The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1744 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 316
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of ourIn the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Martin Scorsese has the reputation of producing classics and just when you thought that he is done he came up with another classic calledMartin Scorsese has the reputation of producing classics and just when you thought that he is done he came up with another classic called "WOLF OF THE WALL STREET".....
    Leonardo DiCaprio gave his best performance till date and easily best performance of the year. Give him an OSCAR that he so much deserves. Jonah Hill was equally good as well......
    Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    If Leonardo DiCaprio does not a Oscar for he's role in this movie then they is going to be a rant.

    This is one of the best films of 2013,
    If Leonardo DiCaprio does not a Oscar for he's role in this movie then they is going to be a rant.

    This is one of the best films of 2013, the acting, the directing was superb with out no words. Martin Scorsese is the best director out they just all of he's movies are one of the best and his other movies never let me down well my by gang's of new York. This movie is three hours and it feels like 1 hour because the movie goes by so fast that I didn't know the movie was almost finish and some people out they like news reporters and critics are saying that this movie is way to over the top and I got to say what movie Did they watch because I did not think it was over the top or silly.
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    Martin Scorsese is one of my favorite directors of all time.With all his experience he tries a new style and once again he succeeds.Leo givesMartin Scorsese is one of my favorite directors of all time.With all his experience he tries a new style and once again he succeeds.Leo gives us one of the strongest performance of his career and so does Jonah Hill. Scorsese's directing, Terence Winter's fabulous script and Thelma Schoonmaker's editing make this film what it is.The Wolf of Wall Street may be 180 minutes long but you'll never get bored, not for one second. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2016
    8
    When I first saw previews for this movie I was so uninterested. However, I really enjoyed it. It was a well written, acted, and directedWhen I first saw previews for this movie I was so uninterested. However, I really enjoyed it. It was a well written, acted, and directed movie. Leo definitely shines in this movie. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    An overall fantastic film, that is ruined by moments of needless, over the top excess, that seems to steal the viewer away from the mostlyAn overall fantastic film, that is ruined by moments of needless, over the top excess, that seems to steal the viewer away from the mostly excellent plot. Despite these moments, which mostly come towards the end of the film, (where it mainly seems to fall apart and feel like the film never really decided upon its ending, resulting in a jumble of in effective twists and hollow moments), in most aspects, bar DiCaprio. DiCaprio never lets his role down once in the entire three hours and executes each scene perfectly. This film seems like a playground for DiCaprio to prove all he can to achieve that seriously deserved Oscar. For any issue there is with this film, Leo is not to blame and it is for him alone that this film will forever remain very memorable. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    0
    created acct just for this movie. wow I was so bored! I went with friends so I didn't walk out but truly we just waited it out because wecreated acct just for this movie. wow I was so bored! I went with friends so I didn't walk out but truly we just waited it out because we were too nice to leave. That was truly a few hrs of my life wasted.. This was a slow moving no plot porno flick. I truly wonder what they spent money on while making it maybe the drugs they were using or the food? I was truly amazed that this movie couldn't have been made for around 30k ok they did have to pay the stars. I'm simply amazed that there is not one funny or intense scene it is just boring boring dullness better off to go see a real porno movie with a little plot. Expand

See all 316 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.
  2. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  3. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  4. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.