Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2012
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
62
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
jyzmanFeb 21, 2013
I really enjoyed this movie, I laughed heaps, as did everyone else in the theater. I can understand why people would not like this film as Neighborhood watch fighting skin-stealing aliens is a pretty damn stupid movie concept. It depends onI really enjoyed this movie, I laughed heaps, as did everyone else in the theater. I can understand why people would not like this film as Neighborhood watch fighting skin-stealing aliens is a pretty damn stupid movie concept. It depends on your expectations when you watch the film, I knew it had bad reviews, and that it was about a Neighborhood watch, but that was all I knew about the film so it really wasn't what I was expecting at all. Sometimes stupid movies are just really fun, it really depends on your mood when you watch it, and who you watch it with, which I find is the same with like 'Family Guy' among other things. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
theahsanhaseebNov 15, 2012
Just an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're notJust an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so much potential but the screenplay wasn't that powerful or inspiring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
eatmydust166Aug 26, 2012
The movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won'tThe movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won't be able to enjoy the film. Even with what the film lacks, I would definitely suggest you see it. It has wonderful cast and entertaining plot, just remember not to take it too seriously. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
tropicAcesJul 27, 2012
The whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad andThe whole movie felt recycled and was unsure of what tone it wanted to take. I never once actually laughed, but instead forced a snicker and maybe once giggled. What makes it worse is the fact that Seth Rogen and Evan Goldsberg (Superbad and Pineapple Express) wrote it, and Stiller, Vaughn and Hill are Hollywood's top comedians. The film was just not funny at all and I'm a little worried that Hollywood has run out of original ideas. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
8
SubjectAlpha100Jul 27, 2012
"The Watch" definitely starts out a little slow, but picks up the comedic pace within about 10 minutes (thanks to Vince Vaughn). If you are the type of person that likes guys making awkward penis jokes and aliens getting shot to death in the"The Watch" definitely starts out a little slow, but picks up the comedic pace within about 10 minutes (thanks to Vince Vaughn). If you are the type of person that likes guys making awkward penis jokes and aliens getting shot to death in the crotch, then this is the film for you! It is definitely not for everyone, but it is definitely not half as bad as the critics are reporting. If you're a quasi-imature youngster age 14-25 (as I am) then you'll definitely have a good time.

8 stars out of 10!
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
7
GagaForGhibliAug 6, 2012
Overall A Good Movie
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
lmj2kAug 14, 2012
Detestable, at best. There is not one character in this movie that has any likability. The dialogue is painfully unfunny, repetitive, and possesses the subtlety of a frying pan to the face. I don't necessarily look for high-brow jokes, butDetestable, at best. There is not one character in this movie that has any likability. The dialogue is painfully unfunny, repetitive, and possesses the subtlety of a frying pan to the face. I don't necessarily look for high-brow jokes, but there's a difference between making jokes the masses get, and desperate humor that almost begs the audience to like it, pretty please with sugar on top. Desperation is not appealing in any sense, but especially not in the comedy department. The plot is beyond ridiculous. The script should have been burned, the ashes buried, and the earth salted at the burial site so nothing can grow there again. Who greenlit this? How can any actors do a serious read on this and not have a piece of their soul die? There are no redeemable qualities to this movie whatsoever. Your money would be better spent elsewhere. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DanOSullivanSep 1, 2012
'The Watch' has been poorly reviewed and everyone seems to be dissapointed with it, but I wasn't. I enjoyed it. 'The Watch' WAS actually funny, it made me laugh then the majority of modern comedies, which are usually poor. The cast is'The Watch' has been poorly reviewed and everyone seems to be dissapointed with it, but I wasn't. I enjoyed it. 'The Watch' WAS actually funny, it made me laugh then the majority of modern comedies, which are usually poor. The cast is brilliant. 'The Watch' has four strong lead actors, Jonah Hill & Richard Ayoade being the strongest, Ben Stiller being the weakest and Vince Vaughn is better then usual. The narrative and premise is fun and the aliens actually look good (from a design perspective).
