User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 269
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This is one of those movies where the simpler it is, the better. "The Woman in Black" is a suspenseful horror, with frequent scares and eerie settings. It proves that an old fashion ghost story can still be frightening, even in an era of mindless slashers like the "Saw" series.
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Scary movie with a lot of suspense and mystery. I thought Daniel played an excellent character. I didn't see that ending coming but it made for a good closing. Well worth the watch.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc),In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc), bearing the "Hammer Films" name, (which TWIB does) seem old hat. If you enjoy quick scares and a predictable mystery plot, you'll probably love this film. Radcliffe is great, but it's still hard to lose sight of him as his breakout role. It'd be nice to see him in a modern, non-magic, non-supernatural setting, and the supporting cast is game. However, if you can't take supernatural horror seriously, (like me), and easily deconstruct plot structures, there's not much here for you. All in all, itâ Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    A surprisingly good film with Daniel Radcliff stepping out of the Harry Potter shadow finally. Its a nice, fairly dark, easy to follow somewhat psychological horror film. I quite enjoyed it, and it kept me on edge despite the predictability.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Good, but I was disappointed, I thought it would have been more subtle horror, but instead its just jump scares, the story was all right, and the acting was great, especially Daniel Radcliffe, who is fresh from the Potter series.
    My review would be a seven, its just that some reviews are bashing down this movie, so I want it to do well.
  6. May 5, 2012
    7
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded mansion in the middle of a marsh, in a rural English town, he has the job to arrange the paperwork, in order to sell the house and moves there to deal with it.

    From here begins the story that unfolds from the occurrence of sinister events, and the villagers strange reactions, who fear a superstition that curses the village.

    The film is well done, visually, has a sad and gloomy, dark atmosphere typical of Gothic-themed movies. There's no abuse of special effects or blood, and the film relies more on the atmosphere of suspense, until the end of the movie.

    I just noticed a inconsistency in the filming, when two characters are driving, in a open car, and the hair of the characters do not move - after that I noticed no other gross errors.

    The music, which only appears discrete and pertinently, and the sound effects are good, and helps to compose the general atmosphere.

    What stands out in this movie is the performance of Radcliffe, beginning to get off of his eternal role of Harry Potter: his acting in the movie are very good.

    The main story unfolds gradually as the secrets of the house, the legend and its ghosts are explained until the end of a film that follows and the Gothic style ending.

    Just as a note, the film is based on the book by Susan Hill, written in 1982, which has the same name, and has the same story, but with modifications in the sequence of events and the ending.

    Overall is a good movie to pass the time, being a good classic tale of Gothic horror-thriller, related to ghosts and haunting, but nothing that really stands out among the many films that exist.

    My score: 6.8 / 10.0.
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    7
    this movie was good but it wasnt great. it had the scares bbut it was a little boring when you wernt scared. but.... the acting was great. so that makes a 6 go to a 7
  8. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of the best horrors you have ever seen, I loved how many scares there are in the movie that you see coming, and yet they work every single time because of how terrifying they are. The atmosphere and story are brilliant. Bravo.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    The woman in black was an ok movie overall. Daniel Radcliffe did a very good job for his first movie since Harry Potter, but he didn't have very much to work with here. I liked the cinematography and the setting of the film, but the plot was just mediocre. It had its jumps and a few chilling moments, but overall The Woman in black was just decent. Good performance and a great start to aThe woman in black was an ok movie overall. Daniel Radcliffe did a very good job for his first movie since Harry Potter, but he didn't have very much to work with here. I liked the cinematography and the setting of the film, but the plot was just mediocre. It had its jumps and a few chilling moments, but overall The Woman in black was just decent. Good performance and a great start to a "new" career for Daniel Radcliffe. 4.5/10 Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Very good movie. The story was well done. It was not over the top. Crazy ghost, haunted house, small town, and a creepy felling through the movie. Some people like blood and gore in there movies. If you like blood and gore this is not the movie to see. just go home and pop in a low budget horror film and in joy.
  11. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    The Woman in Black is one of those horror movies that surprises you, but not in the typical scary way. What I mean is that this film brings back the classic terror, which is reflected in three basic things: endless suspense (the music alert bad situation; the change between light and dark atmospheres; the long distance shot throw halls, corridors, into or out of the house; and of courseThe Woman in Black is one of those horror movies that surprises you, but not in the typical scary way. What I mean is that this film brings back the classic terror, which is reflected in three basic things: endless suspense (the music alert bad situation; the change between light and dark atmospheres; the long distance shot throw halls, corridors, into or out of the house; and of course closed doors that locks mystery), then we have the tremendous feeling of isolation (the sense of being trap goes beyond the screen) and finally, the game person versus entity / monster, about this the important thing is that does not matter who wins, the clue is only hear strange things and see part or shadows of this entity, until the end of the movie when the suspense transform into pure horror which that you scream and jump out of your sit.
    This movie plays with your mind and induces you the need of solving the puzzle, and although the whole idea and the music are very acceptable; the direction, screenplay and performances (Radcliffe definitely could do it better) are very poor and makes this picture very predictable in some fragments.
    Expand
  12. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    While The Woman in Black is able to scare and keep the audience feeling tense throughout it achieves this through the use of common cheap horror techniques. Jump scares, POV shots, shallow depth-of-field e.t.c. The plot also fails to satisfy, the scares seem pointless and tell us nothing more than: the village is haunted. At times it feels like a mystery movie with elements of horrorWhile The Woman in Black is able to scare and keep the audience feeling tense throughout it achieves this through the use of common cheap horror techniques. Jump scares, POV shots, shallow depth-of-field e.t.c. The plot also fails to satisfy, the scares seem pointless and tell us nothing more than: the village is haunted. At times it feels like a mystery movie with elements of horror poured on to appeal to a larger demographic. It probably would have been better off as a mystery drama because the scenes that weren't centered around pointless scares were much more compelling. The Woman in Black will appeal to people simply looking for a scary movie but will be slightly underwhelming for others. Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    One of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had thatOne of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had that happen to me in any scary movie - ever. If you like gothic horror films, definitely check this out. I have no idea how the 2 negative reviewers felt the way they did. I do not share a single feeling with anything they said. Expand
  14. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    The Woman in Black brings enough scares to be a good quality movie. Yet, Daniel Radcliffe really wasn't the best choice for this film and it suffers from an ending that makes most of the movie quite pointless. I give this film 65%.
  15. GBE
    Feb 6, 2012
    9
    If Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films backIf Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films back in the day. Recommended if you love old stories about haunted houses and castles and weird old towns with superstitions and stuff. I suspect that the general public will find it a bit boring since it lets the story slowly evolve and doesn't feature any gory deaths or people getting tortured or silly gimmicks. Daniel Radcliffe was pretty good, if a bit young for the role. Here's hoping for more alternatives to the usual torture porn and Japanese horror remakes that have become the boring norm lately. Expand
  16. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    Daniel Radcliffe plays a London solicitor who's sent to a creepy village to wrap up an estate, but that's just an excuse for an old-fashioned haunted house expedition. Nothing's original about the approach: lots of wandering dark halls accompanied by ominous music and punctuated by sudden, loud noises. There are one or two genuinely shocking surprises, but they don't provide enough tensionDaniel Radcliffe plays a London solicitor who's sent to a creepy village to wrap up an estate, but that's just an excuse for an old-fashioned haunted house expedition. Nothing's original about the approach: lots of wandering dark halls accompanied by ominous music and punctuated by sudden, loud noises. There are one or two genuinely shocking surprises, but they don't provide enough tension to sustain the dull parts. Expand
  17. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    this film is a outstanding horror with scenes that make you jump out of your seat. i am impressed with Daniel Radcliffe i didn't think he would get out of harry potter but he did. people are saying that the special effects were bad, THEY ARE STUPID, the special effects were great. finally if i could pick any horror film to see again i would see this one.
  18. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    Not scary at all, Even with a 6 rating overall it's still overrated. It's just a generic horror film filled with lame parts that try to startle you - For example, The music will go from an average level to an incredibly high level when something breaks, something goes off, or something appears when it wasn't there before. It was just terrible.

    Radcliffe is the only good part of this
    Not scary at all, Even with a 6 rating overall it's still overrated. It's just a generic horror film filled with lame parts that try to startle you - For example, The music will go from an average level to an incredibly high level when something breaks, something goes off, or something appears when it wasn't there before. It was just terrible.

    Radcliffe is the only good part of this film but even then he has very little dialogue through out the film. There was one part in the film about 40 mins in where he doesn't utter a single word for nearly 24 mins. They made rather poor use of him imo.

