User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    Ignore some of the lame critic reviews. This is a very powerful drama, kind of an Erin Brockovich of sex trafficking. At times it's quite harrowing. The lead character, based on a true story, is a real heroine. It's an incredible indictment of the UN "peace" keeping mission in Bosnia, the corruption of the private security companies and the indifference of the US State Department to doIgnore some of the lame critic reviews. This is a very powerful drama, kind of an Erin Brockovich of sex trafficking. At times it's quite harrowing. The lead character, based on a true story, is a real heroine. It's an incredible indictment of the UN "peace" keeping mission in Bosnia, the corruption of the private security companies and the indifference of the US State Department to do anything about young women being sold as sex slaves. Warning - get to the end and your blood might boil. Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    very good film, the storyline was dark throughout therefore I was expecting a ending that shown justice.
    It proved how the justice system if very corrupt and that there should be a change.
    Based on a true story which shocked me even more.
    Worth a look for a better understanding of what the justice system can do to innocent people.
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Excellent film, despite being both disturbing in subject and unflinching in portrayal. Occasionally clunky expositional dialogue is more than made up for with very strong performances by the women cast as trafficked women from Ukraine, and eminently hatable bad guys who see nothing wrong with beating and raping young girls who have been kidnapped and chained into slavery. Very, veryExcellent film, despite being both disturbing in subject and unflinching in portrayal. Occasionally clunky expositional dialogue is more than made up for with very strong performances by the women cast as trafficked women from Ukraine, and eminently hatable bad guys who see nothing wrong with beating and raping young girls who have been kidnapped and chained into slavery. Very, very affecting stuff, and the tension is quite expertly ratcheted up drip by drip, from start to finish. Weisz continues to shine by breathing a soul into what could have been a two-dimensional role; her no-nonsense cop from Nebraska makes you proud to be an American, even when the American company she works for does everything it can to stop her from exposing a sordid underbelly of sex trafficking. Her heroine manages to be a flawed, flickering flame of hope that refuses to be snuffed out. Occasionally choppy editing and awkward scene transitions only superficially mar great pacing; 'shakeycam' cinematography is unnecessary, but the lighting is emotionally effective and exteriors of Bosnia (actually shot in Romania) bolster the film's look. I've been reading reviews on Metacritic for years; and have never personally reviewed a film; this one just feels like its an inspired work about an important topic that doesn't deserve to be lost in the weeds of the cinema's dog days of summer. Highly recommended. Collapse
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    A powerful drama based on a true story of how the UN was trafficking women whilst on a peace mission in Bosnia and the struggle of one woman to put an end to it. Weisz is very convincing as the angry woman against a corrupt and politically supported system.
  5. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    This film was much better than I expected. This was a story that I was not even aware of. The film was explicit and graphic which scored with me. I do wish that more time had been spent on the workings of the trade and the relationship with the UN. Also, more could have have spent on the aftermath of the scandal coming to light. Still, I was impressed with the movie and its willingness toThis film was much better than I expected. This was a story that I was not even aware of. The film was explicit and graphic which scored with me. I do wish that more time had been spent on the workings of the trade and the relationship with the UN. Also, more could have have spent on the aftermath of the scandal coming to light. Still, I was impressed with the movie and its willingness to not sugarcoat the subject. A pleasant surprise for me. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    The vast majority of the time one hears the words â
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 21, 2011
    75
    Ends up being a reasonably gripping story of political intrigue, international corruption and one woman's determined fight for justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 12, 2011
    75
    A first-rate one-woman-against-the-system drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Loren King
    Sep 1, 2011
    75
    Larysa Kondracki's impressive debut achieves its aim to shine light on an international human rights issue as well as signaling a new director to watch.