Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 2006
2.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
23
Negative:
133
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MDawgDec 14, 2012
Stunning. Courageous. A feast for the eyes and ears. These are but some of my reactions to Nicolas Cage's (in my opinion BAFTA winning performance) in The Wicker Man. He manages to suprise audiences time and time again with depth ofStunning. Courageous. A feast for the eyes and ears. These are but some of my reactions to Nicolas Cage's (in my opinion BAFTA winning performance) in The Wicker Man. He manages to suprise audiences time and time again with depth of characters that only he can bring forth to the acting table. Quality, not quantity has always been my motto and i think this film can be beautifully summed up by one shortt, crisp and well executed line that fits so perfectly with the running themes of despair and fear: "What's in the bag, a shark or something?" .... A must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AndrewG.Nov 22, 2008
Because this is a remake, it was actually wise to alter some of the circumstances which led to the same horrific ending - the film begins by suggesting that Cage might save the girl and flee with his ex-fiancée - but I'm glad to Because this is a remake, it was actually wise to alter some of the circumstances which led to the same horrific ending - the film begins by suggesting that Cage might save the girl and flee with his ex-fiancée - but I'm glad to say It was as much a nightmare as we all hoped. Having said that... The film has none of the dignity or plausibility of the original, and not merely because of it's lack of lore or history to substantiate either the warped paganism (who in this film are murderous beyond reason), or the location. Unfortunately the script is.. just not how humans behave (perhaps Americans?). Cage, as the typical all-American hero punches and kicks various women, and everyone shouts obscenely at each other without restraint. But Kit is correct - the film does lend itself to comedy moments (search Youtube for 'Wicker Man Comedy Trailer'). And presumably it has done a service to the excellent original by drawing attention to it. But the film is dumbed down, plot very simplified, drowned by endless 'suspense' music, all the disturbing sexual elements are removed and replaced with violence (which is much more acceptable, of course) and 'you know where you are' when a film begins with a tremendous car crash and explosion - the body-count is four times the original, yet the nightmarish quality is absent - it is far closer an island of freaks and psychos than it is an island of 'innocent' people twisted by religious doctrine, and therefore misses the point. Not for the intelligent, but a curious homage, highlighting much of what has gone wrong with film-making. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TheWalrus2000Mar 24, 2013
A lot of criticism has been given to this movie especially because Nicolas Cage doesn't give proper treatment to his role but in general I thought that this was an interesting and yet really weird movie at the same time. I guess I'm sayingA lot of criticism has been given to this movie especially because Nicolas Cage doesn't give proper treatment to his role but in general I thought that this was an interesting and yet really weird movie at the same time. I guess I'm saying i've seen worst. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
diego9901May 2, 2013
nunca fui fanático de la original pero esta nueva adaptación es un lento pero seguro paso a un nuevo genero de películas de suspenso dramático lento y aunque este nuevo genero no le gustara a muchos a los otros les parecerá una evolución ennunca fui fanático de la original pero esta nueva adaptación es un lento pero seguro paso a un nuevo genero de películas de suspenso dramático lento y aunque este nuevo genero no le gustara a muchos a los otros les parecerá una evolución en el suspenso Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Rev.RikardSep 5, 2006
LaBute sends Cage's character into an alternate reality that consists of some of the same structures that order human life, but the substance of those structures is so surreal they are unbelievable. Horror only works when the audience LaBute sends Cage's character into an alternate reality that consists of some of the same structures that order human life, but the substance of those structures is so surreal they are unbelievable. Horror only works when the audience can identify with the characters and events on the screen. These characters and events do not have to be void of exaggeration or imagination. Yet, they must not be so disconnected from the human experience that we witness a "campfire scary story." All of the ingredients were there for LaBute to terrify us: isolationism, brain-washed conformity, rejection of individualism, and a schizophrenic religious world. Yet, in the end the actual wicker man is a metaphor for the movie; the structure is there for horror with no real substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ElliotP.Feb 4, 2007
For those of us who have always wondered if Nicolas Cage would ever star in a movie so poorly made that even his marvelous presence and personality could not save it - now we know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JVJan 7, 2007
Seriously, it was not that bad, people need to stop being drama queens, the ending was lame, but the acting was decent and the vacancy of the notable female characters was enough to bring about the creepy feel average horror flicks need
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JakeFeb 5, 2007
Picking Nicholas Cage to star in this movie was the only good decision the director made. The movie was terrible but give Cage credit for the work that he did in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffF.Sep 6, 2006
Not a great movie, but at least it was better than The Village.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonW.May 2, 2007
This movie is not good, although the "did-I-just-see-that?" spectacle of a bear-suited Cage punching a woman in the face makes it worth a cheap rental. Also: "NOT THE BEES!!! NO!!! and "Give me the bike!" and "HOW'D IT GET BURNED? This movie is not good, although the "did-I-just-see-that?" spectacle of a bear-suited Cage punching a woman in the face makes it worth a cheap rental. Also: "NOT THE BEES!!! NO!!! and "Give me the bike!" and "HOW'D IT GET BURNED? HOWDITGETBURNEDHOWDITGETBURNED??!?! and "BITCHES!!" Actually, this might be an unsung masterpiece of comedy. So I'll compromise and give it a 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Oct 29, 2006
The PG-13 rating is a curse. The latest exhibit: Neil LaBute's "The Wicker Man", a movie that obviously should've delved deeper into the concept of men as breeders, and maximize its flipside of Margaret Atwood's "The The PG-13 rating is a curse. The latest exhibit: Neil LaBute's "The Wicker Man", a movie that obviously should've delved deeper into the concept of men as breeders, and maximize its flipside of Margaret Atwood's "The Handmaid's Tale"-potential. What dooms "The Wicker Man" from the outset, however, is the truly wretched performance given by Kate Beahan(as Sister Willow). In a matriarchal society that devalues men, diminshing Nicolas Cage as an actor by his pairing up with either catatonic, or crazy women(only Molly Parker finds the right notes), is an unintended nice touch. "The Wicker Man" isn't without the occasional striking visual, but it should be clear to anyone familiar with "In the Company of Men" and "Nurse Betty", that this filmmaker's attempts at eclecticism(an adaptation of A.S. Byatt's "Possession" was his other crash-and-burn) doesn't quite reach Soderbergh-like heights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SeriosityNov 14, 2012
Nicholas Cage punching a woman whilst wearing bear costume. This movie has it all. A welcome addition to the exclusive so-bad-it-is-good movie club. What a hoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HaithamBJul 16, 2014
The Wicker Man is not the best written movie, nor does it all make sense. But The Wicker Man is a cult classic, and I can understand why; it is so bad and dumb that it is almost entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BrianAD9Jan 14, 2016
The Wicker Man is one of the most hilarious non-comedies ever created. It is the epitome of "so bad it's good". I have thoroughly enjoyed every single viewing of this masterpiece of stupid. Nicholas Cage delivers some of the best lines he'sThe Wicker Man is one of the most hilarious non-comedies ever created. It is the epitome of "so bad it's good". I have thoroughly enjoyed every single viewing of this masterpiece of stupid. Nicholas Cage delivers some of the best lines he's ever had in any movie ever. This movie is why he is the star he is. He's just so awesome. The story makes no sense at all, it contradicts itself, and is just plain laughable. I recommend watching this movie with friends, with the intention to make fun of it while watching it. I love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews