Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1366 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,076
Mixed:
121
Negative:
169
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DylanP.Jan 20, 2008
I'm no movie critic (thank god ;) ), but the moview was thought provoking. Maybe it was more enjoyable because I watched it under the influence of some controlled substances (haha), but it did raise some interesting questions. Also, it I'm no movie critic (thank god ;) ), but the moview was thought provoking. Maybe it was more enjoyable because I watched it under the influence of some controlled substances (haha), but it did raise some interesting questions. Also, it does seem a little slow, but if you're willing to ride it out it has a good flow to it in a completely chaotic and impossible-to-follow kind of way. I liked it (as simple as I can get). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jan 23, 2008
P.T. Anderson has had one dynamite career thus far
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffJohnsonJan 27, 2008
This impressive film is an intelligent treatment of a time when hard physical work, relentless business acumen and pure greed were what got the oil industry off the ground in its early days. The movie is a bit confusing with regard to someThis impressive film is an intelligent treatment of a time when hard physical work, relentless business acumen and pure greed were what got the oil industry off the ground in its early days. The movie is a bit confusing with regard to some characters (Paul and Eli) and the passage of time. Day-Lewis is, as usual, amazing; all of the actors are very good. The movie is beautiful to watch. The story, however, moves a unevenly and takes an abrupt turn at the last 20 minutes when it jumps ahead many years and leaves the viewer guessing about a number of things. Overall, it's a fine, entertaining and thoughtful movie, but not clearly the best movie of the year, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustB.Jan 28, 2008
From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that From Day-Lewis, who has been garnering universal acclaim for this movie for a reason; to Paul Dano, who also impresses beyond all expectations; to the direction, which feels almost Kubrickian it, along with the film's style, is that good; to the music, which is pulse-pounding and amazing; There Will Be Blood is an endeavor in superior filmmaking and storytelling, the likes of which no one should miss. I see a comment by a "joe k." who thinks the critics praising this film have severely lost touch with the movie-going public. And yet his review is nothing but quoting them and somehow trying to disprove (and commenting on someone's lack of punctuation. Yes, we get it, commas make you intellectually superior) their praise. Ah yes, and then he made a wonderful comparison to the human body regarding this film in an attempt to be clever. And yet here I am, an average movie-goer, and I rate this movie a 10/10. Perhaps some people just don't have an appreciation of cinema anymore. Real shame. Go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jan 28, 2008
I'm sorry if your attention span is that of a chimp, because this is one of the most well written and cleverly crafted movies I've seen in a long time. The acting alone could make this movie great, but its the character development I'm sorry if your attention span is that of a chimp, because this is one of the most well written and cleverly crafted movies I've seen in a long time. The acting alone could make this movie great, but its the character development and the dramatic turning points in the story that make this movie great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJan 30, 2008
There Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards theThere Will Be Blood is easily the greatest disaster film ever made. Plainview is less a man than he is a volcano, that we watch percolate for nearly 2.5 hours before it explodes in the appropriate climax the film had been working towards the entire time. Unlike, your typical piece of crap disaster film there is no Brosnan running around to save the women and children...the disaster wins! Plainview destroys all in his path, sucking them dry of their humanity (both lit and figuratively) as he did the earth of its oil. No one is spared Plainview's wrath that was brought to life be an excellent performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
The film's score is one of the best in recent memory as it manages to be both Kubrickian and Hitchockian. The landscaping shots and set-pieces like the oil well catching fire, were simply perfect. Perhaps people just "want to be different" or do not like Kubrick either, but There Will Be Blood is not only the best film of 2007, but also the best of the decade thus far.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OshiA.Jan 30, 2008
May be slightly better than No Country for Old Men, but only due to its relevance in current culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichH-LJan 5, 2008
Forgive my plain spoken words: a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
roberti.Jan 5, 2008
The most powerful portrait of evil I've ever seen, without any reasons why.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DNJan 5, 2008
Awesome!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickSJan 6, 2008
saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands saw this when it came out. an amazing film. the best film to come out in the last five years. i was torn between this and No Country For Old Men, but Day-Lewis won me over. a true good for sake American epic. p.t.anderson is a genius hands down. Warning: if you are an idiot and like to ask questions while watching a movie, then this is not for you. sad really when people cant fallow coherent storytelling. if this film is too advanced for those of whom i speak of, then please feel free to exchange your tickets for National Treasure 2 or something along the same lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THATMOVIEGUYJan 6, 2008
This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a This movie has the perfection of Kubrick. That may say it all right there, but when you combine that concept with a PT Anderson, that has come out of hibernation, more equipped and clever than ever before (which is saying A LOT), you have a true Masterpiece on your hands. Choosing Jonny Greenwood's music for the score was pure genius. Having said in an interview with Henry Rollins while TWBB was still in pre-production, that he was imagining violent Polish composer Penderecki's music along the script, commissioning Greenwood is 2 steps beyond that. NOT b/c he's melody maker of Radiohead, but b/c his own love for atonal modern classical, and recent ventures in this (the pieces he's written and performed recently for the BBC), is the true marraige needed to take this film into the realm of classics (such as A Clockwork Orange and Wendy Carlos' revolutionary use of the Mood Synthesizer). Daniel Day Lewis give one of the greatest performances of our time. The character is so deep and mysterious, yet so uncompromisingly real, his role in this movie truly embodies how much an actor really can do as an artist in this age of movies, centered more around flashy blahblahblah and a "clever" script at best. There Will Be Blood is NOT a "clever movie" ("Memento", "Fight Club", "Magnolia"). It isn't even a breakthrough return to form movie ("No Country for Old Men"). It's a timeless movie, that has as much depth as it does immediate, if mainly aesthetic, satisfaction. It's not a David Lynch type movie, for film snobs only, like myself. It holds a strong narrative that I'm confidant would connect to the widest of audiences. There are so many nuances to this movie that I seem to realize day after day, after having seen it new things. I have no idea when the last time THAT happened to me after seeing a movie. If ever... There Will Be Blood, grabs my boyish love for the film art form, and carries me away into realms of divine bliss. Bliss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EZimmJan 7, 2008
simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people simply a fantastic movie. no critics are wrong in declaring this the year's best film. Day-Lewis is a modern marvel. He embodies his character. the score by Greenwood is exceptional. everything about this movie is great. for people saying it's boring and doesnt go anywhere....jesus, you need to get your head out of the sand. if you want formulaic drivel you might want to apply for a job with Disney. save me all the high-brow language too. it's unnecessary...if you want to feel smart you can continue reading the dictionary for fun to 4th graders Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BzzD.Jan 7, 2008
For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling For all the good reasons shared by others, this is what a movie should be. I'm mainly writing to get a rating in, and to comment on people such as Glen C.'s "reviews": Shame on you, you pretentious fop, for writing a sour, niggling review that spoils a major plot twist for all who are kind enough to take the time to read your words. "This commentator" wonders what "pedestrian mainstream" you barely flopped out of, as your "hollow posturing" indicates an overwrought effete snob at work. To not even respect that you may ruin something for someone else is the lowest form of "shallow meditation". Glen C. is a shameful spoiler! This movie is great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJan 9, 2008
Fantastic film! The performance from Daniel Day-Lewis may be his best ever, possibly even better than My Left Foot. I'm not sure how people can rate this a zero. It deserves every award it is nominated for and wins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexandraJan 9, 2008
Exceptional character study. Exceptional score. Exceptional acting. Daniel Day Lewis is my hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Jan 9, 2008
A flawed masterpiece. So much so that further description of this film is challenging. It evokes similar feelings in me as Heart of Darkness or a good McCarthy novel where the story is not all that engrossing but the characters, themes, and A flawed masterpiece. So much so that further description of this film is challenging. It evokes similar feelings in me as Heart of Darkness or a good McCarthy novel where the story is not all that engrossing but the characters, themes, and the craft are so perfect that its still utterly captivating. I'm still convinced the ending was problematic for PT with numerous rewrites. It draws the correct conclusion, terminates the characters in the right place, but could have been crafted more eloquently. This may not be the most entertaining movie of the year, but its the most artistically impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorS.Feb 11, 2008
Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, Some of the reviews missed the point of the movie completely. Pretty much it is a story of greed and what people do under the influence of money. Nobody is a good person who has it. Is this concept so hard to understand? It was a beautiful, powerful movie with great performances and direction all around. The music is different and adds a layer of insanity to every scene. No body is a good guy and that can let the people who like bullshit movies down. But this is a study of a man who loses sight of everything-it's just a shame that people can't understand it. What else needs to be addressed? It's not a story of oil, it's the story of the man behind the oil and the madness he has. Everyone has some kind madness and that was what I got from the movie. One thing is true I guess, you either love it or hate it but how the hell can anyone hate such a powerful movie?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryHFeb 1, 2008
