Shadow Distribution | Release Date: February 11, 2005
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
0
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JeffS.May 20, 2005
This surprisingly compelling documentary about an apparent urban slacker and his parrot pals caught me off guard with its real world poignancy and the happiest surprise ending in memory. Grown men and women, many jaded from their diets of This surprisingly compelling documentary about an apparent urban slacker and his parrot pals caught me off guard with its real world poignancy and the happiest surprise ending in memory. Grown men and women, many jaded from their diets of too many art films, "ahhhed" with shared joy and laughter as the film ended. With hindsight, I now understand how the director could have crafted such a clever, truthful and loving film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.P.Mar 4, 2005
A wonderful documentary--surprising, humorous, sad, fascinating, fun, and touching--it will leave you feeling enriched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkK.Jun 9, 2007
A nice documentary! Try to push March of the Penguins out for your memory, and you will enjoy it more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Feb 14, 2005
Trust me on this, you will love this movie. A roller coaster of emotion and surprises. A beautifully crafted gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Mar 1, 2005
This should absolutely not be missed. It informs us as much on our own species as it does on parrots. The music is good too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MontserratP.Mar 4, 2005
Loved it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkP.Apr 30, 2005
Absolutely loved this film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
steves.Apr 5, 2005
Very good, would love to get a dvd of the film, I live in a small town that will never get the film. Page, AZ. Great film. Steve.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeRApr 9, 2005
A marvellous look at the relationship between and among humans and birds. Well written, beautifully conveyed, touching and uplifting - a must see!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarrieC.May 21, 2005
Couldn't keep from cying at the end but it was an incredible movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
glomMay 8, 2005
Very touching- Throughly enjoyed it. I dragged my two children 10 & 11yrs to this movie not know anything other than homeless man feeding birds. This movie related so much to our own lives it was a god send. We too feed the neighboring Jays, Very touching- Throughly enjoyed it. I dragged my two children 10 & 11yrs to this movie not know anything other than homeless man feeding birds. This movie related so much to our own lives it was a god send. We too feed the neighboring Jays, in transistion w/landlord selling our home of 11yrs. This movie gave us hope that in every situation there is a silver lining in every dark cloud. Just go with the flow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LJFergusonFeb 13, 2005
Delightful movie. Don't miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichP.Feb 19, 2005
This is really a fantastic documentary that shows when you slow down enough to see the world around you, there are some facinating things to see. While stories like this usually focus on the person (and Mark Bittner is a really facinating This is really a fantastic documentary that shows when you slow down enough to see the world around you, there are some facinating things to see. While stories like this usually focus on the person (and Mark Bittner is a really facinating guy), it's the parrots steal the show with distinct personalities of their own. But just when you become attached to them, you realize that wild means wild and these are not pets. It's funny, it's sad and it really has to be seen. Great photography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.O'KeeffeMar 21, 2005
A glorious movie. Signed, a former bird hater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EarlV.Apr 17, 2005
Charming and powerfully understated. The director has a instinct for comic timing and a talent for making the story personal and emotionally moving. The parrots are beautiful to watch, and the relationships even more so. Best date movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SharonMay 13, 2005
Introspectively uplifting. A Zen Koan on film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesD.Jul 6, 2005
Great film about interacting with animals and each other. Relates information about a world we walk past every day without really seeing. All the hallmarks of great filmmaking...a story told with drama, comedy and tragedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HughS.Aug 20, 2005
Excellent in every way. We have a 20 year old rescued Cherry Head so we could appreciate many of the finer nuances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConnieH.May 30, 2007
Being the owner of a Blue Crowned and White Eyed conure this movie moved me to tears. It showed the individual personalities of each one of these birds. They are so similar to human being in that they love their mates and nuture their young. Being the owner of a Blue Crowned and White Eyed conure this movie moved me to tears. It showed the individual personalities of each one of these birds. They are so similar to human being in that they love their mates and nuture their young. They truly are intelligent, magnificient creatures. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
graceMar 16, 2005
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickH.Jun 22, 2005
One of the best films I've seen all year. At least as good as winged migration.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 22, 2005
"The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill" might've benefited by a word or two by those "Draconian enviromentalists". We love the pretty birds, but if they're doing harm to the native bird population, do you just ignore it because the "The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill" might've benefited by a word or two by those "Draconian enviromentalists". We love the pretty birds, but if they're doing harm to the native bird population, do you just ignore it because the subject of this sometimes engaging documentary is a nice guy. There's a tremendous irony in Mark Bittner's acknowledgment of the more common local birds towards the end of the film, because it's like he's looking back on his previous incarnation as a "dharma bum", embodied by these birds who blend into the San Francisco landscape without notice. Like the birds, Bittner was anonymous. Now he's more like a parrot. Even though his observations of the native birds plays like the filmmaker's last-ditch effort to appease the conservationists, it doesn't come close to hurting the inspiring human interest story of a Henry Darger-type getting a new lease in life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.MaierFeb 22, 2006
This movie gives the truest human response to our species as having 'dominion over the animals.' We are here to nuture, to support and to commune with our neighbors of this earth. And, as one who has recently inherited and has been This movie gives the truest human response to our species as having 'dominion over the animals.' We are here to nuture, to support and to commune with our neighbors of this earth. And, as one who has recently inherited and has been getting to know a parrot, I know Mark knows the deeply gentle spirituality of this species, and the great (and hidden) gift they are to this world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful