User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1122 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    this is just fantasic start to finish I didnt know what was going to happen its a shocker its fantasiclly well put to gether ignore the trolls no matter how good something is there will never be a perfect 10 rating because of the jealous trolls its best film of 2014
  2. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Summary: The Wolf Of Wall Street is a tremendous film about the power of leadership. 95/100 [A]

    "The Wolf Of Wall Street" is crazy, hilarious and entertaining. It boasts an amazing cast and a vibrant direction; I'm not a big fan of DiCaprio's previous work, but after seeing this, i'm very impressed with his acting. Moving on, it's a three hour flick, but it wasn't boring at all; Despite
    its long running time it was very pleasing. I usually dislike this kind of films, but this one was very funny and exciting. The characters and the story are interesting too.

    The cast is absolutely faultless. This is a strange flick filled with a bunch of obscene and bizarre moments. The main character performed by DiCaprio is completely nuts, but he's riotously good and you care for him. This film is an extremely well executed biography that manages to be funny, entertaining and inspiring. It is about leadership and craziness. It definitely deserves an R rating, it has some... explicit stuff. [A] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Una delicia de principio a fin. Todas las películas de 3 horas de duración deberían mantener el ritmo de esta. DiCaprio está sublime interpretando la vida de un hijo de perra tan alocado. La trama es muy divertida y no hay un solo minuto sin tacos, sexo y drogas. Posiblemente es la última locura que Scorserse quería rodar, y le ha salido genial. La mejor película del 2013.
  4. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    El Lobo de Wall Street tal vez no sea objetivo puesto que participan mi duo favorito de todo Hollywood Scorsese-Dicaprio ... pero este film es diferente...Principalmente empezare con la historia como todos sabemos Jordan un chico humilde que empieza su carrera en la gran wall street y termina creando un imperio lleno de drogas sexo y mucho dinero...

    La película no trata de explicar lo
    malo que es nadar en dinero y caer en todos esos excesos es todo lo contrario y eso es lo que la hace tan diferente y magistral hace que envidies la vida de Jordan aunque sepas que esta mal hace que te adentres que sientas y que pienses como lo hace el nos cuesta trabajo aceptar que todo esto alguna vez fue real....Aunque esta claro que tiene el mismo estilo de dirección de Buenos Muchachos y Casino...¿para que cambiar una formula que ha sido exitosa durante años? solo hay que actualizarla....Las casi 3 horas que dura el filme cuenta con un gran ritmo que en ningún momento la hace tediosa apesar de que en cierto tiempo el ritmo disminuye no daña la esencia de la película gracias al guion también adaptado por parte de Terence Winter ... Y que decir del maestro Scorsese es un maestro para contar historias de este tipo y con el mismo resultado, historias largas pero entretenidas de principio a fin ya que en todo el film estas mas que adentrado en la película. En cuanto a las escenas explicitas de sexo y adicción a las drogas que todo mundo critica yo las veo como un personaje mas que es necesario para volver a esta película en un espectáculo irreverentemente artístico. La Banda sonora tal vez no sea espectacular pero es adecuada para construir la atmósfera de arrogancia, exuberancia y velocidad contenidas.

    Y que decir del reparto inmejorable empezando con la hermosa Margott Robbie en este caso la nueva musa de Scorsese, que tal vez no es una actuación magnifica pero que es apropiado. (sin contar la alucinante escena de su desnudo esa si es magnífica).
    Johan Hill el amigo casi incondicional de Jordan apesar de que no ha salido del típico papel de gordito irreverente lo hace estupendo ya que el es simpático por naturaleza y aquí lo hace ver mejor que antes (quien no se ha reido con una escena de el en esta pelicula)
    Y que decir el Soberbio Dicaprio el gran campeón sin corona de los oscares que nos muestra una de sus mejores actuaciones de su brillante carrera...Capaz de hacer que lo idolatremos en una secuencia principalmente en su discurso del "adiós" y odiarlo al siguiente instante cuando quiere huir con su hija..Representando perfectamente las disntintas facetas de Jordan del chico humilde en busca de el éxito y del señor multimillonario ambicioso y depravado que termina por tocar fondo.

    Conclusión: El Lobo de wall steet una película diferente que cumple estupendamente con su objetivo..mostrarnos de una manera triunfal el ascenso y caída de jordan con temas como el libertinaje y los excesos sin ningún sentido moral ..Con la firma característica de Scorsese y una magnifica actuación de Dicaprio
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    This movie is graphic on every level but violence. Graphic language, sex, and drug use. Leo and Scorsese
    hit their lowest low point with this refuse. --
  6. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    The most overrated, snooze inducing movies of 2013. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
  7. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    Leo's worst movie and Scorsese took a step down by directing this movie as well, absolutely dreadful.
    ()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()
  8. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    A despicable movie that is 100% boring and somehow was made.
    [][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][]
  9. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    An utter squandering of 100 million dollars on the budget and the the cast couldn't save this either.
    {}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}
  10. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    A beast of a movie, The Wolf of Wall Street, is a monstrous three hour Martin Scorsese creation that is absolutely enthralling and mesmerizing. Jordan Belfort is the repugnant stock broker who ‘steals from the rich and gives to himself’. An ostentatious super-rich man dripping in excess, achieved through deceit and fraud, and we follow along on his rise and inevitable fall.

    The whole
    movie is garish, every single wonderful second and screams of Scorsese style. It is not for everyone and certainly not the faint of heart given the prevalence of nudity, sex and drugs (oh, the drugs!). It is loud, bold, and just shy of ludicrous but equally hilarious, anchored by the performances of Leonardo DiCaprio as Jordan Belfort and Jonah Hill, Belfort’s right hand man Donnie Azoff.

    It is nominated for five Academy Awards, a sizable number worthy of pride for all those involved. Though, if it doesn’t win for at least one of the categories in which the picture is nominated, given the sheer undertaking of the film, then the whole award show is a sham because it deserves some recognition.

    I want to explain why, I want to reference scenes to prove my point, I really do, but if I did I would be spoiling the experience. So just watch it and see.

    More reviews of recent releases can be found at our website!
    Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    An overrated, drab movie that has boring acting and is explicit in all the worst ways, one of the worst movies.
    ======================================
  12. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    A horrible movie in every imaginable aspect. The movie has nothing positive about it, it is pointless and offensive.
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
  13. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    This is one of the dullest and crudest movies you will see, skip it.
    *********************************************************************************
  14. Sep 5, 2014
    9
    Sex, Drugs, and Stocks. Director Martin Scorsese's "The Wolf Of Wall Street" tells the eccentric yet true story of Jordan Belfort along with his wealth infused, drug addled escapades. In other words, It's complete debauchery from beginning to end.
  15. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    This movie is very boring and offensive. Scorsese directed the movie but none of his trademarks are in
    it or enjoyment for the viewer.
    ................................................
  16. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    This is easily one of Scorsese's most pointless movies, the movie fails on every level.
    *************************************************************************************************
  17. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    It's as if you're seeing three separate, individual films--each as brilliant and intoxicating as the previous. Leonardo DiCaprio gives another fine performance, but it is Jonah Hill who turns his "Oscar-face" on once more.
  18. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    sell me leonardo dicaprio :D
    28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28
    characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 characters28 Expand
  19. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    This movie is value for your money. I wished I watched it in cinema rather than on DVD. Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill's performances were off the chain. Thumbs up!
  20. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Dicaprio takes the material, crumples it up, and swooshes it right in the can. He really is that good. As for the movie, it is a giant, non-stop train ride that is pouring out of it doors with ridulous genius as it races down the track. It really is great fun for mature audiences.
  21. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    Scorsese has made a film that will make people cringe, laugh, and maybe even a little bit upset because of it’s explicit content. That being said, The Wolf of Wall Street is the most accessible three hour film to date. It is massively hilarious, and is a bold representation of a man on a twisted, ecstasy like odyssey to corporate greed and addiction.
  22. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    This was a surprising film - audacious, satirical but also based on a true story. Martin Scorcese is still at the top of his game and firing on all cylinders. While not always comfortable to watch, this film proceeds at a nice clip and has some terrific moments.
  23. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    Got that fresh Dollar Gold Blu ray Steelbook. On one hand exactly what i expected on the other hand not that masterpiece that many peoply predicted. Get this guy an oscar
  24. Jul 7, 2014
    5
    Hey you!

    Have you been so let down after experiencing something there was a lot of hype for? Lower your expectations and you will find that The Wolf Of Wall street is at least entertaining. DiCaprios performance is as ever, and quite the same. Margot Robbies acting was sub par, I gets thats the price you pay when hiring an adult entertainer. I do say that Jonah Hills character in this
    was well done in comparison to his other works.

    The brief narrations in this movie irked me, as they narration wasnt well done and never seemed to capture the emotion of the given scene. What else could I say about this movie that's not necessarily negative?

    If you want to watch a movie about massive debauchery and not think too much, I say this movie will do the trick.
    Expand
  25. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    The 3 hour length was not justified. For a movie with so little plot, characters, or anything new to say, this film should've been 2 hours at the most.
    It was overlong, boring, and pointless. I seriously don't know how Pain and Gain can get panned while Wolf of Wall Street gets praised considering they're both the same movie.
  26. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    Prior to watching this: I went to see because my friends wanted to.
    Review:
    Pros: There were some funny bits. The story does draw one in.
    Cons: Oh! The depravity of this film! Wanton nudity and sex! Leaves a terrible taste in the mouth. Di Caprio was over-acting here, like he usually does, and so was Hill. The whole film seemed over-done.
    4/5 - Good enough to pay and watch it in the cinema.
  27. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    After dumping his longtime companion Robert De Niro for the hey-day Leonardo DiCaprio in the naughties, Martin Scorsese embarks on a series of ambitious enterprises to earn his overdue Oscar statuette, finally third time is a charm, THE DEPARTED (2006, 8/10) achieved that goal, but poor Leo is still Oscar-less, so their fifth teamwork is THE WOLF OF WALL STREET, an excessive satire of Jordan Belfort’s autobiography, a former Wall Street stock-broker’s rise and fall from 1980s to 1990s, which grants Leo the uppermost leniency to embody this corrupted, decadent and indecent character with inordinate excess and extravaganza, unfortunately, Leo’s time has yet arrived.

    continue reading my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore, thanks
    Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    I really liked this movie...

    I can't recommend it to just everybody especially considering that some audiences will be offended by some of the imagery that this film has, it can be interpreted wrong by some. I like the story here because all the events that transpire feel legit and not forced at all, the actors all do an amazing job especially when you see how energetic some of the
    performances are, you just have to appreciate them; the cinematography is good has well.

    Maybe the length of the movie will be too much for some, but I feel that is granted considering that the characters are basically jerks that treat women like objects so this is something that must always be handled with care because some audiences can, again, be offended, the beginning is a little clumsy because of the dialogue however, but I still enjoyed this movie.
    Expand
  29. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    Outrageous and controversial, clever and filthy, but how so funny and charming. Very entertaining three hours, with terrific performances from the cast. DiCaprio has really proved himself recently as a likable actor and great leading man, as he fits into this real life character of Jordan Belfort perfectly. I've never enjoyed watching him as much as here. This film is overloaded with nudity and drugs so be aware. Aside from that, this movie is crazy, with great characters and is a good time. Expand
  30. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Watching the movie, I wasn't offended. It was interesting 75% of the time. but... It just didn't grab my total interest like some movies do. the movie was well acted and directed. but it just didn't do it for me.
  31. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    The passion with which DiCaprio enacted the roll of Jordan Belfort is simply amazing. He and the movie deserved the Oscar if Dallas Buyers Club and 12 Years a slave was not there for the competition.
  32. May 31, 2014
    8
    The Wolf Of Wall Street, directed by the great martin scorsese. this movie is about the life of stock worker jordan belfort, what this man goes through is very entertaining and your bound to get some laughs out of this . it really shows what success can do to some.. along with drugs and a ton of money! the acting is great by everyone especially the two main stars Leonardo Dicaprio and Jonah Hill. two stars two big personalities. this movie runs for 3 hours and i didn't mind it, its very entertaining and well written, i thought this movie was one of the best movies of the year, defiantly recommend seeing this Expand
  33. May 25, 2014
    8
    A great film which filled me with laughter and excitement. One of Leo's greatest movies. My girlfriend and I agree this movie deserves an 8 out of 10.
  34. May 25, 2014
    8
    For a movie that I didn't know was going to be 3 hours it was quite a thrill ride it didn't even feel like it was that long. Martin Scorsese brings us the true story of Jordan Belfort a young talented stockbroker that wants what everyone wants TONS AND TONS of money and he is going to take Wall Street by storm. Scorsese and DiCaprio have done quite a few movies together The Departed being my favorite this is second for sure. The cast and dialog were near perfection I liked how sometimes in the movie DiCaprio would talk to the camera and it wasnt just one word but it felt like he was having a conversation with you. Now im not a fan of Wall street movies it's just not what I like to watch the only two good movies I have seen about wall street were American Psycho and Trading Places.

