Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 26, 2013
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 872 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
544
Mixed:
229
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
russiangamerMar 7, 2017
Нелохой сюжет, ураганный экшен с кровью (хоть её и не много) и крутой росомаха, что ещё нужно от этого сольника? Лично я остался доволен, вполне неплохое кино, особенно после ужасно скучного росомахи 2009 года.Нелохой сюжет, ураганный экшен с кровью (хоть её и не много) и крутой росомаха, что ещё нужно от этого сольника? Лично я остался доволен, вполне неплохое кино, особенно после ужасно скучного росомахи 2009 года.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Kimseye yardım etmemeyi ve güvenilmemesini gösteren film, Japonya'da geçmesi ve çok kötü senaryosuyla birlikte sınıfı geçemiyor ve izleyiciye kötü dakikalar yaşatıyor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffFeb 24, 2017
Despite a clunky third act, 'The Wolverine' is a fantastic comic-book movie, and contains one of the best performances from Hugh Jackman, playing the title character, that we've seen for years. The movie begins in 1945 at a POW camp inDespite a clunky third act, 'The Wolverine' is a fantastic comic-book movie, and contains one of the best performances from Hugh Jackman, playing the title character, that we've seen for years. The movie begins in 1945 at a POW camp in Nagasaki, Japan, as an atomic bomb goes off, Logan (Jackman) rescues officer Ichiro Yashida (Ken Yamamura). We cut to years later, at the present time, where we see our hero having dreams and often hallucinates about Jean (Famke Janssen), feeling the everlong guilt when he killed her in the events of 'X-Men: The Last Stand' (2006) when she became the Phoenix. He wakes up again, and it seems that he living rough, sleeping in the woods with very little left of his life. He is then approached by Yukio (Rila Fukushima), who tells him that Master Yashida (Haruhiko Yamanouchi), the man he saved all those years ago, owes him an overdue thanks. Logan seems reluctant at first to go to Japan just to say goodbye to an old man he once knew, but goes along anyway since he doesn't have any other choice. When he arrives in Tokyo, he meets Yashida's granddaughter, Mariko (Tao Okamoto), and is told that he must protect her, as her father, Shingen Yashida (Hiroyuki Sanada) is planning against her. The movie then becomes a mission where Wolverine is essentially Mariko's bodyguard throughout the whole process. Logan keeps getting these visions of Jean and it makes it difficult for him, emotionally, and when he finally meets the older Yashida, he promises Logan that he can make him mortal, and live long and die a normal death. Logan begins to feel strange over the next few days as his healing abilities seem unable to work, not only is he emotionally unstable, mourning the death of Jean, but he is physically unable to fight, as it seems that Yashida's plan to make Logan mortal is working. 'The Wolverine', directed by James Mangold (who also directed 'Walk the Line'), is a darker, grittier, and more realistic entry into the "X-Men" franchise. It's more grounded and less of a spectacle. The action scenes are crafted brilliantly, the acting is superb and committed, and just the overall movie, is brilliant to watch, especially in the comic-book genre. The third act is the movie's weak spot as it does bog down towards CGI nonsense, but overall, this is a brilliant, polished movie, and is certainly a huge improvement over 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine' (2009). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NoDReamsAug 8, 2013
The Wolverine is a great film the people who think that Origins was better have no idea what the whole x-men universe is This films delivers what wolverine fans always wanted to see the japan saga Sure ..it can't stay true 100% to theThe Wolverine is a great film the people who think that Origins was better have no idea what the whole x-men universe is This films delivers what wolverine fans always wanted to see the japan saga Sure ..it can't stay true 100% to the comic but you have to adapt the story change it so that it can make sense. People don't get that comics are different from movies For me The Wolverine had great story great characters, great action ...it's different from the other x-men movies and that is why i enjoyed it so much it's fresh we get to see the character of Wolverine vulnerable and at it's lowest point Hugh Jackman did a wonderful job thank you people can say bad things about the movie ..but the true fans will appreciate it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersJan 4, 2017
After "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" left a sour taste in the mouths of many fans of the "X-Men" and of superhero films in general, Hugh Jackman and new director James Mangold decided to give it another go with "The Wolverine." How did it turnAfter "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" left a sour taste in the mouths of many fans of the "X-Men" and of superhero films in general, Hugh Jackman and new director James Mangold decided to give it another go with "The Wolverine." How did it turn out? Pretty good overall. It's still nothing historic, but it gets the job done thanks to some impressive action scenes, good acting and some decent writing. The writing could've been better and the characters weren't too memorable (though, as I said, the acting was good), but all in all, "The Wolverine" is a solid comic-book film that's definitely worth a watch if you enjoy the X-Men films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 25, 2016
I feel like if you are a fan of the Claremont/Miller miniseries you can't not like this. It does its best of keeping characters intact while deviating from the comics in the sake of a self contained story and grander character development. AsI feel like if you are a fan of the Claremont/Miller miniseries you can't not like this. It does its best of keeping characters intact while deviating from the comics in the sake of a self contained story and grander character development. As a Wolverine fan it was nice to see a meaningful relationship blossom between Wolverine and Mariko, unlike the comics where it really is love at… Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
In an unusual and away from the common team plots scenario, Wolverine returns in a much more solid than the previous film and brings some good surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ElectroNickMay 29, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Wolverine" is the second attempt to give the titular her his own film. It is better than "Origins" in a technical level but unlike its infamous predecessor, it is unmemorable with a few moments not withstanding. One thing that did stand out was the Computer Effects of a Grizzly bear in the first few minutes which is some of the most laughable CG I had seen in a long time. Throughout the rest of the film, the CGI is passable but the bear is so unconvincing that it feels that I am watching " The Langoliers". The pot had some potential of Wolverine suffering from guilt from having to kill Jean in the events of the third movie and wanted to get rid of his immortality. The grief had potental to explore Wolverine's chracter of an immortal trapped in a life full of violence but the flashbacks act as anusance at best and the thirst for mortality is diminished when he gets poisoned. The Silver Samurai is a downgrade from his comic counterpart as he is portray in the original source material as a warrior looking for a challenge but has his own code of honor like a real samurai. The film version though is really a manipulator who fights dirty and rely on technology to get his power like an Iron-Man villain. The love interest could have been interesting but being Wolverine's Sidekick appears to be her only role. The action doesn't really stand out with the exception of the fight on top of the bullet train. This was the one time when Wolverine felt vulnerable because he struggles to keep his balance n a train that is faster then the speed of sound and Wolverine desperately tries not to fall to his death. With the exception of that one scene, the film really has no bearing on the overall series. Any consequence is rendered meaningless as they are ignored after the events of "Days of Future Past". If one truly has the desire to see this film it is a harmless waste of time; you wouldn't gain anything from watching it but you wouldn't loose anything either. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
For the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needless and pointless. The dialogue was just garbage and hurt by corny jokes that we have heard hundreds ofFor the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needless and pointless. The dialogue was just garbage and hurt by corny jokes that we have heard hundreds of times before. The action scenes are a massive miss as well. I think what saves and makes it worth watching is the mid-credits scene featuring the return of some very famous characters. Overall, It's better than Origins but no that big of a step up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Finally - a superhero movie that doesn't feel like every other superhero movie. The Wolverine proves that it's possible to have a movie based on a comic book franchise that doesn't involve mass destruction, the fate of the planet, and aFinally - a superhero movie that doesn't feel like every other superhero movie. The Wolverine proves that it's possible to have a movie based on a comic book franchise that doesn't involve mass destruction, the fate of the planet, and a seemingly indestructible bad guy. The Wolverine is a surprisingly personal, intimate tale (at least insofar as an X-Men spinoff can be considered "intimate") - more of a crime story with superhero flavoring than an all-out CGI effects action orgy. That's not to intimate there's no action - there's enough to keep Wolverine fans involved, including a tremendous train-top chase/fight - but The Wolverine is character-based. That's something none of the other 2013 superhero movies can boast.

As a brand, "Wolverine" has taken something of a hit. It started with a fan backlash against the third film in the original X-Men trilogy and continued into the lackluster origin story, X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Toning things down is probably the right direction to take the character, at least for a single story. It allows us to re-connect with Logan (Hugh Jackman) in the post-X-Men: Last Stand universe. When the movie begins, he's alone and isolated. The Wolverine is about his coming to grips with his immortality and his quest to put his past behind him and arrive at a place where he can return to his role as a "soldier." It also involves Logan's tentative steps toward loving someone other than Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), whose image dominates his dreams and nightmares.

The majority of The Wolverine transpires in Japan, which lends the movie an exotic flair. He's there to bid farewell to an old compatriot, billionaire industrialist Yashida (Hal Yamanouchi), who lies on his dying bed. When the old man dies, Logan becomes the unwitting protector of his granddaughter, Mariko (Tao Okamoto), who has been targeted for kidnapping by the Yakuza. Mariko's closest childhood friend, Yukio (Rila Fukushima), becomes Logan's sidekick, and he is aided in his quest by another of Mariko's protectors, Kenuichio Harada (Will Yun Lee). There's also a mutant involved: the mysterious Viper (Svetlana Khodchenkova), whose ultimate goals are unclear but whose methods, such as robbing Wolverine of his self-healing powers, are deadly.

