The Woman in Black

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 286

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 5, 2016
    7
    WHAT I LIKED: A sophisticated, story driven, classic horror movie with jumpy moments and exciting tension. It might not be the most scary or gory horror film, but in a genre dominated with fairly bland attempts to shock and frighten, it's refreshing to see a film driven by character
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Sadly not so 'plot' driven - the second act of this film does get a little dull after a
    WHAT I LIKED: A sophisticated, story driven, classic horror movie with jumpy moments and exciting tension. It might not be the most scary or gory horror film, but in a genre dominated with fairly bland attempts to shock and frighten, it's refreshing to see a film driven by character
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Sadly not so 'plot' driven - the second act of this film does get a little dull after a while as the same man creeping around the same house can only be made so interesting.
    VERDICT: A good classic horror, that appeals thanks to the mystery of the story.
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2015
    8
    The Woman in Black is a deeply unsettling and scary horror film that really does some interesting things within the horror genre. A twist on the haunted house story with an explanation and backstory, The Woman in Black features a very good performance from Daniel Radcliffe, as well as a good one from Ciaran Hinds. The production design is great and greatly contributes to the greatThe Woman in Black is a deeply unsettling and scary horror film that really does some interesting things within the horror genre. A twist on the haunted house story with an explanation and backstory, The Woman in Black features a very good performance from Daniel Radcliffe, as well as a good one from Ciaran Hinds. The production design is great and greatly contributes to the great atmosphere created by the film that really unsettles you. In regards to the twist, there is a great scene where we get a POV shot from the ghosts perspective as we finally see her take on things and why everything is happening, which is really interesting. The ending is a little odd and I cannot tell if it is touching or terrifying. Regardless, The Woman In Black is really well done and very much a terrifying film that sets out to achieve certain goals and excels at all of them. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2015
    8
    As for all the better horror flicks, the scariest things are the ones you don't actually see. On that aspect this movie delivers, it relies mostly on a solid storyline, good acting, ambiance, atmosphere, music, creepy imagery and spooky objects rather than jumpscares and loud sounds or a direct exposition to the main demon, at least not until the third act. Sure there is one or two loudAs for all the better horror flicks, the scariest things are the ones you don't actually see. On that aspect this movie delivers, it relies mostly on a solid storyline, good acting, ambiance, atmosphere, music, creepy imagery and spooky objects rather than jumpscares and loud sounds or a direct exposition to the main demon, at least not until the third act. Sure there is one or two loud sounds to make you jump, but it is mostly a ambiance film and this is how a good horror flick should be done. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2015
    7
    First of all, I want to say that I have not read the book, so my opinion is based only on this film. I am usually not a big fan of this supernatural "the dead can't rest, they are haunting etc." subject in films, but I quite liked this one, because I think they did a good job. The atmosphere is spooky, so much that it's not a problem that in fact little happens. I also loved that oldFirst of all, I want to say that I have not read the book, so my opinion is based only on this film. I am usually not a big fan of this supernatural "the dead can't rest, they are haunting etc." subject in films, but I quite liked this one, because I think they did a good job. The atmosphere is spooky, so much that it's not a problem that in fact little happens. I also loved that old house, they choose beautiful old furnitures, the whole thing looked really good and scary at the same time. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2015
    7
    The plot progresses at an uneven pace and many of the what should have been dialogue is replaced with scenes of Daniel Radcliffe intensely staring at dark corners, but "The Woman in Black" turns out to be a clever and enjoyable horror flick.
  6. Aug 11, 2015
    7
    Although it is littered with jump scares left, right and centre, The Woman in Black does a pretty good job at building suspense and creating a incredibly suspenseful atmosphere for these characters to interact in. The acting in this movie is pretty good with a few weak and glum performances from secondary characters. I wanted to see a psychological effect of trauma on these troubledAlthough it is littered with jump scares left, right and centre, The Woman in Black does a pretty good job at building suspense and creating a incredibly suspenseful atmosphere for these characters to interact in. The acting in this movie is pretty good with a few weak and glum performances from secondary characters. I wanted to see a psychological effect of trauma on these troubled people, the depression aspect is good, it just needed to evolve a little more. In the end, I had a good time with this movie and I did almost **** my pants at a couple stages :( , just needed more psychological elements to it. Expand
  7. SAV
    Jul 27, 2015
    8
    Remake dell'omonimo film del 1989, The Woman in Black è una fascinosa e appassionante storia di fantasmi tratta dal celebre romanzo gotico dell'autrice britannica Susan Hill. Il film si svolge durante i primi anni del 900 ed ha per protagonista Arthur Kipps, un giovane legale rimasto vedovo subito dopo la nascita del figlio. Arthur, per motivi di lavoro, si ritroverà costretto adRemake dell'omonimo film del 1989, The Woman in Black è una fascinosa e appassionante storia di fantasmi tratta dal celebre romanzo gotico dell'autrice britannica Susan Hill. Il film si svolge durante i primi anni del 900 ed ha per protagonista Arthur Kipps, un giovane legale rimasto vedovo subito dopo la nascita del figlio. Arthur, per motivi di lavoro, si ritroverà costretto ad alloggiare in una inquietante magione abbandonata e si ritroverà così ad aver a che fare con uno spirito maligno con le sembianze di una donna vestita a lutto. Film dell'orrore entusiasmante che sa regalare più di un brivido e fa saltare dallo spavento in più di un occasione. Consigliatissimo a chi, come il sottoscritto, ama le storie sui fantasmi e sulle case infestate. Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2015
    7
    This is not the scariest movie ever but he has is creepy moments.Daniel Radcliffe who is an average actor is surprisingly good in the movie.The movie is entertaining and surprisingly good.
  9. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    It had some pretty scary parts in the middle part of the movie, and I liked the story, setting, and atmosphere of the movie. It feels like a more traditional haunted house movie than most newer ones. I did like this overall, but I guess I was hoping for a little bit more since a lot of the scares fell flat at the end of the movie. Speaking of the ending, I did really like the ending. IIt had some pretty scary parts in the middle part of the movie, and I liked the story, setting, and atmosphere of the movie. It feels like a more traditional haunted house movie than most newer ones. I did like this overall, but I guess I was hoping for a little bit more since a lot of the scares fell flat at the end of the movie. Speaking of the ending, I did really like the ending. I recommend it. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Summary: The Woman in Black is an old-fashioned horror film with a well handled suspense. 82/100 [B+]

    The Woman in Black is directed by James Watkins and it's a remake of the eponymous 1989 movie based on the book by Susan Hill. Moving on, the opening scene is strange and creepy, I liked it. Anyway, I have to admit that the first act was kinda slow and a little bit boring. Surprisingly,
    Summary: The Woman in Black is an old-fashioned horror film with a well handled suspense. 82/100 [B+]

    The Woman in Black is directed by James Watkins and it's a remake of the eponymous 1989 movie based on the book by Susan Hill. Moving on, the opening scene is strange and creepy, I liked it. Anyway, I have to admit that the first act was kinda slow and a little bit boring. Surprisingly, the second half is more violent, intense and suspenseful. Also, I liked the performances, Daniel Radcliffe performs a single dad called Arthur Kipps and another standout performances were from Ciarán Hinds and Janet McTeer. I also loved the old-fashioned style of the film, it has a splendid selection of period furniture and costume design.

    The Woman in Black boasts an impressive level of terror, the atmosphere of the film is frightening and most of the scares were unpredictable. Also, the sound effects were terrific and so well done. It has no gore, but instead of that, it delivers so many effective scares, I almost died! There was enough originality on its surprises. Even though I have to admit that this horror movie is more of the same crap, I mean: the loud noises, things moving by itself and creepy shadows; still scary as hell! Yeah, it doesn't offer something new to the horror genre, but still terrifying. Also, the stunning camera work increases the dread at times.

    I'm glad that Watkins decided to use practical effects instead of cheap CGI. The Woman in Black is a movie that does not look crappy or cheaply done. In spite of its modest budget, the production was splendid. Moving on, as I said above the film counts with a very creepy sound design, the loud noises are constant but they came at the right times and efficiently. I saw this film in the morning and it scared the crap out of me, my point here is that it doesn't matter if you see it during the day or at night, it will scare the hell out of you. Watkins proves that he is a talented director and I just hope to know more about him soon. What a horror flick!

    On the upside: the ending was strangely awesome, the house is creepy as hell (the rooms and empty hallways add some spookiness to the film), it has excellent performances and the production design was great. On the downside: a few jump-scares were unnecessary and the first 30 minutes are boring as hell. So, in conclusion, I recommend it for horror fans and non-horror fans. Woman in Black is an audience pleaser and the perfect film to watch with some friends at night. Although it doesn't offer something fresh or new to the genre, it keeps the tension for most of the time and there's a very scary sequence at the first 50 minutes. [B+]
    Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2014
    7
    The tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commitThe tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commit a way crime too many horror movies do in order to keep things going; making it's characters morons.

    It's another horror movie where the town is warns the outsider to leave, but never gives him a reason as to why. When all they do is act unfriendly and drop some of the most vague hints of all time it's not hard to see why they can't get rid of Radcliffe's "Arthur Kipps." However what is unexplainable is why his character sticks around the obviously haunted house for so long.

    Every time he hears some unnatural noise or catches a glimpse of a ghoulish specter, despite knowing that it's the work from forces of the beyond, he goes and investigates anyway. It ends up working great for us on one end, because there really are some great scares. However it means that the whole scenario sacrifices intelligence and believability in order to actually exist. It's a sad flaw.

    However where "The Woman in Black" succeeds, it succeeds well, and that's in being a genuinely good horror movie. Very rarely are you going to find scares this good. So while it stumbles in intelligence it delivers fear. Considering it's a horror movie that makes it mostly a win. My total score for the movie is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  12. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    " I believe the most rational mind can play tricks in the dark." - Daily

    A great horror movie.A mystery house in a strange world. I jumped at every scene.
  13. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I like this movie most horror movies have an unnecessary amount of swearing but not this one. I showed a trailer to my friend and he said it look to scary for a PG-13 movie
  14. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    Yes, some of the scares are as predictable as they come. And it's still a little strange to see Daniel Radcliffe playing father to a four year old boy, although at 22 it's definitely possible that he could be the child's dad. But director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) have done a terrific job in creating the spooky atmosphere needed to envelopeYes, some of the scares are as predictable as they come. And it's still a little strange to see Daniel Radcliffe playing father to a four year old boy, although at 22 it's definitely possible that he could be the child's dad. But director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) have done a terrific job in creating the spooky atmosphere needed to envelope audiences in this old-fashioned world full of superstitious villagers and ghostly happenings. Things that go bump in the night can harm you in The Woman in Black, and the fact children are the ghost's victims ups the tension and heightens the scares. Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best so far in this genre as per me. The location is perfect the characters are perfect, sound effects are outstanding.Making the story circle around the village without taking your viewers to a land of boredom is a tough job,and I guess the director did a good job by keeping the audience thinking.There are some scenes where you get goose bumps and trust me no one ever sees those coming.It is everything that a horror movie should have.I was a bit disappointed with the way the movie ends.The climax could have been a bit better. Expand
  16. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of the best horrors you have ever seen, I loved how many scares there are in the movie that you see coming, and yet they work every single time because of how terrifying they are. The atmosphere and story are brilliant. Bravo.
  17. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Was very enjoyable, very scary and is a horror movie you do not want to miss out on. I felt the movie could have been a little bit longer, but other than that this was a very enjoyable movie.
  18. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    The Woman in Black is an extremely creepy horror movie. It gets plus points for not being grotesque or overly violent. It loses points for being a blatant rip-off of The Haunting. And post-Potter Daniel Radcliffe is good in this too.
  19. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I'm really glad that Daniel Radcliffe found something else other than Harry Potter to star in. His performance in this movie was stellar. Other than the performances being good, it was terrifying! The night you watch it you won't be able to go to sleep for days. If the writers take the time to make a second one, it better be decent.
  20. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Hammer Horror returns in full force in the 2012 film adaptation of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, starring Daniel Radcliffe. A lowly young lawyer is sent to prepare the sale of a grand old estate, the Eel Marsh House, but unbeknownst to him, the house carries with it an ominous curse that has been plaguing the children of the small town for years. After settling in, Arthur begins experiencingHammer Horror returns in full force in the 2012 film adaptation of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, starring Daniel Radcliffe. A lowly young lawyer is sent to prepare the sale of a grand old estate, the Eel Marsh House, but unbeknownst to him, the house carries with it an ominous curse that has been plaguing the children of the small town for years. After settling in, Arthur begins experiencing horrific visions as the ghosts of the past return to haunt him! THE WOMAN IN BLACK is an excellent revival of the Gothic tradition that echoes the works of Jack Clayton and Alejandro Amenábar in their retellings of the classic novella, The Turn of the Screw. A constant sense of dread befalls the viewer as we are drowned in mists and shadows. Director James Watkins takes a timely approach to storytelling of his own which pays off entirely, and allows for many long, drawn out sequences to incrementally heighten the tension and suspense as we await the final shock in the end. THE WOMAN IN BLACK also focuses heavily on eerie effects which can be achieved in frame rather than destroying the fantasy through computerized scares. Daniel Radcliffe is amply equipped for the role as the grieving lawyer Arthur Kipps, and plays perfectly in to the Edwardian setting. One can only hope that this will continue to spark more ghostly haunts in the terrifying tradition of the Hammer House of Horror. Expand
  21. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    A really underrated and under appreciated film. Very scary. What makes The Woman in Black great is the camerawork and direction, building up a large amount of suspense that makes you jump at the slightest things. This movie should have been nominated for best film editing, too.
  22. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Holy F*********n **** this movie is the scariest movie I have ever seen. The Women in Black literally blends into her mansion, very well. She becomes the shadows, and lives in the shadows, and the only reason she will come out is to kill children. now don't get me wrong, this is an amazing movie, it's just. Well If you are somewhere around 13 years old or younger, you will still get scaredHoly F*********n **** this movie is the scariest movie I have ever seen. The Women in Black literally blends into her mansion, very well. She becomes the shadows, and lives in the shadows, and the only reason she will come out is to kill children. now don't get me wrong, this is an amazing movie, it's just. Well If you are somewhere around 13 years old or younger, you will still get scared out of your mind. Expand
  23. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary moviesI thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary movies as I am! Expand
  24. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    This is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of youThis is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of you if you are into horror/ suspense movies with awesome storylines this is for you Expand
  25. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scary,thrilling and a decent classic horror movie with good acting.
    when the trailer was out i was so excited to watch this plus Daniel Radcliffe was playing Arthur.
    He really did a great job.He played his character with seriousness and maturity.
    other than that,The woman in black didn't missed any chance to make us jump from our seats .
    it was so chilling experience to watch it my room and when i was home alone.
    some scenes gave me a heart attack.
    The climax where she give a look at us is damn scary.

    What movie misses is the justification with Susan Hill's novel.
    the weak script and dull characterisation.if this film got these things right .it would have been one of the best horror movies ever made.
    but,it doesn't disappoint you,you ask to be scared and you get what you asked for.
    At least,its better than that teen horror genre.
    a triumph of classic supernatural horror genre.
    Expand
  26. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    The Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is stillThe Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is still pretty good...and frightening. Expand
  27. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    A horror film that really puts fear that keeps you glued to the chair throughout the film. I was really surprised by this movie and the ending will not be those who will remain in history as "The Sixth Sense" or "The Others", but is by no means trivial.
  28. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    I was really excited when this movie came out. I watched it and I wasn't to dissapointed however some parts could have been better. I thought Daniela Radcliffe did an amazing job in his first adult performance. This movie isn't that scary however it is PG-13.
  29. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Its hard not to review this movie without comparing it to the 'The Orphanage', old spooky house, ghosts, and in its own way a very similar ending. Its a decent film, very tightly directed with at times stunning cinematography, the scares rely a bit too much on sudden loud noises, but hey, it still makes you jump. Harry potter does a decent job, with a very low key, unshowy performance andIts hard not to review this movie without comparing it to the 'The Orphanage', old spooky house, ghosts, and in its own way a very similar ending. Its a decent film, very tightly directed with at times stunning cinematography, the scares rely a bit too much on sudden loud noises, but hey, it still makes you jump. Harry potter does a decent job, with a very low key, unshowy performance and the story just about passes muster, the problem is it suffers in comparison in every way to 'the orphanage', which creates an overwhelming sense of dread throughout without cheap (loud) tricks and just has a much, much better story. So, if your in the mood for an old fashioned ghost story, then this is definitely worth watching, but if you want something better, then rent 'The Orphange'. Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    The Woman in Black was not as scary as I thought but its still a really good film. The Woman in Black 7.8/10
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Even now we know he’ll thrive post-Hogwarts, Radcliffe impresses as Arthur Kipps, the solicitor, widower and father with an invested interest in the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.