    Overall, This film is simply one of many generic horror films made only to milk off the success of it's leading actor, Radcliffe in this case, and I dont care what anyone else says - This film is utter crap.
    Expand
  19. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    "The Woman in Black" makes you jump and scream. A new way to scare much more different than the movies we usually watch nowadays, much better too.
    Its a really good movie and the actors and actresses do their best, they all make you feel as if you were in the movie, and so you get scared.
  20. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This is horror! When you look it alone in the night.. lights are off and you're tired! After movie you can smell your own fear! .............................................................................
  21. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    Well, this being my wildcard of the weekend, I decided to see it anyways and was not impressed though my expectations were already in the thoughts of well, you're taking Harry Potter and thrusting that actor into a horror movie role. Radcliffe's acting was not bad, actually it was decent, however it was the boring script and thrills and spooks around every corner that you could see a mileWell, this being my wildcard of the weekend, I decided to see it anyways and was not impressed though my expectations were already in the thoughts of well, you're taking Harry Potter and thrusting that actor into a horror movie role. Radcliffe's acting was not bad, actually it was decent, however it was the boring script and thrills and spooks around every corner that you could see a mile away that really bring this movie down in my opinion. The movie itself, not the acting was the disappointment to me and though as some reviewers have said that this is the end of Radcliffe's career, let's be honest here. Every actor needs to take chances and this was just one chance that turned into a bad one for the young actor. He will rebound (it is not like he needs the money) just not with this movie. Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2012
    5
    A sometimes eerie movie with some good scares that is brought down by a thin plot, mediocre acting and a clunky script. The movie relies heavily on the fast image/ loud noise method of scaring an audience and while it can be effective, it feels cheap. Characters are all pretty bland and uninteresting, with the movie instead putting the emphasis on the scares. The movie creates a nicelyA sometimes eerie movie with some good scares that is brought down by a thin plot, mediocre acting and a clunky script. The movie relies heavily on the fast image/ loud noise method of scaring an audience and while it can be effective, it feels cheap. Characters are all pretty bland and uninteresting, with the movie instead putting the emphasis on the scares. The movie creates a nicely haunting atmosphere at some points and will probably appeal to most fans of the genre. Expand
  23. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This movie is a great scary film with lots of 'boo' moments and leaves you pale and shaky. There is an emotional part towards the end. Very Good film that I would watch again.
  24. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Yeah, finally a new horror classic, The Woman in Black is great (the show, and the book are better), but this adaptation is really incredible, have much interesting elements, and the performance of Radcliffe, is great, I forget that he is Harry Potter in the films. The Woman in Black is a great interesting film.
  25. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    Adds nothing new to the genre. Actually slept for the first 30 minutes? Good for the PG-13 family experience, but even my kids were disappointed. I would save my money and wait for a release on Dvd or Netflix.
  26. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    I was told before seeing this movie by my friends that it was the most frightening movie in the universe. Worse than Saw II. Filled with twists and turns that left you gasping for breath and culminating in an ending so tragic that the average moviegoer would end up wanting to jump in front of a train. I entered the theatre doing breathing exercises to prepare myself for the terrifyingI was told before seeing this movie by my friends that it was the most frightening movie in the universe. Worse than Saw II. Filled with twists and turns that left you gasping for breath and culminating in an ending so tragic that the average moviegoer would end up wanting to jump in front of a train. I entered the theatre doing breathing exercises to prepare myself for the terrifying moments to come. Yes, this film has received a LOT of hype in the "oh-my-God-it's-so-scary" department. All I can say is- what a rip off. There is absolutely no genuine horror in this movie. The "scary moments" are nothing more than clichéd groans of music which grow ever louder as Harry Potter runs frantically around a haunted house until something jumps out at him. Oops. Did I just say Harry Potter?That's the other thing. It's extremely difficult for me to forget that throughout my life Daniel Radcliffe has always been a boy wizard fighting to save the world from Voldemort's evil clutches. But, actually, I was impressed. Radcliffe, although only needing to use about two of his expressions in this movie (scared, freaked out, scared, etc.) did a good job. Sometimes I even looked at him for at least a couple of seconds without thinking "Why don't you try Expelliarmus on that ghost?" So the four points I gave this movie are solely dedicated to Radcliffe's acting. I felt that all other parts of the film were uncreative and predictable, and frankly, a waste of time. Expand
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    This is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film notThis is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film not scary... Daniel Radcliffe's performance is being criticised for being un-emotional and bland but as his wife died and all he lives for is his son and he is generally quite unhappy you can hardly expect him to be an enthousiastic person right!? I think he plays the role very well and this was the thing I feared the most, that he would be Harry Potter forever and hard to take seriously, but the opposite was the case. The only criticism I have is the ending which was a bit cliche..... Expand
  28. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    it will creep you out. does it play its part as a horror movie? it certainly does. it's not gory, but the atmospheres that are created in the movie along with some genuine surprises along the way will have you cringing in fear. i thoroughly enjoyed it! Radcliffe's performance was absolutely brilliant.
  29. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Great horror movie! Was jumping about every 5 seconds! Would definately recommend it! Great acting and a really good plot. It gave me goosebumps, and I don't generally get goosebumps. Has good twists and frights and just when you think you know what will happen next, it changes. Great film.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Even now we know he’ll thrive post-Hogwarts, Radcliffe impresses as Arthur Kipps, the solicitor, widower and father with an invested interest in the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.