Great gritty movie about greed and self-righteousness. Anderson, Lewis and the film are all worthy of the Oscar. As with all of Anderson's movies, this is definitely not a film for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredM.Feb 11, 2008
A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope A brilliant minimalist yet epic portrait of the oil industry's birth in the American West at the turn of the 20th century. Daniel Day-Lewis' unforgettable, riveting performance as an obsessed, greedy, cunning, cruel misanthrope reveals the darkest aspects of capitalism. Paul Dano also gives an excellent performance as the hypocritical and deluded preacher who stands in the way of the oilman. Sweeping vistas, slow tempos, intimate and intense moments give a timeless feel to this American masterpiece. A classic for the ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyEFeb 12, 2008
I'm not going to waste my time in explaining how well this movie was done because it was perfect in every way. People who gave this movie a 0 obviously don't have the brain capacity to absorb such a powerful movie about life. Im I'm not going to waste my time in explaining how well this movie was done because it was perfect in every way. People who gave this movie a 0 obviously don't have the brain capacity to absorb such a powerful movie about life. Im sure those people most likely gave biodome a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeN.Feb 1, 2008
PTA has made a "Citizen Kane" with the same ego but half the talent. (And DDL is brilliant,but overacted in the 1927 sequences).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Feb 16, 2008
Great movie. This is the best film I have seen this year. It is good in a creepy way. I heard an older lady behind me at the theatre say that this movie is the most depressing movie she has ever seen, but she loved it. This movie will make Great movie. This is the best film I have seen this year. It is good in a creepy way. I heard an older lady behind me at the theatre say that this movie is the most depressing movie she has ever seen, but she loved it. This movie will make you lose faith in the human race. Greed and money you would hope wouldn't drive people to do these things. But it does. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing, showing why he is one of the best actors in the business. What shouldn't be lost is Paul Dano's performance as Eli Sunday the crazy preacher who wants to use Daniel to make money for his church. The movies creepy music fits the story well. The movie is long, so if you cant sit through long movies then don't see this. But even though it is long it is done so well it doesn't seem like it is that long of a movie. At the end of the movie I wanted it to keep going I was so enthralled. Definitely a don't miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffN.Feb 10, 2008
This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire time thanks to Day-Lewis. I won't go so far as to say it was the greatest performance by a lead This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I can see why some people wouldn't like it, but I was riveted the entire time thanks to Day-Lewis. I won't go so far as to say it was the greatest performance by a lead actor that I've ever seen, but I can't think of one that I can definitively say was better. I thought everything about it was perfect, and I found myself smiling more and more as Plainview become more paranoid and disillusioned. This is a movie that 20, 30 years from now people will look back on and say, "One for the ages." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanSFeb 21, 2008
Jesus not every movie has to have a message. I just saw this is an interesting character study from start to finish. If you spent 2 and a half hours in the theatre trying to find a message in this movie you would think it's a slow, Jesus not every movie has to have a message. I just saw this is an interesting character study from start to finish. If you spent 2 and a half hours in the theatre trying to find a message in this movie you would think it's a slow, tedious and pretentious film. This film is about people losing perspective. It's not about America, or the study of evil, because no one in this film is deliberately evil. They do what they think is best, either for their church or their business. But I agree with one review I read saying that this film is just too strange to be enjoyed by everyone. Thats not to say 'smart' people enjoyed it, i think it's just a difference in what people expect out of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TJN.Feb 20, 2008
Daniel-Day Lewis's performance makes it impossible to score lower, which I would [6? 7?]. Story arc uneven, motivations difficult to perceive, and photography seemed too dark. [Was it just the print that I saw?] I did not find Daniel-Day Lewis's performance makes it impossible to score lower, which I would [6? 7?]. Story arc uneven, motivations difficult to perceive, and photography seemed too dark. [Was it just the print that I saw?] I did not find Lewis's "hammy", as some critics have; thought it was a controlled performance. His performance should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholsV.Feb 20, 2008
like, people giving zeros -- or twos, threes -- should, before pointing out problems with the 'plot' or whatever, think of something called 'study of character' -- of which the film is all about. and a film, a 'study like, people giving zeros -- or twos, threes -- should, before pointing out problems with the 'plot' or whatever, think of something called 'study of character' -- of which the film is all about. and a film, a 'study of character' as it seems, may be boring and yet be great -- just as someone may say that Proust's work is a great humansocial account and yet somewhat tiresome*.** *yes, a point that would take at least a two-page essay. **like, have you all seen tarkovsky's work? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Feb 2, 2008
Citizen Kane w/out the Rosebud moment? Anyway, it's very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Marc.D.Feb 25, 2008
The performance by Day Lewis is enough to secure this film 8 points. The final one is for the pure artistry and deft directing applied to this pulse pounding film. It captivates in a way which few films in the history of cinema have. Brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasK.Feb 27, 2008
Jonathan C., how can you not think about this movie "minutes later"? It has been a few days since I've seen it and I'm still haunted, still thinking about it. I really like No Country...as well. But, this was just something else. Jonathan C., how can you not think about this movie "minutes later"? It has been a few days since I've seen it and I'm still haunted, still thinking about it. I really like No Country...as well. But, this was just something else. This movie is not so overt. It invites discussion, deconstruction. That being said, I ove this film and I love No Country... Great movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PraC.Feb 27, 2008
Paul Thomas Anderson is the best director we have, and Daniel Day Lewis may well prove to be the best actor of all time. This film is a harrowing, illuminating journey that paints a bleaker, more honest picture of the human condition than Paul Thomas Anderson is the best director we have, and Daniel Day Lewis may well prove to be the best actor of all time. This film is a harrowing, illuminating journey that paints a bleaker, more honest picture of the human condition than any film I have ever seen. Johnny Greenwood's score cannot be ignored either; it was a perfect match for a near-perfect film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davidstevensFeb 27, 2008
A magisterial work. Fulfilling the promise PT Anderson showed with the likes of Magnolia, the film is both an overwheling experience and a provocative comment on American capitalism, religion and the darkness of the human soul. ComaprisonsA magisterial work. Fulfilling the promise PT Anderson showed with the likes of Magnolia, the film is both an overwheling experience and a provocative comment on American capitalism, religion and the darkness of the human soul. Comaprisons wth Citizen Kane are misleading. In fact, one of Anderson's great achievements is not following the familiar tragic trajectory of that film and serving up something altogether more disturbing. A true original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Prospectors'ReviewFeb 28, 2008
An outstanding film in all respects except technical authenticity. A wellhead with a reciprocating pump eventually blows under pressure. So why were they pumping when the story line implies they're prospecting? A steam locomotive An outstanding film in all respects except technical authenticity. A wellhead with a reciprocating pump eventually blows under pressure. So why were they pumping when the story line implies they're prospecting? A steam locomotive releasing pulsing blasts of steam from its funnel when it is stationary. Why spend so little on technical consultancy when the film is otherwise a masterpiece? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KieranL.Feb 29, 2008
I adored it: in fact, it blew my mind! I found it utterly original, a tad bonkers, and completely mesmerising
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Feb 4, 2008
This is a masterpiece of artistic and cinematic excellence. By combining realism and cinematic grandiose, P.T. Anderson has created a modern day epic that transcends time. Day-Lewis solidifies his acting supremacy in a role that is both This is a masterpiece of artistic and cinematic excellence. By combining realism and cinematic grandiose, P.T. Anderson has created a modern day epic that transcends time. Day-Lewis solidifies his acting supremacy in a role that is both satanic and also all to familiar. Forget these raters who consider the film pretentious. How can a film be pretentious if it accomplishes what it sets out to do. There Will Be Blood is a provocative, visceral cinematic experience well worth the two and a half hour running time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HalWFeb 5, 2008
My living hell would be to spend time with all the vapid douchebags who gave this movie low scores here. You didn't get the movie -- fine. But clearly, you have missed something big here. So keep your inane pronouncements about the My living hell would be to spend time with all the vapid douchebags who gave this movie low scores here. You didn't get the movie -- fine. But clearly, you have missed something big here. So keep your inane pronouncements about the plot, acting and soundtrack to yourselves, and go away and watch your re-runs of Friends. And remember to crank up the Nickelback. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EwanR.Feb 7, 2008
Daniel Day Lewis is godly in this tour de force.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulMMar 10, 2008
I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one chord), its cinematography absolutely engrossing, and the soundtrack that some find annoying (which I I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one chord), its cinematography absolutely engrossing, and the soundtrack that some find annoying (which I can understand), I found to be appropriately maddening. Its a movie about dedication to the point of obsession, the folly of singular devotion, the power and destruction of taking without giving, and the aspects of greed, power and selfishness that are in us all - but that in the wrong circumstances/people/both become toxic. Plainview is a man who knows only how to beat, pick or pound the thing from which he needs some kind of satisfaction or end. And he does so until it explodes something that releases the dark humanity within him (anger, greed, paranoia, withdrawal, depression, psychosis). His maniacal mantra of "drainage" in the final scene is appropriate - not so much about the obvious metaphor (which, yes, may be clumsy) but about the concept (maybe, call it a meta-metaphor)underlying -- that there are always those willing to take, by force and by persuasion, not only theirs but yours, his, hers and everyone elses. Further, it illustrates how that process leaves one bordering on, and often falling into, an abyss of lonesome psychosis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshlyG.Mar 2, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis puts his heart into the movie - you can see the passion gleaming through his eyes as he acts. He deserved the Oscar win and the film deserved more than it received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBMar 3, 2008
Superb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who haveSuperb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who have suggested it is boring and dull, I pity you. Inside this film you should find a great plot, great actors and characters and stunning cinematography and a mesmerizing screenplay. What more could anyone ask for? You have to have the right mindset for this film and obviously many people don't - which is why this film isn't a box office smash and wouldn't be the same if it was. People would rather stick to their Jumpers and Saw's and whatever else. For those of us in to truly great films, look no further. A classic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanM.Mar 5, 2008
one of the greatest films ever made. I've seen it three times now and i still cannot get it out of my head. this should have won best picture, but i suppose the almost as equally brilliant No Country will suffice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanOMar 8, 2008
One of the best movies of the last few years, in no way is it dull, boring or overrated. It is a absolute masterpiece and anyone who says it isn't should take a trip to the mental asylum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Apr 18, 2008
A brilliant movie. A masterpiece. Iconic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Apr 2, 2008
The only reason I made this is to tell Adam A. that he is an idiot and obviously wouldn't know a good movie if slapped him in the face, much like I wanna do for his idiotic review. Same for you Gloria. You should both start a club for The only reason I made this is to tell Adam A. that he is an idiot and obviously wouldn't know a good movie if slapped him in the face, much like I wanna do for his idiotic review. Same for you Gloria. You should both start a club for people who have no business giving their opinion on movies. This film was odd, yet gripping and left a strange and unsettled feeling with me. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferK.Apr 21, 2008
One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. Daniel Day Lewis' performance is extraordinary. I loved it and recommended to everyone I know. Great music by Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead!! He should have been nominated for One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. Daniel Day Lewis' performance is extraordinary. I loved it and recommended to everyone I know. Great music by Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead!! He should have been nominated for it because it really intensified the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayHigginsApr 3, 2008
7.5/10. Rich and well detailed production, superbly acted by all. I hadn't heard much about Paul Dano in the film, he was terrific. Visually, the film was remarkable, my favorite aspect of the film was the score, one of the best I have 7.5/10. Rich and well detailed production, superbly acted by all. I hadn't heard much about Paul Dano in the film, he was terrific. Visually, the film was remarkable, my favorite aspect of the film was the score, one of the best I have heard in a long time. It is a great film, but not without flaws. It was slow in parts and too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Xyn1407Apr 6, 2008
Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made recycled material almost like parchment paper. Two Disc which is the one I ordered. The Extras include 15 Minutes of pics, research, ETC., Trailers, Fishing sequence, Haircut/ Interrupted Hymm, Dailies Gone Wold and THE STORY OF PETROLEUM (ea 1923) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Apr 7, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis is unparalleled in one of the best acting jobs ever done by anyone in history. Even if the rest of the movie was unacceptable, Day-Lewis' performance would alone garner a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaudR.Apr 8, 2008
magnificent, Daniel Day brillianiant, USERS REVIEWS CRAP SO FAR.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyE.Apr 8, 2008
Greatest performance by an actor i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonL.Apr 8, 2008
Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building displayed by the two main male protagonists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshCMay 11, 2008
This is truly a work of symphonic aspirations and masterful execution. Anderson's superb filmmaking is complemented throughout by Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood's excellent score
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJ.May 16, 2008
If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy using their brains and actually thinking about what they are watching, and those that watch forest gump every weekend. Oh, and if you don't like the music in this film, thats a pretty good indication that you have garbage taste in music, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonJMay 4, 2008
The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And as good as he usually is, Day-Lewis is off-key sometimes. The local enthusiast preacher (I forget his name and don't know the actor) needed a stronger player. He is rather weak-- so unctuous and effeminate that he doesn't truly make for a believable nemesis for Day-Lewis. And, yes, that's part of the point, but I still didn't buy it. The film hovers between gritty reality and miasmic fantasy, and it never really decides which it wants to be, which is part of its triumph-- and its failing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikM.Jun 2, 2008
Complex character,secretly alcoholic, mean, and spiteful as he smiles to get what he wants, just like president Bush.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VeikkoH.Jun 2, 2008
This film deserves high scores because it's something fresh and brave compared to today's other films. It's in many ways like Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey": the score, cinematography and the bizarre stripped-down This film deserves high scores because it's something fresh and brave compared to today's other films. It's in many ways like Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey": the score, cinematography and the bizarre stripped-down ending all match to "2001". It won't certainly entertain action freaks, but for friends of minimalism and originality it will be quite addictive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Nigel.Jun 2, 2008
Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the conflict between all the protagonists leads to an interesting conclusion about human nature, greed and what makes people truly happy. Beats the pants off anything Will Smith and his multi-million dollar CGI bore-fests could ever hope to acheive. Cinematic greatness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceVAug 8, 2008
It seems as though many people posting negative comments here are overlooking the numerous qualities that makes this probably the best film of the year; these people are just venting their frustrations that they do not have the capacity to It seems as though many people posting negative comments here are overlooking the numerous qualities that makes this probably the best film of the year; these people are just venting their frustrations that they do not have the capacity to enjoy such a brilliant film. The film is gripping, with sublime acting from Daniel Day-Lewis & Paul Dano in particular, and a score from Johnny Greenwood that really adds to the tension and atmosphere. The cinematography, from Robert Elswit, alone makes it a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomM.Sep 14, 2008
Those familiar with the past work of Daniel Day-Lewis will not be surprised by his stunning performance in THERE WILL BE BLOOD. During the film I found myself comparing him with some of our classic masters, from Barrymore to Brando. There Those familiar with the past work of Daniel Day-Lewis will not be surprised by his stunning performance in THERE WILL BE BLOOD. During the film I found myself comparing him with some of our classic masters, from Barrymore to Brando. There are also excellent performances by many others in the cast, including Paul Dano as the primitive country minister and Kevin J. O'Connor as the (fraudulent?) half-brother. The story, based on an Upton Sinclair novel, is raw, rivetting, and unusual, and gradually becomes recognizable as driven and ruthless capitalist Americana. I hope to get to the library (or a favorite used bookstore) one of these days to see if I can find this 20th century gem sitting unread on a dusty shelf. Incidentally, the score and soundtrack by Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead is innovative, captivating, and, at times, seems to be suggesting the loose cannon we are following; unfortunately, there were moments when I thought the audio was attempting to upstage the visual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyCJan 3, 2009
I give it a 9 because the acting deserves a 10 and the story an 8. A well-deserved Oscar for Daniel Day-Lewis. This is definitely a movie which makes one think. If you're looking for a shallow movie that provides 2 hours straight of I give it a 9 because the acting deserves a 10 and the story an 8. A well-deserved Oscar for Daniel Day-Lewis. This is definitely a movie which makes one think. If you're looking for a shallow movie that provides 2 hours straight of non-stop action & entertainment, you're in the wrong theatre. The name 'There Will Be Blood' is merely a metaphor, representing D. Plainview's sadistic & relentless pursuit of fame & fortune. The portrayal of this character -- achieved by both the acting & the storyline -- was so successful that I had to look up from websites whether Daniel Plainview was indeed a real character. Overall speaking, I would say that this highly-recommended movie is one which deserves all wins & awards, whereas 'No Country For Good Men' was way over-rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MackJan 6, 2009
Not a movie you will necessarily enjoy watching but Lewis' performance is amazing. You won't soon forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunWMar 7, 2009
This movie is a breathtaking tale of a man torn apart by his own insensitivities and lust for money. It shows the true side of the era,. How ruthless you had to be to make it in America and in contrast to the current war for oil. Daniel Day This movie is a breathtaking tale of a man torn apart by his own insensitivities and lust for money. It shows the true side of the era,. How ruthless you had to be to make it in America and in contrast to the current war for oil. Daniel Day Lewis delivers his lines superbly and mask his former characters perfectly. Don't base your opinion on a guy who writes sux. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyMAug 8, 2009
I can understand the people that didn't like the movie- but most of these negative reviews are ridiculous. I'm sure everyone who wants their "3 hours" will spend it watching "Friends" re-runs ad "The Fast and The Furious". This is I can understand the people that didn't like the movie- but most of these negative reviews are ridiculous. I'm sure everyone who wants their "3 hours" will spend it watching "Friends" re-runs ad "The Fast and The Furious". This is the best movie of the decade. It just goes to show that audiences these days don't care about great films. Sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielPJan 2, 2010
people like, Wad M, find it bring because there childish, bitch. As for R N just because Day Lewis is in it doesnt mean its good. PT anderson is a very good director. and critics look for evry aspect. and whats more boring than oil and people like, Wad M, find it bring because there childish, bitch. As for R N just because Day Lewis is in it doesnt mean its good. PT anderson is a very good director. and critics look for evry aspect. and whats more boring than oil and rocks....the animal known as your mother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewHJan 21, 2010
Daniel Day Lewis delivers the best acting performance I've ever seen in a film. Great storytelling and plot. There will be Blood reminds me of Citizen Kane in that its about a business men whose only ambition in life is to to amass Daniel Day Lewis delivers the best acting performance I've ever seen in a film. Great storytelling and plot. There will be Blood reminds me of Citizen Kane in that its about a business men whose only ambition in life is to to amass wealth, but at the end of thier lives, their money is all that they have. One of of my top 10 movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HGDec 20, 2007
Saw it in Austin. Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimC.Dec 20, 2007
Paul's magnum opus. Best film I've seen in a long time. An utter masterpiece of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimB.Dec 27, 2007
Easily the best, though not the most comforting, movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoC.Dec 27, 2007
The very best rewiew of this movie is still lacking on this site - the one of Time's. That magazine's critic got at the right point: the ending is the most eletrifying ever. And this is one of the best american movies ever crafted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinL.Dec 27, 2007
Daniel Day-Lewis owns this film ... Paul Dano, not so much. But the baptism scene with both of them must be destined to be a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Dec 27, 2007
The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job of telling a simple story of men obsessed with their pursuits. Flawless performances, understated but beautiful cinematography and production design and a pensive pace that will throw some people off. An instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberF.Dec 28, 2007
This mesmerizing and brilliant work of art is one of the best films of our time. Please Mr. Anderson, don't ever stop making movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherMDec 29, 2007
The internet has empowered hypercritical dorks like none other. You guys are such internet losers. It's depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jonl.Dec 30, 2007
One of the best films ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillD.Jan 11, 2008
This is a very big movie, an experience, an event. Exhilarating. The movie ended 2 hours ago, and I can't calm down. I'm speechless. If you like movies, you have got to see this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrylF.Jan 11, 2008
Day-Lewis gives the best acting performance that I have ever seen !!!! it was pure joy watching this man act.... and it had some of the funniest scenes that had me laughing harder than some of what they call comedy today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonM.Jan 1, 2008
I think this a very good movie, but in the end I found that it lacked an overall punch. It's got such good acting and PTA is such a gifted director, that it's only after the movie is over that I wondered, "What is this movie really I think this a very good movie, but in the end I found that it lacked an overall punch. It's got such good acting and PTA is such a gifted director, that it's only after the movie is over that I wondered, "What is this movie really about?". It doesn't have a statement to make although many are saying it's about the rise of corporations over the individual, however, Day Lewis's character is his own demise, not the man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackH.Jan 12, 2008
It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it delicately treads the line between humanistic and intimate, and commentative, political. Day-Lewis's portrayal of Plainview is, without a doubt, the film's highlight, to be sure. Coming out of the theater, I was shaking and crying--not due to the sadness of the film, but rather due to Day-Lewis's performance (if he doesn't win Best Actor for that role, then there really will be blood.) This isn't to play down the rest of the film, though: it does an unusually good job of making all of its characters, not just the protagonist, complex and believable, and by the end, it'll be difficult to decide who's the de facto "good guy"--or if there even is one. Many comparisons have been drawn between this film and "Citizen Kane." To be sure, the capitan-of-industry aspect is there, along with the power-corrupts adage worked in. But somewhere between Johnny Greenwood's haunting soundtrack and Daniel Plainview's monologue about his hatred of humanity, you realize this film is nothing like "Citizen Kane"--it's a rags-to-riches story with all the hope and triumph drained from it,like so much oil in the ground, and it feels strangely relevant to the current world. Easily the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanT.Jan 12, 2008