    Leonardo DiCaprio was perfect again like always im waiting for the guy to have one bad role but i don't think that is happening anytime soon. Matthew McConaughey was great even though his role was small. Seriously though Jonah Hill was my favorite part of the movie just on the comedy aspect along he was so funny he had be laughing a lot best movie i have seen him in for sure. Also it seems that Kyle Chandler always plays a cop in all his movies at least the ones that I can think of Super 8, Zero Dark Thirty, Argo, The Day The Earth Stood Still I guess he just does a good cop. Didn't even know Jon Favreau was gong to be in the movie but it was great seeing him in it. The movie seems more like a big party then a wall street movie i mean it has A lot of drugs and naked women and i wasn't expecting it maybe thats why its being loved so much at least i know i loved the movie.

    Overall I give it a 8.5 The movie is that great I would recommend it to people but I know most can't watch a 3 hour movie for me though its a piece of cake. I have had plenty of extented LOTR movie days so can handle a long movie. Also this is a for sure Blu Ray buy
    Expand
  35. May 24, 2014
    10
    The best movie of 2013 hands down. This movie gets your blood pumping. The sheer depravity makes the movie for me. The fact that this happened in real life boggles me. Martin Scorsese delivers another masterpiece. Performances are great all around, especially Leonardo's. This movie had me laughing from start to finish and had me intrigued. I would recommend not watching this with your parents as it may get awkward. Overall I highly recommend you go out and watch this movie. Expand
  36. May 24, 2014
    10
    Badass movie aggssfghhyfdsdrggvghg srtyhhhhgfddfhjjhgfdhhhtfdvgffdfhjjhggggyhhgfddfgggfddfgghhbvfdfghygtrdtgtfddghhggffdgghytfddffgggffrtgtfffgyggffttffttgyuhhggffggfggggtggyygffUgtfgfddfgygfghhjjuyyyyytttftyygtffyygtttthhgttyfrgytttytttyttyyyygtfddfhhhhytfyyytfyyuyrffyyttyytryytttttytttffgh
  37. TEM
    May 21, 2014
    10
    The best movie since The Departed (My favorite movie). Scorsese and DiCaprio team up and deliver again. Every cast member fit well and was impressive. DiCaprio gives a performance that leaves me wondering how the man doesn't have 15 Oscars.
  38. May 20, 2014
    3
    Scorsese has never recaptured his great years of Taxi Driver and Raging Bull. Any film that lionises a low life like Jordan Belfort does not deserve a good review. Jordan Belfort is, was and always will be pond scum and a bottom feeder. This movie celebrates his disgusting deeds in a sycophantic Hollywood romanticism that so many American films suffer from. I give it a few points for good camera work and acting. As usual the script has a lot of room for improvement. Expand
  39. May 16, 2014
    9
    Shame that Leo didn't win an Oscar for this movie.... he was so good in it. Martin Scorsese is one of my favourite movie directors ever!!!. BEST SCORSESE FILM SINCE THE DEPARTED!!!!
  40. May 16, 2014
    8
    Over-the-top, gratuitous, and at times down right disturbing, WOWs won me over despite my best attempt to remain detached. Leo is great, I never thought he could do comedy so well. Hill was excellent too, not deserving of an oscar nomination by any means, but he's definitely due a lot of praise for role commitment. Best I've seen the latter, ever, and the best I've seen the former in a long time. Don't watch it with any relatives. Expand
  41. May 11, 2014
    5
    Very underwhelming movie, especially from the likes of Scorsese and DiCaprio. I may have liked it more if it wasn't so preachy about how 'cool' it is to be materialistic.
  42. May 8, 2014
    9
    This dirty masterpiece has been told by the fantastic acting of Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese. Everywhere along the line this movie hits the spot with its grossed out orgies and drug infused scenes but its good where it uses it storytelling to back it up. Jonah Hill impressed me with his gouging character that did not fault at any point. As many good characters and cast this film had if you have the maturity to watch this film then its a wonderful ride. Expand
  43. May 6, 2014
    10
    This film is terrific, and im not talking about the sex and drug scene, but the movie is well conducted and well directed proving once again the talent of martin scorsese and leonardo dicaprio.
  44. May 5, 2014
    3
    The mutant rapist cannibals from The Hills have Eyes were more likable than these characters . Casino Goodfellas and The Wolf are the same in pace, flashbacks and repulsive human beings. Scorsese is a master of making us hate people but why make us hate your movie . There was nothing new .
  45. May 4, 2014
    7
    The story is interesting, but I didn't expect Scorsese to film an epic 3 hour long comedy about drugs and sex. I mean I love the actors and the filming, but I do not dig the whole concept of the movie, I'd rather like it as a more serious movie, which are Scorsese's finest.
  46. May 1, 2014
    9
    muy buena película. buena actuación. fotografía muy bien ambientada . mostrando la vida de un personaje que tenia mucho drama . comedia , sin dejar atrás la actitud siempre
  47. May 1, 2014
    9
    Saw this Scorsese Project, and I knew I had to see it! Do not regret at all. Excellent performance by DiCaprio, and an amazing adapted screenplay by Terrence Winter. All that drama, comedy, turns out to be better that thought. The only problem is that is overly long, and it has some unnecessary erotic scenes.
  48. Apr 30, 2014
    6
    The Wolf of Wall Street had a lot of potential but it proved to be simply too long and too wannabe. Martin Scorsese is known for making films to this length, but this didn't work the way Gangs of New York or The Departed did. First of all, Leonardo DiCaprio is the main actor and narrator, and once you get used to his character's sense of humor, it becomes recycled and boring. It almost seems as though he is trying too hard to represent the wolf that was stock-market giant Jordan Belfort. The movie is an overly-exaggerated version of the actual over-exaggerated life of a scumbag whose only interest was having a lot of fun and even more money. Expand
  49. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    The Wolf of Wall Street is a good flick. It's fast paced, entertaing, has a LOT of energy and doesn't stop until the credits roll. It's a very enjoyable flick with lots of style but little substance. I liked it quite a bit.
  50. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Overly excessive but wildly entertaining and fun, The Wolf of Wall Street finds Martin Scorcese and all the actors involved at the top of their game.
  51. Apr 26, 2014
    6
    Moderately well off guy becomes a total sleeze bag and becomes a filthy rich degenerate. Then he goes too far and ends up not being as filthy rich by the end. I wouldn't mind the story, except that degenerate sleezebag wallstreet execs aren't actually caught so often in real life, so that's always a damn shame.
  52. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    A pretty well acted movie with a few memorable scenes noting to really hype to much over. I think this movie didn't deserve as much praise as it got. There were many good scenes but for it's three hour run time there weren't enough to leave me wanting more. Leo's acting was good but I still don't thin he deserved the Oscar for best acting so I'm glad he didn't get it.
  53. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese puts out a entertaining dark comical academy award movie. Despite on relying on the drugs and sex of jordan belforst life ..it still provides from great acting peformances and a great sense of humor and enthusiasm to make this movie fun to watch. 85/100 Expand
  54. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    The Wolf of Wall Street (2013) Directed by Martin Scorsese; Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Rob Reiner Rating: 4/5 The fifth collaboration between Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street tells the true story of the rise and fall of Jordan Belfort (DiCaprio), a New York stockbroker who made it big in the wake of the financial crisis of the late ‘80s by shady and frequently illegal means. More interesting is what he does with his new found fortune: what follows is a heady tale of excess and debauchery based on Belfort’s own memoirs.