Overall 'The Watch' is a fun, crude, rude comedy that's better than the majority, but overall to most people it's either a hit or a miss, I'd definately recommend it, at least give it a try.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
analogkid280Sep 24, 2012
Saw this movie almost 2 months ago and my opinion is still the same. It is the worst comedy I have seen all year. J Hill seems like he is phoning in his performance. Vaughn is doing his normal annoying shtick. Worst product placements in aSaw this movie almost 2 months ago and my opinion is still the same. It is the worst comedy I have seen all year. J Hill seems like he is phoning in his performance. Vaughn is doing his normal annoying shtick. Worst product placements in a movie ever. This should of never been released during the summer. It should of been straight to DVD. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
tstpeterJul 28, 2012
Everything you have come to expect from Vaughn,Stiller, and Hill and surprisingly new comer (to US film) Ayoade is by far the most entertaining character.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
kylemerosiJul 29, 2012
Cheap, superficial, and immature. Even though the movie tries to be packed with laughs, they're few and far between. The best part of this movie is Vince Vaughn.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyJul 29, 2012
The Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. TheThe Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. The performances of Stiller and Hill are the most redeemable and the rest... I don't wanna talk about that. The movie is really good, have some cool and funny moments and it's all. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
SFNJul 29, 2012
i was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed outi was totally looking forward for this movie and walked out disappointed, i thought hey jonah hill and vince vaughn this should be funny and it wasn't, i didn't laugh not once, i probaly giggled once or twice but not actually laughed out loud, the movie is totally inappropriate too, i was expecting a few sex related things and that's it, not an entire movie with swearing or some sex related thing, the overall movie is terrible and i don't how these people liked it, im disappointed in hill and vaughn for staring in the these piece of crap Collapse
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
cdk222Jul 30, 2012
I'm pretty surprised this movie got such negative reviews from the critics. I laughed virtually the whole movie and so did everyone else in the theater. I guess if you're expecting a dumb, funny, goofy buddy movie go see it, it's a goodI'm pretty surprised this movie got such negative reviews from the critics. I laughed virtually the whole movie and so did everyone else in the theater. I guess if you're expecting a dumb, funny, goofy buddy movie go see it, it's a good middle of the summer flick Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
gimmedatsammichSep 5, 2012
If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed.If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
lindseyelizaJul 29, 2012
This is the kick-ass-est movie of the year, guys. It had comedy, horror, action, and more comedy. The laughs were non-stop, about 5 a minute during the funny bits, in between the action and horror bits. This movie is truly guy-humor comedyThis is the kick-ass-est movie of the year, guys. It had comedy, horror, action, and more comedy. The laughs were non-stop, about 5 a minute during the funny bits, in between the action and horror bits. This movie is truly guy-humor comedy gold, but as a girl I effing loved it so it has something for everyone as long as you're not easily offended. I dare you to not like it. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
kendrickdkJul 29, 2012
I laughed so hard... and everyone else in the theater did too. I don't know what the critics are thinking but my suggestion is to ignore them and go watch this if you want a great laugh.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
EriasteJul 31, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, I thought this movie was completely awful. The previews are quite misleading. The previews have you believe it's a slapstick funny flick about some average guys who discover some aliens. In reality, the movie is a medley of immature sex/penis jokes, overall crude and vulgar language every 30 seconds, a plot with a potential to be cute and funny but was instead butchered, and maybe 3 actually funny moments. the movie doesn't stick to the plot either, as it jumps around between the guys's personal problems, it was like two movies smacked together. Not to mention there is a disgusting orgy halfway through. No warning at all, just a ton of people having graphic sex, a lot of naked people (which personally, I do NOT like to see in movies, there are other places for that), and a shot of several sex toys. I have no idea how these other people are rating it so high, it was dreadful. And before you say I'm some old lady prude, I am a regular 20 year old girl, and as a member of a generation that usually likes these kind of things, I was truly repulsed. I would NOT see it again and heartily wish I had seen something else instead. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
MolniyaJul 30, 2012
This is a movie starring Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill. There is a good amount of vulgar humor involved. Based on these two statements, you should have a pretty good idea of whether or not you will enjoy this movie. I found thisThis is a movie starring Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill. There is a good amount of vulgar humor involved. Based on these two statements, you should have a pretty good idea of whether or not you will enjoy this movie. I found this movie to be very funny, definitely worth the ticket price. Richard Ayoade (the fourth member of the watch) did a great job in my opinion. He didn't steal the show, but I found a couple of his lines to be the highlights of the movie. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroNov 22, 2012
A comedy is supposed to make you laugh, right ? Well, I did not laugh once. Vince Vaughn's overpowering presence was a big part of why this movie was so awful. He does the same thing for 20 years now, and it gets ever more annoying.
