Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 758 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Summoned to Japan by an old acquaintance, Wolverine becomes embroiled in a conflict that forces him to confront his own demons.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 26, 2013
    88
    A refreshing summer cocktail of action-movie staples, The Wolverine combines the bracingly adult flavor of everyone’s favorite mutant antihero — tortured, boozy X-Man Logan, a.k.a. Wolverine — with the fizzy effervescence of several mixers from the cabinet of Japanese genre cinema: noirish yakuza crime drama, samurai derring-do and ninja acrobatics.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 25, 2013
    75
    The Wolverine shows that, while originality would be nice, a little novelty and enthusiasm in the presentation of the familiar can be quite enough.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 28, 2013
    75
    The post-conversion 3D is more distracting than anything else, but the rest of this surprisingly fun entertainment is as sharp as the hero’s claws.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 25, 2013
    63
    This pissed-off man of Adamantium claws is stalking new ground (Japan), and his fight with yakuza on top of Tokyo's speeding bullet train is a wowser.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jul 25, 2013
    60
    The lack of plot coherence is a lingering irritant in a film that otherwise seems to be trying to improve on its cinematic-series forebears.
  6. 50
    Slapped with the generic title The Wolverine, the fifth feature-length appearance of Hugh Jackman’s X-Man John Logan is basically "The Bad News Wolverine Goes to Japan" and is not especially world-shaking.
  7. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Jul 24, 2013
    31
    The Wolverine reveals itself to be a film in desperate need of a point, in dire need of consequences and in a wandering search of any semblance of emotional weight.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 197
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    "The Wolverine" stays true to the comics, the Japanese arc of the comics is easily Wolverine's best story and this movie delivers more than"The Wolverine" stays true to the comics, the Japanese arc of the comics is easily Wolverine's best story and this movie delivers more than justice! Best superhero movie of the summer. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. AI really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. A much more entertaining movie than Wolverine. The special effects were spectacular although the ending was a wee bit over the top. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Stay for the credits on this one, you won't be disappointed. The Wolverine manages to wash away the frothy and dirty taste of the X-menStay for the credits on this one, you won't be disappointed. The Wolverine manages to wash away the frothy and dirty taste of the X-men Origins movie before it and gives the best PG-13 Wolverine movie that could have been accomplished. The action is fluid and vicious, the stabs are bloody, the violence is gritty, but there's enough depth to it to really sink into. The train sequence and some flashbacks in particular really shine. The last 20 minutes seemed to drag a little bit, and there's a rather predictable ending. All negatives aside I really enjoyed this movie, the after credits sequence again is one of the best I've ever seen and Hugh Jackman is in perfect form as Wolverine. There's talk of an R-rated cut on the DVD and one can't help but imagine how the film would be like that but I suppose we'll find out when the DVD releases. Overall really enjoyable film that I would give a solid recommendation to any action fan and X-men fans especially. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    In a way it's a movie kind of frustrating, because when I watch expected nothing and got kind of frustrated because the film begins in aIn a way it's a movie kind of frustrating, because when I watch expected nothing and got kind of frustrated because the film begins in a manner so interesting, humanizing the character to be worthy of becoming a pity that I began to think it would be one of my biggest surprises of the year, I was wrong, by the end of the film convinces and excites us, from there it becomes a disappointment, because the end is stupid and almost takes all the fun out of the rest, but acceptable near the predecessor with another Hugh Jacman time putting on a show. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    A decent effort and far superior to its predecessor. The third acts seems a little too much like a different film and loses the audience inA decent effort and far superior to its predecessor. The third acts seems a little too much like a different film and loses the audience in special effects rather winning with plot. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    For the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needlessFor the most part it was sort of disappointing. The plot wasn't interesting at all. Having Jean Grey in it via hallucinations was so needless and pointless. The dialogue was just garbage and hurt by corny jokes that we have heard hundreds of times before. The action scenes are a massive miss as well. I think what saves and makes it worth watching is the mid-credits scene featuring the return of some very famous characters. Overall, It's better than Origins but no that big of a step up. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Don't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. HorribleDon't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen movies every "X" amount of years to maintain the rights. I literally laughed out lout a few times the movie is THAT bad. I have a hard time believing any of the positive reviews aren't a joke. Expand

See all 197 User Reviews

Trailers