User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 276
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This is one of those movies where the simpler it is, the better. "The Woman in Black" is a suspenseful horror, with frequent scares and eerie settings. It proves that an old fashion ghost story can still be frightening, even in an era of mindless slashers like the "Saw" series.
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    Scary movie with a lot of suspense and mystery. I thought Daniel played an excellent character. I didn't see that ending coming but it made for a good closing. Well worth the watch.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc),In comparison with other horror films released in the last year, The Woman In Black is in a class of it's own. It's exciting, compelling, thrilling and runs smoothly. That being said, it's hard to take seriously. In a cinematic world where filmmakers now strive for stark, brutal realism as real disturbing horror, the horror of yesteryear (The Mummy, Dracula, Swamp Thing, the Wolfman, etc), bearing the "Hammer Films" name, (which TWIB does) seem old hat. If you enjoy quick scares and a predictable mystery plot, you'll probably love this film. Radcliffe is great, but it's still hard to lose sight of him as his breakout role. It'd be nice to see him in a modern, non-magic, non-supernatural setting, and the supporting cast is game. However, if you can't take supernatural horror seriously, (like me), and easily deconstruct plot structures, there's not much here for you. All in all, itâ Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    A surprisingly good film with Daniel Radcliff stepping out of the Harry Potter shadow finally. Its a nice, fairly dark, easy to follow somewhat psychological horror film. I quite enjoyed it, and it kept me on edge despite the predictability.
  5. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Good, but I was disappointed, I thought it would have been more subtle horror, but instead its just jump scares, the story was all right, and the acting was great, especially Daniel Radcliffe, who is fresh from the Potter series.
    My review would be a seven, its just that some reviews are bashing down this movie, so I want it to do well.
  6. May 5, 2012
    7
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded
    "The Woman in Black" (2012) is a Gothic suspense-horror thriller, directed by James Watkins (writer and director of Eden Lake), that passes in the early twentieth century, in England: it is the story of a lawyer, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe), who lost his women in the birth of his boy, now age 7, and that are depressed ever since.

    After the death of an elderly woman who owned a secluded mansion in the middle of a marsh, in a rural English town, he has the job to arrange the paperwork, in order to sell the house and moves there to deal with it.

    From here begins the story that unfolds from the occurrence of sinister events, and the villagers strange reactions, who fear a superstition that curses the village.

    The film is well done, visually, has a sad and gloomy, dark atmosphere typical of Gothic-themed movies. There's no abuse of special effects or blood, and the film relies more on the atmosphere of suspense, until the end of the movie.

    I just noticed a inconsistency in the filming, when two characters are driving, in a open car, and the hair of the characters do not move - after that I noticed no other gross errors.

    The music, which only appears discrete and pertinently, and the sound effects are good, and helps to compose the general atmosphere.

    What stands out in this movie is the performance of Radcliffe, beginning to get off of his eternal role of Harry Potter: his acting in the movie are very good.

    The main story unfolds gradually as the secrets of the house, the legend and its ghosts are explained until the end of a film that follows and the Gothic style ending.

    Just as a note, the film is based on the book by Susan Hill, written in 1982, which has the same name, and has the same story, but with modifications in the sequence of events and the ending.

    Overall is a good movie to pass the time, being a good classic tale of Gothic horror-thriller, related to ghosts and haunting, but nothing that really stands out among the many films that exist.

    My score: 6.8 / 10.0.
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    7
    this movie was good but it wasnt great. it had the scares bbut it was a little boring when you wernt scared. but.... the acting was great. so that makes a 6 go to a 7
  8. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of the best horrors you have ever seen, I loved how many scares there are in the movie that you see coming, and yet they work every single time because of how terrifying they are. The atmosphere and story are brilliant. Bravo.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    Very good movie. The story was well done. It was not over the top. Crazy ghost, haunted house, small town, and a creepy felling through the movie. Some people like blood and gore in there movies. If you like blood and gore this is not the movie to see. just go home and pop in a low budget horror film and in joy.
  10. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    One of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had thatOne of the better scary movies I've seen in the last few years. As long as you don't go see it in a theater with a bunch of little kids trying to be funny the whole time, or scream at every part (then proceed to laugh because they screamed), this movie will genuinely creep you out. I literally got goose bumps at one point just out of sheer creepiness. I honestly can say I've NEVER had that happen to me in any scary movie - ever. If you like gothic horror films, definitely check this out. I have no idea how the 2 negative reviewers felt the way they did. I do not share a single feeling with anything they said. Expand
  11. GBE
    Feb 6, 2012
    9
    If Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films backIf Human Centipede is your idea of a good genre film, stay away from this movie. I really liked it. It's atmospheric and melancholy and has some good old fashioned spooks. The art direction and cinematography are sublime. It's definitely a throwback to the old fashioned British Horror films of the 60s and 70s and a welcome return of Hammer Films, who created some really iconic films back in the day. Recommended if you love old stories about haunted houses and castles and weird old towns with superstitions and stuff. I suspect that the general public will find it a bit boring since it lets the story slowly evolve and doesn't feature any gory deaths or people getting tortured or silly gimmicks. Daniel Radcliffe was pretty good, if a bit young for the role. Here's hoping for more alternatives to the usual torture porn and Japanese horror remakes that have become the boring norm lately. Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    this film is a outstanding horror with scenes that make you jump out of your seat. i am impressed with Daniel Radcliffe i didn't think he would get out of harry potter but he did. people are saying that the special effects were bad, THEY ARE STUPID, the special effects were great. finally if i could pick any horror film to see again i would see this one.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    "The Woman in Black" makes you jump and scream. A new way to scare much more different than the movies we usually watch nowadays, much better too.
    Its a really good movie and the actors and actresses do their best, they all make you feel as if you were in the movie, and so you get scared.
  14. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This is horror! When you look it alone in the night.. lights are off and you're tired! After movie you can smell your own fear! .............................................................................
  15. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This movie is a great scary film with lots of 'boo' moments and leaves you pale and shaky. There is an emotional part towards the end. Very Good film that I would watch again.
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Yeah, finally a new horror classic, The Woman in Black is great (the show, and the book are better), but this adaptation is really incredible, have much interesting elements, and the performance of Radcliffe, is great, I forget that he is Harry Potter in the films. The Woman in Black is a great interesting film.
  17. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    This is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film notThis is genuinely one of the scariest films I've seen. the atmosphere throughout the movie is dark and creepy and the settings are really good. At one point I had goosebumps all over and just wanted to hide behind my coat which is something I don't think I have ever done and I like to think I'm quite a hardened horror film watcher! I really don't understand how anyone finds this film not scary... Daniel Radcliffe's performance is being criticised for being un-emotional and bland but as his wife died and all he lives for is his son and he is generally quite unhappy you can hardly expect him to be an enthousiastic person right!? I think he plays the role very well and this was the thing I feared the most, that he would be Harry Potter forever and hard to take seriously, but the opposite was the case. The only criticism I have is the ending which was a bit cliche..... Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    it will creep you out. does it play its part as a horror movie? it certainly does. it's not gory, but the atmospheres that are created in the movie along with some genuine surprises along the way will have you cringing in fear. i thoroughly enjoyed it! Radcliffe's performance was absolutely brilliant.
  19. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Great horror movie! Was jumping about every 5 seconds! Would definately recommend it! Great acting and a really good plot. It gave me goosebumps, and I don't generally get goosebumps. Has good twists and frights and just when you think you know what will happen next, it changes. Great film.
  20. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Wow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, justWow - this is one angry ghost! The story is typical of a haunted house film, but the look and atmosphere is much better than usual. There were definitely scenes that gave me chills and goosebumps. The director uses the technique of being very quiet then a sudden scream and face or ghost will turn up out of nowhere to scare you, but it works even though it's predictable. No gore, just sudden loud moments where things pop out at you. My friend and I both liked the film and thought it was entertaining. Daniel Radcliffe plays the part well - the actual star of the film is the house and atmosphere. Any decent actor could do the role. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A breathtaking movie and quite intriguing for the way it is carried and operated by Arthur Kipps (Daniel Radcliffe). We might say that eventually, in the twenty-first century, the horror is not a cliché.
  22. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    The Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which areThe Woman is Black is a good old-fashioned Gothic horror story, with plenty of scares and an effective chilling atmosphere throughout. Appropriately enough for a Gothic horror, The Woman in Black was made by Hammer Film Productions, and while the company may never again see the same success it enjoyed in the 60s and 70s, its nice to see that it's still making films, some of which are rather good. The film, in the very capable hands of director James Watkins (who, after making Eden Lake 4 years ago, appears to be steadily working his way through the horror sub-genres) and writer Jane Goldman (adapting Susan Hill's novel) is a great example of well-defined, engaging storytelling. Daniel Radcliffe, playing Lawyer and widower Arthur Kipps is decent enough, if not exceptional, but at least he's beginning to distance himself from Harry Potter, and Ciaran Hinds is a reliable talent as always, bringing a sense of gravitas to his role as landowner Sam Daily. While the scares are plentiful, they never degrade to the lazy extremes of much modern Hollywood horror - it's not gory, it's not sadistic, and while you are made to jump out of your seat on numerous occasions, it's often when you least expect it. You'll be bracing yourself for a scare, and then it doesn't come, or it comes just as you've let down your guard, and sometimes just before you think it's going to happen, and there's an art to that. The imagery is also incredibly frightening, from the creepiest haunted house in the world that the majority of the story takes place in, to the huge number of nightmarish "children's toys" the filmmakers have managed to appropriate (it's quite disturbing to find out that they weren't made for the film, but lent by a collector of antique toys - what kind of a sick Edwardian parent would give those to a child?), to the appearance of the eponymous Woman in Black herself (portrayed by Liz White with the assistance of heavy makeup and a bit of CGI trickery). The film doesn't just look scary but sounds scary too - you'll definitely have a shiver running up your spine the next time you hear a wooden creak (perhaps from a rocking chair moving of its own accord) that's for certain. A nod should also be given to the film's production designers - everything from the village of Crythin Gifford, to Eel Marsh House, to the costumes look authentically Edwardian, and ground the film's supernatural events in some semblance of reality. The film is not quite flawless, however - the eerie mood and unrelenting tension maintained throughout the film is completely lost in a rather embarrassing, melodramatic finale, which is a little annoying, as if not for these last ten minutes or so, the film could have been a modern horror classic. Even with its unsatisfying conclusion, however, The Woman in Black is an effectively chilling, atmospheric and well-written film that will likely stay on your mind whenever you turn out the lights, as all good ghost stories should. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    This was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn'tThis was an above average horror flick. It isn't the best you'll ever see but it certainly won't be the worst. For those that say Daniel Radcliff's career is over or that he doesn't know how to act don't blame him for his characters lack of emotion and stiffness, blame the director. As for the movie itself it has some great scares, an awesome setting, and a great story. It just wasn't directed as it should have been. All in all it is a good non-gory scare that will leave you mostly satisfied. Expand
  24. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    Getting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story isGetting the "Harry Potter" bit out of the way first, Daniel Radcliffe does what he does best: impassioned observer. No angst, no histrionics, not much in the way of emotion at all, but he fits well enough here, in a Victorian ghost story with all the trimmings. I passed a 'pleasant' hour and a half waiting for the next jump, and there were enough to keep me interested. The story is straightforward and directly told - there's no messing about with any sub-plots - and the supporting cast, especially Ciaran Hinds give the whole a plausible momentum. The producers knew that their audience would be wide and wisely left out the kind of gore and horror associated with Hammer's better known movies: anyone hoping for something more graphic will be disappointed. Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I suppose I am one of the few who don't think Daniel Radcliffe is a bad actor because film great, it gave all the necessary chills and scares but still giving us an understanding of why it is all happening.
    For a PG it was pretty scary and the ending was satisfying as well as creepy.
    It is a film you should see but don't expect any magic.
  26. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    I once heard that Daniel Radcliffe, or more widely known as "Harry Potter" , never had to work again due to the series Harry Potter. From the acting he performed in this movie and the overall performance, that rumor should have stayed true.
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, to start off with, The Woman in Black was probably one of the better horror movies that I've witnessed so far this year. With a classic feel to it, and it also taking place in an older time, really set the atmosphere for this film. However, being slight of a Harry Potter film fanatic, (even though I didn't exactly dress up like one of the characters on opening nights), I couldn't get it out of my head that Daniel Radcliffe didn't have a scar on his head and was preparing a trip on the train to Hogwarts to learn more about spells. This time around, he is a down on his luck lawyer, with a child, and a wife that has passed away, and also a 5 o' clock shadow that I couldn't stop looking at. He is pretty much forced to go to an old house in order to do some paperwork to settle the death of this woman. He isn't told much else when going to this house, but he should of gotten the picture while passing the villagers weird stares and hurried movements to get away from him. As he settles into the house, the action pretty much shoots right up, no slow build ups like certain recent 'activity' has been doing. Also sticks to it's PG-13 rating with a lack of blood although keeping its dark tone. Without giving too much away, this movie is pretty good in my opinion, mostly lost some points due to the fact that some feeling was lost in the theater when I was paired with an unruly group, also am still getting off the train that used to lead to Hogwarts myself that that ship has sailed. Although I do have to respect he's getting out there and looking for more than just nerdy glasses and made up chants. A 7 out of 10. Expand
  28. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I liked this movie. I didnt find it scary but more jumpy in two or three parts. Acted really well although Dan Radcliffe at the beginning of the movie was a bit poor he ends up stepping it up.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Even now we know he’ll thrive post-Hogwarts, Radcliffe impresses as Arthur Kipps, the solicitor, widower and father with an invested interest in the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Boring and sedentary, not to mention only occasionally coherent, this creaking-door mystery is not much of a vehicle to display young Mr. Radcliffe's range and charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Check behind the doors. Switch on all the lights. You won't be sleeping soundly for a while.