY?
if this is where the comedy is going then we all completely doomed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BrianMcCriticMar 15, 2013
So much comedic talent wasted on such an unfunny boring alien invasion movie. Besides a few chuckles here or there this film is just a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
callumjsouthDec 13, 2014
Do not be fooled by the impressive cast because this film is utterly atrocious. The story is weak to say the least whilst the characters are so unappealing that I can't even remember their names. The plot twist is not clever, nor is it evenDo not be fooled by the impressive cast because this film is utterly atrocious. The story is weak to say the least whilst the characters are so unappealing that I can't even remember their names. The plot twist is not clever, nor is it even needed because like the whole production it is basically a disgraceful, appalling and ridiculous proposition. Avoid setting your eyes upon this monstrosity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 12, 2013
Had its funny moments but it could have been much better. The plot was good and the cast great for a comedy. The director and the producers should have done a better job here
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
giantsotaJul 6, 2013
I'm really scratching my head as to why this has such low reviews. The jokes are hilarious, great dry humor, Vince Vaughn at his best and nothing stupid to underestimate the audience. I also enjoyed the fact that the music is far andI'm really scratching my head as to why this has such low reviews. The jokes are hilarious, great dry humor, Vince Vaughn at his best and nothing stupid to underestimate the audience. I also enjoyed the fact that the music is far and between in the movie allowing the characters and dialect to breathe from scene to scene. I laughed the whole way through and would rank this up there with Wedding Crashers and Old School, see it sober or high, you'll laugh until the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
smaug87Jul 22, 2013
This film suffers with poor pace and repetitive jokes. Too many long gaps where little is happening. It felt like they were making it up as they went along and although the main cast members are fine actors this is not one I will watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ciaran036homeJul 31, 2013
The only thing the movie has got going for it is a decent set of actors. The concept of the movie is not bad too, but the implementation of it is utter tripe. Whoever wrote the script for this movie might as well be the homeless guy theyThe only thing the movie has got going for it is a decent set of actors. The concept of the movie is not bad too, but the implementation of it is utter tripe. Whoever wrote the script for this movie might as well be the homeless guy they picked off a street corner. The movie obviously was given a decent budget, they've hired big name actors and the CGI is fairly good, but everything apart from that reeks of amateurish nonsense. It's clear this movie tried to be a comedy, but the jokes are dire. The story makes no sense, and the lack of a presence of humour doesn't alleviate that problem. The attempts at humour are all predictable and old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group ofBetter then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wooNov 23, 2015
Too many laugh out loud moments. I had forgotten how funny Richard Ayoade had been in Garth Marehghi's Dark Place, but this was just as good. It is nice to see Jonah Hill being understated along with the rest of the cast. Ben Stiller isn;tToo many laugh out loud moments. I had forgotten how funny Richard Ayoade had been in Garth Marehghi's Dark Place, but this was just as good. It is nice to see Jonah Hill being understated along with the rest of the cast. Ben Stiller isn;t too obvious and plays it well. Really weird to see all the haters panning this film. Much better than say Zoolander, as there so many subtle jokes that it was worth watching twice to see what had been missed. Clearly not a chick flick but well worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
YirrahSep 9, 2013
I watched this movie yesterday, expecting it to be a fun take on the "Alien invasion" genrè. Sadly, I was mistaken. From the start, the movie fails miserably to be funny, that is, unless you find an endless stream of talk about genitalsI watched this movie yesterday, expecting it to be a fun take on the "Alien invasion" genrè. Sadly, I was mistaken. From the start, the movie fails miserably to be funny, that is, unless you find an endless stream of talk about genitals amusing. The excitement fails to materialise as the movie drags on towards it's ending, even as you sit, hoping that something can be salvaged from this train wreck of a movie.

The acting is uninspired, the actors seem as embarrassed to be part of this as you will be to watch it, the humor is, depending on your taste for crudity, either lacking, or completely non-existing. The end brings not excitement, but relief that this movie finally ends.

In conclusion, do not waste your money or time on this, watch in stead "Evolution", which while it relies on some of the same crude humor, at least succeeds to be amusing using the same theme of Alien invasion and hopeless heroes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
arbiter456Jan 15, 2014
I believe this was a fantastic movie and was hilarious. I wish they made more movies like this. My opinion of the people who don't this movie don't have a sense of humor and are probably going to die alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeMar 12, 2015
Ben Stiller is again in at his best in this action packed sci-fi comedy.Jonah Hill was really good but Vince Vaughn was not at his best.The jokes are funny and the aliens are really well made.I don't get all the hate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Viper8787Oct 4, 2014
This movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of theThis movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of the movie an enjoyable watch. An all-star comedy cast that was rolled were pretty funny but definitely not the best roles of any of there carers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrMovieBuffJun 28, 2016
'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot and the jokes within the same context, so they do the best they can to try and combine the two which adds up to something uneven.

Ben Stiller stars as a senior manager of a Costco store, and one night after he leaves when his shift is over, one of his co-workers/friend stays over and ends up being killed by some strange extra-terrestrial being. After hearing about this, the police try to investigate the situation, but when they can't find any leads, they put the investigation in limbo. Stiller's character decides to form a "Neighborhood Watch" which consists of three men including; Bob (Vince Vaughn), Franklin (Jonah Hill) and Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade).

One night, during their watch, they discover something strange, a metallic orb of some kind that is also a dangerous weapon and seems to come from anywhere but Earth. During their time as the Neighborhood Watch, several more people in their town are mysteriously killed, and they are trying their best to get down on the situation.

The movie does well with its lead cast members of Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill and Richard Ayoade...these four men have fun with their comedic chemistry, and work well to make any audience member laugh. There are some hilarious scenes in there, but the jokes do fall very flat very quickly. Considering that the movie is about four men tracking down extra-terrestrial species, it's a wonder as to why there are so many crude, vulgar and sometimes offensive jokes. The material is written by Jared Stern, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, and it seems that they must have been side-tracked into thinking that more adult humor is needed. Subtlety is important sometimes, the biggest mistake this movie makes is going overboard.

Overall, this isn't a bad comedy, just more of a misguided one. It would have been a lot funnier if the jokes were dialed down instead of constantly bashing us over the head as to how dirty the material can get.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Alien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't haveAlien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't have made any difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews