The Woman in Black

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 279
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This is one of those movies where the simpler it is, the better. "The Woman in Black" is a suspenseful horror, with frequent scares and eerie settings. It proves that an old fashion ghost story can still be frightening, even in an era of mindless slashers like the "Saw" series.
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Scary movie with a lot of suspense and mystery. I thought Daniel played an excellent character. I didn't see that ending coming but it made for a good closing. Well worth the watch.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc),In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc), bearing the "Hammer Films" name, (which TWIB does) seem old hat. If you enjoy quick scares and a predictable mystery plot, you'll probably love this film. Radcliffe is great, but it's still hard to lose sight of him as his breakout role. It'd be nice to see him in a modern, non-magic, non-supernatural setting, and the supporting cast is game. However, if you can't take supernatural horror seriously, (like me), and easily deconstruct plot structures, there's not much here for you. All in all, itâ Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    A surprisingly good film with Daniel Radcliff stepping out of the Harry Potter shadow finally. Its a nice, fairly dark, easy to follow somewhat psychological horror film. I quite enjoyed it, and it kept me on edge despite the predictability.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Good, but I was disappointed, I thought it would have been more subtle horror, but instead its just jump scares, the story was all right, and the acting was great, especially Daniel Radcliffe, who is fresh from the Potter series.
    My review would be a seven, its just that some reviews are bashing down this movie, so I want it to do well.
  6. May 5, 2012
    7
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded mansion in the middle of a marsh, in a rural English town, he has the job to arrange the paperwork, in order to sell the house and moves there to deal with it.

    From here begins the story that unfolds from the occurrence of sinister events, and the villagers strange reactions, who fear a superstition that curses the village.

    The film is well done, visually, has a sad and gloomy, dark atmosphere typical of Gothic-themed movies. There's no abuse of special effects or blood, and the film relies more on the atmosphere of suspense, until the end of the movie.

    I just noticed a inconsistency in the filming, when two characters are driving, in a open car, and the hair of the characters do not move - after that I noticed no other gross errors.

    The music, which only appears discrete and pertinently, and the sound effects are good, and helps to compose the general atmosphere.

    What stands out in this movie is the performance of Radcliffe, beginning to get off of his eternal role of Harry Potter: his acting in the movie are very good.

    The main story unfolds gradually as the secrets of the house, the legend and its ghosts are explained until the end of a film that follows and the Gothic style ending.

    Just as a note, the film is based on the book by Susan Hill, written in 1982, which has the same name, and has the same story, but with modifications in the sequence of events and the ending.

    Overall is a good movie to pass the time, being a good classic tale of Gothic horror-thriller, related to ghosts and haunting, but nothing that really stands out among the many films that exist.

    My score: 6.8 / 10.0.
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    7
    this movie was good but it wasnt great. it had the scares bbut it was a little boring when you wernt scared. but.... the acting was great. so that makes a 6 go to a 7
  8. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of the best horrors you have ever seen, I loved how many scares there are in the movie that you see coming, and yet they work every single time because of how terrifying they are. The atmosphere and story are brilliant. Bravo.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Very good movie. The story was well done. It was not over the top. Crazy ghost, haunted house, small town, and a creepy felling through the movie. Some people like blood and gore in there movies. If you like blood and gore this is not the movie to see. just go home and pop in a low budget horror film and in joy.
  10. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    One of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had thatOne of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had that happen to me in any scary movie - ever. If you like gothic horror films, definitely check this out. I have no idea how the 2 negative reviewers felt the way they did. I do not share a single feeling with anything they said. Expand
  11. GBE
    Feb 6, 2012
    9
    If Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films backIf Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films back in the day. Recommended if you love old stories about haunted houses and castles and weird old towns with superstitions and stuff. I suspect that the general public will find it a bit boring since it lets the story slowly evolve and doesn't feature any gory deaths or people getting tortured or silly gimmicks. Daniel Radcliffe was pretty good, if a bit young for the role. Here's hoping for more alternatives to the usual torture porn and Japanese horror remakes that have become the boring norm lately. Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    this film is a outstanding horror with scenes that make you jump out of your seat. i am impressed with Daniel Radcliffe i didn't think he would get out of harry potter but he did. people are saying that the special effects were bad, THEY ARE STUPID, the special effects were great. finally if i could pick any horror film to see again i would see this one.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    "The Woman in Black" makes you jump and scream. A new way to scare much more different than the movies we usually watch nowadays, much better too.
    Its a really good movie and the actors and actresses do their best, they all make you feel as if you were in the movie, and so you get scared.
  14. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This is horror! When you look it alone in the night.. lights are off and you're tired! After movie you can smell your own fear! .............................................................................
  15. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This movie is a great scary film with lots of 'boo' moments and leaves you pale and shaky. There is an emotional part towards the end. Very Good film that I would watch again.
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Yeah, finally a new horror classic, The Woman in Black is great (the show, and the book are better), but this adaptation is really incredible, have much interesting elements, and the performance of Radcliffe, is great, I forget that he is Harry Potter in the films. The Woman in Black is a great interesting film.
  17. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    This is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film notThis is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film not scary... Daniel Radcliffe's performance is being criticised for being un-emotional and bland but as his wife died and all he lives for is his son and he is generally quite unhappy you can hardly expect him to be an enthousiastic person right!? I think he plays the role very well and this was the thing I feared the most, that he would be Harry Potter forever and hard to take seriously, but the opposite was the case. The only criticism I have is the ending which was a bit cliche..... Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    it will creep you out. does it play its part as a horror movie? it certainly does. it's not gory, but the atmospheres that are created in the movie along with some genuine surprises along the way will have you cringing in fear. i thoroughly enjoyed it! Radcliffe's performance was absolutely brilliant.
  19. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Great horror movie! Was jumping about every 5 seconds! Would definately recommend it! Great acting and a really good plot. It gave me goosebumps, and I don't generally get goosebumps. Has good twists and frights and just when you think you know what will happen next, it changes. Great film.
  20. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Wow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, justWow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, just sudden loud moments where things pop out at you. My friend and I both liked the film and thought it was entertaining. Daniel Radcliffe plays the part well - the actual star of the film is the house and atmosphere. Any decent actor could do the role. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A breathtaking movie and quite intriguing for the way it is carried and operated by Arthur Kipps (Daniel Radcliffe). We might say that eventually, in the twenty-first century, the horror is not a cliché.
  22. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    The Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which areThe Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which are rather good. The film, in the very capable hands of director James Watkins (who, after making Eden Lake 4 years ago, appears to be steadily working his way through the horror sub-genres) and writer Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) is a great example of well-defined, engaging storytelling. Daniel Radcliffe, playing Lawyer and widower Arthur Kipps is decent enough, if not exceptional, but at least he's beginning to distance himself from Harry Potter, and Ciaran Hinds is a reliable talent as always, bringing a sense of gravitas to his role as landowner Sam Daily. While the scares are plentiful, they never degrade to the lazy extremes of much modern Hollywood horror - it's not gory, it's not sadistic, and while you are made to jump out of your seat on numerous occasions, it's often when you least expect it. You'll be bracing yourself for a scare, and then it doesn't come, or it comes just as you've let down your guard, and sometimes just before you think it's going to happen, and there's an art to that. The imagery is also incredibly frightening, from the creepiest haunted house in the world that the majority of the story takes place in, to the huge number of nightmarish "children's toys" the filmmakers have managed to appropriate (it's quite disturbing to find out that they weren't made for the film, but lent by a collector of antique toys - what kind of a sick Edwardian parent would give those to a child?), to the appearance of the eponymous Woman in Black herself (portrayed by Liz White with the assistance of heavy makeup and a bit of CGI trickery). The film doesn't just look scary but sounds scary too - you'll definitely have a shiver running up your spine the next time you hear a wooden creak (perhaps from a rocking chair moving of its own accord) that's for certain. A nod should also be given to the film's production designers - everything from the village of Crythin Gifford, to Eel Marsh House, to the costumes look authentically Edwardian, and ground the film's supernatural events in some semblance of reality. The film is not quite flawless, however - the eerie mood and unrelenting tension maintained throughout the film is completely lost in a rather embarrassing, melodramatic finale, which is a little annoying, as if not for these last ten minutes or so, the film could have been a modern horror classic. Even with its unsatisfying conclusion, however, The Woman in Black is an effectively chilling, atmospheric and well-written film that will likely stay on your mind whenever you turn out the lights, as all good ghost stories should. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    This was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn'tThis was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn't directed as it should have been. All in all it is a good non-gory scare that will leave you mostly satisfied. Expand
  24. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    Getting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story isGetting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story is straightforward and directly told - there's no messing about with any sub-plots - and the supporting cast, especially Ciaran Hinds give the whole a plausible momentum. The producers knew that their audience would be wide and wisely left out the kind of gore and horror associated with Hammer's better known movies: anyone hoping for something more graphic will be disappointed. Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I suppose I am one of the few who don't think Daniel Radcliffe is a bad actor because film great, it gave all the necessary chills and scares but still giving us an understanding of why it is all happening.
    For a PG it was pretty scary and the ending was satisfying as well as creepy.
    It is a film you should see but don't expect any magic.
  26. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I once heard that Daniel Radcliffe, or more widely known as "Harry Potter" , never had to work again due to the series Harry Potter. From the acting he performed in this movie and the overall performance, that rumor should have stayed true.
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, to start off with, The Woman in Black was probably one of the better horror movies that I've witnessed so far this year. With a classic feel to it, and it also taking place in an older time, really set the atmosphere for this film. However, being slight of a Harry Potter film fanatic, (even though I didn't exactly dress up like one of the characters on opening nights), I couldn't get it out of my head that Daniel Radcliffe didn't have a scar on his head and was preparing a trip on the train to Hogwarts to learn more about spells. This time around, he is a down on his luck lawyer, with a child, and a wife that has passed away, and also a 5 o' clock shadow that I couldn't stop looking at. He is pretty much forced to go to an old house in order to do some paperwork to settle the death of this woman. He isn't told much else when going to this house, but he should of gotten the picture while passing the villagers weird stares and hurried movements to get away from him. As he settles into the house, the action pretty much shoots right up, no slow build ups like certain recent 'activity' has been doing. Also sticks to it's PG-13 rating with a lack of blood although keeping its dark tone. Without giving too much away, this movie is pretty good in my opinion, mostly lost some points due to the fact that some feeling was lost in the theater when I was paired with an unruly group, also am still getting off the train that used to lead to Hogwarts myself that that ship has sailed. Although I do have to respect he's getting out there and looking for more than just nerdy glasses and made up chants. A 7 out of 10. Expand
  28. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I liked this movie. I didnt find it scary but more jumpy in two or three parts. Acted really well although Dan Radcliffe at the beginning of the movie was a bit poor he ends up stepping it up.
  29. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This was a beautifully crafted, suspense-filled thriller. On the edge of my seat, holding my breath, I was completely engrossed in this film. Daniel Radcliffe was superb, as was the rest of the cast. A great story with great scare - without unnecessary blood and gore. Definitely see it.
  30. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary moviesI thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary movies as I am! Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2014
    7
    The tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commitThe tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commit a way crime too many horror movies do in order to keep things going; making it's characters morons.

    It's another horror movie where the town is warns the outsider to leave, but never gives him a reason as to why. When all they do is act unfriendly and drop some of the most vague hints of all time it's not hard to see why they can't get rid of Radcliffe's "Arthur Kipps." However what is unexplainable is why his character sticks around the obviously haunted house for so long.

    Every time he hears some unnatural noise or catches a glimpse of a ghoulish specter, despite knowing that it's the work from forces of the beyond, he goes and investigates anyway. It ends up working great for us on one end, because there really are some great scares. However it means that the whole scenario sacrifices intelligence and believability in order to actually exist. It's a sad flaw.

    However where "The Woman in Black" succeeds, it succeeds well, and that's in being a genuinely good horror movie. Very rarely are you going to find scares this good. So while it stumbles in intelligence it delivers fear. Considering it's a horror movie that makes it mostly a win. My total score for the movie is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  32. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    The Woman in Black is an extremely creepy horror movie. It gets plus points for not being grotesque or overly violent. It loses points for being a blatant rip-off of The Haunting. And post-Potter Daniel Radcliffe is good in this too.
  33. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    After watching this movie twice a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that this film was one of the most frightening and atmospheric works of modern horror that I have seen so far this year. However, like every single other modern horror film, it relies far too heavily on jump scares and the ending, in my opinion, felt rushed and was a disappointing conclusion to a film that up until thatAfter watching this movie twice a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that this film was one of the most frightening and atmospheric works of modern horror that I have seen so far this year. However, like every single other modern horror film, it relies far too heavily on jump scares and the ending, in my opinion, felt rushed and was a disappointing conclusion to a film that up until that point had been very good as a ghost story. The main reason I loved was because it had the one element that I believe makes an effective horror film or novel; atmosphere. You really felt a sense of the enormous evil that lay within the mansion and just like the main character were constantly on edge and dreaded the dark nights, knowing that the woman in black of the title would have even scarier things in store for you. Overall, I would say that this film was actually very good as a ghost story and despite a few flaws in its structure, it delivers a frightening thrill ride that stays in your memory long after you've seen it. In other words, it is nowhere near as bad as other critics say it is. Expand
  34. May 19, 2012
    8
    in one word a perfect horror film . The Woman in Black did a amazing job with the classic horror tone with some amazing tecnik . the dark weather , small British village , it was freaking awesome and really enjoyable .
  35. Aug 30, 2015
    7
    The plot progresses at an uneven pace and many of the what should have been dialogue is replaced with scenes of Daniel Radcliffe intensely staring at dark corners, but "The Woman in Black" turns out to be a clever and enjoyable horror flick.
  36. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    The Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is stillThe Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is still pretty good...and frightening. Collapse
  37. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    A horror film that really puts fear that keeps you glued to the chair throughout the film. I was really surprised by this movie and the ending will not be those who will remain in history as "The Sixth Sense" or "The Others", but is by no means trivial.
  38. May 22, 2012
    7
    Ten points to gryffindor! Haha. All jokes aside this is a well done movie with an ever-creepy atmosphere. There are constant frights and spooks that keep it fresh. The one pitfall I noticed was that it borrowed a whole heck of a lot from Insidious, I enjoyed it though.
  39. May 1, 2012
    7
    Deliciously intense, with a classic sort of haunted house terror that is thoroughly enjoyable. The difference (and this I found interesting) is that the audience never quite comes to terms with the ghost- but just enough to add a bit of spice to the experience.
  40. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    This is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of youThis is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of you if you are into horror/ suspense movies with awesome storylines this is for you Expand
  41. KJJ
    Apr 8, 2012
    10
    This movie cheats - the ending is totally illogical and doesn't fit the rest of the story - there is nothing to lead to it - not bad till then, but you'll be asking yourself "What happened?" Totally unsatisfying.
  42. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Hammer Horror returns in full force in the 2012 film adaptation of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, starring Daniel Radcliffe. A lowly young lawyer is sent to prepare the sale of a grand old estate, the Eel Marsh House, but unbeknownst to him, the house carries with it an ominous curse that has been plaguing the children of the small town for years. After settling in, Arthur begins experiencingHammer Horror returns in full force in the 2012 film adaptation of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, starring Daniel Radcliffe. A lowly young lawyer is sent to prepare the sale of a grand old estate, the Eel Marsh House, but unbeknownst to him, the house carries with it an ominous curse that has been plaguing the children of the small town for years. After settling in, Arthur begins experiencing horrific visions as the ghosts of the past return to haunt him! THE WOMAN IN BLACK is an excellent revival of the Gothic tradition that echoes the works of Jack Clayton and Alejandro Amenábar in their retellings of the classic novella, The Turn of the Screw. A constant sense of dread befalls the viewer as we are drowned in mists and shadows. Director James Watkins takes a timely approach to storytelling of his own which pays off entirely, and allows for many long, drawn out sequences to incrementally heighten the tension and suspense as we await the final shock in the end. THE WOMAN IN BLACK also focuses heavily on eerie effects which can be achieved in frame rather than destroying the fantasy through computerized scares. Daniel Radcliffe is amply equipped for the role as the grieving lawyer Arthur Kipps, and plays perfectly in to the Edwardian setting. One can only hope that this will continue to spark more ghostly haunts in the terrifying tradition of the Hammer House of Horror. Expand
  43. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    The Woman in Black was not as scary as I thought but its still a really good film. The Woman in Black 7.8/10
  44. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scary,thrilling and a decent classic horror movie with good acting.
    when the trailer was out i was so excited to watch this plus Daniel Radcliffe was playing Arthur.
    He really did a great job.He played his character with seriousness and maturity.
    other than that,The woman in black didn't missed any chance to make us jump from our seats .
    it was so chilling experience to watch it my room and when i was home alone.
    some scenes gave me a heart attack.
    The climax where she give a look at us is damn scary.

    What movie misses is the justification with Susan Hill's novel.
    the weak script and dull characterisation.if this film got these things right .it would have been one of the best horror movies ever made.
    but,it doesn't disappoint you,you ask to be scared and you get what you asked for.
    At least,its better than that teen horror genre.
    a triumph of classic supernatural horror genre.
    Expand
  45. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    The Woman in Black gains notoriety for two things mainly - proof that Daniel Radcliffe can have a successful post-Potter career, and a genuine sense of suspense in most scenes that is barely displayed in many current horror films. Radcliffe isn't given much of a character to work with, or much dialogue, but he does well with what he has to and comes of as an acceptable leading man. ThisThe Woman in Black gains notoriety for two things mainly - proof that Daniel Radcliffe can have a successful post-Potter career, and a genuine sense of suspense in most scenes that is barely displayed in many current horror films. Radcliffe isn't given much of a character to work with, or much dialogue, but he does well with what he has to and comes of as an acceptable leading man. This plays out like a standard genre piece and falls into some of the genre's traps, but it uses its haunting production design and eerie lingering images to generate air. We don't care much for the characters or what happens to them, and that is one of the biggest reasons I don't enjoy many movies, but it remains to be one of the better scare flicks made in years recent and that fact alone deserves to be raved about. Expand
  46. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    A really underrated and under appreciated film. Very scary. What makes The Woman in Black great is the camerawork and direction, building up a large amount of suspense that makes you jump at the slightest things. This movie should have been nominated for best film editing, too.
  47. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Its hard not to review this movie without comparing it to the 'The Orphanage', old spooky house, ghosts, and in its own way a very similar ending. Its a decent film, very tightly directed with at times stunning cinematography, the scares rely a bit too much on sudden loud noises, but hey, it still makes you jump. Harry potter does a decent job, with a very low key, unshowy performance andIts hard not to review this movie without comparing it to the 'The Orphanage', old spooky house, ghosts, and in its own way a very similar ending. Its a decent film, very tightly directed with at times stunning cinematography, the scares rely a bit too much on sudden loud noises, but hey, it still makes you jump. Harry potter does a decent job, with a very low key, unshowy performance and the story just about passes muster, the problem is it suffers in comparison in every way to 'the orphanage', which creates an overwhelming sense of dread throughout without cheap (loud) tricks and just has a much, much better story. So, if your in the mood for an old fashioned ghost story, then this is definitely worth watching, but if you want something better, then rent 'The Orphange'. Expand
  48. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    I was really excited when this movie came out. I watched it and I wasn't to dissapointed however some parts could have been better. I thought Daniela Radcliffe did an amazing job in his first adult performance. This movie isn't that scary however it is PG-13.
  49. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Holy F*********n **** this movie is the scariest movie I have ever seen. The Women in Black literally blends into her mansion, very well. She becomes the shadows, and lives in the shadows, and the only reason she will come out is to kill children. now don't get me wrong, this is an amazing movie, it's just. Well If you are somewhere around 13 years old or younger, you will still get scaredHoly F*********n **** this movie is the scariest movie I have ever seen. The Women in Black literally blends into her mansion, very well. She becomes the shadows, and lives in the shadows, and the only reason she will come out is to kill children. now don't get me wrong, this is an amazing movie, it's just. Well If you are somewhere around 13 years old or younger, you will still get scared out of your mind. Expand
  50. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    " I believe the most rational mind can play tricks in the dark." - Daily

    A great horror movie.A mystery house in a strange world. I jumped at every scene.
  51. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    Yes, some of the scares are as predictable as they come. And it's still a little strange to see Daniel Radcliffe playing father to a four year old boy, although at 22 it's definitely possible that he could be the child's dad. But director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) have done a terrific job in creating the spooky atmosphere needed to envelopeYes, some of the scares are as predictable as they come. And it's still a little strange to see Daniel Radcliffe playing father to a four year old boy, although at 22 it's definitely possible that he could be the child's dad. But director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) have done a terrific job in creating the spooky atmosphere needed to envelope audiences in this old-fashioned world full of superstitious villagers and ghostly happenings. Things that go bump in the night can harm you in The Woman in Black, and the fact children are the ghost's victims ups the tension and heightens the scares. Expand
  52. Aug 11, 2015
    7
    Although it is littered with jump scares left, right and centre, The Woman in Black does a pretty good job at building suspense and creating a incredibly suspenseful atmosphere for these characters to interact in. The acting in this movie is pretty good with a few weak and glum performances from secondary characters. I wanted to see a psychological effect of trauma on these troubledAlthough it is littered with jump scares left, right and centre, The Woman in Black does a pretty good job at building suspense and creating a incredibly suspenseful atmosphere for these characters to interact in. The acting in this movie is pretty good with a few weak and glum performances from secondary characters. I wanted to see a psychological effect of trauma on these troubled people, the depression aspect is good, it just needed to evolve a little more. In the end, I had a good time with this movie and I did almost **** my pants at a couple stages :( , just needed more psychological elements to it. Expand
  53. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I'm really glad that Daniel Radcliffe found something else other than Harry Potter to star in. His performance in this movie was stellar. Other than the performances being good, it was terrifying! The night you watch it you won't be able to go to sleep for days. If the writers take the time to make a second one, it better be decent.
  54. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Was very enjoyable, very scary and is a horror movie you do not want to miss out on. I felt the movie could have been a little bit longer, but other than that this was a very enjoyable movie.
  55. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I like this movie most horror movies have an unnecessary amount of swearing but not this one. I showed a trailer to my friend and he said it look to scary for a PG-13 movie
  56. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best so far in this genre as per me. The location is perfect the characters are perfect, sound effects are outstanding.Making the story circle around the village without taking your viewers to a land of boredom is a tough job,and I guess the director did a good job by keeping the audience thinking.There are some scenes where you get goose bumps and trust me no one ever sees those coming.It is everything that a horror movie should have.I was a bit disappointed with the way the movie ends.The climax could have been a bit better. Expand
  57. Mar 5, 2015
    7
    This is not the scariest movie ever but he has is creepy moments.Daniel Radcliffe who is an average actor is surprisingly good in the movie.The movie is entertaining and surprisingly good.
  58. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    It had some pretty scary parts in the middle part of the movie, and I liked the story, setting, and atmosphere of the movie. It feels like a more traditional haunted house movie than most newer ones. I did like this overall, but I guess I was hoping for a little bit more since a lot of the scares fell flat at the end of the movie. Speaking of the ending, I did really like the ending. IIt had some pretty scary parts in the middle part of the movie, and I liked the story, setting, and atmosphere of the movie. It feels like a more traditional haunted house movie than most newer ones. I did like this overall, but I guess I was hoping for a little bit more since a lot of the scares fell flat at the end of the movie. Speaking of the ending, I did really like the ending. I recommend it. Expand
  59. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Summary: The Woman in Black is an old-fashioned horror film with a well handled suspense. 82/100 [B+]

    The Woman in Black is directed by James Watkins and it's a remake of the eponymous 1989 movie based on the book by Susan Hill. Moving on, the opening scene is strange and creepy, I liked it. Anyway, I have to admit that the first act was kinda slow and a little bit boring. Surprisingly,
    Summary: The Woman in Black is an old-fashioned horror film with a well handled suspense. 82/100 [B+]

    The Woman in Black is directed by James Watkins and it's a remake of the eponymous 1989 movie based on the book by Susan Hill. Moving on, the opening scene is strange and creepy, I liked it. Anyway, I have to admit that the first act was kinda slow and a little bit boring. Surprisingly, the second half is more violent, intense and suspenseful. Also, I liked the performances, Daniel Radcliffe performs a single dad called Arthur Kipps and another standout performances were from Ciarán Hinds and Janet McTeer. I also loved the old-fashioned style of the film, it has a splendid selection of period furniture and costume design.

    The Woman in Black boasts an impressive level of terror, the atmosphere of the film is frightening and most of the scares were unpredictable. Also, the sound effects were terrific and so well done. It has no gore, but instead of that, it delivers so many effective scares, I almost died! There was enough originality on its surprises. Even though I have to admit that this horror movie is more of the same crap, I mean: the loud noises, things moving by itself and creepy shadows; still scary as hell! Yeah, it doesn't offer something new to the horror genre, but still terrifying. Also, the stunning camera work increases the dread at times.

    I'm glad that Watkins decided to use practical effects instead of cheap CGI. The Woman in Black is a movie that does not look crappy or cheaply done. In spite of its modest budget, the production was splendid. Moving on, as I said above the film counts with a very creepy sound design, the loud noises are constant but they came at the right times and efficiently. I saw this film in the morning and it scared the crap out of me, my point here is that it doesn't matter if you see it during the day or at night, it will scare the hell out of you. Watkins proves that he is a talented director and I just hope to know more about him soon. What a horror flick!

    On the upside: the ending was strangely awesome, the house is creepy as hell (the rooms and empty hallways add some spookiness to the film), it has excellent performances and the production design was great. On the downside: a few jump-scares were unnecessary and the first 30 minutes are boring as hell. So, in conclusion, I recommend it for horror fans and non-horror fans. Woman in Black is an audience pleaser and the perfect film to watch with some friends at night. Although it doesn't offer something fresh or new to the genre, it keeps the tension for most of the time and there's a very scary sequence at the first 50 minutes. [B+]
    Expand
  60. SAV
    Jul 27, 2015
    8
    Remake dell'omonimo film del 1989, The Woman in Black è una fascinosa e appassionante storia di fantasmi tratta dal celebre romanzo gotico dell'autrice britannica Susan Hill. Il film si svolge durante i primi anni del 900 ed ha per protagonista Arthur Kipps, un giovane legale rimasto vedovo subito dopo la nascita del figlio. Arthur, per motivi di lavoro, si ritroverà costretto adRemake dell'omonimo film del 1989, The Woman in Black è una fascinosa e appassionante storia di fantasmi tratta dal celebre romanzo gotico dell'autrice britannica Susan Hill. Il film si svolge durante i primi anni del 900 ed ha per protagonista Arthur Kipps, un giovane legale rimasto vedovo subito dopo la nascita del figlio. Arthur, per motivi di lavoro, si ritroverà costretto ad alloggiare in una inquietante magione abbandonata e si ritroverà così ad aver a che fare con uno spirito maligno con le sembianze di una donna vestita a lutto. Film dell'orrore entusiasmante che sa regalare più di un brivido e fa saltare dallo spavento in più di un occasione. Consigliatissimo a chi, come il sottoscritto, ama le storie sui fantasmi e sulle case infestate. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Even now we know he’ll thrive post-Hogwarts, Radcliffe impresses as Arthur Kipps, the solicitor, widower and father with an invested interest in the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.