Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1380 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 302
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of ourIn the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    best film in years. it is really just a film you have to see. maybe you will not like it as much as i do, but it is defenitely a experiencebest film in years. it is really just a film you have to see. maybe you will not like it as much as i do, but it is defenitely a experience everyone should witness Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Scorsese and DiCaprio are back in the craziest and best movie of the year!!! I really loved it because it was so honest and it had no limitsScorsese and DiCaprio are back in the craziest and best movie of the year!!! I really loved it because it was so honest and it had no limits and that's he way this film should be. I think DiCaprio gives his best performance in this film and that means a lot because I think he is one of the best actors of this century. Jonah Hill is fantastic and Margot Robbie isn't just good looks but she's a good actress too and I absolutely loved Matthew Mcconaughey even if he's in the film for just 10 minutes. The writing is phenomenal and I don't even need to talk about the directing because...come on...it's Martin Scorese, he's a master of filmaking. If some people didn't like this film cause of all the debauchery, I get it, it's not for everyone it's completely fine but for me The Wolf of Wall Street is the best film of the year!!! Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    One of the year's best movies thus far, This movie is long but keeps the audience on it's seat. DiCaprio blows away the audience with hisOne of the year's best movies thus far, This movie is long but keeps the audience on it's seat. DiCaprio blows away the audience with his gritty, party like, action packed, yet comedic performance. The trailer doesn't give this movie any justice however. Jonah Hill also makes this movie very humorous. A lot of foul mouthed, drug using , hooker renting "penny stock" sellers make it big on a ponzi scheme. There is a lot of foul language which might bother some and the drug use is non stop. Overall a great start to the year in movies with Scorcese flick...hopefully there are more like this. I could see this movie being up for many awards. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    8
    I was a little bit disapointed by the movie. DiCaprio is great, as always, but I felt the movie was exactly what I expected. No surprises. TheI was a little bit disapointed by the movie. DiCaprio is great, as always, but I felt the movie was exactly what I expected. No surprises. The aggressive-perverted-addicted Wall Street type is a common stereotype. Belfort just multiplies it ten times. This is no masterpiece, but a very good movie. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    6
    The Wolf of Wall Steet is an outrageous, twisted, entertaining and devious film. Many say there is a glorification of sex, drugs and greedThe Wolf of Wall Steet is an outrageous, twisted, entertaining and devious film. Many say there is a glorification of sex, drugs and greed that is wrapped so tightly in the film that every five minutes there is a sex scene at a X rated level. I didn't mind, because that is how our super star, Leo Dicaprio plays with a delicious appetite. Every other word may be and at times, I wanted to leave because after 300 uses of ****ing---it loses emphasis. (506 f u c k uses) There is an important message here. The moral errosion, the twisted deceit and the overwhelming lack of a solid plot, this is what is out there in the world. Especially in the US. Now, as for my rating of six, I did not love the movie. I thought it had its pros and cons. For starters, cut the sex scenes down, trim down the use of f u c k (which I am not offended by, but it definitely loses emphasis) and show if Belfort was in any way full of remorse. The second half of the picture is better, gaining personal ground and...well,the whole point was to share this ridiculous story, to batter our minds with a genuine question of "why?". My feelings are somewhat mixed. Some scenes are too long when you get th point, entertaining here and there, and it never fails to show you. I am not a prude. I just think it went over the top, which is what is should have done, but there is something about WOWS that I couldn't connect to. If you're debating whether or not to see it, please do. There is a lot of mixed reaction on here, and especially in the theatre. Cheers. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Absolutely no reason this movie should be 3 hours long. 1 hour too long at least... The sex and drugs was way too over the top. Clearly overAbsolutely no reason this movie should be 3 hours long. 1 hour too long at least... The sex and drugs was way too over the top. Clearly over compensating for a weak plot and poor character development, putting it nicely. 3 hours I can never get back, Expand

See all 302 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.