User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 232

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2014
    3
    walking, walking and walking. Is all the main character does. He hear a noise in one room and walks, this becomes boring! sure it was scary the first time they did it. But overtime, its a bore.
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    6
    Has a slow start filled with jump-scares, but eventually builds up suspense and tension, and releases scares that are relevant and unexpected.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I like this movie most horror movies have an unnecessary amount of swearing but not this one. I showed a trailer to my friend and he said it look to scary for a PG-13 movie
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Consensus: Traumatizing, frightening, suspenseful and creating a suffocating atmosphere, "The Woman in Black" is the best horror film of all time. Worldwide Box Office: $127,730,736. MY SCORE: 96/100 (A+)

    REVIEW: Directed by James Watkins "The Woman In Black" is a remake of the eponymous 1989 movie based on the book by Susan Hill. The movie starts very well showing us an eerie scene,
    but I must admit it's kind of boring at first, but after that begins all the tension, more terror, etc... The Woman in Black has excellent performances: Daniel Radcliffe fits well in his role of Arthur Kipps like all the other amazing actors (Ciarán Hinds, Janet McTeer), and certainly is very well traced the idea of ​​make this film at a time not current, and this plus all the suspense and photography, plus all the performances made ​​the perfect movie. The level of terror that The Woman In Black offers is impressive, no gore, or anything, but there are many, but many effective scares! I almost died!, forget movies like Grave Encounters, The Conjuring and The Exorcist. The Woman In Black is the best. This film Left me a little confused with the end but after saw it again and again and I understood a little more, there is much originality in the handling of many of the suspense and scares, but obviously still more of the same (loud noises, things moving by itself, shadows) and doesn't offers nothing new to the horror genre but it's incredibly frightening. No doubt that with this film Watkins showed us that has talent as a director, and I hope to know more about him soon. Another thing is the special effects, a very nice job was done with these, The Woman In Black doesn't looks cheap or done with CGI, the film despite his budget of USD 17 million, the film is looks much more than that, it has a very creepy sound effects that create a terrifying atmosphere and it has an intense finish, and also has a very stressful and traumatic picture. No matter if you see the film in the morning, afternoon or evening this will scare you and surprise you, and certainly I think it's the best horror movie of all, the best, the #1 and it's highly recommend.

    NICE: The whole atmosphere created by the movie, all the suspense, all the terror, the screaming, the scares, the performances of the entire cast, a movie that is worth seeing.

    FAIL: It doesn't offers anything new, but is very original about creating a frightening atmosphere.

    WATCH THIS MOVIE IF... You like suspense, terror without much gore, also if you expect a few odd ,bizarre, and extreme scenes.

    DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE IF... You expect much gore or Profanity.

    Twitter: @MemoBosque, Facebook: Guillermo Bosque Mendoza,
    FULL REVIEW at my Blog: www.MemoBosque.Blogspot.Mx
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    Yes, some of the scares are as predictable as they come. And it's still a little strange to see Daniel Radcliffe playing father to a four year old boy, although at 22 it's definitely possible that he could be the child's dad. But director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) have done a terrific job in creating the spooky atmosphere needed to envelope audiences in this old-fashioned world full of superstitious villagers and ghostly happenings. Things that go bump in the night can harm you in The Woman in Black, and the fact children are the ghost's victims ups the tension and heightens the scares. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best so far in this genre as per me. The location is perfect the characters are perfect, sound effects are outstanding.Making the story circle around the village without taking your viewers to a land of boredom is a tough job,and I guess the director did a good job by keeping the audience thinking.There are some scenes where you get goose bumps and trust me no one ever sees those coming.It is everything that a horror movie should have.I was a bit disappointed with the way the movie ends.The climax could have been a bit better. Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of the best horrors you have ever seen, I loved how many scares there are in the movie that you see coming, and yet they work every single time because of how terrifying they are. The atmosphere and story are brilliant. Bravo.
  8. Oct 12, 2013
    4
    An overdramatic and painfully clichéd ending doesn't help an already overdramatic and painfully clichéd movie. 75% of the film is just Daniel Radcliffe walking through the house slowly and the usual haunted house movie clichés. Not much else happens. The only positive thing about this movie is the fact that the scenery and the cinematography are beautiful, though.
  9. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Was very enjoyable, very scary and is a horror movie you do not want to miss out on. I felt the movie could have been a little bit longer, but other than that this was a very enjoyable movie.
  10. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    The Woman in Black is an extremely creepy horror movie. It gets plus points for not being grotesque or overly violent. It loses points for being a blatant rip-off of The Haunting. And post-Potter Daniel Radcliffe is good in this too.
  11. May 8, 2013
    5
    I watched this movie because it aired on Showtime and I want to see how Daniel Radcliffe performed without his Harry Potter character. I must admit, I like Radcliffe but the movie itself lacked an attention keeping plot. I dozed off in the middle twice and needed to rewind a bit to see what I missed. Sure there were some surprises enough to call this a thriller, but far from my definition of horror. I don't want to spoil the end, so I'm left wondering if I'm supposed to like the Woman in Black for that last deed or hate her more. When I'm left with a stupid question in my head it's not scoring higher than a 5. Expand
  12. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    I'm really glad that Daniel Radcliffe found something else other than Harry Potter to star in. His performance in this movie was stellar. Other than the performances being good, it was terrifying! The night you watch it you won't be able to go to sleep for days. If the writers take the time to make a second one, it better be decent.
  13. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    Daniel Radcliffe's performance is decent, though the movie is not very scary. The Woman in Black is nothing more than a repetitive plot with a good vibe.
  14. Feb 3, 2013
    1
    A movie so dull, that the 1st hour of this film is nothing more than scene, after scene, after scene, of cheap setup sequences designed to make you jump. The movie is also seriously painful to look at.
  15. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Hammer Horror returns in full force in the 2012 film adaptation of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, starring Daniel Radcliffe. A lowly young lawyer is sent to prepare the sale of a grand old estate, the Eel Marsh House, but unbeknownst to him, the house carries with it an ominous curse that has been plaguing the children of the small town for years. After settling in, Arthur begins experiencing horrific visions as the ghosts of the past return to haunt him! THE WOMAN IN BLACK is an excellent revival of the Gothic tradition that echoes the works of Jack Clayton and Alejandro Amenábar in their retellings of the classic novella, The Turn of the Screw. A constant sense of dread befalls the viewer as we are drowned in mists and shadows. Director James Watkins takes a timely approach to storytelling of his own which pays off entirely, and allows for many long, drawn out sequences to incrementally heighten the tension and suspense as we await the final shock in the end. THE WOMAN IN BLACK also focuses heavily on eerie effects which can be achieved in frame rather than destroying the fantasy through computerized scares. Daniel Radcliffe is amply equipped for the role as the grieving lawyer Arthur Kipps, and plays perfectly in to the Edwardian setting. One can only hope that this will continue to spark more ghostly haunts in the terrifying tradition of the Hammer House of Horror. Expand
  16. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    A really underrated and under appreciated film. Very scary. What makes The Woman in Black great is the camerawork and direction, building up a large amount of suspense that makes you jump at the slightest things. This movie should have been nominated for best film editing, too.
  17. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Holy F*********n **** this movie is the scariest movie I have ever seen. The Women in Black literally blends into her mansion, very well. She becomes the shadows, and lives in the shadows, and the only reason she will come out is to kill children. now don't get me wrong, this is an amazing movie, it's just. Well If you are somewhere around 13 years old or younger, you will still get scared out of your mind. Expand
  18. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    I thought this movie was pretty freaky. In my opinion, Radcliffe should have waited a little longer to be in another movie because throughout the whole thing, there was that little nagging voice 'I'm Harry Potter' in the back of my head! I was officially scared when this movie was over and I wouldn't really recommend watching it alone at night if you're as big of a weenie with scary movies as I am! Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    While The Woman in Black is able to scare and keep the audience feeling tense throughout it achieves this through the use of common cheap horror techniques. Jump scares, POV shots, shallow depth-of-field e.t.c. The plot also fails to satisfy, the scares seem pointless and tell us nothing more than: the village is haunted. At times it feels like a mystery movie with elements of horror poured on to appeal to a larger demographic. It probably would have been better off as a mystery drama because the scenes that weren't centered around pointless scares were much more compelling. The Woman in Black will appeal to people simply looking for a scary movie but will be slightly underwhelming for others. Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    The Woman in Black does have its share of scares. For the most part, they are all timed so just when you think something is going to happen, it doesn't....until a good 10 seconds later. The atmosphere is plainly depressing, (as the movie was going for) Also, as it does feature Daniel Radcliffe, the movie doesn't place in the top horror movies ever created. At best, it will startle you; and at its worst, it will bore you. Diagnosis: The scenes that are creepiest are worth seeing (and will make you look twice before walking into a dark room). Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    This is the best horror film ive seen in a while. while its not a full horror movie it has a great storyline that keeps you wondering the environments are very creepy and they did everything right this movie is half suspense half horror since most of the horror is psychological there are some parts in the movie when the antagonist will pop out of no where and scare the bejesus out of you if you are into horror/ suspense movies with awesome storylines this is for you Expand
  22. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scary,thrilling and a decent classic horror movie with good acting.
    when the trailer was out i was so excited to watch this plus Daniel Radcliffe was playing Arthur.
    He really did a great job.He played his character with seriousness and maturity.
    other than that,The woman in black didn't missed any chance to make us jump from our seats .
    it was so chilling experience to watch it my room and when i was home alone.
    some scenes gave me a heart attack.
    The climax where she give a look at us is damn scary.

    What movie misses is the justification with Susan Hill's novel.
    the weak script and dull characterisation.if this film got these things right .it would have been one of the best horror movies ever made.
    but,it doesn't disappoint you,you ask to be scared and you get what you asked for.
    At least,its better than that teen horror genre.
    a triumph of classic supernatural horror genre.
    Expand
  23. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    The Woman in Black is a well-done and actually frightening adaptation that is filled with constant jump scares and great performances. The only thing I didn't like about the film was that many scenes from the novel were cut out of the film and it was really different from the book, but as a film being loosly based on the novel, it is great. TWIB is not as good as the novel but it is still pretty good...and frightening. Expand
  24. Sep 10, 2012
    2
    A painfully bad movie and a total chore to watch. The 1st hour of this film is nothing more than scene, after scene, after scene, of cheaply setup sequences designed to make you jump which fail miserably - "oh there's something else he's seen out the corner of his eye (again) which when he looks closer isn't actually there but instead there's something normal which is designed to make you jump.....again". There's no real mystery, no real suspense, and it's astounding that a film with no real content to speak of can actually make it this far through the production process, and to DVD, without anyone pointing out that there's naff-all substance to it. The last 30 min picks up the pace at least, nothing much grabs you but at least the sequence of crap events are over with quicker. And the ending, well, the less said about that the better. The fact that Harry Potter is in it is inconsequential really, he's a non-entity and a bigger personality may have carried the film more, but that doesn't stop the film itself from being an unsave-able piece of pap. Expand
  25. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    A horror film that really puts fear that keeps you glued to the chair throughout the film. I was really surprised by this movie and the ending will not be those who will remain in history as "The Sixth Sense" or "The Others", but is by no means trivial.
  26. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    Desperate times call for desperate measures, which is why The Woman In Black had to resort to jump scares in order to make it look like a horror film. Peppered with suspense and shadows, it soon became a clunky mess of awkward dialogue, Daniel turning his head dramatically and sudden events. Although I did end up being scared, it became clear that this is not how a horror film should work - I'm beginning to think less of horror films because of the use of 'suspense' and jump scares in order to make them look clever and scary. The ending didn't let the film down because, despite that fact that the ending didn't tie up any loose ends, it just felt the same all the way through. What kind of vehicle is this to boost the variety of Daniel Radcliffe's career? In my opinion, he's still on the train at Platform 9 3/4. Expand
  27. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    I was really excited when this movie came out. I watched it and I wasn't to dissapointed however some parts could have been better. I thought Daniela Radcliffe did an amazing job in his first adult performance. This movie isn't that scary however it is PG-13.
  28. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Its hard not to review this movie without comparing it to the 'The Orphanage', old spooky house, ghosts, and in its own way a very similar ending. Its a decent film, very tightly directed with at times stunning cinematography, the scares rely a bit too much on sudden loud noises, but hey, it still makes you jump. Harry potter does a decent job, with a very low key, unshowy performance and the story just about passes muster, the problem is it suffers in comparison in every way to 'the orphanage', which creates an overwhelming sense of dread throughout without cheap (loud) tricks and just has a much, much better story. So, if your in the mood for an old fashioned ghost story, then this is definitely worth watching, but if you want something better, then rent 'The Orphange'. Expand
  29. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    The Woman in Black was not as scary as I thought but its still a really good film. The Woman in Black 7.8/10
  30. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    I see horror movies to be scared, not to laugh. Being as predictable as it is "The Woman in Black' is just straight-up not a good movie. The acting from Daniel Radcliffe was good, though, however, the plot suffered from major holes, the movie went slow, and suffered from being silly. There were scenes, meant to be scary, that I just started laughing at. Its not a so-bad-its-funny type of movie its a so-bad-when-will-it-end-movie. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  2. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.
  3. 50
    There is one nice pop-up scare against a dozen or so false, ineffectual ones - a poor percentage. As the title states, she is a woman and wears black, but she might as well be a hastily decked-out script girl for all her impact.