User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 97
  2. Negative: 40 out of 97
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    Nostalgic Value is off the charts! Great movie everyone should see it at least once. If you like sports this one will really hit the spot its a great mix of comedy and action.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    An Adam Sandler classic. It's regarded as one of his best, and I agree. A classic that's hilarious and a must watch whether your a Sandler fan or not.
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    The funniest of all Sandler's films. Yes, Waterboy is even funnier than Happy Gilmore. The characters are all developed well and each of them delivers a different twist on a personality type.
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    Adam Sandler's voice in this movie is like nails on a chalkboard! It's so bad! One of the worst comedies I've ever seen! So bad on so many levels. Here's to hoping his next film won't be as obnoxious.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    THE WATERBOY is a dumb football farce and just another predictable Adam Sandler comedy. It was possible to laugh in some scenes, but this, overall, was not very funny. It stars Adam Sandler as the title role, a 31-year-old named Bobby Boucher with the obnoxious voice of a 10-year-old, who has been bringing water to football teams for a lot of his life. He becomes angry when he is insultedTHE WATERBOY is a dumb football farce and just another predictable Adam Sandler comedy. It was possible to laugh in some scenes, but this, overall, was not very funny. It stars Adam Sandler as the title role, a 31-year-old named Bobby Boucher with the obnoxious voice of a 10-year-old, who has been bringing water to football teams for a lot of his life. He becomes angry when he is insulted early on, and he tackles the man who insulted him quite hard, leading the football team's coach to believe he is fit for the team. The problem is he is true to his "mama", who says he cannot play football and that it is "the devil" (like almost everything else, in her opinion). I would not recommend this is you can stand 90 minutes of asinine, juvenile humor. Otherwise, go ahead--you'll laugh a lot. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    6
    I cant say I particularly disliked this movie but I cant say I liked it either, I liked what it had to offer, but it didn't offer much. This movie earns a passing grade, albeit barely.
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    This is Sandlers stupidest film. He plays off dumb potty humor with little laughs. This is really his worse film (Jack and Jill doesn't count) and one of the 90's worst films.
  8. Jun 20, 2013
    6
    This film is a tad overrated by many Sandler fans, but looking at what he has done lately it's a masterpiece. It definitely has some funny moments, but the accent gets annoying.
  9. Nov 6, 2014
    7
    it is funny in deed but , when their is someone to cover Sandler's movie their most likely gonna never make a film again Oh look see Denis Dugan and Frank Coraci BOOOOOO !!!!!!!!! you suck stop making adam sandler movies here is the problem they are directors who don't care about cinematography or shots of using the camera all they care is comedy !!!!!!! see Tyler Perry yeah theirit is funny in deed but , when their is someone to cover Sandler's movie their most likely gonna never make a film again Oh look see Denis Dugan and Frank Coraci BOOOOOO !!!!!!!!! you suck stop making adam sandler movies here is the problem they are directors who don't care about cinematography or shots of using the camera all they care is comedy !!!!!!! see Tyler Perry yeah their just like this big joke. Expand
  10. Steve
    Jan 30, 2006
    2
    predictable tripe. i can't recall any time that i laughed - not because the jokes weren't funny; just because the punchline was just so obvious.
  11. Dr.Dan
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Yeah, it's sweet. Also; Kevin Spacey is the man. Note: I am aware he is not in this movie.
  12. SteveE.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Quality Film. So good it could rock!
  13. g2
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    Whats with ctitics in not liking adam sandler, hes funny. This movie was great and i can never watch it too many times.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jul 20, 2005
    8
    Now this is comedy. The Medulla oblongata part was genius.
  15. SamM.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Forget the critics, this is an awesome comedy. Sandler at his best!
  16. RomaM
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Brilliant movie! Must be one of the best Adam Sandlers film for sure! Don't listen to critics,this movie is really really funny!
  17. SamM.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    Forget the critics, this is an awesome comedy. Sandler at his best!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. 60
    The Perrier of dumb-and-dumber movies, an effervescent idiot's delight that burbles from the wellspring of silliness inside star Adam Sandler's head.
  2. 25
    Sandler is making a tactical error when he creates a character whose manner and voice has the effect of fingernails on a blackboard, and then expects us to hang in there for a whole movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Ron Wells
    20
    A stupid summer movie.