The Wolverine's director, James Mangold, is better known for drama than action, and much of the material in this movie plays to his strengths. The exception is the climax, which comes across as disappointingly generic in the wake of a mostly fresh first 90 minutes. Mangold does a better job with thriller elements and character interaction than he does with the introduction of a robot that looks like it got lost on the way to Iron Man 3.

This is, of course, Hugh Jackman's movie, and no one comes close to upstaging him. Jackman, one of the more charismatic actors currently working in superhero movies, is fully invested in this project. His eye-popping physique is on full display in a topless scene; he looks more like Schwarzenegger in his prime than the guy who played Jean Valjean. Jackman evidences some nice chemistry with his two female co-stars: Rile Fukushima, who executes a lot of martial arts stunts as Robin to Wolverine's Batman, and model-turned-actress Tao Okamoto, who plays the love interest. Svetlana Khodchenkova's Viper and Will Yun Lee's Harada are underused - The Wolverine could have done more with them and less with the big silver samurai robot.

The change-of-pace evident in The Wolverine saves it from the "just another superhero" movie label and offers an antidote to the fatigue that may have set in for the populace in general. Sometimes smaller is the way to go and Jackman's abilities are perfectly suited for a movie that requires some acting to accompany the stunts and special effects. And, for those who like post-credits Easter eggs, The Wolverine offers a big, memorable one. Whatever you do, don't leave until you've seen it (you'll know it when it happens about 1/3 of the way through the end credits). It's the cherry on the top of an otherwise tasty summer treat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AgentVenom117Feb 22, 2016
The best Wolverine movie we could of gotten before Deadpool showed us R rated movies are what people want out of these type of characters,Hugh Jackman yet again comes back to reprise his role as Wolverine and yet again he does a great job.The best Wolverine movie we could of gotten before Deadpool showed us R rated movies are what people want out of these type of characters,Hugh Jackman yet again comes back to reprise his role as Wolverine and yet again he does a great job. The one thing holding this film back from being great is it's PG-13 rating we get good action but it gets ruined by the lack of blood that should be flying everywhere as Wolverine slashes through everyone. The humor and swearing is surprisingly uninfected by the PG-13 rating and is pretty damn funny. The pacing and the way this movie looks is stunning,my favorite part of this movie is when Wolverine is crouched outside a motel in Japan (this whole movie mostly takes place in Japan) pouring with rain. The lighting and cinematography in this scene is damn near perfect and it gave me chills,you should definitely check it out if you're are Wolverine or X-men fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 9, 2016
As cheesy and predictable this Wolverine movie can get, it may approve a bit for me and that's the best part. If I wanted to go see another Wolverine film, at least make it better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmMasterEdJan 6, 2016
It could have been worse. Exhibit A: the crapfest that was 2009's X-Men Origins: Wolverine. But Hugh Jackman, in his sixth time up as Wolverine, still has the juice. This pissed-off man of Adamantium claws is stalking new ground (Japan), andIt could have been worse. Exhibit A: the crapfest that was 2009's X-Men Origins: Wolverine. But Hugh Jackman, in his sixth time up as Wolverine, still has the juice. This pissed-off man of Adamantium claws is stalking new ground (Japan), and his fight with yakuza on top of Tokyo's speeding bullet train is a wowser. It helps that Wolfie loses his powers and shows a human side, that he makes like James Bond in You Only Live Twice, and that he makes out with the lovely Mariko (Tao Okamoto). Sticking to Chris Claremont and Frank Miller's Marvel Comics blueprint, director James Mangold (Walk the Line) shows style and snap. Then, in the final third, he lets the movie sink in CGI **** Wolfie deserves better. So do we. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Dec 25, 2015
It's Jackman's grace and talent that really sets The Wolverine apart.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-235619-The-Wolverine-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GregePorterAug 31, 2015
Bottom-line: One phrase: giant samurai ninja robot.

I was sitting on a flight from San Francisco to Pittsburgh and one of the in-flight shows was Inside the Actors Studio with an interview with Hugh Jackman. He explained how he was excited
Bottom-line: One phrase: giant samurai ninja robot.

I was sitting on a flight from San Francisco to Pittsburgh and one of the in-flight shows was Inside the Actors Studio with an interview with Hugh Jackman. He explained how he was excited about the opportunity to portray Logan, or Wolverine, in the then upcoming movie The Wolverine. It kinda made me want to see the movie even though I thought it would be bad. I was correct but what do-ya-expect from a comic book movie, right?

As a quick side note, I think it might be interesting to make a compilation of prequels that add or remove “The” to the franchise. The Wolverine and Fast and Furious are two that come to mind. The Smurfs is a reboot of Smurfs. Evil Dead is a remake of The Evil Dead.

Another side note, if you aren’t familiar with X-Men or Wolverine, he is a mutant who has the ability to quickly heal. At some point, some evil scientists replaced his skeleton with an indestructible metal so Logan (aka Wolverine) is essentially immortal. How exactly is a fight supposed to be suspenseful? In the one movie, for example, he survives a handgun shot to the forehead. Nevertheless, as my fiancée points out, we see in the trailer that “he isn’t healing like before”. They do take his immortality away from him for part of the film. This is more reasonable than a character like Superman; the only way to hurt him physically is to get a piece of his planet from across the galaxy. It may just come down to my fear that if I was in the X-Men world, I would either be a non-mutant or have a lame power. Similarly, I would totally be a Muggle if I lived in a Harry Potter world. Anyway, back to the movie.

It seems like any Wolverine introduction has Logan wandering in the woods, being all mopey and mysterious until invariably he gets into a bar fight and flees after nearly killing everyone. The Wolverine is no different except that, this time a martial arts expert, red haired Japanese punk named Yukio (Fukushima) rescues him. She explains that a man named Yashida (Yamanouchi) is dying and wants to say goodbye. Through a series of redundant flashbacks, we learn how Logan and the man met. Long story short, Logan saved him from the atomic blast in Nagasaki. Yashida went on to found a massive electronics company of the same name. Now, Yashida wants Logan’s healing abilities and P.S. the Yakuza is trying to kill Yashida’s granddaughter, Mariko (Okamoto). Logan fights waves of Yakuza (and then ninjas) who are trying to kidnap Mariko, who is arranged to be married but falls in love with Logan (surprise surprise) even though she was in love with the leader of the ninja clan (the same ninja clan trying to kidnap her). Whew, let me catch my breath. The Wolverine made me realize something about film. A great movie shows you, a bad movie tells you and a really bad movie tells you again; The Wolverine has so much dialog about things I do not care about.

The action in this movie is expectable for a PG-13 movie. Did you know that a PG-13 movie can say the f-word once? Movies like The Wolverine will position that one usage for maximum ‘awesomeness’ too and it is something of a game of mine to anticipate when it will come up. I won’t spoil the fun for you (if you wind up seeing this movie). It bothers me that PG-13 movies can say the f dash dash dash word once and still be considered PG-13. Do we want to reserve certain words to only be used in certain tough guy situations? If that line where Wolverine says “F you” is made out to be special and cool, it just gives profanity a cult appeal (in the minds of the young male target audience).

Ok, ok, ok. I know what you might be saying, what do you expect from a movie like this? It is a comic book action movie. How many X-men movies featuring Wolverine have there been anyway? The action in this movie is good and comic-booky featuring a fight seen on top of a bullet train.

The cinematography wasn’t my favorite; the camera was ‘in the action’ so it was really shaky. Shaky camera has its time and place but with a superhero movie, it feels like they are just trying to hide poor fights scenes instead of make a realistic, gritty vibe. Batman Begins made me feel this way too.

Overall, The Wolverine isn’t any earth shattering experience but a regular comic book movie: action and sexism. I didn’t really expect much and didn’t really get much. While I wasn’t disappointed per se, I wouldn’t recommend The Wolverine unless you are a solid fan in which case you’ve probably watched it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Aug 25, 2015
"The Wolverine", while tying up the downtrending "X-men" movie universe in a grand fashion, really is just the typical comic book action blockbuster; we've all seen this before.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
SpiderPlayerMay 22, 2015
Much better than the other movie Wolverine, interesting history, with its strengths and weaknesses, has good special effects, but still is not perfect, the action scenes are not that impressive, but the film is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BB_CriticMay 12, 2015
The Wolverine is an above average movie with some awesome action scenes and good CGI. The Wolverine character, especially, is more likeable than ever and has an interesting villian choice. Not the norm in most movies, but his motives wereThe Wolverine is an above average movie with some awesome action scenes and good CGI. The Wolverine character, especially, is more likeable than ever and has an interesting villian choice. Not the norm in most movies, but his motives were cliched and generic. Another bad part about this movie is the pacing. God it's awful. At one point it can drag on and on but at another point it can speed up really quickly! But the pros overall outweigh the cons. All and all, Wolverine is a solid action flick. 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lasttimeisawApr 9, 2015
Generally speaking, X-MEN series is my favourite among the superhero universe, yet the distant memory of Gavin Hood’s X-MEN ORIGINS:WOLVERINE (2009, 7/10) has faded into blurry fragments, this time, Hugh Jackson’s Logan (who is in top form inGenerally speaking, X-MEN series is my favourite among the superhero universe, yet the distant memory of Gavin Hood’s X-MEN ORIGINS:WOLVERINE (2009, 7/10) has faded into blurry fragments, this time, Hugh Jackson’s Logan (who is in top form in his Wolverine physique) embarks on an exotic journey in Japan, all by himself (with Jean haunting him all along to allure him into discard his immortality), to say a farewell to an old friend Yashida (Yahmamouchi) in his dying bed, whom in the opening sequences, Logan saves during the Nagasaki bombing, only to discover there is a sinister scheme awaits.

keep reading my review on my blog, please google: cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
masseyJan 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Wolverine" is the first time we get to see Wolverine in action, with plenty of blood, killing, swearing (well, the "F bomb" was dropped 3 times, not that often) and all that other good stuff. As always, Hugh Jackman is superb in the role but there are a few aspects of the film that bring the whole experience down.

Performances by the rest of the cast can be notably bad and lifeless at times and it doesn't help that characters are written to be quite stupid and one-dimensional. I have a feeling that some actors were only cast because they were experienced in fighting and choreography for the plentiful action scenes scattered in the film. The romance between Logan and Mariko was unnecessary and felt too forced. The plot becomes a little difficult to follow as we get further into the film and is illogically explained towards the end.

There are plenty of moments that make you scratch your head and make you question what the filmmakers were actually thinking; Wolverine disobeying the laws of physics (on the train), successfully striking the adamantium robot with one clean sweep and then deciding to make it fall over instead of finishing it off, Wolverine not doing anything at all about the multiple arrows being shot into his back and not even looking as if he's running fast enough to escape them and to get to Mariko, the Viper not using her powers immediately when confronted by Yukio, the list goes on.

"The Wolverine" opened with a very good 45 minutes but the remainder of the film gets silly along with both the plot and the characters. Hugh Jackman and his badass Wolverine moments may make this worth the watch but pretty much everything else doesn't.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
supermann234Dec 7, 2014
This is a good superhero movie with a good plot. It also features plenty of action. It starts off as being a little bit boring at first, but eventually gets more and more interesting. It has a strong climax and an unusual twist at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
This movie wasn't bad but its one of the worst Marvel Films I've watched. I haven't touched the comics so I don't really care if it follows that storyline. I didn't care for the villain. Marvel films have to have an impressive villain inThis movie wasn't bad but its one of the worst Marvel Films I've watched. I haven't touched the comics so I don't really care if it follows that storyline. I didn't care for the villain. Marvel films have to have an impressive villain in order to take the movie to the next level. Hugh Jackman was perfect as usual and that is what saved this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Wolverine" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

The Good: Jackman IS Wolverine now so a great performance from him is pretty much a given. Solid action sequences and great choreography during the fight scenes. Unlike the last Wolverine
"The Wolverine" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

The Good: Jackman IS Wolverine now so a great performance from him is pretty much a given. Solid action sequences and great choreography during the fight scenes. Unlike the last Wolverine film (which tosses continuity completely out the window), this one remained tied to the X-Universe and offers up a nice glimpse of the future. With one exception, ... See More
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerNov 9, 2014
Wolverine: L'immortale è uno dei migliori film di supereroi di sempre.Un film fortemente drammatic e fortemente cupo con una storia molto coinvolgente e con un'atmosfera fantastica.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
The Wolverine stands tall for two-thirds of the movie with pa patient build-up, Hugh Jackman's terrific performance and its great use of Japanese culture, only to fall in its final act.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeOct 19, 2014
The continuation of X-Men is even less great than The Last Stand.

Well lets take the good aspects of the film first shall we. The opening scene is awesome, and the CGI is incredible. It also got some highly entertaining action-sequences
The continuation of X-Men is even less great than The Last Stand.

Well lets take the good aspects of the film first shall we. The opening scene is awesome, and the CGI is incredible. It also got some highly entertaining action-sequences and cool things. The Wolverine got many defects, and one of them is that it’s a bit brutal for my taste, and it’s very slow and boring at some places. The ending is another thing that totally sucked to watch, so boring (but the end-credit scene is great!). Some of the actors are just the worst, so they could have done that better.

The Wolverine is the less greatest film of all X-Men movies.

The Wolverine get a 6.5/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sabertooth70Oct 9, 2014
Give me a break the guys a great actor but the Wolverine I read about in the comics will tear him apart. The guy is to tall, to weak, and not vicious enough when he fights. Wolverine is a beast a on the thin line of humanity and animalGive me a break the guys a great actor but the Wolverine I read about in the comics will tear him apart. The guy is to tall, to weak, and not vicious enough when he fights. Wolverine is a beast a on the thin line of humanity and animal carnage. If he lost a foot in height then grew more body hair then you would be doing something. Not to mention his trade mark yellow and hair. When is Sabertooth coming back can't let wolverine keep going without his arch enemy popping up from time to time. To rip and beat him up a little. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lordmoo_23Sep 30, 2014
The Wolverine had the task of rejuvenating the Wolverine franchise after the failed attempt of X-Men Origins. Did it succeed? Did it fail? I think it did pretty alright. This was mostly a character driven film with very little plot. It startsThe Wolverine had the task of rejuvenating the Wolverine franchise after the failed attempt of X-Men Origins. Did it succeed? Did it fail? I think it did pretty alright. This was mostly a character driven film with very little plot. It starts off strong with a very emotional and intense scene, but from there the film starts to lose path. The viper chick was a useless character that felt forced into the script in order to have more than two mutants. The Wolverine lacked a villain with strong presence, a plot, and an impactful score especially for a superhero movie. Hugh Jackman is at his best, and at this point it feels as if nobody else can play the legendary comic book character but him. The fight scenes had very good choreography, but the shaky camera made it hard to focus in what was going on. I especially like the train fight scene, even if it did make the eyebrows of every physicist rise. I appreciate this movie because they are at least on the right path to making wolverine movies, which origins failed to accomplish, but I cannot excuse The Wolverine of its empty plot driven solely on the development of one character surrounded by many seemingly empty characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
cumoviesSep 17, 2014
Lots of fun edge of your seat action and a not bad story but the final act wasent great but it was ok.

overall the Wolverine gets 7.3/10 a 7.9/10 for action 6.9/10 for story a 7.1/10 for acting and a 7/10 for characters/character development
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
McCrumReviewsAug 15, 2014
"The Wolverine" doesn't diverge from its' comic book source, to its' benefit, but I found the ending to be too comical for my taste. The first half of the movie starts off strongly, and delivers us a tortured Logan, whose actions in X-Men 3:"The Wolverine" doesn't diverge from its' comic book source, to its' benefit, but I found the ending to be too comical for my taste. The first half of the movie starts off strongly, and delivers us a tortured Logan, whose actions in X-Men 3: The Last Stand haunt him still. It's a powerful beginning, but like I said, it turns into an all out comic brawl. The ending scenes are whimsical comic fun, but it hurts the serious tone that James Mangold intended to create. It's okay, and better than the last solo Wolverine film, but it doesn't compare well to the actual X-Men movies, except perhaps The Last Stand. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
İlk filmi aratsa da açıkçasını söylemek gerekirse beklediğimden iyi çıktı fakat özellikle ortalarda tempo çok düşüyor hatta 80'li yıllar aksiyon filmlerinin tipik sahneleri insanı filmden soğutuyor
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesJul 16, 2014
Its final act is nothing special. But thanks to Hugh Jackman's performance and striking action sequences, "The Wolverine" keeps fans and general audience entertained.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
HISHEhebJul 8, 2014
סרט שהוא המשך לאקס-מן 3 המפלט האחרון, שמתאר מה קורה עם וולברין אחרי שהוא עוזב את האקס-מן, סרט טוב, רק חבל שהיה כמה דמויות שנהרסו אבל זה לא משנה כי היה שם כל כך הרבה רגעים שרצינו לראות בסרט של וולברין. והסרט הזה אכן היה באדאססרט שהוא המשך לאקס-מן 3 המפלט האחרון, שמתאר מה קורה עם וולברין אחרי שהוא עוזב את האקס-מן, סרט טוב, רק חבל שהיה כמה דמויות שנהרסו אבל זה לא משנה כי היה שם כל כך הרבה רגעים שרצינו לראות בסרט של וולברין. והסרט הזה אכן היה באדאס
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
InlikeflynnJun 10, 2014
Although rough around the edges, this movie is actually very fun...

I like the setting, the characters, the fight scenes and the music, but everything is clumsily executed, some of the characters motivations just feel warped and not
Although rough around the edges, this movie is actually very fun...

I like the setting, the characters, the fight scenes and the music, but everything is clumsily executed, some of the characters motivations just feel warped and not explained enough, I admit I don't know much of the wolverine character but has an audience watching this movie I expect to know him better, specially when he is the title character... I didn't felt that much here.

