Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 283
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    enjoyable time… I read some of the reviews below about exploiting our country..blah blah blah. Good funny movie. Lots of drugs, sex, hookers, etc.
    Just a heads up..
    Been a while since I've seen that much nudity too!
    but who cares!
    Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Although I don't wish to be a prisoner of the moment, I must acknowledge how entertaining this is as a film.
    There is never a dull moment,
    and Leo steals the show with his performance. The supporting cast is also fantastic, and the movie never ceases to please. The moments feel genuine and the drugs are as real as can be. This satire on the wealthy and their view of the poor may be misunderstood as glorifying drugs and sex. That can be seen in the negative reviews that simply don't get it. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    The Wolf of Wall Street is a good flick. It's fast paced, entertaing, has a LOT of energy and doesn't stop until the credits roll. It's a very enjoyable flick with lots of style but little substance. I liked it quite a bit. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    The Wolf of Wall Street was excellent in aspects of story and structure. The acting was great, which is to be expected with stars, such as Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill. These actors truly outdid themselves in their respective roles. Unfortunately, the one big problem with the movie is that it was far too long. Some of the speech scenes should have been cut shorter and although the drug-induced stupors were comical they too lasted too long. All in all, the film was great but I was ready for it to be over before it was. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    5
    La última película del director Martín Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street comienza a ganar atención gracias a la extensa campaña de promoción en todos los países, reavivar el mito de no ganar el Oscar a mejor director y la extensa lista de vítores por su célebre producción. Una película que ha resultado no sólo un boom publicitario, sino que la gran mayoría de la crítica se ha volcado en exorbitantes calificativos dejándola en un pedestal del cual falta por discutir un poco más. Para leer más en cineplacebos.webnode.es Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    This movie is graphic on every level but violence. Graphic language, sex, and drug use. Leo and Scorsese
    hit their lowest low point with this
    refuse. -- Expand

See all 283 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.