The Watch

The Watch Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world --Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world -- from total extermination. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Aug 25, 2012
    60
    If you can ignore the disturbing parallels with recent events, this middle-aged, Middle-American "Attack The Block" raises a laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jul 26, 2012
    50
    The end result is mediocre, slightly sloppy and a mild waste of a great cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 28, 2012
    50
    Yes, it all gets kind of old, and yes, it's all over the place, but you'll probably find yourself laughing at least some of the time. Dick jokes, after all, can be pretty funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 26, 2012
    42
    If this amateur justice league spent as much time analyzing clues as they did analyzing their junk, in every slang variation available in the Urban Dictionary, the murder mystery in The Watch could have been solved on the first night of surveillance.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 26, 2012
    40
    The movie builds to a human-versus-alien showdown so sloppily staged that it makes little visual sense. The bargain-basement pyrotechnics suggest that much of The Watch was filmed on autopilot on a strict budget.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 27, 2012
    38
    Then there's the movie itself, which should be crazy, stupid fun but settles for just stupid.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 26, 2012
    0
    Every summer needs a super-turkey. So barring anything in the next 30 days that's the second coming of "Howard the Duck," the witless, completely terrible "comedy" now called The Watch should win hands-down.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 59
  2. Negative: 18 out of 59
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's targetIf you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Excellent movie, even with some jokes does not make you laugh, the combination science fiction-comedy is perfect. If you want to have fun withExcellent movie, even with some jokes does not make you laugh, the combination science fiction-comedy is perfect. If you want to have fun with your friends, watch this movie. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    This was really, really funny! Maybe you just have to have lived in suburbia and shopped at Costco to appreciate the humor! Or maybe theThis was really, really funny! Maybe you just have to have lived in suburbia and shopped at Costco to appreciate the humor! Or maybe the reviewers who disliked this movie live in suburbia, shop at Costco, and are easily offended. Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    6
    Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn'tBetter then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

    They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

    Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2016
    5
    'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude'The Watch' is a desperate comedy, desperate for laughs and desperate for any reaction that relates to shock thanks to its unnecessarily crude and vulgar themes within its comedy material. It's a comedy that doesn't know how to place the plot and the jokes within the same context, so they do the best they can to try and combine the two which adds up to something uneven.

    Ben Stiller stars as a senior manager of a Costco store, and one night after he leaves when his shift is over, one of his co-workers/friend stays over and ends up being killed by some strange extra-terrestrial being. After hearing about this, the police try to investigate the situation, but when they can't find any leads, they put the investigation in limbo. Stiller's character decides to form a "Neighborhood Watch" which consists of three men including; Bob (Vince Vaughn), Franklin (Jonah Hill) and Jamarcus (Richard Ayoade).

    One night, during their watch, they discover something strange, a metallic orb of some kind that is also a dangerous weapon and seems to come from anywhere but Earth. During their time as the Neighborhood Watch, several more people in their town are mysteriously killed, and they are trying their best to get down on the situation.

    The movie does well with its lead cast members of Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill and Richard Ayoade...these four men have fun with their comedic chemistry, and work well to make any audience member laugh. There are some hilarious scenes in there, but the jokes do fall very flat very quickly. Considering that the movie is about four men tracking down extra-terrestrial species, it's a wonder as to why there are so many crude, vulgar and sometimes offensive jokes. The material is written by Jared Stern, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, and it seems that they must have been side-tracked into thinking that more adult humor is needed. Subtlety is important sometimes, the biggest mistake this movie makes is going overboard.

    Overall, this isn't a bad comedy, just more of a misguided one. It would have been a lot funnier if the jokes were dialed down instead of constantly bashing us over the head as to how dirty the material can get.
    Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
    not
    they say Ben Stiller movies some ON and some OFF, well this one is OFF, actually it's too OFF this time that it's barely unwatchable,
    not totally unwatchable because there are FEW good scenes but the movie seems lazily produced, lazily written and lazily directed.
    i mean beyond the fact that the story is so dull and weird, the only way that you could know that this is a comedy movie is by reading the word "comedy" on the blue-ray box, THAT'S IT.
    the characters is so lazily written that you don't even know what the hell is Jonah Hill role, he just standing there doing absolutely nothing, and what's with the British guy, you can totally remove him and that would not effect the movie at all, but then they decided to spice it up and make him an alien REALLY?
    if this is where the comedy is going then we all completely doomed.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story lineThis movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a few **** out of a few undiscerning 14-year old boys.

    Atrocious.
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV

    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV Image
    Published: March 18, 2015
    Looking for something good to watch at home or on the go? We've picked out the best movie and TV titles added to all of the major streaming services (including Amazon Prime, Netflix, iTunes, and Hulu) over the past month.
  3. What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV

    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV Image
    Published: November 19, 2014
    Looking for something good to watch at home or on the go? We've picked out the best movie and TV titles added to all of the major streaming services (including Amazon Prime, Netflix, iTunes, and Hulu) over the past month.
  4. What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV

    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV Image
    Published: October 22, 2014
    Looking for something good to watch at home or on the go? We've picked out the best movie and TV titles added to all of the major streaming services (including Amazon Prime, Netflix, iTunes, Hulu, and CBS All Access) over the past month.
  5. What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV at Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, and Hulu

    What to Watch Now: Best New Streaming Movies & TV at Netflix, Amazon, iTunes, and Hulu Image
    Published: September 18, 2014
    Looking for something good to watch at home? We've picked out the best movie and TV titles added to all of the major streaming services over the past month.