Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1092 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 275
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very funny movie where again you root for the bad guy. Loved the vile behavior and how it depicted people with money as in the gutter degenerates. Showed the dangers of excess and how that lifestyle is hard on loving relationships. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Although I don't wish to be a prisoner of the moment, I must acknowledge how entertaining this is as a film.
    There is never a dull moment,
    and Leo steals the show with his performance. The supporting cast is also fantastic, and the movie never ceases to please. The moments feel genuine and the drugs are as real as can be. This satire on the wealthy and their view of the poor may be misunderstood as glorifying drugs and sex. That can be seen in the negative reviews that simply don't get it. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    8
    Over-the-top, gratuitous, and at times down right disturbing, WOWs won me over despite my best attempt to remain detached. Leo is great, I never thought he could do comedy so well. Hill was excellent too, not deserving of an oscar nomination by any means, but he's definitely due a lot of praise for role commitment. Best I've seen the latter, ever, and the best I've seen the former in a long time. Don't watch it with any relatives. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Watching the movie, I wasn't offended. It was interesting 75% of the time. but... It just didn't grab my total interest like some movies do. the movie was well acted and directed. but it just didn't do it for me. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A big dissapoinment. I had high hopes because of the incredible score, but sadly I had the fealing of watching every movie where a gangster goes big and loses it all in the end. I don't know why exactly but it feels like a modern remake of Blow but replacing the weed with stocks. If this was the first movie in it's kind it would get an 8 at least, but same old story and same predictable end... I think I would have liked it if dicaprio got away with it and lived happily ever after. It is a true story, but then again this is the story of every stock brocker that **** up and makes a lot of money along the way... Worth a watch, but be warned this isn't the piece of art we're made to believe

    just my opinion
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    This movie is very boring and offensive. Scorsese directed the movie but none of his trademarks are in
    it or enjoyment for the viewer.

    ................................................
    Expand

See all 275 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.