    Despite the more recent financial turmoil, or perhaps because of it, the image of the ‘80s stockbroker has resurfaced for a new generation. Belfort’s story strays into the early ‘90s, but the general aesthetic of the era has the same nostalgic feel, and the messages seem to be the same. Even if we openly loathe bankers, there’s a voyeuristic fascination in watching their decadent lifestyle – or what we imagine such a lifestyle to be like: high stress, fast living, dubious morality and plenty of drugs and sex to boot. The Wolf of Wall Street gives its audience a welcome window into this world.

    The story begins when Jordan arrives in the city as a bright eyed, newly qualified broker; having already achieved his youthful dream of working on Wall Street. After an initially unwelcome brief induction into a life of cocaine and lunchtime cocktails by his new boss Mark Hanna (Matthew McConaughey) the rug is pulled out from under his feet, and he soon swaps blue chips for penny stocks, trading shares worth a fraction of a dollar from a Long Island brokerage on a strip mall.

    Upon realising that these unlisted stocks can fetch a much higher commission than blue chips, he decides to go into business with a bunch of unscrupulous buddies who know a thing or two about sales, using their silver tongues to make millions by trading them on a massive scale, all the while trying to stay one step ahead of the law. For in truth he is committing outright stock fraud – the details of which are fairly complicated; even Belfort himself chooses not to bore us with the details with his tongue in cheek narration.

    The stellar cast is rounded out by players including Jonah Hill, as Belfort’s toothy associate Donnie, Rob Reiner as his complicit accountant father Max Belfort, and Jon Favreau as lawyer Manny Riskin.

    The movie treads a thin line between satire and glorification, but Jordan is undoubtedly the hero of the piece, and the FBI agents on his trail the antagonists he must outwit. As an audience, we are invited to his party, and we witness nothing of the effects that Belfort’s deceptions have had on those who were duped into buying his shares – bearing in mind these ‘customers’ are average people parting with their savings, not huge companies dealing in huge sums of money. This disconnection effectively puts us in Belfort’s shoes: much as they must have appeared to him, they are mere voices on the end of a phone.

    But Jordan is not portrayed as completely heartless. No matter how large his company grows, swelled with a never-ending number of skilled and promising applicants, his loyal gang of hometown reprobates are never left behind, and maintain high-ranking positions until the end. Even when arrested, and forced to wear a wire by the FBI, he attempts to warn Donnie, rather than let him incriminate himself.

    Gratuitous drug use and sexual content aside, the film’s vulgarity can perhaps be summed up by its smashing of the record for the most uses of the f-word in a mainstream non-documentary film, at the rate of around three a minute. The only film scoring higher is a documentary devoted to the word.

    Much of the decadence is played for laughs, or at least as a showcase of extravagance, but coupled with the basic shock value of the actions themselves. One memorable sequence sees Belfort snorting cocaine to counteract the effects of a powerful sedative, paralleled with the Popeye cartoon playing on the television in the background.

    The film does little to condemn Belfort – although his lifestyle unravels, and he is ultimately incarcerated, any true comeuppance is minimal. This is a reflection of the truth: Belfort’s sentence was just four years, of which he served less than two, which, if the film is to be believed, were in a comfortable minimum security environment for white collar offenders.