I like the X-Men movies in general and this movie is good; I just don't feel has invested in this movie has I do with the more well though out films of this series...
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
chrisjones914May 25, 2014
Really enjoyed this movie! I've always been a huge fan of Wolverine and this movie just further solidified that! I really loved how the story involved Logan getting his power of regeneration taken away from him, in addition to having aReally enjoyed this movie! I've always been a huge fan of Wolverine and this movie just further solidified that! I really loved how the story involved Logan getting his power of regeneration taken away from him, in addition to having a romance thrown into the mix. It really made him seem more like an actual human character instead of just some unstoppable beast! All in all it's a great superhero flick that any fan of the X-Men is going to want to check out! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
travellynMay 25, 2014
jackman promised it would be better than x men origins and he delivered a suitable story to following wolverine after the events of last stand and the first time wolverine is more at risk and closer to death than he has been before it is ajackman promised it would be better than x men origins and he delivered a suitable story to following wolverine after the events of last stand and the first time wolverine is more at risk and closer to death than he has been before it is a must see for wolverine fans Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
You know Since i wasn't really expecting much out of this movie after watching the trailers. Though after watching it twice now i can honestly say that i enjoyed it more then the over hyped "Iron Man 3". The movie washes out the horribleYou know Since i wasn't really expecting much out of this movie after watching the trailers. Though after watching it twice now i can honestly say that i enjoyed it more then the over hyped "Iron Man 3". The movie washes out the horrible taste that X-Men Origins: Wolverine left in your mouth. Oh yeah and the claws don't look like crap either so that's a plus.

Again Hugh Jackman plays Logan aka The Wolverine and just like Robert Downey Jr. with Iron Man the guy is Wolverine simple as that. He has hit rock bottom lowest of lows and he is just looking for a way out. When goes to japan where he meets Shingen (Hiroyuki Sanada) and Marik (Tao Okamoto)the grandkids of the man that he saved back in WWII. There Yashida (Hal Yamanouchi) offers to transfer Logan's healing abilities into his own body so that he can heal himself of his sickness and to get ride of Logan's pain.

The film has some great action i was worried about how it was going to looked but i was not disappointed. People really get messed up more so then the previous X-Men movies which was great. Definitely the best fighting action of this year so far the Silver Samurai fight was awesome and definitely better then what i thought it was going it be. Though the film does seem to change tone there in the third act of it not really sure what James Mangold was thinking but it clearly does feel different and not for the better.

Overall i give it a 7.3 Best Wolverine yet can't wait to see the Directors Cut which is going to be bloodier and also contains 10-12 minutes of extra footage as it does seem this movie needs it. It also has an amazing after credit scene that will just blow your socks off.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JacobMay 18, 2014
The Wolverine is a decent film with some fun action and good direction and nice score. The lack of any real substance prevents this film from being anything spectacular but what puts it above duds such as the last Wolverine movie is the filmThe Wolverine is a decent film with some fun action and good direction and nice score. The lack of any real substance prevents this film from being anything spectacular but what puts it above duds such as the last Wolverine movie is the film actually making Wolverine vulnerable and good effects. The only issue I have is the end credits scene, which while awesome undermine this movie. I can’t help but feel like this whole movie was just a giant filler until the next X-Men movie, which looks awesome, and that nothing in this movie amounts to much. Its just a lot of action with a bunch of characters that aren’t that interesting. There is some bit of character study with Wolverine and his vulernability but it isn’t fleshed out that much. If you want a fun movie to kill some time check it out but if you want you can skip it as there is nothing in this film that makes it mandatory viewing. Again that end credits scene just makes me feel like this movie is tiding me over for a much better movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
RamonGuerreroMay 2, 2014
This is how you ruin an amazing character who was part of an amazing franchise. The Wolverine is overly boring, with a ridiculous screenplay, laughable action sequences and awful nonsense villains.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Patrick94Mar 18, 2014
So it has one part, ONE PART that lasts about 15 minutes involving a giant robot mech samurai thingamabob (that I thought was, well, okay) that pissed people off about this movie? The rest of the film was great! Much better than Origins.So it has one part, ONE PART that lasts about 15 minutes involving a giant robot mech samurai thingamabob (that I thought was, well, okay) that pissed people off about this movie? The rest of the film was great! Much better than Origins. Well-paced, character/story driven, with a balancing of awesome action scenes (the train scene in particular). Plus, that setup for Days of Future past during the credits, just ended it on an awesome note. If you haven't seen it yet, and you're worried about the negative remarks from people and the average reviews, don't worry. Just go watch it and see for yourself. I enjoyed it. Plus, it's one of Marvel's better movies, especially after the boring Spiderman reboot and that joke of a "film" Iron Man 3. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 27, 2014
Arguably the best Wolverine movie yet, and let's be honest all the X-Men movies but "First Class" were about him, so that's a pretty big compliment. The action is great and Hugh Jackman is still perfect as Wolverine. The plot here is alsoArguably the best Wolverine movie yet, and let's be honest all the X-Men movies but "First Class" were about him, so that's a pretty big compliment. The action is great and Hugh Jackman is still perfect as Wolverine. The plot here is also very good even if it does include an almost pointless romance as well as a predictable final plot twist. Overall though it's hard to complain about a superhero movie when the action and special effects are this good. I also really enjoyed the new characters.

It's safe to say that if you are an X-Men or Wolverine fan then you should enjoy this movie. Even as someone who hasn't always enjoyed the X-Men movies I really enjoyed this one. So I find this to be one that is easily recommendable. Do yourself a favor on this one and be sure to watch through the credits.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Feb 23, 2014
The Wolverine was a very good movie but didn't quite live up to the hype or the potential. The pace and style was unlike any other X-Men movie made to this point and I thought that was actually a good thing. It spent more time on theThe Wolverine was a very good movie but didn't quite live up to the hype or the potential. The pace and style was unlike any other X-Men movie made to this point and I thought that was actually a good thing. It spent more time on the development of the characters and the emotions. The only negative for me was the last 15-20 minutes or so. It felt rushed, nonsensical, and just mediocre in general. They failed to make any motives make sense and the twist was too cliche. It was a good movie but it deserved a much better ending. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
silverhawkFeb 14, 2014
the wolverine is Big changes all of its previous sequels. instead of adding same story and taste in every sequel, its a good thing to change some characters , and had allot work on actions and music.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FordPrefectJan 20, 2014
This is a decent movie. It had potential to truly be great in exploring Logan's struggle with immortality, but falls utterly short in that regard. Instead it becomes a fun yet unfulfilling action sequence. The action is well done and somewhatThis is a decent movie. It had potential to truly be great in exploring Logan's struggle with immortality, but falls utterly short in that regard. Instead it becomes a fun yet unfulfilling action sequence. The action is well done and somewhat redeems the movie's other shortcomings, but not enough to make it great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
adhamhanyJan 9, 2014
It's definitely better than X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The action is great. The characterization is also appreciated, showing Logan's struggle with the death of Jean Grey. Hugh Jackman's performance is also a plus.

The plot, on the other
It's definitely better than X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The action is great. The characterization is also appreciated, showing Logan's struggle with the death of Jean Grey. Hugh Jackman's performance is also a plus.

The plot, on the other hand, is a bit boring. Especially when stretched across two hours. The dialogue is a hit-and-miss.

An entertaining summer action movie. Just don't expect anything else from it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ShabbychicJan 5, 2014
This was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, butThis was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, but this movie ruined the franchise. The actors were really bad and such a silly ending, this movie needed better fight scenes, actors, and plot...fire the director! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
XMagnetoJan 5, 2014
I'm a big Xmen fan, but I had it with Wolverine this and Wolverine that. although wolverine is one of my characters in the xmen franchise, I am sick of his story line, why not open up other origins of different xmen like first class did.I'm a big Xmen fan, but I had it with Wolverine this and Wolverine that. although wolverine is one of my characters in the xmen franchise, I am sick of his story line, why not open up other origins of different xmen like first class did. despite this I still think it was good, but has to be the last movie about wolverine Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
rniecat123Jan 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. A much more entertaining movie than Wolverine. The special effects were spectacular although the endingI really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. A much more entertaining movie than Wolverine. The special effects were spectacular although the ending was a wee bit over the top. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
McCorpseJan 4, 2014
I liked it, im sure it is very difficult to completely screw up a movie based on such an amazing character. We're are given wolverine in Japan. Sounds cool but for me it was pretty dull and not very interesting. I mean sure we have theI liked it, im sure it is very difficult to completely screw up a movie based on such an amazing character. We're are given wolverine in Japan. Sounds cool but for me it was pretty dull and not very interesting. I mean sure we have the wolverine kicking ass as usual but not as much as in wolverine origins and I thought the Asian dude in the robot suit looked way too cgi and everything else just didn't get me involved. Once again its a good movie but come on its the wolverine this should be amazing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
python2000Jan 3, 2014
X Men Origins Wolverine was funnier than this, but The Wolverine is still one of the most amusing movies of 2013.

No I'm not writing a review of a different movie in the wrong place The Wolverine suffers from being unintentionally funny,
X Men Origins Wolverine was funnier than this, but The Wolverine is still one of the most amusing movies of 2013.

No I'm not writing a review of a different movie in the wrong place The Wolverine suffers from being unintentionally funny, much like X Men Origins Wolverine.

The acting is half decent and respectable Hugh Jackman surprisingly giving the weakest performance, and the special effects top rate (but what do you expect it's an X Men movie). Those are the only fully positive things I have to say about The Wolverine, with the exception of it not being boring.

While they have good CGI and aren't filmed badly the action scenes are way too overblown and unrealistic to be taken seriously, which is a major problem because there are lots of them. Samurai ninja's appear at one point to kill The Wolverine. Why? Earlier in the movie they just got people with guns to kill Logan, why the sudden change? Oh that's right, because it's set in Japan! I'm not saying it's racist, I'm saying it's a totally reason to put samurai ninja's in the movie. Because nowadays superhero movies are aimed at 4 year olds there isn't a lot of plot, but the very small amount of it is also ridiculous and too unrealistic to take seriously, there is a giant robot samurai suit controlled by a dying old man. End of argument. As for the twist near the end, I didn't see it coming but it's still terrible.

Maybe I'm being too harsh on The Wolverine? Movies like The Rock, White House Down and Undercover Brother have had ridiculous plots and cliched scenes but I have still enjoyed them. That's because they are intentionally flawed and meant to be cheesy, The Wolverine tried and failed to be serious. Hugely disappointing.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ReubenIsAGodDec 29, 2013
It's badass, mutant, samurai movies like these that make me look back at Origins and laugh out loud at how got damn awful that film is.
The Wolverine has gotten me pumped to see how good/or bad Days Of Future past will be, i CANT GODDMAN WAIT
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
epocDec 23, 2013
Wow. This film gets so much right, but its biggest achievement is something that no super hero film has done before, whether it be Marvel or DC, is that it manages to stay true to the comics, while also entertaining causal film fans. HellWow. This film gets so much right, but its biggest achievement is something that no super hero film has done before, whether it be Marvel or DC, is that it manages to stay true to the comics, while also entertaining causal film fans. Hell this film could entertain anybody, whether there action fans, drama fans any fan! It's a definitley risky for Marvel to try something like this, and they have pulled it of amazingly, but the real glue that holds this together is Jackman's preformance. Now we all know its always been good, but this time he takes it to a whole new level. He's dark, thematic, serious and engaging, with such good character development. It's a shame that some of the other character aren't as well developed. Despite this they are incredibly well acted. On par with the acting is the directing, which never feels out of place. Another spectacular feat it manages to accomplish is that it balances the substance and the action, nether letting one out way the other. But the one thing that ultimately kills this film for me is its extremely awful ending. Any fan will agree! It's anti-climactic, lazy, go's away from the comics and has some of the worst CGI I have ever seen! If only that ending wasn't here, I reckon think this film could of easily got a nine, maybe even a ten, but I can't forgive that ending. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Koog72Dec 18, 2013
I really enjoyed all of the X-Men based movies, great fun, great stories and great action everything required for a few hours of popcorn escapism.
Well The Wolverine takes all that, scrunchies it into a ball and chucks it in the bin.
I really enjoyed all of the X-Men based movies, great fun, great stories and great action everything required for a few hours of popcorn escapism.
Well The Wolverine takes all that, scrunchies it into a ball and chucks it in the bin.
Nonsense from start to finish, more lazy incoherent writing from the mass-producing Hollywood clowns.
It's all about the bucks and nothing to do with the audience, I mean do the producers and writers actually watch the tripe before they dish it out to the public?? On this evidence, I think not.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ryu750Dec 11, 2013
Even though i really enjoyed this movie. Wolverine is one of those comics with 100s if not thousands of great story lines. Picking a good one out and turning into a screenplay should not be that difficult.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MikefromAngusDec 8, 2013
A very big surprise! The movie had a very good story. Setting was awesome! a lot of clever fight scenes.
special effects were great as well. only problem is the movie falls apart in the last 10 mins. other then that! I highly recommend it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
sanyrubDec 8, 2013
I really liked the first part of the movie. I thought it could be easily a 7 out of 10, but the last part loses me a little bit. For some reason all these X-men movies become too cartoony towards the end. Don´t get me wrong, you´ll enjoy it.I really liked the first part of the movie. I thought it could be easily a 7 out of 10, but the last part loses me a little bit. For some reason all these X-men movies become too cartoony towards the end. Don´t get me wrong, you´ll enjoy it. Some of the scenes and cinematography during the first part are great. It´s a different enough movie and I liked the story. But it could have been more. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
BoltfrowahDec 7, 2013
This was an obvious stroke film for guys that like Asian women. And at what point did the Wolverine become an absolute weak that doesn't crush his opponents either through decapitation or through extreme bloody violence. This movie was anThis was an obvious stroke film for guys that like Asian women. And at what point did the Wolverine become an absolute weak that doesn't crush his opponents either through decapitation or through extreme bloody violence. This movie was an insult to the comic book series, and the studios need to stop now. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
ScottixboyDec 6, 2013
Look I hate bad movies, but this movie is hardly bad, it has some nice acting, it stays true to the comic and it has some great action scenes. Sure at times I felt Logan's pure hatred for life was kinda silly, but I also understood why he wasLook I hate bad movies, but this movie is hardly bad, it has some nice acting, it stays true to the comic and it has some great action scenes. Sure at times I felt Logan's pure hatred for life was kinda silly, but I also understood why he was in pain and couldn't let Gene go, that's one of the steps of grief....until he finds his new Japanese girlfriend and then that emotional part loses all of it's steam because he immediately lets Gene go, and then there's the Japanese archer whose story a arch is kinda broken, he's the bad guy, but he's not because of unfathomable reasons, his character was cool, but he needed a better back-story and his role needed serious tweaking. STILL, despite those dumb sub-plots, the films stays true to everything that makes the Wolverine character so great, admittedly this film isn't as great as the original trilogy but I still felt it was an enjoyable addition to the sub-X-men films, I won't guarantee you anything, but if you've liked the X-men films so far, you will probably like this one too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HunkpapaDec 6, 2013
This is a decent movie. It had potential to truly be great in exploring the struggle for Logan to deal with immortality, but instead becomes a fun yet unfulfilling sequence of fighting with no real ending at all.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
SJ-ULTI-ReiewsDec 5, 2013
The Wolverine was much more enjoyable than what i thought it was going to be. Hugh Jackman is always great as wolverine, the Chinese storyline was unexpected, this movie actually tried something new. That one scene when Wolverine is on top ofThe Wolverine was much more enjoyable than what i thought it was going to be. Hugh Jackman is always great as wolverine, the Chinese storyline was unexpected, this movie actually tried something new. That one scene when Wolverine is on top of the train fighting a guy with a small knife was hilarious. The ending was good, i actually want to watch the next X-Men movie when it releases. Overall Score= 78/100 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
N0XDec 4, 2013
Know nothing about the comic's but am an avid viewer of the franchise & movie buff. Love the character brought to life by Jackman but 3 things in this movie really annoyed me.
1) Viper is worst villain ever and so damn annoying
2) Gene your
Know nothing about the comic's but am an avid viewer of the franchise & movie buff. Love the character brought to life by Jackman but 3 things in this movie really annoyed me.
1) Viper is worst villain ever and so damn annoying
2) Gene your dead already bugger off....again so annoying
3) Where the heck are his adamantium claws !!!!!!...the bone ones are so gay
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Nesbitt10Dec 2, 2013
Choosing the artful director James Mangold "Walk the Line" (2005) and "Knight and Day" (2010), certainly enjoys a much smoother journey to the big screen than its predecessor, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" (2009). The movie adopts a new,Choosing the artful director James Mangold "Walk the Line" (2005) and "Knight and Day" (2010), certainly enjoys a much smoother journey to the big screen than its predecessor, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" (2009). The movie adopts a new, visually appealing setting encouraging a change in tone for the heroic comic book character, with a script written by Scott Frank and Mark Bomback that contains themes of mortality, family, honor, and forgiveness. In "The Wolverine," Mangold, Frank, and Bomback introduce new layers to the popular, charismatic mutant with a tortured soul who is making his sixth "X-Men" franchise appearance.

It's a character driven plot that takes the Wolverine into new territory, both figuratively and literally. Logan (Hugh Jackman) is a wolf without a pack, in a self-imposed exile after the ruinous losses of 2006's "X-Men: The Last Stand." The movie takes place mostly in modern-day Japan, where Logan reconnects with a former soldier he shielded from the atom bomb dropped on Nagasaki in 1945.

Decades later, the immortal mutant is summoned to the side of the man he saved by Yukio (Rila Fukushima), an electric redhead with superior knife skills, and an ability to foresee the future. The dying Yashida (Hal Yamanouchi), now a billionaire, offers his savior the chance to lose his immortality, and to live a normal life span without his super-healing powers and incredible strength. Logan finds himself mixed up in the succession between Yashida and the Japanese mob, the Yakuza. The Yakuza is trying to assassinate his beautiful granddaughter Mariko (Tao Okamoto), and Logan chases her down cross-country to protect her from harm.

