Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 25, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
108
Mixed:
41
Negative:
43
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
StephenH.Aug 3, 2008
It had quite a lot of hype to live upto, and i feel it didnt quite live upto expectations. But sayign that, it was enjoyable, well acted, quite funny at times and quite an unexpected story line. Although in terms of the show, i feel a mising It had quite a lot of hype to live upto, and i feel it didnt quite live upto expectations. But sayign that, it was enjoyable, well acted, quite funny at times and quite an unexpected story line. Although in terms of the show, i feel a mising FBI agent was a small reason for the FBI to forgive all his "sins" and ask for his help. Help against pending alien invasion might be more appropriate. I'd count it as a slightly better than average episode, but not amongst the classics. But overall.. still worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HarrySep 20, 2008
Umm.... they did what with people :o i enjoyed it and it was a nice watch while waiting for step brothers to come on but I can almost promise ill never re watch it, one time was enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidFOct 17, 2008
I had high hopes for this film, but this was just an extended episode of X-files, and not a particularly interesting one. I found it very predictable and unimaginative. Still worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RW.Jul 26, 2008
A fairly good movie, with a decent cast, but not a very powerful story to go with it. overall its worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ecJul 29, 2008
My problem with this movie is that it did not involve an x-file. I realize the department was shut down, but that doesn't mean paranormal events have stopped happening. If the story revolved around an x-file that happens to threaten a My problem with this movie is that it did not involve an x-file. I realize the department was shut down, but that doesn't mean paranormal events have stopped happening. If the story revolved around an x-file that happens to threaten a member of the FBI, that could have pushed it up a notch. I'm okay with the fact that it does not involve aliens, but something extraordinary would've helped. or keep this plot, just don't drop "X-Files" into the title of the movie . . . it's misleading. great to see mulder and scully again though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveT.Dec 28, 2008
Where was the "X"? I thought the X-files was supposed to centre around the paranormal yet that aspect wasn't even a sub-plot. It was a sub-sub plot. As a crime thriller it was an okay film (hence the 5) but it was supposed to be an Where was the "X"? I thought the X-files was supposed to centre around the paranormal yet that aspect wasn't even a sub-plot. It was a sub-sub plot. As a crime thriller it was an okay film (hence the 5) but it was supposed to be an "X-files" film so, in those terms, I'd give it a 1. It was like watching a Rocky film where there were 10 seconds of boxing at the beginning and 10 seconds somewhere in the middle and then everything else was about something completely unrelated. I don't see how any 'real' X-files fan could rate this highly as it just isn't about the paranormal. Okay crime thriller but about as paranormal as the ham sandwich I am about to eat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Frankthemothafu..nTankliJul 25, 2008
I give it a 4.5 for all the "x-phile" moments it gave us, other than that a 2, And the 2 was for production alone. This was a weak ass CSI episode, not an X File. Chris Carter and D Duchovny, come one, please. You used to be beautiful, now I give it a 4.5 for all the "x-phile" moments it gave us, other than that a 2, And the 2 was for production alone. This was a weak ass CSI episode, not an X File. Chris Carter and D Duchovny, come one, please. You used to be beautiful, now its a f****** joke. Thanks a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WilliamM.Jul 26, 2008
I was a fan of the show but this movie was very weak. The story doesn't have any aliens. It is anti-catholic with molesters as priests and priests who want to deny life saving stem cell treatment. The dialouge us silly and the way they I was a fan of the show but this movie was very weak. The story doesn't have any aliens. It is anti-catholic with molesters as priests and priests who want to deny life saving stem cell treatment. The dialouge us silly and the way they catch the bad guys is dumb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CoalmineD.Jul 27, 2008
It was like a long and not that interesting episode. But it's nice to know how it all ends since there probably won't be another one since this one sucked so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaurieE.Jul 27, 2008
I've been an X-Files fan since its inception. The stories were so intertwined and fascinating. Unfortuntately this film doesn't hold a candle to the tv series or the first movie which was very well done and in keeping with the I've been an X-Files fan since its inception. The stories were so intertwined and fascinating. Unfortuntately this film doesn't hold a candle to the tv series or the first movie which was very well done and in keeping with the spirit on the series. What I missed most was the relationship between Mulder and Scully. There was no witty banter, no both of them in the same groove. The story was also quite dark and sinister just for the sake of being dark; not mysterious and clever. If you didn't see Chris Carter's name on the credits you wouldn't think he was the director. It just didn't feel like his story. I'm going out to the video store to rent season one and relive the series in all its glory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BambiAug 31, 2008
If Mulder and Scully had been replaced with two different characters, I Want to Believe could easily have been transformed into a run-of-the-mill thriller. . .which would only have interested me enough to catch on video. Likewise, leaving If Mulder and Scully had been replaced with two different characters, I Want to Believe could easily have been transformed into a run-of-the-mill thriller. . .which would only have interested me enough to catch on video. Likewise, leaving the Mulder and Scully characters intact but cutting some of the flab from IWTB Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
sVcDec 14, 2008
I have watched every episode of every season of the television show. When I heard the this movie was going to be considered a stand alone plot that had nothing to do with the Conspiracy Theories that were at the heart of the show (and thus I have watched every episode of every season of the television show. When I heard the this movie was going to be considered a stand alone plot that had nothing to do with the Conspiracy Theories that were at the heart of the show (and thus would not involve Aliens) I was automatically disinterested. That is, quite simply, a stupid idea, especially when true fans have waited for so long. So when it came out on DVD, I rented it with low expectations. But even by those standards, I was still disappointed. This was not an interesting or engaging plot. And it moved at such a slow pace. Even if they would have fit it down to be an episode of the television series- it would have moved faster- but it would not have been considered anywhere near their best material. I just don't understand how Chris Carter thought this was a good idea. I kept nodding off near the end, and quite honestly, don't know exactly how the movie ended. I was too bored to rewatch what I had missed. I give it a 4 because I thought parts of it were interesting (although very little) and David Ducovney and Gillian Anderson did good jobs with what they had to work with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LEleefJul 25, 2008
Coulda been great -- but Chris Carter couldn't let go of the dark crap that ruined the last couple years of the series. Too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DerrickS.Aug 19, 2008
The story is so disappointing to X-Files fans. It played out like an ordinary episode of an X-Files. If this was an ordinary episode of the X-Files it wouldn't even be in the top 20.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CritiqueGirlMar 2, 2011
I was very disappointed at this attempt to answer questions for the faithful tv show viewers and satisfy those who are not. It seemed to make things less clear and more complicated. Even I was getting sick of Scully never seeing anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mikeachu7Feb 17, 2013
I must say I am very disappointed in this film being the HUGE, X Files fan that I am. It just doesn't fit for an X Files movie. Basically what you get is a long drawn out episode which, after all this time is nothing less than terrible. Don'tI must say I am very disappointed in this film being the HUGE, X Files fan that I am. It just doesn't fit for an X Files movie. Basically what you get is a long drawn out episode which, after all this time is nothing less than terrible. Don't get me wrong it would have made a great 45 minute episode. To be honest I am a bigger fan of the monster of the week episodes than the main conspiracy story line. I am not sure if the later would have been a better choice for the movie or not. Like I said, after all this time to just get a long drawn out episode is not good and should be rectified. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
The second take on the X files proves to be a definite disappointment, Especially for true fans of the series. I want to believe it's a good movie. I do. But It's just not good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews