Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soonJiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
  • Director: Hayao Miyazaki
  • Genre(s): Biography, Drama, History, Romance, War, Animation
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 126 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeperI recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Le vent se lève est assurément l'un des film les plus marquants qu'il m'ait été donné de voir.
    Si il y avait une 6e étoile pour meilleur film
    Le vent se lève est assurément l'un des film les plus marquants qu'il m'ait été donné de voir.
    Si il y avait une 6e étoile pour meilleur film de l'histoire de l'animation japonaise je la décernerais immédiatement à ce film tellement il est maitrisé de bout en bout.

    Tout d'abord techniquement et artistiquement, le film est une pure merveille, le soin accordé à chaque décors et tel que chacun de ceux-ci devraient être encadrés et accrochés dans un musée : les intérieurs et les décors urbains sont criant d'authenticité et la nature et dans ce film plus belle encore que dans les autres films de ce génie (et pourtant c'est difficile de faire mieux que princesse mononoké, le Chateau Ambulant, Porco Rosso ou même Ponyo ).

    L'animation est vraiment impressionnante : les scènes de foule sont bluffantes ( pendant le tremblement de terre notamment ) et le vent est représenté d'une manière assez incroyable : toujours annonciateur d'événements clés du scénario ( les multiples rencontres de Naoko et Jiro, les essais en vol ... ) il pourrait même faire mesure de personnage à part entière tant il est important dans le film. L'animation des personnages et des machines quelles qu'elles soient sont comme toujours avec Miyazaki excellentes.

    Mais comme la technique et esthétique ne font pas tout d'un film il me faut aussi parler du contenu. Le vent se lève et sans conteste le film de Miyazaki le plus symbolique et par conséquent la plus personnelle de ses œuvres. La ressemblance entre le personnage principal Jiro Horikoshi et Hayao Miyasaki est frappante : il est comme lui obsédé par son travail et rêve, il ne vit quasiment que pour lui et seul son amour pour Naoko parvient à l'en détourner quelque peu.

    Le scénario quand à lui adopte en rythme calme et posé à l'opposé des autres œuvres du Sensei. Il est néanmoins ponctué de scènes de rêve toutes plus géniales les unes que les autres et on sent que c'est dans c'est passages là que miyasaki à pu exprimer son talent pour le fantastique.
    Jiro parle assez peu car c'est selon Miyazaki ainsi que parlaient les gens brillants à cette époque. Quand à Naoko, elle est très attachante et ses apparitions à l'écran sont magiques. L'histoire d'amour entre ces deux personnages est aussi touchante que tragique tout cela sans jamais tomber dans le tire-larme. Quand aux personnages secondaires ils sont également très réussis. Mention spéciale à Caproni, L'allemand Castorp et au chef de Jiro qui sont tous trois les personnages hauts en couleur récurrent au œuvres de Miyazaki.

    Pour ce qui est des défauts, je n'en honnêtement pas trouvé ou du moins aucun de ceux énoncé par les déçus ne m'ont dérangé. Je n'ai pas trouvé le film trop long, loin de là, ni ennuyeux. Je pense que le principal défaut que les gens lui reproche est d'être un Miyazaki et par dessus tout le dernier de ses films. Il ne vise pas le bon public et je plaint sincèrement les enfants ainsi que ceux qui n'apprécient pas les films au rythme lent et quasiment sans action et je peux comprendre qu'ils aient pu s'ennuyer pendant ces deux heures. Quant aux polémiques sur les cigarettes et sur la soi-disant apologie de guerre du film, elles sont totalement ridicules car ses deux éléments sont cohérents avec le film. Les jeunes japonais étaient très fumeurs dans les années 20-30 et le film prend le point de vue d'un personnage profondément fermé dans sa bulle et naïf, Jiro, et c'est pour cela que la guerre ne se ressent quasiment pas dans le film

    Toujours est t-il que le vent se lève est pour moi le meilleur des films de Miyazaki ( et ce n'est pas rien ) qu'il m'a été donné de voir et je conseille à tous de voir ce véritable chef-d'œuvre qui mérite entièrement le titre d'"ultime chef d-oeuvre du maître de l'animation japonaise". Adieu Miyazaki et un immense merci à tout ce que vous et vos équipes avez apporté à l'animation et au cinéma en général, vous êtes un artiste fabuleux.
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    A tender apostrophe to Miyazaki's career. It bookends Grave of the Fireflies and reminds us that amidst all the fantastic worlds we've seenA tender apostrophe to Miyazaki's career. It bookends Grave of the Fireflies and reminds us that amidst all the fantastic worlds we've seen from Studio Ghibli, their films and stories are steeped in the sometimes grim foray of reality, this time telling us the story of Dr Jiro Horikoshi, an engineer who revolutionized Japan's aerospace technology. It's a serious piece, half of which takes place in Jiro's mind, but that doesn't make it any less poignant. It's as touching as Mononoke Hime, as dark as Spirited Away, and at times as lighthearted as Howl's Moving Castle. It's a gorgeous film that deserves all the praise it receives. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    Studio Ghibli's latest anime movie. I was totally heart broke when I heard it is Mr. Miyazaki's final movie. Then I was thoroughly prepared toStudio Ghibli's latest anime movie. I was totally heart broke when I heard it is Mr. Miyazaki's final movie. Then I was thoroughly prepared to enjoy every piece of it and indeed I did. What a great piece of work as being in his 70s, definitely a farewell masterpiece. A most matured movie, I mean for the first time a movie for grownups that had contents children won't fit in to enjoy from the studio as well from the director.

    It was just like the movie 'The Aviator'. A boy, Jiro Horikoshi, who aspires to contribute his skills to upgrade the aircraft technology who was actually inspired by the Italian aircraft designer Caproni. At his young age, he excels in the field that leads him to grab an opportunity to work with the nation's most renowned aircraft manufacturer. His life mixed with dreams and reality makes him a better man among his coworker. Everyone believed that he's a workaholic, but he surprises all by falling in love. The movie explained his ambition, passion towards aircrafts and his romantic life as well as the dreams that make him to believe everything is feasible.

    ‘‘Airplanes are beautiful cursed dreams...
    waiting for the sky to swallow them up’’

    There are very few so far in the history of filmmaking that animation borrowed story from biographies. This was way better than what live shot movie would have offered to the viewers. Especially this story had few dream scenes, like a fantasy that we had seen in 'The Lovely Bones'. Those were really well done, a trademark that usually we find in all of Hayao Miyazaki movies. If you are a fan of his work, then it will be a delightful 2 hour long treat for sure. I had the experience of watching this like watching the final match of the FIFA world cup. I could never ask better than this.

    Kind of inspiring theme about engineering work and a message teller about non-violence. That this movie was set during the world war, including Japan's involvement in the affair. So there were many dialogues that delivers against the idea of war, like, the famous Caproni regrets that his invention was misused in the wars. The movie had lots of smoking scenes, as it sets in and around the 20s that was fine because people did in those times. After all, like I said earlier, it is for adult, even if parents allow their kids to watch they may fall in boredom. So I see there's no controversy to drag on.

    ‘‘Engineers turn dream into reality’’

    There were few sentiments, it appeals strongly during the end portion. The end also leaves lots of questions about what could have happened afterwards, especially Jiro's Romance life. Someway it gives the impression of happy ending and in another way slightly hurts. A finely balanced grand finale. Those were the seconds (the time) I was not desired for because no more Miyazaki's movie to see afterwards. I believed the end of a great era of him and studio Ghibli together. Overall, gives the satisfaction of watching a man's true story, his romantic life, involvement in achieving the dream and got a place in his country's history. Now the director showed it to the rest of the world in a beautiful manner. Thank you Hayao Miyazaki for all your contributions, I always keep loving your great works. Enjoy your rest of the life.
    Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    “”The Wind Rises” is an animated feature written and directed by the acclaimed Japanese illustrator, Hayao Miyazaki. This is Mr. Miyazaki’s“”The Wind Rises” is an animated feature written and directed by the acclaimed Japanese illustrator, Hayao Miyazaki. This is Mr. Miyazaki’s last animated film and, indeed, the filmgoing community is the lesser for it. The graphics contained in this film are breathtaking and as beautiful to view as one can imagine. The film tells the life story of one of the world’s greatest aircraft engineers, Jiro Hurikushi, as it follows his career as a near sighted boy who dreams of flying but, because of his poor eyesight, is forced to vicariously enjoy his passion by designing airplanes instead, The film chronicles Mr. Hurikushi’s life through Japan’s great earthquake in the early 20th Century, the massive tuberculosis epidemic and its great depression and is as enlightening as it is entertaining. The film is offered on two different screens, one with the original dialogue (with English subtitles) and the other with the English dubbed in. See the technically perfect dubbed in version with actor Joseph Gordon-Lewitt as Jiro and Emily Blunt as Naoko, the love of his life. The movie comes as near to perfect as possible but for one problem. It is too long and looking at my watch during the approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes was a distraction. As has so often been said, when the writer also assumes the role of director, it is like a parent trying to edit out the performances of his children….a difficult task that requires more objectivity than dedication and proves that too much of a good thing necessarily isn’t. With all of that being said, the film is nevertheless a lovely theatrical viewing experience and one that will be as enjoyable for its adult audience to see as it will be for the children who accompany them. I give the film a rating of 9 as this cinematic endeavor, like the wind in the title, will take the viewer to new and exciting heights. It is also a fitting farewell to Mr. Miyazaki and his own career as one of the world’s greatest animators. Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    7
    Be aware before watching 'The Wind Rises' that this is most definitely not in the same vein of some of the other more popularly known GhibliBe aware before watching 'The Wind Rises' that this is most definitely not in the same vein of some of the other more popularly known Ghibli films such as 'Spirited Away' and 'Howls Moving Castle'. The Wind Rises is much more adult and serious in tone, despite still retaining a lot of your usual Ghibli magic. This is much more similar to Grave of the Fireflies in terms of the story it has to tell.

    That said however, by looking at this comparison I feel you can see where this film does not quite stand up as one of the best Ghibli films. The film seems a little unsure about itself at times. Considering it's about the chief engineer Jiro Horikoshi who designed many Japanese fighter planes used during World War 2 it seems odd that the film chooses not to go into any depth on the moral issues of a man who would create machines used for such death and destruction. Instead the film portrays him as a rather straightforward man, kind and compassionate, with a love for creating aircraft's. Despite a few glimpses of moral doubt it felt like the film choose to pull punches in that sense, which in turn made the film feel oddly flat in tone, a movie about a serious topic, dealt with in a non-serious manner.

    This may not be one of the best Ghibli films in my opinion, but 'The Wind Rises' just goes to show that even a lesser Ghibli film is of a terribly high standard. The visuals are gorgeous, the music beautiful as always, and some scenes are truly captivating.

    I can certainly recommend 'The Wind Rises', go in with an open mind and don't expect another 'Spirited Away' and you might just love it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his filmI love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.