    These days, he still makes a handsome living as a motivational speaker lecturing on sales technique, and of course, anyone who gets their autobiography made into a Scorsese picture starring Leonardo DiCaprio must have lucked out in the long run.
    Expand
  55. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    The Wolf of Wall Street was excellent in aspects of story and structure. The acting was great, which is to be expected with stars, such as Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill. These actors truly outdid themselves in their respective roles. Unfortunately, the one big problem with the movie is that it was far too long. Some of the speech scenes should have been cut shorter and although the drug-induced stupors were comical they too lasted too long. All in all, the film was great but I was ready for it to be over before it was. Expand
  56. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like this movie it is very funny I like the main character where he fights with his wife every morning. he is a million dollar man he is very rich I give this movie a 10 out of 10 Expand
  57. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    Apart from its boring sex and drugs scenes, it has some good moments. But overall, the movie is waaay overrated and boring. We've seen it all, done it all, and more...
  58. Apr 13, 2014
    1
    I had to really struggle to give this move a 1. It is one of the absolute worst movies I have ever seen. I actually did not know that Martin Scorcese was the Director, until I noticed the credits-in fact, if I had noticed the movie cover and seen it was a Scorcese film I'd be even more bamboozled than I am. Dear Martin Scorcese-you can do better that this! I saw this loser of a film after buying it on DVD at Target. Can someone please tell me how I can get my $19.99 back? This pure load of garbage is called a black comedy. I'm not sure why-they are a few laughs here and there, but by and large it's so overbearing and burdensome that its really tough to describe. It is also 179 minutes long-nearly 3 hours-so to be honest, I have no clue how I actually was able to sit through the entire movie. If I had paid to go to the movie when it was in a theater, I definitely would would have walked out. Some advice: do not buy this clunker on DVD-do not go to a theater who may be playing this dud. Spend your money on a decent sandwich or burger somewhere with a drink of your choice. Don't waste 3 hours of time and money on this one! Expand
  59. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Okay if you want a heart warming film just walk away, this is definitely not heart warming. I watch movies to be entertained and i was for 3 hours when i watched this, its s great to watch and it actually makes you want to be a stock trader and live that cool drug filled life style (which i know is bad). I have actually never seen Jonah Hill act as well as this WOW he was amazing and persuading- its also great to see a young shy guy turn into a cocky a****** **** who isnt ashamed to pull down his pants and wiz in a bin. Leonardo and Jonah turn from good to very corrupt and unlikable characters which strangely you still love and cheer up. the film was so entertaining i wish i could forget it then watch it again. i agree not an amazing story-line but who cares when the actors are this good and entertaining as they are, Honestly guys watch this film even if you want depth because you will still love it Expand
  60. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    I found this movie enjoyable, despite some of the objections I read going into it. Felt it was very well done, even with some unbelievable parts in it, though they did not detract from it overall. Leonardo was great in his role. Directing was great. I hate Jonah Hill, but he was good, I admit. It had funny bits as well. Clever storytelling. The nudity and sex was way less than what I was lead to believe by the prudes.

    I give the edge to American Hustle as the more enjoyable picture, and plot by a little. Gravity isn't even in the same league (that was a total POS). Having just seen Grand Budapest, I am grateful we still have Scorcese to show how movies should be made, even though it's not his best work....it's still good.
    Expand
  61. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    I was absolutely blown away by this film. Scorsese just executed it perfectly. I believe this is without a doubt DiCaprio's best film and one of Jonah Hill's best films. It's engaging to all audiences and it keeps you hooked for all 3 hours of it's running time. You know Belfort is a sleezeball, but you find yourself cheering for him. This can only be done by DiCaprio perfectly capturing Belfort's intended charisma. Expand
  62. Apr 6, 2014
    5
    I'll admit there is some beautiful bodies and gratuitous skin, especially the starring actress Margot Robbie is gorgeous. However there just isn't much of a story and it seems like a really long movie that's mostly about severe substance abuse, which makes it kind of a downer.
  63. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    I watched this film. It stars Leonardo Di Caprio, Seth Rogans friend, and boobs. It's on for 3 hours.
    Summary: Really good. Bit long. Much boobs. 8/10.
  64. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    It is good entertainment. It is impressive that any film can maintain your attention after three hours and The Wolf of Wall Street certainly does that. Acting is great too.
  65. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    Scorsese's latest film is an excellent fictional look into the lives of Wall Street Bankers. DiCaprio's character is certainly a role we've never seen him in before and executed perfectly. While this film contains a lot of drugs, nudity, and curse words, all are done to represent a bigger theme and convey Scorsese's message overall. While this film may seem a bit long, the story is enveloping and very entertaining to follow. Expand
  66. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A big dissapoinment. I had high hopes because of the incredible score, but sadly I had the fealing of watching every movie where a gangster goes big and loses it all in the end. I don't know why exactly but it feels like a modern remake of Blow but replacing the weed with stocks. If this was the first movie in it's kind it would get an 8 at least, but same old story and same predictable end... I think I would have liked it if dicaprio got away with it and lived happily ever after. It is a true story, but then again this is the story of every stock brocker that **** up and makes a lot of money along the way... Worth a watch, but be warned this isn't the piece of art we're made to believe

    just my opinion
    Expand
  67. Ozy
    Apr 2, 2014
    8
    What i love about this movie, is it shows us how all our invested money is played with at the highest level of the financial system. Its shocking to be honest. What's more alarming is that you would think people of wisdom, intelligence and responsibility would be running the show, only to find out, that they are just a bunch of power hungry go getter's with a 'winniiiinnngg' attitude. Brilliantly told and an absolute must watch! Could have been a little shorter though. Expand
  68. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    This new Martin Scorsese's movie made me go speechless, I was absolutely stunned. This was not some random person's life story, it was based on the former stockbroker Jordan Belfort which mostly speaks about the frauds he committed. This movie was presented in a dark comedy like it's supposed to be, mainly because of three stuffs it deals, (1) drugs, (2) sex and (3) money.

    Drugs: It was
    not the first time a Hollywood movie to represent this issue in raw act, but depends on whose movie it was. When filmmakers choose subjects like this they should ready to roll on any challenge that comes ahead so I believe Martin Scorsese did an exceptional job here to depict the truth as it should be.

    Sex: It was very strong and kind of shocked to see in a Martin Scorsese movie. Like I said in earlier paragraph no matter what it is the director excelled in this department as well to extract the possible reality.

    Money: This is a common theme in world cinema so no surprise the director mastered in this field as well without letting anything behind. But previous two themes from above two paragraphs braced this theme very comfortable blend and reached the crest of the tensed end part of the story.

