User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 707 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 707

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2014
    6
    The continuation of X-Men is even less great than The Last Stand.

    Well lets take the good aspects of the film first shall we. The opening scene is awesome, and the CGI is incredible. It also got some highly entertaining action-sequences and cool things. The Wolverine got many defects, and one of them is that it’s a bit brutal for my taste, and it’s very slow and boring at some places.
    The ending is another thing that totally sucked to watch, so boring (but the end-credit scene is great!). Some of the actors are just the worst, so they could have done that better.

    The Wolverine is the less greatest film of all X-Men movies.

    The Wolverine get a 6.5/10.
    Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2014
    4
    Give me a break the guys a great actor but the Wolverine I read about in the comics will tear him apart. The guy is to tall, to weak, and not vicious enough when he fights. Wolverine is a beast a on the thin line of humanity and animal carnage. If he lost a foot in height then grew more body hair then you would be doing something. Not to mention his trade mark yellow and hair. When is Sabertooth coming back can't let wolverine keep going without his arch enemy popping up from time to time. To rip and beat him up a little. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    6
    The Wolverine had the task of rejuvenating the Wolverine franchise after the failed attempt of X-Men Origins. Did it succeed? Did it fail? I think it did pretty alright. This was mostly a character driven film with very little plot. It starts off strong with a very emotional and intense scene, but from there the film starts to lose path. The viper chick was a useless character that felt forced into the script in order to have more than two mutants. The Wolverine lacked a villain with strong presence, a plot, and an impactful score especially for a superhero movie. Hugh Jackman is at his best, and at this point it feels as if nobody else can play the legendary comic book character but him. The fight scenes had very good choreography, but the shaky camera made it hard to focus in what was going on. I especially like the train fight scene, even if it did make the eyebrows of every physicist rise. I appreciate this movie because they are at least on the right path to making wolverine movies, which origins failed to accomplish, but I cannot excuse The Wolverine of its empty plot driven solely on the development of one character surrounded by many seemingly empty characters. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2014
    7
    Lots of fun edge of your seat action and a not bad story but the final act wasent great but it was ok.

    overall the Wolverine gets 7.3/10 a 7.9/10 for action 6.9/10 for story a 7.1/10 for acting and a 7/10 for characters/character development
  5. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    "The Wolverine" doesn't diverge from its' comic book source, to its' benefit, but I found the ending to be too comical for my taste. The first half of the movie starts off strongly, and delivers us a tortured Logan, whose actions in X-Men 3: The Last Stand haunt him still. It's a powerful beginning, but like I said, it turns into an all out comic brawl. The ending scenes are whimsical comic fun, but it hurts the serious tone that James Mangold intended to create. It's okay, and better than the last solo Wolverine film, but it doesn't compare well to the actual X-Men movies, except perhaps The Last Stand. Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    İlk filmi aratsa da açıkçasını söylemek gerekirse beklediğimden iyi çıktı fakat özellikle ortalarda tempo çok düşüyor hatta 80'li yıllar aksiyon filmlerinin tipik sahneleri insanı filmden soğutuyor
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    Its final act is nothing special. But thanks to Hugh Jackman's performance and striking action sequences, "The Wolverine" keeps fans and general audience entertained.
  8. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    סרט שהוא המשך לאקס-מן 3 המפלט האחרון, שמתאר מה קורה עם וולברין אחרי שהוא עוזב את האקס-מן, סרט טוב, רק חבל שהיה כמה דמויות שנהרסו אבל זה לא משנה כי היה שם כל כך הרבה רגעים שרצינו לראות בסרט של וולברין. והסרט הזה אכן היה באדאס
  9. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Although rough around the edges, this movie is actually very fun...

    I like the setting, the characters, the fight scenes and the music, but everything is clumsily executed, some of the characters motivations just feel warped and not explained enough, I admit I don't know much of the wolverine character but has an audience watching this movie I expect to know him better, specially when
    he is the title character... I didn't felt that much here.

    I like the X-Men movies in general and this movie is good; I just don't feel has invested in this movie has I do with the more well though out films of this series...
    Expand
  10. May 25, 2014
    9
    Really enjoyed this movie! I've always been a huge fan of Wolverine and this movie just further solidified that! I really loved how the story involved Logan getting his power of regeneration taken away from him, in addition to having a romance thrown into the mix. It really made him seem more like an actual human character instead of just some unstoppable beast! All in all it's a great superhero flick that any fan of the X-Men is going to want to check out! Expand
  11. May 25, 2014
    7
    jackman promised it would be better than x men origins and he delivered a suitable story to following wolverine after the events of last stand and the first time wolverine is more at risk and closer to death than he has been before it is a must see for wolverine fans
  12. May 25, 2014
    7
    You know Since i wasn't really expecting much out of this movie after watching the trailers. Though after watching it twice now i can honestly say that i enjoyed it more then the over hyped "Iron Man 3". The movie washes out the horrible taste that X-Men Origins: Wolverine left in your mouth. Oh yeah and the claws don't look like crap either so that's a plus.

