The Way of the Gun

The Way of the Gun Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A twisting crime drama about two cold-blooded career criminals who kidnap a surrogate mother and find themselves in an escalating cycle of guns and mayhem. (Artisan Entertainment)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. 80
    If you're interested in heavy-lidded moodiness and lots of attitude, Phillippe and Del Toro can't be beat.
  2. Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    80
    A tiny slice of bleak, black near-perfection.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Seiler
    75
    Gives new meaning to the phrase "not for the squeamish."
  4. Reviewed by: Emanuel Levy
    60
    Each of the talented thesps has some good moments, but, ultimately, none can rise above the limitations of the material and filmmaking.
  5. 40
    Isn't a bad film, but as we watch it we're constantly rewriting it in our minds to make it a better one.
  6. A lot of uninteresting and unpleasant people torture, abuse, and fire guns at a lot of other uninteresting and unpleasant people, in a repulsive, interminable would-be crime thriller.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 14, 2015
    10
    This film is perfect, from the performances to the writing to the action choreography. Mis-marketed as some kind of zany comedy, this movieThis film is perfect, from the performances to the writing to the action choreography. Mis-marketed as some kind of zany comedy, this movie is a nihilistic deconstruction of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Pulp Fiction, The Usual Suspects, and frankly any movie about cops and crooks, heroes and villains, good guys and bad guys. It's bleak but not hopeless, and watching it requires intelligence and attention. Michael Bay Tansformers fans need not apply. Expand
  2. KrisA.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Great action movie. Exciting all the way through, and it has my favourite opening scene of all time. Watch the first scene if nothing else.
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    The thinking man's Pulp Fiction. Yes, I liked it too, but this is way better. If you're looking for sympathetic characters, you'll hate thisThe thinking man's Pulp Fiction. Yes, I liked it too, but this is way better. If you're looking for sympathetic characters, you'll hate this movie. Chris McQuarrie very deliberately cut a favorite dialogue from this movie because it evoked sympathy for one of the characters. ALL are flawed, such is life.

    I've run into a couple people who tell me, "I just couldn't get past Ryan Phillippe." He fits the role and works very well with it, whatever else he's done (I've seen nothing else he's been in so I don't have a bias.) Benicio is pretty great in this, Caan is wonderful.

    Dialogue is grand. You get little scenes that by themselves are gems but put together in this movie sequence can have a gut-punching effect. The poetry of the entire film taken as a whole is so good, you'll want to replay it from the beginning once you see the end.

    REWATCHABLE: yes
    Expand
  4. ChrisG.
    May 6, 2006
    8
    Finally, a caper flick starring criminals who aren't either too funny, too scary, or too emotional to believe. Love the slow, quiet Finally, a caper flick starring criminals who aren't either too funny, too scary, or too emotional to believe. Love the slow, quiet alley car chase and unspoken communication between the two. Subtle. No wonder the critics panned it. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    This is very good film. The cast is awesome. The first scene hilarious, and plenty of other good ones. The middle does drag a bit, so, thatThis is very good film. The cast is awesome. The first scene hilarious, and plenty of other good ones. The middle does drag a bit, so, that keeps it down a notch. But Del Toro, Phillipe, and such, are all so good. Collapse
  6. PhilN.
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    I love this film... it has its flaws, but I honestly can't see why it is so underrated. The principle characters are despicable and I love this film... it has its flaws, but I honestly can't see why it is so underrated. The principle characters are despicable and there's no justification for their actions... that's partly the point of the film, and is - to me - an honest and realistic way to depict violence (far preferable to action movies in which we're asked to forget, forgive or applaud the various deaths the protagonists cause), yet it seems to be a common criticism of this film. I just don't understand that way of thinking. It seems to me the intentional coldness and amorality seen in this movie is way out of fashion now - had it appeared in the 70s, would it have been a classic like Point Blank? The film has some truly excellent dialogue (and non-verbal communication), but it has to be said that McQuarrie got a bit carried away at times and some of the lines are just too oblique to be understood or too "clever" to be believable. And, while their motivation is clear, Parker & Longbaugh's tactics in the final action scene are questionable, their approach somewhat less intelligent than we should expect from them. But in my opinion these are negligible flaws next to the film's strengths - not least, some of the finest firefights ever filmed. All performances from biggest to smallest are absolutely spot-on, and the score is wonderful. I would say, if you're a fan of 70s films like The Getaway or Bullit that are appreciated for their bleak and unpleasant qualities, then you'll probably get a kick out of Way Of The Gun. I wish there were more crime/action movies like it. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    It does seem a bit sloppy at times, The Way of the Gun is an entertaining thrill ride not to mention a perfect screen couple of Benicio delIt does seem a bit sloppy at times, The Way of the Gun is an entertaining thrill ride not to mention a perfect screen couple of Benicio del Toro and Ryan Phillippe. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.