Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2012
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
60
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
drlowdonAug 26, 2015
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben
When a colleague is murdered local Cost-Co manager Evan sets up a neighborhood watch group to try to catch the killer, but things turn out to be a little more complicated then he first thought.

One look at the cast list (which includes Ben Still, Jonah Hill and Vince Vaughn) will tell you exactly what type of movie this is and, while plenty of jokes fall flat meaning it's not up there with the best movies of its type, it's fairly funny throughout and fans of this kind of comedy will most likely enjoy it to some degree.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyJul 29, 2012
The Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. TheThe Watch... the new movie of Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, ok the movie have an interesting story, in that can appear some funny moments, but the problem is the next that the movie is really terrible, but the movie is really funny. The performances of Stiller and Hill are the most redeemable and the rest... I don't wanna talk about that. The movie is really good, have some cool and funny moments and it's all. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
counts0981Jul 28, 2012
The Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to itsThe Watch is a ridiculous movie. The plot is so clichéd and many of the jokes are overly vulgar. But there is no denying that The Watch has a certain charm to it that for the most part keeps you engaged. This is largely due to its cast, which do their best with the script and provide some very good laughs. Had it been other comedic actors like Happy Madison actors this movie would have been downright awful. I would only recommend this to people who enjoy stupid vulgar comedies. Don't go in expecting some great movie. I didn't and had a few laughs that I felt was somewhat worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
StaticSpineAug 26, 2012
This movie is ok to watch it with your friends once. Nice actors, especially Stiller and Vaughn. The plot is okay. But in total the film is average. I prefer Attack On The Block!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eatmydust166Aug 26, 2012
The movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won'tThe movie has a view good laughs, but has several points in which the jokes fall flat. When you see this movie you need to appreciate the film for the story more than just the comedy. If you focus to much on the lack of good lines you won't be able to enjoy the film. Even with what the film lacks, I would definitely suggest you see it. It has wonderful cast and entertaining plot, just remember not to take it too seriously. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Feb 5, 2013
A pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almostA pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almost any movie he's in. He actually does better when he plays more serious roles. Jonah Hill tries far too hard, but I think that is also just to bad writing and character concept. Vince Vaughn just nails his role and creates a funny, but believable character. Billy Crudup is just all round funny. His jokes are great but also feel a little out of place in parts. Overall: Not a brilliant comedy, but for the most part it was better than I expected it to be and and had some pretty well done special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SvoidJan 2, 2013
A fair film. It has some funny moments. The strength and absurdity of the characters creates some of the really funny bits early on, but as the plots develop some of this is lost into the usual feel good comedy plot - do weirdoes haves toA fair film. It has some funny moments. The strength and absurdity of the characters creates some of the really funny bits early on, but as the plots develop some of this is lost into the usual feel good comedy plot - do weirdoes haves to show personal growth? Vince Vaughn is great as usual. The humour is a bit crude but if you don't overthink it, it is a fun way to spend an evening; and doesn't require so much attention that you can't cook dinner in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KivaJun 12, 2013
Had its funny moments but it could have been much better. The plot was good and the cast great for a comedy. The director and the producers should have done a better job here
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group ofBetter then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Viper8787Oct 4, 2014
This movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of theThis movie was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, with early reviews that I read I thought it was going to be awful. It wasn't very good by any means but the comedy just seemed to hit me in the right way at times ti make most of the movie an enjoyable watch. An all-star comedy cast that was rolled were pretty funny but definitely not the best roles of any of there carers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMar 8, 2013
The Watch may have an inconsistent tone and some jokes may fall flat, but the film at least has interesting characters, with some nice dumb fun along the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took overThis movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took over the actual movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theofficeAug 4, 2012
The movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen beingThe movie was pretty average. Plot and comedy were meh with only occasional laughs at sex jokes. I just was expecting a little more based on the actors and previous high quality films they've all been in as well as guys like Seth Rogen being involved. You'd think combining all this talent in one movie would be golden but the script just didn't allow it. I suggest waiting for DVD but it can be theater worthy and not a bad way to spend an evening if you're otherwise free. Just don't go in expecting a comedy like Wedding Crashers, Old School, Meet the Parents, Superbad... yeah you get the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
theahsanhaseebNov 15, 2012
Just an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're notJust an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so much potential but the screenplay wasn't that powerful or inspiring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Bb6640Aug 3, 2012
This is an hour and a half Costco commercial with a not very good movie squeezed in. There is obnoxious product placement... And then there is this movie, which, to paraphrase, is some next level **** I felt I was being product raped. ItThis is an hour and a half Costco commercial with a not very good movie squeezed in. There is obnoxious product placement... And then there is this movie, which, to paraphrase, is some next level **** I felt I was being product raped. It seems obvious to me Stiller and Vaughn could not give a **** anymore and just filmed themselves and their friends riffing. Sometimes that can work. Sometimes just the sheer chemistry of the cast can make a movie. The Oceans Eleven movies are a good example of this. Not this time. This feels like a blatant money grab and an excuse for Vaughn & Co. to hang out and make raunchy jokes. Watch it as a rental or download because this is the very definition of a time waster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrMovieBuffJun 28, 2016
'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot and the jokes within the same context, so they do the best they can to try and combine the two which adds up to something uneven.

Ben Stiller stars as a senior manager of a Costco store, and one night after he leaves when his shift is over, one of his co-workers/friend stays over and ends up being killed by some strange extra-terrestrial being. After hearing about this, the police try to investigate the situation, but when they can't find any leads, they put the investigation in limbo. Stiller's character decides to form a "Neighborhood Watch" which consists of three men including; Bob (Vince Vaughn), Franklin (Jonah Hill) and Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade).

One night, during their watch, they discover something strange, a metallic orb of some kind that is also a dangerous weapon and seems to come from anywhere but Earth. During their time as the Neighborhood Watch, several more people in their town are mysteriously killed, and they are trying their best to get down on the situation.

The movie does well with its lead cast members of Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill and Richard Ayoade...these four men have fun with their comedic chemistry, and work well to make any audience member laugh. There are some hilarious scenes in there, but the jokes do fall very flat very quickly. Considering that the movie is about four men tracking down extra-terrestrial species, it's a wonder as to why there are so many crude, vulgar and sometimes offensive jokes. The material is written by Jared Stern, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, and it seems that they must have been side-tracked into thinking that more adult humor is needed. Subtlety is important sometimes, the biggest mistake this movie makes is going overboard.

Overall, this isn't a bad comedy, just more of a misguided one. It would have been a lot funnier if the jokes were dialed down instead of constantly bashing us over the head as to how dirty the material can get.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Alien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't haveAlien invasion comedy. Funny only in a few places. Older teens may like it for the laddish swearing and sex references. I saw it through to the end, but have no idea why. I could have fallen asleep for the middle half hour, it wouldn't have made any difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews