Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Adapted from L. Frank Baum’s timeless children’s tale about a Kansas girl’s journey over the rainbow, The Wizard of Oz opened at Grauman’s Chinese Theater on August 15, 1939. (Warner Bros.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 16, 2011
    100
    Not only is it wonderfully entertaining, but the issues it addresses, and the way it presents them, are both universal and deeply personal. And therein lies The Wizard of Oz's true magic.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Stack
    Feb 16, 2011
    100
    This wonderful romp of a movie looks magical on the big screen: colors are a picnic for the eyes, details loom so clearly you can practically touch them and there's a sense of the larger-than-life with a film that's already larger than life.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 16, 2011
    100
    This is one vintage film that fully lives up to its classic status and should play with outstanding success to contemporary audiences of all ages.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 16, 2011
    100
    The Wizard of Oz remains the weirdest, scariest, kookiest, most haunting and indelible kid-flick-that's-really-for-adults ever made in Hollywood.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    i love the friendship of Dorothy and her companions, no matter what happens they stick together. Perhaps that's why it strikes such a chord with us all. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This has been my favorite movie since I was a little kid. The story line is a classic from the book though its a slightly bit different. Judy Garland is one of my favorite actresses and she is the main reason I keep watching this movie. My children will watch this movie as they grow up. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    I saw this in 2011 and thought what a perfect movie it is. It is simple, beautiful, has great acting and speaks to the heart. I'm off to the see the wizard. The wonderful wizard of Oz... Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    10
    The quintessential fantasy film. Everyone should see it at least once. Not only is it great fun, it slyly embodies great wisdom. A masterpiece of cinema. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    Absolutely horrifying, but that doesn't mean it's not great. Definitely the most original and entertaining movie of its time. I really want there to be a remake. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    This movie is such a classic and such an important movie to cinema. I do appreciate this movie so much, but I can't pretend like I actually am in love with this movie. Who cares what I say though....it is a must see. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    I never liked this movie. Even when I was a small child. :/ Sorry it's just overrated in my honest opinion..................................................................................................................... Expand

See all 28 User Reviews