    Again Hugh Jackman plays
    Logan aka The Wolverine and just like Robert Downey Jr. with Iron Man the guy is Wolverine simple as that. He has hit rock bottom lowest of lows and he is just looking for a way out. When goes to japan where he meets Shingen (Hiroyuki Sanada) and Marik (Tao Okamoto)the grandkids of the man that he saved back in WWII. There Yashida (Hal Yamanouchi) offers to transfer Logan's healing abilities into his own body so that he can heal himself of his sickness and to get ride of Logan's pain.

    The film has some great action i was worried about how it was going to looked but i was not disappointed. People really get messed up more so then the previous X-Men movies which was great. Definitely the best fighting action of this year so far the Silver Samurai fight was awesome and definitely better then what i thought it was going it be. Though the film does seem to change tone there in the third act of it not really sure what James Mangold was thinking but it clearly does feel different and not for the better.

    Overall i give it a 7.3 Best Wolverine yet can't wait to see the Directors Cut which is going to be bloodier and also contains 10-12 minutes of extra footage as it does seem this movie needs it. It also has an amazing after credit scene that will just blow your socks off.
    Expand
  13. May 18, 2014
    6
    The Wolverine is a decent film with some fun action and good direction and nice score. The lack of any real substance prevents this film from being anything spectacular but what puts it above duds such as the last Wolverine movie is the film actually making Wolverine vulnerable and good effects. The only issue I have is the end credits scene, which while awesome undermine this movie. I can’t help but feel like this whole movie was just a giant filler until the next X-Men movie, which looks awesome, and that nothing in this movie amounts to much. Its just a lot of action with a bunch of characters that aren’t that interesting. There is some bit of character study with Wolverine and his vulernability but it isn’t fleshed out that much. If you want a fun movie to kill some time check it out but if you want you can skip it as there is nothing in this film that makes it mandatory viewing. Again that end credits scene just makes me feel like this movie is tiding me over for a much better movie. Expand
  14. May 2, 2014
    3
    This is how you ruin an amazing character who was part of an amazing franchise. The Wolverine is overly boring, with a ridiculous screenplay, laughable action sequences and awful nonsense villains.
  15. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    So it has one part, ONE PART that lasts about 15 minutes involving a giant robot mech samurai thingamabob (that I thought was, well, okay) that pissed people off about this movie? The rest of the film was great! Much better than Origins. Well-paced, character/story driven, with a balancing of awesome action scenes (the train scene in particular). Plus, that setup for Days of Future past during the credits, just ended it on an awesome note. If you haven't seen it yet, and you're worried about the negative remarks from people and the average reviews, don't worry. Just go watch it and see for yourself. I enjoyed it. Plus, it's one of Marvel's better movies, especially after the boring Spiderman reboot and that joke of a "film" Iron Man 3. Expand
  16. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Arguably the best Wolverine movie yet, and let's be honest all the X-Men movies but "First Class" were about him, so that's a pretty big compliment. The action is great and Hugh Jackman is still perfect as Wolverine. The plot here is also very good even if it does include an almost pointless romance as well as a predictable final plot twist. Overall though it's hard to complain about a superhero movie when the action and special effects are this good. I also really enjoyed the new characters.

    It's safe to say that if you are an X-Men or Wolverine fan then you should enjoy this movie. Even as someone who hasn't always enjoyed the X-Men movies I really enjoyed this one. So I find this to be one that is easily recommendable. Do yourself a favor on this one and be sure to watch through the credits.
    Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    The Wolverine was a very good movie but didn't quite live up to the hype or the potential. The pace and style was unlike any other X-Men movie made to this point and I thought that was actually a good thing. It spent more time on the development of the characters and the emotions. The only negative for me was the last 15-20 minutes or so. It felt rushed, nonsensical, and just mediocre in general. They failed to make any motives make sense and the twist was too cliche. It was a good movie but it deserved a much better ending. Expand
  18. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    the wolverine is Big changes all of its previous sequels. instead of adding same story and taste in every sequel, its a good thing to change some characters , and had allot work on actions and music.
  19. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    This is a decent movie. It had potential to truly be great in exploring Logan's struggle with immortality, but falls utterly short in that regard. Instead it becomes a fun yet unfulfilling action sequence. The action is well done and somewhat redeems the movie's other shortcomings, but not enough to make it great.
  20. Jan 9, 2014
    6
    It's definitely better than X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The action is great. The characterization is also appreciated, showing Logan's struggle with the death of Jean Grey. Hugh Jackman's performance is also a plus.

    The plot, on the other hand, is a bit boring. Especially when stretched across two hours. The dialogue is a hit-and-miss.

