The Woman in Black

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 297

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Scary movie with a lot of suspense and mystery. I thought Daniel played an excellent character. I didn't see that ending coming but it made for a good closing. Well worth the watch.
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary moviesI thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary movies as I am! Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Wow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, justWow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, just sudden loud moments where things pop out at you. My friend and I both liked the film and thought it was entertaining. Daniel Radcliffe plays the part well - the actual star of the film is the house and atmosphere. Any decent actor could do the role. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2014
    7
    The tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commitThe tone is bleak and depressing right from the start. The era is expertly captured and recreated. Even better is that this is a horror movie with genuine scares. There are some lame jump scares, but the atmosphere is king. The way it sets up for the scares by having you stare at some of the most unpleasant looking children's toys is very effective. The plot is solid even if it does commit a way crime too many horror movies do in order to keep things going; making it's characters morons.

    It's another horror movie where the town is warns the outsider to leave, but never gives him a reason as to why. When all they do is act unfriendly and drop some of the most vague hints of all time it's not hard to see why they can't get rid of Radcliffe's "Arthur Kipps." However what is unexplainable is why his character sticks around the obviously haunted house for so long.

    Every time he hears some unnatural noise or catches a glimpse of a ghoulish specter, despite knowing that it's the work from forces of the beyond, he goes and investigates anyway. It ends up working great for us on one end, because there really are some great scares. However it means that the whole scenario sacrifices intelligence and believability in order to actually exist. It's a sad flaw.