A
A comedy is supposed to make you laugh, right ? Well, I did not laugh once. Vince Vaughn's overpowering presence was a big part of why this movie was so awful. He does the same thing for 20 years now, and it gets ever more annoying.
A complete and utter waste of time.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
counts0981Jul 28, 2012
The Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to itsThe Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to its cast, which do their best with the script and provide some very good laughs. Had it been other comedic actors like Happy Madison actors this movie would have been downright awful. I would only recommend this to people who enjoy stupid vulgar comedies. Don't go in expecting some great movie. I didn't and had a few laughs that I felt was somewhat worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMay 7, 2013
The watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing myThe watch turned out to be exactly what I expected and wanted it to be, and that is a rude, crude, and immature comedy with just enough vulgarity and absurdity to send it over the top. As with most comedies like this one I enjoyed laughing my ass off at it. The cast comes together perfectly and their chemistry helps the laughs feel so natural. In the end it's a top notch vulgar comedy that I just enjoyed watching, and if this is your kind of comedy you'll enjoy it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonAug 26, 2015
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben Still, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn) will tell you exactly what type of movie this is and, while plenty of jokes fall flat meaning it's not up there with the best movies of its type, it's fairly funny throughout and fans of this kind of comedy will most likely enjoy it to some degree.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WillWongNov 7, 2012
This movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thoughtThis movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a few **** out of a few undiscerning 14-year old boys.

Atrocious.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Knicksfan7Aug 16, 2012
Listen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, andListen, The Watch wasn't perfect by any means, but was it a funny? It certainly was and thats all that matters with a film like this. What do you expect with Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn and Jonah Hill battling aliens? The Watch was funny, and awesome. Yes it got dull and boring and slightly annoying at some points but overall this was a funny movie, i was dying with laughter at some parts. I give this a 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
monster_mealJul 8, 2013
How does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved inHow does a movie this funny tank so badly? The comedies that do well these days aren't usually my style, and yet I ended up really enjoying this strange but hilarious film. Stiller was, for once in a long while, actually kind of reserved in his role in this film. The twist in this film was totally bizarre and since I hadn't seen any trailers for it, it caught me totally off guard. I really do recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
penfifteenMay 16, 2013
All's forgiven if it's funny right? It might be a little hokey and unbelievable but the difference between this one and others that are complete garbage is that this movie is funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpunkyMonkeyJan 2, 2013
Brilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neither are other great action-comedies such as Big Trouble In Little China or Ghostbusters (although itBrilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neither are other great action-comedies such as Big Trouble In Little China or Ghostbusters (although it does have more laughs and is more comedy orientated than both). There are also some genuinely clever laugh out loud moments too, and the film as a whole flows really well. Light-hearted, silly fun that - judging by the reviews - isn't for the more serious people out there, but IS for those who like a carefree, laddish laugh. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMar 8, 2013
The Watch may have an inconsistent tone and some jokes may fall flat, but the film at least has interesting characters, with some nice dumb fun along the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dharmaJun 2, 2013
Let's look at the concept behind this movie: Get 3 of the most 'popular' comedians out there and have them investigate weird and spooky going on in their neighborhood. Who you gonna call? If you said Ghostbuster, but with Aliens instead ofLet's look at the concept behind this movie: Get 3 of the most 'popular' comedians out there and have them investigate weird and spooky going on in their neighborhood. Who you gonna call? If you said Ghostbuster, but with Aliens instead of ghosts, then you just got that one single film that The Watch tried so hard to emulate. What you get though is one the biggest flop of 2012, a film so bad that it deserves every score that the critics gave it. The casts, including Ben Stiller, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn tried so hard to make it funny, but they failed miserably. One of the worst film of the year Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews