The Woman in Black

Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The landscape is dire, the architecture is haunted, children disappear by the dozens and antique toys inexplicably spark to life. That Mr. Radcliffe doesn't is part of the problem.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 2, 2012
    60
    Though "Woman" never rises above its status as a traditional genre thriller, that's perfectly fine. It was made with intelligence and commitment, and it achieves its goal: to keep us looking over our shoulders long after we've left.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 2, 2012
    60
    Subtlety may not be Watkins' strong suit, but he knows how to frame a scene for maximum tension and dread.
  4. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  5. 50
    There is one nice pop-up scare against a dozen or so false, ineffectual ones - a poor percentage. As the title states, she is a woman and wears black, but she might as well be a hastily decked-out script girl for all her impact.
  6. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 3, 2012
    50
    Erstwhile boy wizard Daniel Radcliffe works no magic as a grieving lawyer in The Woman in Black, a creaky haunted-house story that's strong on creepy atmosphere but woefully deficient in the scare department.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    If, in the end, the movie fails to generate much beyond several crackling jump scares and a nicely gothic mise-en-scene, it has enough mood, and enough Radcliffe, to carry us through the mist.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    Director James Watkins knows how to make a body jump out of its skin, even if he does use the face-reflected-in-the-mirror/window trick once too often. At the same time, the film is kind of, well, silly.
  9. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    To my thinking, this splendid low-key bummer of a ghost story was eventually undermined by the film's increasing reliance on shock-scares, in which something suddenly and noisily jumps into the frame, over and over and over.
  10. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    Janet McTeer provides a little ham to the role of a woman who dresses up her dogs because she misses her dead twin sons. But there's not nearly enough of her. Nor is there enough legitimate suspense.
  11. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    The Woman in Black has lovely period atmosphere. Unfortunately, it doesn't have much else besides atmosphere.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    The film is wonderfully atmospheric and full of little frights, but its overall impact is only glancing.
  13. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    In his first starring role post-Harry Potter, Radcliffe must carry the movie with little dialogue and practically nothing to play other than fear, constantly reacting to creepy toys that suddenly spring to life and reflections in windows that shriek unexpectedly at him.
  14. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 1, 2012
    50
    Without Radcliffe at the center looking scared out of his wits, The Woman In Black would seem even slighter than it already does.
  15. Feb 1, 2012
    50
    In the end, The Woman in Black displays a higher regard for the material makeup of gruesome-looking Victorian dolls than it does for the psychological turmoil of its characters, making one wish that some of the money it budgeted for cranes and fog machines had been offered to a script doctor.
  16. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 2, 2012
    42
    Despite its haunted house setting, the movie's most visible cobwebs are found in Jane Goldman's screenplay, adapted from Susan Hill's novel.
  17. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 2, 2012
    40
    A credible suspense story with a surprisingly bold ending, The Woman In Black is a solid step away from Harry Potter for star Daniel Radcliffe - while it, too, is British and fantastical, the tone is sinister, adult and bleak.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 106
  2. Negative: 15 out of 106
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    One of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids tryingOne of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had that happen to me in any scary movie - ever. If you like gothic horror films, definitely check this out. I have no idea how the 2 negative reviewers felt the way they did. I do not share a single feeling with anything they said. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    â
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    Well, this being my wildcard of the weekend, I decided to see it anyways and was not impressed though my expectations were already in theWell, this being my wildcard of the weekend, I decided to see it anyways and was not impressed though my expectations were already in the thoughts of well, you're taking Harry Potter and thrusting that actor into a horror movie role. Radcliffe's acting was not bad, actually it was decent, however it was the boring script and thrills and spooks around every corner that you could see a mile away that really bring this movie down in my opinion. The movie itself, not the acting was the disappointment to me and though as some reviewers have said that this is the end of Radcliffe's career, let's be honest here. Every actor needs to take chances and this was just one chance that turned into a bad one for the young actor. He will rebound (it is not like he needs the money) just not with this movie. Full Review »