    However where "The Woman in Black" succeeds, it succeeds well, and that's in being a genuinely good horror movie. Very rarely are you going to find scares this good. So while it stumbles in intelligence it delivers fear. Considering it's a horror movie that makes it mostly a win. My total score for the movie is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    The Woman in Black is an extremely creepy horror movie. It gets plus points for not being grotesque or overly violent. It loses points for being a blatant rip-off of The Haunting. And post-Potter Daniel Radcliffe is good in this too.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A breathtaking movie and quite intriguing for the way it is carried and operated by Arthur Kipps (Daniel Radcliffe). We might say that eventually, in the twenty-first century, the horror is not a cliché.
  7. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc),In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc), bearing the "Hammer Films" name, (which TWIB does) seem old hat. If you enjoy quick scares and a predictable mystery plot, you'll probably love this film. Radcliffe is great, but it's still hard to lose sight of him as his breakout role. It'd be nice to see him in a modern, non-magic, non-supernatural setting, and the supporting cast is game. However, if you can't take supernatural horror seriously, (like me), and easily deconstruct plot structures, there's not much here for you. All in all, itâ Expand
  8. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    After watching this movie twice a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that this film was one of the most frightening and atmospheric works of modern horror that I have seen so far this year. However, like every single other modern horror film, it relies far too heavily on jump scares and the ending, in my opinion, felt rushed and was a disappointing conclusion to a film that up until thatAfter watching this movie twice a couple of weeks ago, I have to say that this film was one of the most frightening and atmospheric works of modern horror that I have seen so far this year. However, like every single other modern horror film, it relies far too heavily on jump scares and the ending, in my opinion, felt rushed and was a disappointing conclusion to a film that up until that point had been very good as a ghost story. The main reason I loved was because it had the one element that I believe makes an effective horror film or novel; atmosphere. You really felt a sense of the enormous evil that lay within the mansion and just like the main character were constantly on edge and dreaded the dark nights, knowing that the woman in black of the title would have even scarier things in store for you. Overall, I would say that this film was actually very good as a ghost story and despite a few flaws in its structure, it delivers a frightening thrill ride that stays in your memory long after you've seen it. In other words, it is nowhere near as bad as other critics say it is. Expand
  9. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    The Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which areThe Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which are rather good. The film, in the very capable hands of director James Watkins (who, after making Eden Lake 4 years ago, appears to be steadily working his way through the horror sub-genres) and writer Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) is a great example of well-defined, engaging storytelling. Daniel Radcliffe, playing Lawyer and widower Arthur Kipps is decent enough, if not exceptional, but at least he's beginning to distance himself from Harry Potter, and Ciaran Hinds is a reliable talent as always, bringing a sense of gravitas to his role as landowner Sam Daily. While the scares are plentiful, they never degrade to the lazy extremes of much modern Hollywood horror - it's not gory, it's not sadistic, and while you are made to jump out of your seat on numerous occasions, it's often when you least expect it. You'll be bracing yourself for a scare, and then it doesn't come, or it comes just as you've let down your guard, and sometimes just before you think it's going to happen, and there's an art to that. The imagery is also incredibly frightening, from the creepiest haunted house in the world that the majority of the story takes place in, to the huge number of nightmarish "children's toys" the filmmakers have managed to appropriate (it's quite disturbing to find out that they weren't made for the film, but lent by a collector of antique toys - what kind of a sick Edwardian parent would give those to a child?), to the appearance of the eponymous Woman in Black herself (portrayed by Liz White with the assistance of heavy makeup and a bit of CGI trickery). The film doesn't just look scary but sounds scary too - you'll definitely have a shiver running up your spine the next time you hear a wooden creak (perhaps from a rocking chair moving of its own accord) that's for certain. A nod should also be given to the film's production designers - everything from the village of Crythin Gifford, to Eel Marsh House, to the costumes look authentically Edwardian, and ground the film's supernatural events in some semblance of reality. The film is not quite flawless, however - the eerie mood and unrelenting tension maintained throughout the film is completely lost in a rather embarrassing, melodramatic finale, which is a little annoying, as if not for these last ten minutes or so, the film could have been a modern horror classic. Even with its unsatisfying conclusion, however, The Woman in Black is an effectively chilling, atmospheric and well-written film that will likely stay on your mind whenever you turn out the lights, as all good ghost stories should. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    This was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn'tThis was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn't directed as it should have been. All in all it is a good non-gory scare that will leave you mostly satisfied. Expand
  11. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    Getting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story isGetting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story is straightforward and directly told - there's no messing about with any sub-plots - and the supporting cast, especially Ciaran Hinds give the whole a plausible momentum. The producers knew that their audience would be wide and wisely left out the kind of gore and horror associated with Hammer's better known movies: anyone hoping for something more graphic will be disappointed. Expand
  12. May 19, 2012
    8
    in one word a perfect horror film . The Woman in Black did a amazing job with the classic horror tone with some amazing tecnik . the dark weather , small British village , it was freaking awesome and really enjoyable .
  13. Aug 30, 2015
    7
    The plot progresses at an uneven pace and many of the what should have been dialogue is replaced with scenes of Daniel Radcliffe intensely staring at dark corners, but "The Woman in Black" turns out to be a clever and enjoyable horror flick.
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Very good movie. The story was well done. It was not over the top. Crazy ghost, haunted house, small town, and a creepy felling through the movie. Some people like blood and gore in there movies. If you like blood and gore this is not the movie to see. just go home and pop in a low budget horror film and in joy.
  15. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    A surprisingly good film with Daniel Radcliff stepping out of the Harry Potter shadow finally. Its a nice, fairly dark, easy to follow somewhat psychological horror film. I quite enjoyed it, and it kept me on edge despite the predictability.
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I suppose I am one of the few who don't think Daniel Radcliffe is a bad actor because film great, it gave all the necessary chills and scares but still giving us an understanding of why it is all happening.
    For a PG it was pretty scary and the ending was satisfying as well as creepy.
    It is a film you should see but don't expect any magic.
  17. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    The Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is stillThe Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is still pretty good...and frightening. Expand
  18. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    this film is a outstanding horror with scenes that make you jump out of your seat. i am impressed with Daniel Radcliffe i didn't think he would get out of harry potter but he did. people are saying that the special effects were bad, THEY ARE STUPID, the special effects were great. finally if i could pick any horror film to see again i would see this one.
  19. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    A horror film that really puts fear that keeps you glued to the chair throughout the film. I was really surprised by this movie and the ending will not be those who will remain in history as "The Sixth Sense" or "The Others", but is by no means trivial.
  20. May 22, 2012
    7
    Ten points to gryffindor! Haha. All jokes aside this is a well done movie with an ever-creepy atmosphere. There are constant frights and spooks that keep it fresh. The one pitfall I noticed was that it borrowed a whole heck of a lot from Insidious, I enjoyed it though.
  21. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Good, but I was disappointed, I thought it would have been more subtle horror, but instead its just jump scares, the story was all right, and the acting was great, especially Daniel Radcliffe, who is fresh from the Potter series.
    My review would be a seven, its just that some reviews are bashing down this movie, so I want it to do well.
  22. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I once heard that Daniel Radcliffe, or more widely known as "Harry Potter" , never had to work again due to the series Harry Potter. From the acting he performed in this movie and the overall performance, that rumor should have stayed true.
  23. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    One of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had thatOne of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had that happen to me in any scary movie - ever. If you like gothic horror films, definitely check this out. I have no idea how the 2 negative reviewers felt the way they did. I do not share a single feeling with anything they said. Expand
  24. GBE
    Feb 6, 2012
    9
    If Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films backIf Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films back in the day. Recommended if you love old stories about haunted houses and castles and weird old towns with superstitions and stuff. I suspect that the general public will find it a bit boring since it lets the story slowly evolve and doesn't feature any gory deaths or people getting tortured or silly gimmicks. Daniel Radcliffe was pretty good, if a bit young for the role. Here's hoping for more alternatives to the usual torture porn and Japanese horror remakes that have become the boring norm lately. Expand
  25. May 1, 2012
    7
    Deliciously intense, with a classic sort of haunted house terror that is thoroughly enjoyable. The difference (and this I found interesting) is that the audience never quite comes to terms with the ghost- but just enough to add a bit of spice to the experience.
  26. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    This is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of youThis is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of you if you are into horror/ suspense movies with awesome storylines this is for you Expand
  27. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This movie is a great scary film with lots of 'boo' moments and leaves you pale and shaky. There is an emotional part towards the end. Very Good film that I would watch again.
  28. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    "The Woman in Black" makes you jump and scream. A new way to scare much more different than the movies we usually watch nowadays, much better too.
    Its a really good movie and the actors and actresses do their best, they all make you feel as if you were in the movie, and so you get scared.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Even now we know he’ll thrive post-Hogwarts, Radcliffe impresses as Arthur Kipps, the solicitor, widower and father with an invested interest in the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.