Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soonJiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeperI recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    Great plot, wonderfully brilliant animation detail, excellent audio choice. Most of the audio for the sound effects were done by voice insteadGreat plot, wonderfully brilliant animation detail, excellent audio choice. Most of the audio for the sound effects were done by voice instead of sound generation. Like all of Miyazaki's films, this movie has everything. Comedy, drama, tragedy, natural disaster, and a sense of the unreal.
    This movie is a true farewell from Miyazaki, and the ending left me feeling as upset as when I first heard he was retiring. Literally brought me to tears!
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Miyazaki's fascination with airplanes is very clear that his last work, which happens to be one of the most mature and amazing I've ever seen.Miyazaki's fascination with airplanes is very clear that his last work, which happens to be one of the most mature and amazing I've ever seen. . Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    Presentato in concorso alla 70a Mostra internazionale d'arte cinematografica di Venezia e candidato al premio Oscar come miglior filmPresentato in concorso alla 70a Mostra internazionale d'arte cinematografica di Venezia e candidato al premio Oscar come miglior film d'animazione, “Si alza il vento” rappresenta l'opera più realista, matura e intima di Hayao Miyazaki, pioniere dello Studio Ghibli. Annunciando il suo ritiro, Miyazaki si congeda con i titoli di coda del suo ultimo capolavoro, trasportandoci in una corrente emozionale che oscilla tra realtà e finzione. “Si alza il vento” rispecchia i sentimenti più profondi del regista quasi fosse una proiezione di se stesso nei panni del protagonista, toccando i temi a lui più cari (l'odio nei confronti della guerra, il volo, l'amore per la vita e per le donne), in quello che potremmo definire un commovente testamento autobiografico. Per la prima volta, Miyazaki abbandona la meravigliosa visione fantastica delle sue produzioni passate e la sua forte attenzione nei confronti dell'infanzia, per lasciar spazio a tematiche più profonde e dolorose, mirate a far riflettere un pubblico più adulto, lasciandoci con un messaggio ben chiaro: nonostante tutto, pur calpestando le macerie di ciò che con fatica abbiamo costruito e inseguito per una vita intera, bisogna tentare di vivere. Salvo sorprese, torneremo a parlare di Miyazaki a novembre, mese in cui l'Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences gli conferirà l'Oscar onorario alla carriera.

    “Si alza il vento” è la storia di un giovane visionario, Jirō Horikoshi, che insegue il proprio sogno: diventare un pilota d'aerei. Impedito a realizzarlo a causa della sua miopia, ritrova l'entusiasmo incontrando durante un sogno il famoso progettista d'aerei Giovanni Caproni che lo sprona a far emergere il suo talento. Cinque anni più tardi, a bordo di un treno diretto a Tokyo, un soffio di vento fa volar via il cappello di Jirō, preso al volo da una ragazza di nome Nahoko. Pochi attimi dopo, durante il viaggio, il devastante terremoto di Kanto (1923) semina caos e distruzione, costringendo il treno a fermarsi. Jirō si prende cura della domestica che accompagna Nahoko, rimasta ferita nell'incidente, scortandole sino a casa per poi riprendere il proprio cammino che lo porterà a terminare gli studi come ingegnere aeronautico prima di raggiungere importanti traguardi con i propri progetti cartacei. Il destino farà incontrare casualmente Jirō e Nahoko dieci anni più tardi. Da quel momento in poi, la ragazza si prenderà cura dell'amato, accecato dal proprio sogno, che lo spingerà a realizzare “involontariamente” i nuovi velivoli usati durante la seconda guerra mondiale dai kamikaze nipponici.

    Senza ombra di dubbio “Si alza il vento” è il prodotto più atipico di Miyazaki ma non per questo lo si deve considerare inferiore agli altri successi che gli hanno permesso di vincere importanti premi a livello mondiale. Un film che lascia pensare, scorrevole e intenso per le due ore di proiezione che ci hanno dato molti spunti riflessivi, sfogliando assieme a Jirō le pagine più drammatiche della storia giapponese e non solo. Un'uscita in gran stile per Hayao Miyazaki, accompagnato dal tema “Hikōki Gumo” di Yumi Matsutoya, e dalle note malinconiche del compositore Joe Hisaishi. Ci sarebbe molto altro di cui parlare ma è giusto lasciar alla vostra curiosità ciò che (volontariamente) ho voluto trascurare in questa recensione, per un film che non ha ricevuto i riconoscimenti che meritava, a fronte di ciò che rappresenta per il regista stesso. Grazie SENSEI!
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Though not entirely on par with Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, it is a well written and gorgeously animated film that shows theThough not entirely on par with Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, it is a well written and gorgeously animated film that shows the pursuit of ones dreams and the perversions that they can be subjected to, as well a fitting send off to one of the greatest animated film directors of any era. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    I've seen all of Miyazaki's films. This certainly looked like a Miyazaki film, but it didn't feel like one. Usually his films are full ofI've seen all of Miyazaki's films. This certainly looked like a Miyazaki film, but it didn't feel like one. Usually his films are full of fantasy and imagination. This is a slow moving, straight-forward love story set during a war about a man who is passionate about designing and building airplanes and falls in love with a woman with TB. All of his other films were aimed at children, but young kids will get fidgety at this one, especially since it is 2 hours in length. You will also have to explain to your child why the leading man is a chain smoker and why he wants to design planes that drop bombs on other countries. In other words, this is a film for adults. All that said, the artwork in this film is gorgeous. I don't know how he draws buildings that look so real, and he is the absolute best at getting lighting correct. The film will hold your attention on its look alone. It's sad that this is the last film he will direct but I'm sure he will remain involved in Studio Ghibli and they will continue to release great movies. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his filmI love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.