    Does it require to brief about Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill's contribution. Well, both of them were outstanding in their respective roles. And great supports from second stream actors and cameo appearances from various top profiles. The successful collaboration between Scorsese and DiCaprio continues to the next level. Hope this pair gives an another remarkable product in near future. Until then goodbye from me, I mean meet you in my next review and thank you for reading this. Cheers.
    Expand
  69. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    This was a fantastic movie all around. The acting was the best I had seen in a really long time. I very much enjoyed the story and was laughing a lot and very engaged. Now I'm a guy.... but honestly there was simply too much sex in this movie. A scene or two is OK but this movie went a little over the top at times and personally I don't think it added that much. Otherwise I thought it was awesome.
  70. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    I love human behavior. And this kind of movies just shows it in his most rough, repugnant way, just like it is. Dicaprio does a really good acting, and the story of excess could not finish in other way (oh humans)
  71. Lyn
    Mar 30, 2014
    3
    Kind of shocked at how uninteresting this Scorsese bacchanal was. Did not learn anything. Did not feel anything. Spotting a guy from "The Walking Dead" (Jon Bernthal) offered the only moment of surprise. Deluge of F-words was expected of course -- look! Scorsese's still so edgy! -- but I didn't expect to be bored. EVERY other Oscar best picture nominee was better than this, along with some not nominated. All that said: Yes, DiCaprio delivered a strong performance, including great physical comedy in a scene when he's incapacitated by quaaludes. Expand
  72. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Every once in awhile a movie comes along that is so good it will only be appreciated years afterword with a cult following and infinite re-playability . Clockwork Orange, Goodfellas, and Blues Brothers are are some great examples that got the thumbs down by the hierarchical command structure that runs cliche hollywood.

    After sitting through critic darling movies like Dallas Buyers
    club and Goodfellas/Boogie Nights wanna be movie American Hustle I was throttled by The Wolf of Wall Street. It shows us the good and bad executed in a way that the people who make movies say 'holy *$#$' how can I make a movie like that. The mixing of the music and the performances were way ahead of their time and even Kubrick would've been amazed by this future master-work film.

    So if you like the predictable cliche endings and like to stay in the boundaries watch this movie five years from now when all the copycat directors reverse engineer this future cult classic. Then you can join the crowd that say. 'Oh I didn't like it when it first came out but now I like it a lot'. In the meantime for your cowardice and lack of vision you can go work in McDonalds.
    Expand
  73. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    So over the top with the party, party, partying it got really boring. No one to identify with because they were all jerks. Skipping through the chapters and watching the first 30 seconds of each was the best way to watch this overdone gag fest. A decent editor might have made a fun romp out of it.
  74. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best movies I've ever seen and believe me when I say this, the people giving this movie bad reviews really don't know what they're talking about, probably because they went into this movie expecting something far different from what it is, and there is nothing more annoying than people going into a movie expecting to get something out of it that it's not meant to give them and then complaining that it didn't cater to them specifically.
    Wolf of Wall Street has what will probably be the best acting that we will ever see out of Leonardo DiCaprio, and has a very well cast group of supporting actors. The plot of this movie doesn't function like a normal plot, it's much longer, and is more of a telling of Jordan Belfort's life than anything else. The characters aren't supposed to be connectable, that's not really the point, they're supposed to be trash. There are no heroes in this movie.
    This movie isn't for everybody, it might be a little "crude" for some people if your only reaction to a swear in dialog is a gasp and grasping of the chest, but if you have the sense to come into this movie with the right mindset, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  75. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    How come this flick has a user score so high when there are so many negative reviews? I couldn't even stick it out past the halfway point. The interminable scenes of screaming and nastiness. Who cares? A waste of time and talent. Had no clue what was going on in terms of real story, just a bunch of scenes of excess that overall were just boring in the end. i agree with the crap analysis, how does this stuff get made? Expand
  76. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Money. Sex. Drugs. Power. That's The Wolf of Wall Street in a nutshell. Don't be mistaken though that it's a bad thing because it's not. It's arguably Martin Scorcese's best film in quite some time. It's an outrageously awesome film from start to finish and believe me that's a long running time. The movie itself is based on the true story of Jordan Belfort and follows his rise from forming his own company to becoming a wealthy stockbrocker living the high life to his fall due to his involvment in crime, corruption and the federal government. Leonardo DiCaprio is at his best. He delivers a truly majestic performance in his depiction as Jordan Belfort, he's phenominal. You genuinely have to wonder what the man has to do for an Oscar because based on this he is more than worthy of one! Jonah Hill excels as Donnie Azoff. For a man who is a stalwart in comedy his turn here is a masterstroke. He's very convincing and his screentime with Leo is not only memorable but strikes absolute gold! They are a dynamite duo. Margot Robbie has her big screen debut and believe me it's one you won't forget. She's not only beautiful, and believe me that's an understatement, but she delivers a solid performance. There's also noteable performances from Jon Bernthal, Jean Dujardin and Joanna Lumley to mention a few but perhaps most significantly is the role that Matthew McConaughey has. It's small but sensational. He'll have you beating your chest and humming along. Scorcese is on top form. His direction has always been brilliant but this is crudely classic! An absolute must see movie. An outrageous yet exceptionally class film. Expand
  77. Mar 24, 2014
    3
    The worst sin of this movie is that it drags along, self indulging in drugs abuse scenes and unsuccessfully trying to depict sex scenes with some more meaning than soft porn. At some points it just plainly goes overboard to a "fear and loathing in Las Vegas" style and zero-meaning scenes.
    The filler about drugs, sex and testosterone takes the stage away from the real movie, ending up
    probably pleasing just those who we're looking for it, and not much more.

    In fact, there's actually something more to the movie, but while it's well depicted by a good director and actors, in the end it results quite thin and uncertain, leaving a sense of emptiness for how the movie evolves.

    Just like most of Scorsese movies, good premises, excellent technique, but a vacuous result.

    Feels more like a long video clip.
    Expand
  78. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    What a crazy ride! Unbelievable! Good Fellas for this generation? Slow down just a bit. The story is crazy and what a life he had. The acting was pretty good. Leo is Leo. He is the best young actor of this generation for sure. Must see. It's a thrill ride.
  79. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    This film really excites me. Martin Scorsese is ‘back’ and more prevalent than ever. Not that he ever really left, his recent films Hugo, Shutter Island, The Departed etc. have all been fantastic and full of Scorsese, but The Wolf of Wall Street truly reverberates the man we love. There are vast swirling sets, sweeping cameras, explosive/implosive characters, assertive narratives told with an expressive pace, brimming bag of laughs and a wicked sense of underlying controversy. Scorsese is truly extraordinary at understanding and communicating his visual language: cinema.

    “As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster.” Ray Liotta as Henry Hill at the start of Goodfellas is distinctively comparable to Di Caprio’s Jordan Belfort’s opening confession: “The year I turned 26, I made 49 million dollars, which really pissed me off because it was three shy of a million a week.” Both characters can be interpreted as zealous apprentice wise guys. Belfort and Hills’ journeys are strikingly similar, though Belfort is in the stock market as a supercharged salesman on Wall Street and Hill is pursuing ruthless trades with gangsters on the street in Brooklyn. They both learn the ropes early on, initially innocent. This is soon surpassed by a fast rise through the ranks and become fixated with work, drugs and girls. Who would have thought gangsters and brokers would be so alike?

    What everything boils down to for Belfort, is tasting the sweet smell of success. But, like most over-their-head entrepreneurs, he can’t get enough of the taste, even when he knows the feds are beginning to tread on his back. Lets talk about Di Caprio’s performance here for a second, mind-blowing. It could be the performance of his career, but that can be said for most Di Caprio performances, he is a great actor. However, as Belfort, Di Caprio has really unleashes a charismatic turn as he swings and swaggers through the frame. He was as invigorating and magnetic as Al Pacino playing Tony Montana in Scarface.

    Of course, the soundtrack is entertaining and always tipping and topping and the editing is high-powered and frenetic making all the hustle and bustle seem ten times as ferocious. Thelma Schoonmaker, Scorsese’s long-term editing partner, has some interesting comments to say in this February’s issue of Sight & Sound. “Marty’s guiding principle in all his films is to never tell the audience what to think, but to make them engage with what they’re seeing and hearing.” As I touched upon earlier, this is Scorsese letting us engage in his visual language how we see fit, he is a master and commander of visual communication.

    There is a particular scene in the film that I wish to note in this heady review. It involves Di Caprio dragging his face along a concrete floor and rolling down a flight of steps, literally. I won’t explain why, but it has to be the most hilarious scene I can ever recall seeing in cinema. “Marty was delighted to see that the actors could all improvise beautifully, and so he made the daring choice to give them lots of freedom to do that.” (Schoonmaker). Most certainly! The improvisation in this film gives it a fresh outlook whilst retaining a remarkably existent presence.

    Lastly, it is important to recognize that this film is an absolute rarity for Hollywood. The Wolf of Wall Street should be cherished and watched over and over, with laughs becoming ever greater. It is a bold screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now, and it is, therefore, not your typical Hollywood package. And, neither is a three-hour film where every frame and beat is wild and virile with a lifetime’s accumulated genius.

