The Wolf of Wall Street

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 305
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of ourIn the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    This is one of favorite movies of the year, Scorsese, and DiCaprio do it again, telling the story of notorious Wall Street bad boy JordanThis is one of favorite movies of the year, Scorsese, and DiCaprio do it again, telling the story of notorious Wall Street bad boy Jordan Belfort, who is played perfectly by DiCaprio, and chronicles his rise, and fall, now this movie is not for everybody, if you don't like drugs, swear words, and sex then stay the hell away from this, still this is one of the year's finest. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Scorsese and DiCaprio are back in the craziest and best movie of the year!!! I really loved it because it was so honest and it had no limitsScorsese and DiCaprio are back in the craziest and best movie of the year!!! I really loved it because it was so honest and it had no limits and that's he way this film should be. I think DiCaprio gives his best performance in this film and that means a lot because I think he is one of the best actors of this century. Jonah Hill is fantastic and Margot Robbie isn't just good looks but she's a good actress too and I absolutely loved Matthew Mcconaughey even if he's in the film for just 10 minutes. The writing is phenomenal and I don't even need to talk about the directing because...come on...it's Martin Scorese, he's a master of filmaking. If some people didn't like this film cause of all the debauchery, I get it, it's not for everyone it's completely fine but for me The Wolf of Wall Street is the best film of the year!!! Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    What's a great year in film without a little controversy. Said controversy comes in the form of 'The Wolf of Wall Street'; which reunitesWhat's a great year in film without a little controversy. Said controversy comes in the form of 'The Wolf of Wall Street'; which reunites master filmmaker Martin Scorsese and actor, Leonardo DiCaprio, after a one film hiatus. It feels so long. Anyway, DiCaprio gives a stellar performance as Jordan Belfort, a real life New York stockbroker who ran a firm that engaged in securities fraud and corruption on Wall Street in the 1990's. There was much talks about the film and the way it glorifies the explosive, hedonistic ways of the wealthy one percent. But despite all the "coolness" we are seeing on the screen, is it indeed a glorification or simply a backhanded representation of these drugged out, sex crazed "fiends". Terrence Winter's expletive laden script, was darkly hilarious! I call this the funniest film of the year. The screenplay was incredibly smart and builds a band of memorable characters; with due credit to Scorsese's direction and the supporting cast's (and ofcourse Leo's) electric performances. However I did take a little issue with the length of the story which wielded a staggering three hour run-time on film. Detailing the meteoric rise and fall of the infamous stock broker was a meteoric accomplishment for Scorsese and his usual editor Thelma Schoonmaker. There collaboration made every minute of those three hours entertaining and memorable; very good work. 'The Wolf of Wall Street' was a lot of things; sharp, crude, funny and possibly even iconic. One thing is certain, it was awesomely entertaining. Expand
  5. May 28, 2015
    8
    Director Martin Scorsese and his muse, Leonardo DiCaprio are back and are telling the true story of a man named Jordan Belfort in a movieDirector Martin Scorsese and his muse, Leonardo DiCaprio are back and are telling the true story of a man named Jordan Belfort in a movie titled 'The Wolf of Wall Street'.

    What this movie focuses on is Belfort's (DiCaprio) journey into the world of Wall Street and how he becomes his own businessman running an illegal business, cheating his ignorant customers.

    Belfort starts looking for different jobs and begins to get a sense of what it's like to work for the industry, he manages to persuade his customers to trust him and his talents are put to better use when he meets an eager business-inspiring man named Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill). The two men hit it off together, discussing what they aspire to do and how to get there, and it's there that Jordan is introduced to smoking pot and consuming other heavy amounts of drugs.

    After they kick-start their business and become established, Jordan then meets a woman named Naomi (Margot Robbie) and they buy an apartment together and quickly get married and get their lives settled.

    There are many cameos in this movie from Matthew McConaughey, to Jon Favreau and Spike Jonze. But then there's Rob Reiner, who plays the father, Max Belfort in a performance so crazy and so obnoxious, he should've been considered for some awards for his role.

    DiCaprio gives us one of his most charismatic performances since Steven Spielberg's 'Catch Me If You Can' (2002), here, he gives us some physical comedy and it is surprisingly funny. Jonah Hill shares fantastic chemistry with him as the over-the-top sidekick. The two actors clearly have fun in their roles which is great to see.

    Martin Scorsese tells this story in a 3 hour movie, which is one main problem I have. I have seen many movies that are longer than three hours, ('Schindler's List', 'Titanic' and 'The Lord of the Rings'), but this movie has scenes that drag on for longer than ten minutes, even if it's a jokey scene, we get the punchline, but it still goes on for a few more minutes. I do not think that the infamous story of Jordan Belfort and how he cheated his way through Wall Street needed to be told in three hours, but the movie's enigma and entertaining scenes do keep you intrigued and you find yourself glued to the movie despite its vulgarity.

    This movie is full of cold-hearted characters, drugs, filthy language, and many scenes of sex and graphic nudity. It's not for everyone and I can understand if one was to be offended with the movie's content. It can be a lot t handle for three hours, but once you get into the story, you'll be entertained.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    Entertaining while you're watching it, but afterwards you ask yourself "Why the **** did I watch this movie?" Unrewarding, and all of theEntertaining while you're watching it, but afterwards you ask yourself "Why the **** did I watch this movie?" Unrewarding, and all of the characters are dicks. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Absolutely no reason this movie should be 3 hours long. 1 hour too long at least... The sex and drugs was way too over the top. Clearly overAbsolutely no reason this movie should be 3 hours long. 1 hour too long at least... The sex and drugs was way too over the top. Clearly over compensating for a weak plot and poor character development, putting it nicely. 3 hours I can never get back, Expand

See all 305 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.