Drawing on the influence of Samurai films, the action is refreshingly tactile, with well-choreographed fight scenes and some genuinely impressive blockbuster set-pieces. The high point of the movie is the Tokyo bullet train sequence around the halfway mark, which provides some sorely needed thrills something which the final showdown fails to provide entirely. The third act is overloaded with CGI driven combat scenes which feels overly artificial given its character driven storyline. By the end of the movie however, nothing has really changed, and Wolverine is more or less the same superhero from two hours earlier. This is Jackman's show entirely, and he is as forceful and charismatic as ever. If only he had something more interesting to do here.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
cliffordcanDec 2, 2013
This movie was horrible! It was worse than X-Men Origins: The Wolverine! I can't imagine how people liked it! It was slow, boring & didn't even make sense. All the characters besides Wolverine were not memorable in the slightest. I wasThis movie was horrible! It was worse than X-Men Origins: The Wolverine! I can't imagine how people liked it! It was slow, boring & didn't even make sense. All the characters besides Wolverine were not memorable in the slightest. I was laughing out loud about how cheesy it was & my wife fell asleep. All these good reviews must be BS as this movie has no redeeming qualities outside of the X-Men: Days of Future Past preview during the credits. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Dec 2, 2013
Honestly, I was both disappointed and pleasantly surprised by this movie.

This movie really gives Logan's character allot of depth and tackles a very interesting storyline from the comics. BUT, for a movie that's focus is around a mutant,
Honestly, I was both disappointed and pleasantly surprised by this movie.

This movie really gives Logan's character allot of depth and tackles a very interesting storyline from the comics. BUT, for a movie that's focus is around a mutant, it really seems to be lacking mutants. Granted there are some cool scenes closer to the end, but for a Marvel adaptation, it's rather weak.

Overall:
The Wolverine is good in terms of its narrative, writing and overall performances by the central characters. But, for a Wolverine movie, one would expect more impressive action, and that is really it's main gripe. Character development is essential for any story, but you can not sacrifice what made the character popular in first place just for the sake of storytelling.

The Wolverine is a good movie, but don't go into it expecting it to be action packed.

Side Note:
If Wolverine is to have a movie of his own, he needs to go up against worthy adversaries. Silver Samurai did look awesome but was barely in the movie. Viper was done well, yet she is such an obscure villain and would have better suited being a flunky Captain America villain. She really felt and looked out of place in this movie.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingNov 29, 2013
It escalates a ladder of success for two-thirds the entire movie mainly due to Hugh Jackman's terrific performance and its use of Japanese culture, then trips down on a puddle of sloppiness and lands flat.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FilmHackNov 28, 2013
Once again, the low score tweakers are out in force with unrealistic expectations. Nicely done way way better than I thought you could do with what is probably one of the weakest characters in the Marvel lineup. Why weak? Brooding violentOnce again, the low score tweakers are out in force with unrealistic expectations. Nicely done way way better than I thought you could do with what is probably one of the weakest characters in the Marvel lineup. Why weak? Brooding violent guy who turns into a wolf-like creature and can never be killed? This film manages to use the weakness of the character into a strength (not a spoiler), which is pretty cool if you ask me. Best of the bunch so far. Not bad at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
neocomp92Nov 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's late, but I finally watched it in DVD. And I have to say the Wolverine is at most an above average adventure movie.

Hugh Jackman, as always, shows that he is the one to play Logan. Although the character in X-Men is always 2-dimensional archetypal anti-hero, at least here there is some room to flesh out his character. Unfortunately, they didn't give a lot of growth to the character. The essential theme to the film is living past regrets and pain, that the body may heal, but the mind doesn't. You get to see Wolverine trying to live past Jean Grey after X-Men 3 (and kudos to them bringing back Famke Janssen in an effort to internalise the struggle. And succeed they did!). It got him quite stuck in the grieving stage until he falls in love with Mariko Yashida. I can see where they are going with the love plot, and mostly they did an average job. It just needed more chemistry and polishing before I can believe this love story. And the coda to the film does get him past grief, but I hated Logan mentioning that "He is a soldier" and stuff. There is nothing holding him back from living with Mariko, no commitments to the X-Men (at least until the credits), and yet he chooses to live on in conflict. This isn't Batman where he has a purpose to the point of obsession, he is not tied to an altruistic cause.

The action sequences are quite well done. Lots of melee fighting, wire-fu, and good fight choreography. The people that are suppose to fight, can do so in a heart-pounding scene. However, I must stress that the green screen effects are not so impressive. This is true in the bullet train sequence. You just can't believe Logan is fighting people on a 300mph train, because the wind and the actors don't give that sort of impression. CGI is a slight cut above average. The SIlver Samurai's armor is monochromatically silver, making it easy to model, texture and light. But it just needed more polishing before it looks like an actual object in the physical world. Several times during the final fight, the CG almost fell into last-gen video game graphics territory.

I need to mention Yuriko, the red-haired woman. It's mentioned that she is a precog, trained in fighting. She demonstrates the latter very well, but the former is poorly conveyed. In a film, I do not like it when things are told to me, and not showed to me. The vision she had on Logan's "death" could have been shown to the audience using blurry/transition shots, and it would have been fine. As a character, she isn't quite deep; that goes to Mariko.

Ironically the plot of the film ends up revealed to me 10 minutes into the movie. Yashida basically told Logan that he is the villain when he proposed to transfer his healing factor to another person permanently. Given that he himself is dying, and the look on his eyes show that he is a man who gets what he wants, it is no big leap or surprise to me when the big reveal shows that he is the villain. Which is probably why after the 1st action sequence, the writers decided to pull a farce and artificially deepen the movie.

To me, complexity of the story should be reflected in depth and quality, not in the number of subplots you can juggle around with. It confuses people as to who the main players are in each subplot, and to recognise when it starts and concludes, and the magnitude of its conclusion to the main plot. Worse, given that every secondary character in this movie is 2-dimensional, superficial, and otherwise generic, it is hard to get invested. The entire Yashida clan was a nest of vipers after the "death" of the old man. There is a revenge subplot because of being left out in the will, there is the Yakuza, there is the venomous Dr., there is the ronin clan of ninjas who supposedly looks out for the Yashida clan even though they are actively hunting Mariko and Logan in a similar fashion to the Yakuza. Add Logan's grief, his loss of healing factor, and the romance, and you get a confusing web of plots that appear and disappear with no consequence. It just leaves me preoccupied with questions, instead of enjoying the film.

One of the plot holes in the film is apparent when Logan and Mariko do not call for help from the Yashida's even when they could at some points. Its explained in a reasonable attempt later on, and validates it ex post facto, but its not good if the actors appear to read ahead of the script and act as such.

The loss of healing factor plot to me is rivetting, as it finally shows vulnerability on Logan's side, but ultimately pointless in the grand arc. What's the point of making him vulnerable (and probably killed soon), if ultimately you need him alive to extract his healing factor, Mr Yashida? Oops, a plot hole?

In conclusion, the Wolverine is a film about Logan moving past the grieving stage. It showed a decent development for Logan in this regard, but the web of superfluous subplots makes it difficult to enjoy the film as it is. It would be better if they just keep it simple.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
wishmasterNov 24, 2013
The movie was very flat, I love the films of mutants, but this only came in three, adding that the villain, Viber, was complete crap, devoid of personality second thought the movie was very regular, shooting bad.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobNov 23, 2013
For the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needless and pointless. The dialogue was just garbage and hurt by corny jokes that we have heard hundreds ofFor the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needless and pointless. The dialogue was just garbage and hurt by corny jokes that we have heard hundreds of times before. The action scenes are a massive miss as well. I think what saves and makes it worth watching is the mid-credits scene featuring the return of some very famous characters. Overall, It's better than Origins but no that big of a step up. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
jesterx7769Nov 22, 2013
Don't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen moviesDon't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen movies every "X" amount of years to maintain the rights. I literally laughed out lout a few times the movie is THAT bad. I have a hard time believing any of the positive reviews aren't a joke. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksNov 14, 2013
A decent effort and far superior to its predecessor. The third acts seems a little too much like a different film and loses the audience in special effects rather winning with plot.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MamaTLFNov 12, 2013
For first time a movie that isn't centered around mutants and their problems. With awesome window throw and nuke scene this movie is rather dull and slow paced and didn't met my expectations but isn't that bad ether.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 10, 2013
At first, I wasn't too intimidated to see "The Wolverine" but I thought, why not give it a go? And it turns out that it was quite worth it. You know the scene where the Wolverine and another guy fights on the train, I thought that that wasAt first, I wasn't too intimidated to see "The Wolverine" but I thought, why not give it a go? And it turns out that it was quite worth it. You know the scene where the Wolverine and another guy fights on the train, I thought that that was gonna be really cheesy. But no. That was one of the best fight scenes in the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
sirkelNov 7, 2013
Well the movie reminded me of a 80's cheesy film. Jackman did a good job with his acting, but everything else was cheesy, predictable, and some what boring. I mean Ninjas on motorbikes on top of the roofs and on a snowy ice cover roof atWell the movie reminded me of a 80's cheesy film. Jackman did a good job with his acting, but everything else was cheesy, predictable, and some what boring. I mean Ninjas on motorbikes on top of the roofs and on a snowy ice cover roof at that, then flying around, I mean it was stupid really.
The bad guy (girl) was a typical Hollywood garbage we seen a million times, ya know talks slow and sarcastic and the producer tries to wedge in sexiness into the way they act and talk, yawn, yeah we seen this before and it is pathetic and getting tiresome.
Not to mention the anti-hunter thing in the beginning of the movie, typical left wing BS portraying hunters as all a bunch of idiots and of course the animals life is more important that a persons life. Pathetic and sick.
Hollywood pumps out more propaganda and garbage any more, and this is just another one of those kind of movies.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
DusksparkNov 7, 2013
As a big fan of the original X-Men Trilogy, I must say "the Wolverine" disappointed me in most of its points. Seeing Wolverine back in action after the events of X3 sure was satisfying, but the overall movie had a lack of character, properAs a big fan of the original X-Men Trilogy, I must say "the Wolverine" disappointed me in most of its points. Seeing Wolverine back in action after the events of X3 sure was satisfying, but the overall movie had a lack of character, proper design, solid structure, and most of all a lack of mutants. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
togefreeOct 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hugh jackman at the top of his game better than origins but not as good as the x2 or 1st class this character driven movie makes wolverine seem like the most badass and powerful superhero
stay after the credits
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Dimitris01Oct 10, 2013
Wolverine goes to Japan so you expect impressive, skilful fights with ninjas and yakuza, right? Unfortunately this isn't what you get. The story has many problems and the battles of the third act are disappointing. However, Jackman'sWolverine goes to Japan so you expect impressive, skilful fights with ninjas and yakuza, right? Unfortunately this isn't what you get. The story has many problems and the battles of the third act are disappointing. However, Jackman's performance, the idea of Wolverine becoming vulnerable and his relationship with a Japanese woman prevent this movie from being forgettable.
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
almox21Sep 26, 2013
Wow 6/10, really metacritic? Simply put, this movie is worth watching on the big screen. It barely makes mistakes and is just awesome to watch wolverine rip some up on a suit. Excellent movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
WadeVSSep 25, 2013
Embarrassingly awful. I cringed throughout the whole thing. I so wanted it to be good. Bad acting and stale plot. The whole just felt incredibly done before.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
theseparatorSep 22, 2013
The Wolverine keeps you on the edge of your seat for nearly every second of the film. After an atomic set of dream sequences where Logan witnesses the bombing of Nagasaki in World War Two, we find Logan living in the forest, in what isThe Wolverine keeps you on the edge of your seat for nearly every second of the film. After an atomic set of dream sequences where Logan witnesses the bombing of Nagasaki in World War Two, we find Logan living in the forest, in what is wrongly identified as “present-day Alaska” by New York Times critic A.O Scott. It is clearly the Yukon Canada, as identified by The Yukon Sportsman’s Paradise sign in an early scene. Having abandoned his life as a crime fighter, it doesn’t take long before the action starts, and Logan gets drawn back into his old kick-ass ways.

Very early the film departs North America for Japan, and stays there for the rest of the time. The sets designs are spectacular, the photography obviously expensive and flawless. Shots of everything Japanese give the film an exotic flare, which then of course allows for every single character to be a martial arts expert. The fights scenes are visibly momentous, the special effects outstanding.

There are some gut-wrenching flaws though that are hard to stomach amidst the film’s greatness: Logan and his side-kick Yukio are both highlighted riding motorcycles through the snow in the middle of Japanese winter; the sexy Viper villain has no discernable point as a character, neither do her costumes; the scene from the trailer where Logan is standing smoking his trademark cigar disappointingly does not appear in the film.

Yet the overarching theme dealing with Logan’s angst causing immortality is interesting enough to easily redeem the film. Wolverine doesn’t save the world here, but he fights to protect the life of one woman, and ends up fighting just to save his own.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
arssonistSep 22, 2013
I wish there was a way for users to delete reviews. I thought this was a good film but I want to delete the review under this profile, and so I write 150 words.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JoseloSep 21, 2013
No estaba muy seguro si deseaba volver a ver a Jackman como Wolverine y pensaba que la historia que vivimos con X-Men Origin: Wolverine iba a repetirse. Pero me equivoqué; está en mi opinión ha sido una de las películas perteneciente a laNo estaba muy seguro si deseaba volver a ver a Jackman como Wolverine y pensaba que la historia que vivimos con X-Men Origin: Wolverine iba a repetirse. Pero me equivoqué; está en mi opinión ha sido una de las películas perteneciente a la franquicia de X-Men más sólida que haya visto. Empezando porque el director imponen un estilo diferente y con mucha credibilidad. Fue sumamente interesante, el ver como Logan realmente no puede separarse de su instinto animal y agresivo (Wolverine). Que con mucha ironía lo usa para hacer el bien y no el mal. El sentir a nuestro héroe experimentar una pisca de la mortalidad, fue lo que lo hiso más impresionante que nunca. Pero haciendo un paréntesis si hubo algo que me pareció molestoso y que no funcionó fue el personaje de Viper. No obstante la película es lo suficientemente buena como para opacar este hecho. Es claro que en el último y tercer acto la vibra en el ambiente de esta cinta cinematográfica cambia un poco -reconociendo que fue necesario- para recordarnos que estamos viendo una película de X-Men y no otra cosa. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
oneiros_fabSep 21, 2013
No fun! Few actions scenes, almost boring.
The begining is fine but the rest of the movie is practically horrible and ridiculous. A big waste of money!!!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
iamDTSSep 16, 2013
Definitely worth a watch! This film caught me by surprise as i had no interest in it at all going in. Tons of Wolvie, Ninja action. Comic fans may be a little disappointed with the direction taken with certain characters but the film wasDefinitely worth a watch! This film caught me by surprise as i had no interest in it at all going in. Tons of Wolvie, Ninja action. Comic fans may be a little disappointed with the direction taken with certain characters but the film was still very good. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ncstatemikeSep 10, 2013
[5.8] This movie is almost enjoyable, it just doesn't seem like an X-Men movie, even if most X-Men movies aren't the strongest. Its plot is clearly its weak point, not only because of a sub-par script, but it just doesn't make sense as an[5.8] This movie is almost enjoyable, it just doesn't seem like an X-Men movie, even if most X-Men movies aren't the strongest. Its plot is clearly its weak point, not only because of a sub-par script, but it just doesn't make sense as an X-Men movie. The dialogue isn't always bad, but it's clearly recycled. Easily forgettable, and only worth watching if you care about X-Men that much. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
smartyaritraSep 9, 2013
the wolverine..honestly i had no high expectations from James Mangold..but i gotta say dis..he actually proved me wrong..the wolverine is a worthy watch, its more drama than action..which is a good thing in a way..because it helps inthe wolverine..honestly i had no high expectations from James Mangold..but i gotta say dis..he actually proved me wrong..the wolverine is a worthy watch, its more drama than action..which is a good thing in a way..because it helps in character development in the eyes of the audience, which is what the wolverine delivers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
AlexProductionsSep 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hugh Jackman finally got the lead in his own movie! After being associated with X-Men Origins and more, The Wolverine delivered the entertainment value we hoped for in this film.

The movie trails Logan (Hugh Jackman) and his journey to Japan to be thanked by Yashida, (Hal Yamanouchi) who Logan saved as a young soldier. Yashida was very sick and wanted Logan's power of immortality so he can be healthy again. We see Yashida die, and learn that his company has been left to Yashida's granddaughter, Mariko (Tao Okamoto) and not his corrupt son. She becomes the new owner Yashida Technology and her life is immediately in danger as the others try to kill her and take over the company.

Meanwhile, Viper (Svetlana Khodchenkova) kisses Wolverine in what seems to be an unrelated scene. Wolverine gets injured and doesn’t heal. Logan and the audience begin to uncover the plot to steal Logan’s powers. We learn that Viper passed Wolverine a spider in the kiss which now lives on his heart and neutralizes his powers, making him vulnerable. We follow Logan through his attempt to retrieve his power and save Yashida's granddaughter, Mariko.

Between the amazing (mostly CGI (computer-generated imagery)) fight scenes, and the quality of the cast's acting, I really enjoyed the film. There was a great fight scene in the film, (also featured in the trailer) on the top of a bullet train. Logan's bone claws dug into the train to keep his position. When he would take them out to dodge objects or fight, he would lose contact with the train which was traveling below him at 300MPH. He would then literally fly above the train. It thought that was a truly amazing effect.

What I didn't like was the flaw in Logan's vulnerability. After counting four gunshots to the chest, and a knife to the elbow, Logan still managed to fight and get around as if he still had his regular abilities. He didn’t even seem to worry about the wounds for a whole day, which made that period of the movie feel fake to me. I also am not sure what it is with Hugh and his shirt off. Seriously, 40% of his screen time is spent shirtless. It got to a point where the 44 year old man should have just put a shirt on. Also, there are a few shaky camera scenes when Logan is running and the camera is following him. I know it is supposed to add a level of intensity to the film, but it’s not intense when you start to get dizzy. The dizziness occurred at least twice, during my viewing of the film. Despite the few things I didn't like about The Wolverine, I mostly enjoyed it and was entertained. After hearing about the amazing spoiler in the credits, I stayed after everyone else in the theater left to see what it was all about. If you do not want to hear about this scene, I recommend you ignore the rest of the review.

It is two years later and Logan is going through airport security. The x-ray is beeping like crazy and metal objects near him are floating. He quickly turns around to find Magneto behind him in line. As they are talking, time stops except for the two of them, Professor Xavier rolls up near them. He looked almost too perfect and produced from CGI (computer-generated imagery). As in the first X-Men Wolverine, Xavier says the same sentence. “It’s as I told you when we first met, Logan, you're not the only one with special gifts." This to me was the first reveal of the future 2014 X-Men movie, Days Of Future Past.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
KanteSep 5, 2013
I'd say mediocre. Stereotyped story events, not innovative, not so violent like i would expect from Wolverine background.
A mutant villain with no purpose that finds a difficult spot in the plot, a mutant ally with a nonsense power, and a
I'd say mediocre. Stereotyped story events, not innovative, not so violent like i would expect from Wolverine background.
A mutant villain with no purpose that finds a difficult spot in the plot, a mutant ally with a nonsense power, and a giant robot just because, maybe due to the Japanese background.
The beginning IMHO was good, but after just Hugh Jackman as Wolverine saved a bit the movie.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
scifigeekSep 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a bad movie, but not great either. It was a fun summer movie that had it's share of action, but also it's share of holes. I was a big fan of Wolverine growing up, but in the movies he's something less. He's supposed to be very old, and one of the best melee fighters, but he is constantly getting his butt kicked by practically every other melee fighter that he comes up against. He's been around a long time, you would think he has learned a few languages by this time, and become a bit more cultured, at least in knowing about the ways of other people. He still looks/acts like a barbarian in many ways, which I understand to be part of his character, but he's also potentially hundreds of years old and has had to have had a lot of different experiences and exposure to worldly ways. He was obviously in Japan many years ago, you would think he picked up a few tricks. I understand that he's supposed to be a wild badass, but why not give him some culture mixed in. It would have been awesome if he surprised them all and actually knew how to speak Japanese and more about their culture to give him some more depth, and ass a bit of mystery, to show he is not just a one dimensional thug. He's also very stealthy and ninja like in the comics, but in the movies he runs in without looking or thinking, no stealth at all. Among other plot holes and questionable scenes, I didn't get the backstory about the Viper and why she served Yashida? Overall a bit slow, and boring at times, but there was some good acting by Hugh Jackman, and some of the fight scenes were fun, but the story and script was flat. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
SuperheroMoviesSep 1, 2013
An exhilarating superhero flick that improves over its previous lackluster installment. The Wolverine stays faithful to its source material and does what the previous Wolverine film failed to do, which is display an immense amount of heartAn exhilarating superhero flick that improves over its previous lackluster installment. The Wolverine stays faithful to its source material and does what the previous Wolverine film failed to do, which is display an immense amount of heart and pay close attention to characterization. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Aug 28, 2013
As expected this was a great addition to the X-Men series that focuses on just Wolverine, and it was an improvement on the first solo Wolverine film. It's a little more serious and less corny than previous installments which is a very goodAs expected this was a great addition to the X-Men series that focuses on just Wolverine, and it was an improvement on the first solo Wolverine film. It's a little more serious and less corny than previous installments which is a very good thing, and has a few twists & turns in there as well as plenty of Action. Jackman once again proves that he was the right choice for this character as he has delivered every time he portrays him. Overall great stuff, and stick around during the credits! Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
pacoexeAug 28, 2013
Es una película de mutantes con pocos mutantes, sigo pensando que no logran atinar con la personalidad del Wolverine de las comics, las escenas de acción le dan un pequeño respiro a la película pero son muy cortas.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
hoops2448Aug 27, 2013
I always feel that movies set in Japan are automatically at an advantage because of the inherent beauty and tradition that comes with the country which is why The Wolverine is such a colossal disappointment. When Logan (Hugh Jackman) saves aI always feel that movies set in Japan are automatically at an advantage because of the inherent beauty and tradition that comes with the country which is why The Wolverine is such a colossal disappointment. When Logan (Hugh Jackman) saves a Japanese man's life in Hiroshima in 1945 he sets off chain reaction that brings about death and destruction in the present when Wolverine is summoned by the man so that he can say his goodbyes. While Jackman is a talented performer, The Wolverine is beyond saving as it is derivative, predictable and most of all, its boring. Working off a horrendous script by writers Mark Bomback and Scott Frank, director James Mangold shows a talent behind the camera for the action in the film with a high speed chase on a bullet train being a breathtaking piece of cinema but he fails to display emotion or evoke character out of his wooden performers. It's not entirely his fault, the acting is dire with both female leads dragging the film down. The constant references to X-Men: The Last Stand and the presence of Famke Janssen's Jean Grey reminds viewers of the nonsensical mess of a film that was, which should make The Wolverine look stellar by comparison but it only really makes you long for the days of Bryan Singers X films. While the film does try to fix the character of Logan, ridding him of some of his grief and shame, it just feels like a stop gap before Jackman is set to appear in the following X film, Days of Future Past. Ultimately its a feature that doesn't live up to its potential and makes light of its own story of redemption by having Logan murder countless numbers of people as if for sport making the whole movie a waste of anyone's precious time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
templescrollAug 26, 2013
If you like martial arts you might want to check out the new WOLVERINE movie. I don’t know why they call the movie “WOLVERINE” cuz Hugh Jackman has nothing to do with any of the plot of characters until the last 10 minutes of the movie if youIf you like martial arts you might want to check out the new WOLVERINE movie. I don’t know why they call the movie “WOLVERINE” cuz Hugh Jackman has nothing to do with any of the plot of characters until the last 10 minutes of the movie if you exclude the brief yet passionless encounter between Jackman and a young woman. But the Wolverine does make an interesting ally for the movie’s warring gang factions. I suppose the producer also needed a ‘superstar’ to pander his Kung Fu movie since Hugh Jackman is the only white guy along with some toxic blond who struts around in Jimmy Chu’s and spends most of the movie deep throating her venomous forked tongue into unsuspecting male admirers. Again, why this character is in the movie, makes no sense other than erotic and to push the envelope of the R rating. This having been said, the movie was only okay because the ‘flow’ (I use the term loosely) is constantly interrupted by the need for another martial arts battle. It got boring for me after like the 10th battle and each battle goes on for a while.The giant metal samurai battle at the end was laughable, sorry. Its probably me and I don’t mean to sound jaded (no pun intended) but after having seen Crouching Tiger nothing really impresses me in this arena. If you’re going to do a 2 hr. martial arts movie you had better have awesome dialogue and impressive plot/characters.With the exception of Wolverine this had neither. So going full circle, this is why the movie is called WOLVERINE. But don’t be disheartened X-Men fans. There was an interesting ‘teaser’ at the end with Magneto and Xavier which shows promise for the NEXT X-Men Wolverine release. On the upside PIXAR and DISNEY have a slew of new releases coming out in genuine ADHD guaranteed to keep the little tikes bouncing off the wall way past their bedtime. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
ToffenuffAug 26, 2013
Disappointed.
That's how I felt after watching this movie. While the trailer makes this look fantastic, and it does follow the comics pretty well, the way this movie was put together just... it didn't look or feel right.
Acting was subpar
Disappointed.
That's how I felt after watching this movie. While the trailer makes this look fantastic, and it does follow the comics pretty well, the way this movie was put together just... it didn't look or feel right.

Acting was subpar for such a big movie and they definitely could have cast better in my opinion Hugh Jackman of course continues to do an excellent job portraying Wolverine, but everyone else just seemed so... fake. And bland. And downright terrible in some scenes.

Not as much action as I expected either, and yes there is barely any blood in this movie. Plus certain sequences were very very questionable in that some actions by the character just didn't make any sense (aka it felt forced and unnatural/illogical to advance the story in a certain way).

Locations and sets are nice, and special effects while limited are still done well enough as per the usual with Marvel movies. There are some funny moments with the usual Logan one-liners and a handful of good dialogue, but for the most part I was unimpressed by the writing.

Wait for the DVD/online stream or whatever you use for your non-theater movie-watching if you really want to see this.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
domecAug 25, 2013
With this much superhero moviesne life wolverine had to be different and it deliverd. It is a refreshment in this genre It doesn`t pretend to be a part of a bigger story insted it`s a stand alone movie about events in wolverine`s life.With this much superhero moviesne life wolverine had to be different and it deliverd. It is a refreshment in this genre It doesn`t pretend to be a part of a bigger story insted it`s a stand alone movie about events in wolverine`s life. Action sequences a great and the movie fun. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
Gary64Aug 25, 2013
Horrible !
Silver Samurai armor
sword
Viper
Ninja
story
action
The Wolverine
omg
everything
all horrible

too many Marvel Comics
I don't like superheroes
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticAug 24, 2013
Hugh Jackman proves to be capable as his usual, sardonic Logan. If only the movie was a little more comprehensible. Some plot holes were obvious. I still enjoyed it.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews