Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 9, 2013
    80
    By the end of the ride, we’ll see glimpse of happiness, sadness, joy, heartbreak, maybe even tragedy, if cell phone-shot recollections are to be believed. All bases are covered, in other words, in one late-afternoon ride, a ride Gondry and his cast will make you want to take.
  2. Reviewed by: Michal Oleszczyk
    Mar 13, 2013
    88
    Upon leaving the theater I had a feeling like I just got to know a bunch of kids: some great, some annoying, but all living lives that extend beyond what little I saw of them on the screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 21, 2013
    80
    Moving somewhat obviously toward denouement, the film hits a false note or two. But mainly it's exhilarating in its refusal to make smooth what's messy, inchoate and tenaciously alive.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 7, 2013
    60
    Most of the performances are as unpolished as they are heartfelt, which is both endearing and distracting.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 7, 2013
    38
    Fake documentaries annoy me — why not put in the effort and deliver the real thing? — and this one is not only aimless and stiff, it also rings false.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Horkley
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    It's a fun ride for the most part, with a bumping soundtrack and genuine moments of warmth and heartbreak. But one can't help but wish Gondry had simply let the camera roll, and let the kids speak for themselves.
  7. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    Because he made "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" (2004), there will always be high expectations for a new film by Michel Gondry. But while his new movie The We and the I, is intriguing in fits and starts, it isn't in the same league.
  8. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Mar 2, 2013
    88
    A delirious representation of incipient personalities in bloom, its form as amorphous and reckless as the vibrant youths it portrays.
  9. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Mar 6, 2013
    67
    The problem with The We And The I: Gondry is focused more on moments than on the film as a whole.
  10. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 17, 2013
    75
    Still, credit Gondry, like Tocqueville before him, with at least re-examining tired clichés and scraping the rust off stereotypes.
  11. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Mar 5, 2013
    60
    Gondry's argument – that pack mentality crushes individual expression – follows a similarly predictable route, but there's enough of his signature playfulness (especially in the use of mobile-phone footage to present flashbacks) to keep the journey entertaining.
  12. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Michel Gondry takes an idiosyncratic, funny, unexpectedly poignant snapshot of American youth in The We and the I. Rambling and unpolished, the film has a scrappy charm that springs organically from the characters and their stories rather than being artificially coaxed.
  13. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 7, 2013
    90
    To call this thrillingly original, deeply felt movie a coming-of-age story would be to insult it with cliché. It’s much more the story, or rather a series of interlocking, incomplete stories, about what it feels like to be a certain age and to feel caught, as the title suggests, between the desire to be yourself and the longing to fit in.
  14. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Mar 5, 2013
    25
    Muddled, muffled and mixing empty comedy with empty dramatics, The We and the I is an abject failure.
  15. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Mar 5, 2013
    40
    By the end of the ride, the movie’s messy humanity has officially calcified into After-School Special clichés; given the choice between handcrafted whimsy and heavy-handedness, we’ll take the former, thanks.
  16. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 5, 2013
    70
    At its finest and most affecting, The We and the I is a window onto youth’s forever moments

There are no user reviews yet.