    If this film came out in 2013, it would be side-by-side with the other three-hour epic at my number one spot, Blue is the Warmest Colour. Lets hope there’s something else this year that can match the wolf; I’m looking in your direction 12 Years a Slave.
    Expand
  80. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    Funny, well acted and a great story made this a ton of fun to watch. Even at 3 hours time flew by for a guy that can't sit still for more than an hour or so. Best of the Oscar nominated film in MHO.
  81. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    Very shallow movie. With a very simplistic, tiresome plot. If you can call it a plot that is. Guy does illegal things, makes a lot of money, lives in debauchery. FBI catches on and then eventually strikes a deal with him. That's basically it. Other than Dicaprio's performance and a few funny scenes, there isn't much to recommend here. One would think Scorcese and Dicaprio would want to aim higher at this point in their careers. Expand
  82. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    This was just a brilliant film from start to beginning. Can't believe this film didn't take home every Oscar this year. Just pure excellent acting from Leonardo Di Caprio, Jonah Hill and Rob Reiner who really excels in his role as the father of Jordan Belfort. He is just pure comedy gold!
  83. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Not sure how this movie didn't win a single oscar. Leo and Jonah were fantastic in this film, the storyline is far-fetched but entertaining nonetheless. The 2 and a half hours flies past and leaves you wanting more. If you are a teenage boy this movie will be pretty much movie of the year, hell, if you like **** and drugs this movie will be great fun. Definitely a must watch!
  84. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Wolf Of Wall Street delivers amazing entertainment for 179 mins, Oscar Caliber Performance by Leonardo DiCaprio. Mr. Scorsese at his best since 2006
  85. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    one of the best movie i have ever seen. This story is perfect for making a movie about and they aced it. also i love that it was 3 hours long im so sick of these **** movies cramming to much in to and hour and a half this movie uses the 3 hour brilliantly some of the best acting I've seen.
  86. amh
    Mar 6, 2014
    3
    I just thought this was a boring movie. Negative reviews of Wolf will fault it for its glorification of immorality and repugnant characters. But there are plenty of great movies about people we hate. Here, there was no story arc--no difference between hour 1 and hour 3. The voiceover was a repeat of Wiseguys. How many times will Scorcese make the same movie? Points scored for Leo's performance. But the supporting cast--yawn. DeNiro had Sharon (Casino). Depp had Penelope (Blow). Who cared about the Duchess of Bay Ridge? And the bust? No drama there (was that the yellow note in the plastic bag? Did Dannie rat out Jordan?). To all directors, young and old--plot is important! It can't all be glitz, powder, and t&a! Expand
  87. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Sex, drugs, and DiCaprio. That's all you need to make a good movie.
    Honestly, the story isn't that good, and the movie tends to drag towards the end. However, that doesn't even matter. It's just fun to watch. There's something riveting about watching Jonah Hill masterbate publicly after seeing an attractive women while high on every drug imaginable. It's a good time from start to end, and
    that's all it has to be. Expand
  88. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Really good film right here. The amazing part about this film is that it is full of debauchery, disgusting acts, and just absolute greed and selfishness, yet I find myself rooting for Belfort and the rest of Stratton Oakmont. I know I am not supposed to, yet I absolutely did. Helmed by the always reliable Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street lives up to the hype for me and delivers. It is quite over the top and hard-hitting, sometimes to degrees where it becomes like, "Oh come on," but regardless, it is endlessly watchable. DiCaprio did great as expected and is undoubtably the reason why I sort of aligned myself with Belfort in spite of his horrendous acts of disregard and debauchery throughout. I thought Jonah Hill was good, not great. The real star of the show here though has to be Terrence Winter. The script is impeccable and is truly why this one will live on, as it is quotable at every turn. Not my favorite film turned out by Scorsese, but regardless, it is better than most and one of the best of 2013. Expand
  89. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    Great acting, great dialogue and some hilarious scenes. There are a few issues which drag it down slightly for me though. I do find Belfort's inclusion as a cameo a bit unnecessary and that does make me question the integrity and moral implications of the film. I also switched off now and again in some sections, making me think it dragged slightly and certain scenes could have been left out. That being said, i did still love it. Expand
  90. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    The Wolf of Wall Street is a kinetic, super fun biopick from DeCaprio and Scorsese. The scenes of excess in the movie are so over the top that they make you laugh your ass off. Likewise, the script is fast, witty and very, very funny. The only downside to this movie is that it's slightly over-length. But this is still storming entertainment whichever way you slice it!
  91. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    leanardo Dicaprio is the bomb for this role it is epic sexy , thrilling . but to many drug content . Martin Scoresse really step up his game for once .
  92. Feb 23, 2014
    2
    I really thought this movie was going to be great just because of Leonardo Dicaprio. He has given stellar performance over the years and deserves to be recognized. After watching the film, I was so disappointed. The movie did not justice to his acting as well as Martin Scorsese. The film was poorly written and self indulgent. There was some good moments but it was overshadowed by the profanity and lewd act. It was too overdone and you get lost at the actual story of the film. What is worst is Jonah Hill and his usual self. He was annoying and unforgivable. Expand
  93. Feb 22, 2014
    0
    Why was I hoping to have LEO'S character get arrested immediately and put an end to this EPICALLY BORING AND CHARACTERLSS movie...Martin Scorses realy blew this ever MERRYR GO ROUND MOVIE....the movie which is like a plane on a runway going here and there instead of flying in the sky....IDIOTIC MOVIE STUPID CHARACTERS AND UTTERLESS STUPIDITY FOR OUR YOUNG GENERATION WHO REALLY NEEDS POSITIVE ROLE MODELS !!! Expand
  94. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    I thought this movie was fantastic! My only complaint was that it was so long be even saying that I was never bored. Entertaining from start to finish. And yet another example of Leo being on of the best actors working today as well as Scorsese being one of the best directors.
  95. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    I do not know where to start with this one because I can not find enough adjectives to describe this movie. I have not walked out on a movie in 30 years but I did this on this piece of garbage about 1 hour and 15 minuets in to this because I had no desire to see how this abnormal movie ended. There is something wrong with a society who looks upon this horrific trash and considers it entertainment but worst of all likes it (baring the 65 or so user critics that feel similar to me). It is little more than a lesson in how degenerate and disgusting human beings can be. I found nothing positive to say about this one. It was extremely boring because it was the same disarming behavior over and over and over etc, etc, etc. (sex, drugs, greed of money). What a piece of junk. Another critic said this was just bad porn and I can agree with that. Expand
  96. Feb 18, 2014
    1
    Douchebag porn at it's finest. How does a criminal this boring get two movies? How does this washed up fraud get Scorsese to direct a film about his drug addicted, morally corrupt lifestyle? 'Murica, that's how.
  97. Feb 18, 2014
    3
    This movie would have been much better if it were an hour shorter. While there were some good parts to the movie, it was bundled with lots of unnecessary scenes which didn't need to be there or dragged on too long.

    Quite a few over the top scenes, while the movie needs to show the lifestyle the stock brokers participate in this could have been done in half the time to the same effect. I
    would watch it again if they re-cut down to half the time, where they would still be able to resemble the same plot and get across the same message. Expand
  98. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    The Wolf of Wall Street was really disappointing and I'm a big fan of Martin Scorsese. I mean the movie is fun and catches you for a while, but after two hours seeing nothing more but drugs abuse and undiscriminated sex activity it becomes boring. The same message of excess could be transmitted with a quarter or less of what is shown in the film. When the protagonist finally is crushed by his lifestyle you expect the most amazing and genius part of a classic Scorsese's picture, the fall of the character until his destruction. However this thing does not occur at anytime; its true that he lost important things but there is nothing more. In that sense this film is not like his other ones, for example Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Goodfellas and The Departed. That enormous learning about life does not fit within this story and that's a shame because it could. What saves the movie is DiCaprio performance, although he never gives a bad one; the edition is marvelous as always and all the scenarios that are used are amazing. Expand
  99. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    First of all Hardcore Porn? Must be soft sh*t they been watching cause this was far from that! Was a well directed & acted movie by stars at top of their game. I've seen this movie 3 times now and I must say i've never felt bored of it, the dialogue and the narration by Di Caprio is just excellent. I seriously don't understand how people can be so offended by swearing and nudity in a film, it all happens in real life right? Anyway I just want to praise such a well crafted film and doubt many will top it in years to come aswell as Di Caprio's acting, it sure will be a hard act to follow to top that! Expand
  100. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    The Wolf of Wall Street is one of the best films I've seen this year and its the only movie I've seen this year. The Wolf of Wall Street is 3 hours long but it kept me invested throughout the film, and i think that Leo DiCaprio will most likely win the oscar this year, with the help of Martin Scrocese's script being near flawless and with his direction making it another plus.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 28, 2013
    50
    By buying the pitch that its central character’s escapades were the stuff of mesmerizing drama or comedy, Scorsese, Winter and DiCaprio reveal themselves as dupes — the latest in a long line of clever folks swindled by Jordan Belfort.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 28, 2013
    50
    Any meaningful perspective on the greedfest of the period is obscured by the gleefulness of the depiction.