The Words

Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Words follows young writer Rory Jansen who finally achieves long sought after literary success after publishing the next great American novel. There’s only one catch – he didn’t write it. As the past comes back to haunt him and his literary star continues to rise, Jansen is forced toThe Words follows young writer Rory Jansen who finally achieves long sought after literary success after publishing the next great American novel. There’s only one catch – he didn’t write it. As the past comes back to haunt him and his literary star continues to rise, Jansen is forced to confront the steep price that must be paid for stealing another man’s work and for placing ambition and success above life’s most fundamental three words. (CBS Film) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 6, 2012
    75
    Amazingly, though, Brian Klugman and Lee Sternthal, cowriters and codirectors of The Words, have the audacity - and the skill sets - to pull this all off. They wrest emotional truth out of hokum. They also wrest intelligent, nuanced performances from their cast.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Sep 7, 2012
    60
    The Words founders on a spurious dichotomy between love and art. Which is a pity, because the movie is smart and persuasive on the casually incremental way in which plagiarism becomes an option for people like Rory - and perhaps for anyone.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Litovitz
    Sep 7, 2012
    50
    The Words suggests that a story, whether true or not, can help get us through, if we believe it enough. Though this film can't quite pull it off, a good enough thief can get away with it.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Sep 6, 2012
    40
    For a tale of thieving, The Words plods along. Not that a literary heist is as exciting as a bank robbery, but there's a remarkable lack of tension in this story.
  5. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Sep 6, 2012
    38
    A well-acted but narratively limp indie that's undermined by a failure to connect emotionally with its audience.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 5, 2012
    16
    The idiotic melodrama The Words is a maddening contradiction: a film about the publishing industry and a great literary fraud that doesn't have a literary bone in its body or a thought in its pretty, empty little head.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    My wife and I saw the "The Words" today. There are no sex scenes, no fantastic chase scenes, no animation, no cutseu little kids. None ofMy wife and I saw the "The Words" today. There are no sex scenes, no fantastic chase scenes, no animation, no cutseu little kids. None of these...just a great story, with great dialog and characters so real they came out of the screen to share the popcorn. Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Irons, Dennis Quaid, Olivia Wilde, and Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Irons, Dennis Quaid, Olivia Wilde, and Zoe Saldana earned every dime they were paid for bringing these characters, and this story to life. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    OMFG Critics give 37% to this film Just 3 good critics ...
    They have in the eyes or what !
    This is a very good film, with a good story,
    OMFG Critics give 37% to this film Just 3 good critics ...
    They have in the eyes or what !
    This is a very good film, with a good story, good casting !
    Need more of that ?
    The actor is sexy for girls, Olivia Wilde is very lovely with more weight and all actors play well ...
    And critics give 37% 1/3 and this guys have been pay for this ...
    The world turns upside down
    Expand
  3. May 6, 2013
    9
    It was an intelligent movie that only someone like Brad Cooper could put off as lead role. Such a relief from the mindless hollywoodIt was an intelligent movie that only someone like Brad Cooper could put off as lead role. Such a relief from the mindless hollywood dumb-you-down movies that kept me in suspense. I didn't want the movie to end. We need more movies like these..... Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    Definitely deserves a positive review. Is this movie a blockbuster or meant for all audiences? No. Is it an artistic portrayal of a writer'sDefinitely deserves a positive review. Is this movie a blockbuster or meant for all audiences? No. Is it an artistic portrayal of a writer's life and a drama about deceit and choices and consequences? Absolutely. I would not recommend this movie to the everyday viewer, but I do recommend for those who like it when the art of storytelling meshes with film-making. The movie will also stay in your mind for quite a while after viewing it and I would recommend the movie for movie groups and those who discuss movies afterwards. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    The marketing machinery behind this film would have you believe this is some kind of romantic film. And they are right as far as the "someThe marketing machinery behind this film would have you believe this is some kind of romantic film. And they are right as far as the "some kind" is concerned. However this is much more than the simple premise of love amongst people.
    The Words turns out to be more of a psychological exploration in the exercise of denial and solitude. Although the pieces are hard to put together before the very last sixty seconds of the film.
    For all of you who would be paying close attention to well laid out visuals, there is a particularly relevant scene about thirty minutes into the movie. It is more of a flash. The first time our hero is laying in bed and can't get the newfound story out of his mind. That first dream, or possibly even nightmare. It begins with him hugging his wife from behind by the stove. And in a flash we see both him and her in that same French time period as if they were the characters of the story from the past. In fact, portraying the same hug...
    For some reason, those few frames stayed with me until the end of the film, and it served me well, since they become particularly relevant when Dennis Quaid finally reveals to Olivia Wilde what has really been going on all along.
    I enjoyed the intricacy of this romantic puzzle very much, and I had planned to lay it out for you in these words. But I'd rather you watch it on your own and enjoy it as I did. All I'll say is this:
    Don't assume this movie is what it seems. It's purposely disguised as a simple romantic premise. Pay attention to detail. Specially the similarities between the couple's New York apartment and the French apartment. And the parallel in events from past to present as certain elements are revealed amongst both couples. It's not a coincidence.
    Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    The romaticization of the struggling author is perhaps the most captivating aspect of The Words. Although there is a deeper, psychologicalThe romaticization of the struggling author is perhaps the most captivating aspect of The Words. Although there is a deeper, psychological facet that the film seems to try to convey, the most intriguing part is the process in which Rory Jansen Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2013
    1
    This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. I had to watch it to the end to see how bad it would be and it really was terrible. Not oneThis is one of the worst films I have ever seen. I had to watch it to the end to see how bad it would be and it really was terrible. Not one of the portrayals rang true. Every major player looked like they were out for an easy payday. The post war locales in France were laughable. The storyline was totally unbelievable. All of the players have done some fine work in the past, but this really stinks. Collapse

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers