Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world --Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world -- from total extermination. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Aug 25, 2012
    60
    If you can ignore the disturbing parallels with recent events, this middle-aged, Middle-American "Attack The Block" raises a laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jul 26, 2012
    50
    The end result is mediocre, slightly sloppy and a mild waste of a great cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 28, 2012
    50
    Yes, it all gets kind of old, and yes, it's all over the place, but you'll probably find yourself laughing at least some of the time. Dick jokes, after all, can be pretty funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 26, 2012
    42
    If this amateur justice league spent as much time analyzing clues as they did analyzing their junk, in every slang variation available in the Urban Dictionary, the murder mystery in The Watch could have been solved on the first night of surveillance.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 26, 2012
    40
    The movie builds to a human-versus-alien showdown so sloppily staged that it makes little visual sense. The bargain-basement pyrotechnics suggest that much of The Watch was filmed on autopilot on a strict budget.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 27, 2012
    38
    Then there's the movie itself, which should be crazy, stupid fun but settles for just stupid.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 26, 2012
    0
    Every summer needs a super-turkey. So barring anything in the next 30 days that's the second coming of "Howard the Duck," the witless, completely terrible "comedy" now called The Watch should win hands-down.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 56
  2. Negative: 18 out of 56
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's targetIf you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people dislike this movie because it was hilarious and full of action. In my opinion it was one of the best comedies of 2012.I don't know why people dislike this movie because it was hilarious and full of action. In my opinion it was one of the best comedies of 2012. Sometimes it was a little over the top but still a masterpiece of comedy. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Very funny film. In the theater I'm laughting a lot and too loudy :)
    After the filem, I came back at home and was surprised to see such low
    Very funny film. In the theater I'm laughting a lot and too loudy :)
    After the filem, I came back at home and was surprised to see such low rating here.
    It's one of the best comedies since last several years I've seen
    Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    A pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writingA pretty decent comedy that does try to do something a little different. Some really great jokes, but unfortunately some rather poor writing for the parts in between jokes. I always find it funny how I can not find Ben Stiller funny in almost any movie he's in. He actually does better when he plays more serious roles. Jonah Hill tries far too hard, but I think that is also just to bad writing and character concept. Vince Vaughn just nails his role and creates a funny, but believable character. Billy Crudup is just all round funny. His jokes are great but also feel a little out of place in parts. Overall: Not a brilliant comedy, but for the most part it was better than I expected it to be and and had some pretty well done special effects. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    This movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining.This movie definitely had some hilarious moments but it turned into a really strange science fiction movie that just didn't seem entertaining. The funniest parts of the film were all in the previews and all of the weird crap just took over the actual movie. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    The plot flatlines- not at a point in the film, but through the entire film. For an R rated comedy with aliens, guns, and explosions, TheThe plot flatlines- not at a point in the film, but through the entire film. For an R rated comedy with aliens, guns, and explosions, The Watch is extremely boring. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story lineThis movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a few **** out of a few undiscerning 14-year old boys.

    Atrocious.
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers