The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1587 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 310
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of ourIn the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Martin Scorsese has the reputation of producing classics and just when you thought that he is done he came up with another classic calledMartin Scorsese has the reputation of producing classics and just when you thought that he is done he came up with another classic called "WOLF OF THE WALL STREET".....
    Leonardo DiCaprio gave his best performance till date and easily best performance of the year. Give him an OSCAR that he so much deserves. Jonah Hill was equally good as well......
    Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    This is a completely new style for Scorsese and DiCaprio, but they make this into their own. The most despicably zanious film of the yearThis is a completely new style for Scorsese and DiCaprio, but they make this into their own. The most despicably zanious film of the year shows that it can be extremely entertaining, (even for a super long runtime) really funny, and really crazy. It's a Scorsese film that has a little of everything making this one of the best contributions to cinema in recent memory. Everyone in this movie was at their A game, and it's no wonder this movie deserves an A+! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies and also check out my best and worst films of 2013! Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    What's a great year in film without a little controversy. Said controversy comes in the form of 'The Wolf of Wall Street'; which reunitesWhat's a great year in film without a little controversy. Said controversy comes in the form of 'The Wolf of Wall Street'; which reunites master filmmaker Martin Scorsese and actor, Leonardo DiCaprio, after a one film hiatus. It feels so long. Anyway, DiCaprio gives a stellar performance as Jordan Belfort, a real life New York stockbroker who ran a firm that engaged in securities fraud and corruption on Wall Street in the 1990's. There was much talks about the film and the way it glorifies the explosive, hedonistic ways of the wealthy one percent. But despite all the "coolness" we are seeing on the screen, is it indeed a glorification or simply a backhanded representation of these drugged out, sex crazed "fiends". Terrence Winter's expletive laden script, was darkly hilarious! I call this the funniest film of the year. The screenplay was incredibly smart and builds a band of memorable characters; with due credit to Scorsese's direction and the supporting cast's (and ofcourse Leo's) electric performances. However I did take a little issue with the length of the story which wielded a staggering three hour run-time on film. Detailing the meteoric rise and fall of the infamous stock broker was a meteoric accomplishment for Scorsese and his usual editor Thelma Schoonmaker. There collaboration made every minute of those three hours entertaining and memorable; very good work. 'The Wolf of Wall Street' was a lot of things; sharp, crude, funny and possibly even iconic. One thing is certain, it was awesomely entertaining. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2015
    8
    Ok. The dialogue in this movie is awesome, the cinematography is awesome, the characters are awesome. This movie is a whole bunch ofOk. The dialogue in this movie is awesome, the cinematography is awesome, the characters are awesome. This movie is a whole bunch of awesome...but it does not get a 10. This movie was WAYYYY TO LONG! 3 hours is a ridiculous amount of time to shoot this movie as. Some parts were unnecessary and felt there just as additional sex scenes. I don't mind sex scenes, but I do mind 30 minutes of them. Still, exceptional performance from EVERYONE in this film. Especially Di'Caprio Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    Entertaining while you're watching it, but afterwards you ask yourself "Why the **** did I watch this movie?" Unrewarding, and all of theEntertaining while you're watching it, but afterwards you ask yourself "Why the **** did I watch this movie?" Unrewarding, and all of the characters are dicks. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    0
    Worst movie ever! First, that film is just a bad porn.
    I just cant belive in 80% of the story. Leonardo di Caprio is an amazing actor, and
    Worst movie ever! First, that film is just a bad porn.
    I just cant belive in 80% of the story. Leonardo di Caprio is an amazing actor, and this movie has others good actors.

    But the story is just stupid and crazy. Is just an amended biografy of a thief. I was count down the time to the end.

    The movie show like crime is good and funny! No sense.
    Expand

See all 310 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.