Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 737 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Summoned to Japan by an old acquaintance, Wolverine becomes embroiled in a conflict that forces him to confront his own demons.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 26, 2013
    88
    A refreshing summer cocktail of action-movie staples, The Wolverine combines the bracingly adult flavor of everyone’s favorite mutant antihero — tortured, boozy X-Man Logan, a.k.a. Wolverine — with the fizzy effervescence of several mixers from the cabinet of Japanese genre cinema: noirish yakuza crime drama, samurai derring-do and ninja acrobatics.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 25, 2013
    75
    The Wolverine shows that, while originality would be nice, a little novelty and enthusiasm in the presentation of the familiar can be quite enough.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 28, 2013
    75
    The post-conversion 3D is more distracting than anything else, but the rest of this surprisingly fun entertainment is as sharp as the hero’s claws.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 25, 2013
    63
    This pissed-off man of Adamantium claws is stalking new ground (Japan), and his fight with yakuza on top of Tokyo's speeding bullet train is a wowser.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jul 25, 2013
    60
    The lack of plot coherence is a lingering irritant in a film that otherwise seems to be trying to improve on its cinematic-series forebears.
  6. 50
    Slapped with the generic title The Wolverine, the fifth feature-length appearance of Hugh Jackman’s X-Man John Logan is basically "The Bad News Wolverine Goes to Japan" and is not especially world-shaking.
  7. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Jul 24, 2013
    31
    The Wolverine reveals itself to be a film in desperate need of a point, in dire need of consequences and in a wandering search of any semblance of emotional weight.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 195
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    "The Wolverine" stays true to the comics, the Japanese arc of the comics is easily Wolverine's best story and this movie delivers more than"The Wolverine" stays true to the comics, the Japanese arc of the comics is easily Wolverine's best story and this movie delivers more than justice! Best superhero movie of the summer. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. AI really enjoyed this movie and I'm not a great fan of X-men movies but I thought Hugh Jackman's protrayal was excellent this time round. A much more entertaining movie than Wolverine. The special effects were spectacular although the ending was a wee bit over the top. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Stay for the credits on this one, you won't be disappointed. The Wolverine manages to wash away the frothy and dirty taste of the X-menStay for the credits on this one, you won't be disappointed. The Wolverine manages to wash away the frothy and dirty taste of the X-men Origins movie before it and gives the best PG-13 Wolverine movie that could have been accomplished. The action is fluid and vicious, the stabs are bloody, the violence is gritty, but there's enough depth to it to really sink into. The train sequence and some flashbacks in particular really shine. The last 20 minutes seemed to drag a little bit, and there's a rather predictable ending. All negatives aside I really enjoyed this movie, the after credits sequence again is one of the best I've ever seen and Hugh Jackman is in perfect form as Wolverine. There's talk of an R-rated cut on the DVD and one can't help but imagine how the film would be like that but I suppose we'll find out when the DVD releases. Overall really enjoyable film that I would give a solid recommendation to any action fan and X-men fans especially. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    La pelicula no es muy buena pero...es entretenida hasta eso, solo que senti un poco enredada y forzada la trama de wolverine lidiando con suLa pelicula no es muy buena pero...es entretenida hasta eso, solo que senti un poco enredada y forzada la trama de wolverine lidiando con su pasado y bueno que mas puedo decir..para una renta esta bien.. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's late, but I finally watched it in DVD. And I have to say the Wolverine is at most an above average adventure movie.

    Hugh Jackman, as always, shows that he is the one to play Logan. Although the character in X-Men is always 2-dimensional archetypal anti-hero, at least here there is some room to flesh out his character. Unfortunately, they didn't give a lot of growth to the character. The essential theme to the film is living past regrets and pain, that the body may heal, but the mind doesn't. You get to see Wolverine trying to live past Jean Grey after X-Men 3 (and kudos to them bringing back Famke Janssen in an effort to internalise the struggle. And succeed they did!). It got him quite stuck in the grieving stage until he falls in love with Mariko Yashida. I can see where they are going with the love plot, and mostly they did an average job. It just needed more chemistry and polishing before I can believe this love story. And the coda to the film does get him past grief, but I hated Logan mentioning that "He is a soldier" and stuff. There is nothing holding him back from living with Mariko, no commitments to the X-Men (at least until the credits), and yet he chooses to live on in conflict. This isn't Batman where he has a purpose to the point of obsession, he is not tied to an altruistic cause.

    The action sequences are quite well done. Lots of melee fighting, wire-fu, and good fight choreography. The people that are suppose to fight, can do so in a heart-pounding scene. However, I must stress that the green screen effects are not so impressive. This is true in the bullet train sequence. You just can't believe Logan is fighting people on a 300mph train, because the wind and the actors don't give that sort of impression. CGI is a slight cut above average. The SIlver Samurai's armor is monochromatically silver, making it easy to model, texture and light. But it just needed more polishing before it looks like an actual object in the physical world. Several times during the final fight, the CG almost fell into last-gen video game graphics territory.

    I need to mention Yuriko, the red-haired woman. It's mentioned that she is a precog, trained in fighting. She demonstrates the latter very well, but the former is poorly conveyed. In a film, I do not like it when things are told to me, and not showed to me. The vision she had on Logan's "death" could have been shown to the audience using blurry/transition shots, and it would have been fine. As a character, she isn't quite deep; that goes to Mariko.

    Ironically the plot of the film ends up revealed to me 10 minutes into the movie. Yashida basically told Logan that he is the villain when he proposed to transfer his healing factor to another person permanently. Given that he himself is dying, and the look on his eyes show that he is a man who gets what he wants, it is no big leap or surprise to me when the big reveal shows that he is the villain. Which is probably why after the 1st action sequence, the writers decided to pull a farce and artificially deepen the movie.

    To me, complexity of the story should be reflected in depth and quality, not in the number of subplots you can juggle around with. It confuses people as to who the main players are in each subplot, and to recognise when it starts and concludes, and the magnitude of its conclusion to the main plot. Worse, given that every secondary character in this movie is 2-dimensional, superficial, and otherwise generic, it is hard to get invested. The entire Yashida clan was a nest of vipers after the "death" of the old man. There is a revenge subplot because of being left out in the will, there is the Yakuza, there is the venomous Dr., there is the ronin clan of ninjas who supposedly looks out for the Yashida clan even though they are actively hunting Mariko and Logan in a similar fashion to the Yakuza. Add Logan's grief, his loss of healing factor, and the romance, and you get a confusing web of plots that appear and disappear with no consequence. It just leaves me preoccupied with questions, instead of enjoying the film.

    One of the plot holes in the film is apparent when Logan and Mariko do not call for help from the Yashida's even when they could at some points. Its explained in a reasonable attempt later on, and validates it ex post facto, but its not good if the actors appear to read ahead of the script and act as such.

    The loss of healing factor plot to me is rivetting, as it finally shows vulnerability on Logan's side, but ultimately pointless in the grand arc. What's the point of making him vulnerable (and probably killed soon), if ultimately you need him alive to extract his healing factor, Mr Yashida? Oops, a plot hole?

    In conclusion, the Wolverine is a film about Logan moving past the grieving stage. It showed a decent development for Logan in this regard, but the web of superfluous subplots makes it difficult to enjoy the film as it is. It would be better if they just keep it simple.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    5
    How it costs to write a real story? The japanese side of Wolverine´s past have a unique glamour and a pretty variety of contents to take on,How it costs to write a real story? The japanese side of Wolverine´s past have a unique glamour and a pretty variety of contents to take on, but can Stan Lee agrees that this movie cannot be similar to HQ? It can be a great mistake! For HQ non-readers, it´s a just a movie, with no news, just a oridnary 'love and blood' movie. To Wolverine´s HQ fans it´s a deception! Silver Samurai´s saga cannot be re-writen with this weak history. Next X-Men, take care! Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    This was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to tortureThis was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, but this movie ruined the franchise. The actors were really bad and such a silly ending, this movie needed better fight scenes, actors, and plot...fire the director! Expand

See all 195 User Reviews

Trailers