    An entertaining summer action movie. Just don't
    expect anything else from it. Collapse
  21. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    This was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, but this movie ruined the franchise. The actors were really bad and such a silly ending, this movie needed better fight scenes, actors, and plot...fire the director! Expand
  22. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    I'm a big Xmen fan, but I had it with Wolverine this and Wolverine that. although wolverine is one of my characters in the xmen franchise, I am sick of his story line, why not open up other origins of different xmen like first class did. despite this I still think it was good, but has to be the last movie about wolverine
  23. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. A much more entertaining movie than Wolverine. The special effects were spectacular although the ending was a wee bit over the top.
  24. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    I liked it, im sure it is very difficult to completely screw up a movie based on such an amazing character. We're are given wolverine in Japan. Sounds cool but for me it was pretty dull and not very interesting. I mean sure we have the wolverine kicking ass as usual but not as much as in wolverine origins and I thought the Asian dude in the robot suit looked way too cgi and everything else just didn't get me involved. Once again its a good movie but come on its the wolverine this should be amazing. Expand
  25. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    X Men Origins Wolverine was funnier than this, but The Wolverine is still one of the most amusing movies of 2013.

    No I'm not writing a review of a different movie in the wrong place The Wolverine suffers from being unintentionally funny, much like X Men Origins Wolverine.

    The acting is half decent and respectable Hugh Jackman surprisingly giving the weakest performance, and the
    special effects top rate (but what do you expect it's an X Men movie). Those are the only fully positive things I have to say about The Wolverine, with the exception of it not being boring.

    While they have good CGI and aren't filmed badly the action scenes are way too overblown and unrealistic to be taken seriously, which is a major problem because there are lots of them. Samurai ninja's appear at one point to kill The Wolverine. Why? Earlier in the movie they just got people with guns to kill Logan, why the sudden change? Oh that's right, because it's set in Japan! I'm not saying it's racist, I'm saying it's a totally reason to put samurai ninja's in the movie. Because nowadays superhero movies are aimed at 4 year olds there isn't a lot of plot, but the very small amount of it is also ridiculous and too unrealistic to take seriously, there is a giant robot samurai suit controlled by a dying old man. End of argument. As for the twist near the end, I didn't see it coming but it's still terrible.

    Maybe I'm being too harsh on The Wolverine? Movies like The Rock, White House Down and Undercover Brother have had ridiculous plots and cliched scenes but I have still enjoyed them. That's because they are intentionally flawed and meant to be cheesy, The Wolverine tried and failed to be serious. Hugely disappointing.
    Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    It's badass, mutant, samurai movies like these that make me look back at Origins and laugh out loud at how got damn awful that film is.
    The Wolverine has gotten me pumped to see how good/or bad Days Of Future past will be, i CANT GODDMAN WAIT
  27. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Wow. This film gets so much right, but its biggest achievement is something that no super hero film has done before, whether it be Marvel or DC, is that it manages to stay true to the comics, while also entertaining causal film fans. Hell this film could entertain anybody, whether there action fans, drama fans any fan! It's a definitley risky for Marvel to try something like this, and they have pulled it of amazingly, but the real glue that holds this together is Jackman's preformance. Now we all know its always been good, but this time he takes it to a whole new level. He's dark, thematic, serious and engaging, with such good character development. It's a shame that some of the other character aren't as well developed. Despite this they are incredibly well acted. On par with the acting is the directing, which never feels out of place. Another spectacular feat it manages to accomplish is that it balances the substance and the action, nether letting one out way the other. But the one thing that ultimately kills this film for me is its extremely awful ending. Any fan will agree! It's anti-climactic, lazy, go's away from the comics and has some of the worst CGI I have ever seen! If only that ending wasn't here, I reckon think this film could of easily got a nine, maybe even a ten, but I can't forgive that ending. Expand
  28. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    I really enjoyed all of the X-Men based movies, great fun, great stories and great action everything required for a few hours of popcorn escapism.
    Well The Wolverine takes all that, scrunchies it into a ball and chucks it in the bin.
    Nonsense from start to finish, more lazy incoherent writing from the mass-producing Hollywood clowns.
    It's all about the bucks and nothing to do with the
    audience, I mean do the producers and writers actually watch the tripe before they dish it out to the public?? On this evidence, I think not. Expand
  29. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    Even though i really enjoyed this movie. Wolverine is one of those comics with 100s if not thousands of great story lines. Picking a good one out and turning into a screenplay should not be that difficult.
  30. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    A very big surprise! The movie had a very good story. Setting was awesome! a lot of clever fight scenes.
    special effects were great as well. only problem is the movie falls apart in the last 10 mins. other then that! I highly recommend it!
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 28, 2013
    63
    An intermittently exciting action film anchored by a strong performance by Jackman, who embodies Wolverine like no one else could.
  2. 50
    Slapped with the generic title The Wolverine, the fifth feature-length appearance of Hugh Jackman’s X-Man John Logan is basically "The Bad News Wolverine Goes to Japan" and is not especially world-shaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 28, 2013
    75
    The post-conversion 3D is more distracting than anything else, but the rest of this surprisingly fun entertainment is as sharp as the hero’s claws.