I think 20, 30, 40 years from now, people will look back at There Will Be Blood as an epic work of American filmmaking, following in the tradition of movies like The Godfather.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioB.Jan 13, 2008
An excellent film that hits you like a fever. Absolutely visceral and and hard to stomach, this movie focuses on characters that you will seldom find as the focus of a character study. Unsympathetic but charismatic, Daniel Plainview is An excellent film that hits you like a fever. Absolutely visceral and and hard to stomach, this movie focuses on characters that you will seldom find as the focus of a character study. Unsympathetic but charismatic, Daniel Plainview is portrayed to perfection by Daniel Day-Lewis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkDuffyJan 14, 2008
This is quite likely the most overrated film of the year. Overall, this film is very strongly character driven. Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Bano create intriguing characters that save an otherwise lifeless plot. The soundtrack is great andThis is quite likely the most overrated film of the year. Overall, this film is very strongly character driven. Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Bano create intriguing characters that save an otherwise lifeless plot. The soundtrack is great and the characters intriguing but I simply found myself wanting more. There is nothing to "get" in this movie. The film is rather heavy handed on its critiques of society, greed, etc. Succinctly, this film drags you through the rise and fall of an intriguing character at a slow pace with a hollow ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaleL.Jan 16, 2008
I hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all,I hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all, memorable. Whether you dug it or not is your thing, but why else are we sitting around shitting about how AWESOME or TERRIBLE this thing is. It's a stark work of art. And usually with one of those, there is mass division. So, don't feel bad or pretentious for digging it, and don't feel self-righteous and scornful if you didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikkoCOct 16, 2008
Mark's post is barely good enough for one entry, let alone two identicals... please remove it (all?). Mine can take one's place :) Anyway... the movie is a moral study on greed etc, yes, but Eli is not a good character either. It Mark's post is barely good enough for one entry, let alone two identicals... please remove it (all?). Mine can take one's place :) Anyway... the movie is a moral study on greed etc, yes, but Eli is not a good character either. It has as much to say about the greed and the destructiveness (on the mind especially... as it narrows...) of religion as it does capitalism. The soundtrack is great (sorry Britney was booked Mark)... the performance of Day-Lewis, especially in scenes like when he is revealed as crying in the light of the passing train etc, is not just very good, but the best acting performance (try for a second to picture anyone else pulling it off, or even being remotely convincing for that matter) of this century thus far (only Bardem's in NCFOM comes close). So good, that it outweighs the film's qualities in the end and thus it gets a 9/10. It's ballsiness, courage and intelligence is very heartwarming to someone used to dumbing-down to supposedly high-grade film-making which is largely underwhelming, so, thank you Mr Anderson. Most of all though, I wanted to comment ont he fact that this is clearly not as good, nor ironically is it as well-reviewed as, No Country For Old Men (winner of best picture in the same year and category as this higher rated - on metacritic - film)..... but it is 92 to NCFOM's 91. This is a total injustice, but has been directly brought about by ONE MAN - arrogant, self-obsessed, joyless, hypocritical, ascetic, space-wasting loser - Jonathan Rosenbaum.... he gave it 32. Sure Jon, it's not Bio-Dome you dick. So that even though this film gets lots of 70s and 60s and is poorly reviewed by several critics.... it is NCFOM's consistent 100s, 90s and a handful of 80s that gets bombed by a loser who needs to get laid and a politically-obsessed, self-appointed cock. Metacritic should drop the lowest two reviews to account for such unforgivable pretentiousness. They are not reviewing films, they are soapboxing, banish them. NCFOM doesn't have your pound of flesh Rosenbaum, so brush that chip off your shoulder buddy, or else FO..... amateur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XTrapnelJan 16, 2008
The ending is not wholly satisfactory, but the middle section of the picture features some of the most bravura sequences -- scored to perfection -- you could ever hope to see. However, Joe K is right about some of the awful, purple prose theThe ending is not wholly satisfactory, but the middle section of the picture features some of the most bravura sequences -- scored to perfection -- you could ever hope to see. However, Joe K is right about some of the awful, purple prose the film has inspired. Mind you, have a look at this: "These people are so desperate to prove how "above" they are of the common movie goer." That hardly counts as English, either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 19, 2008
There Will Be Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveT.Jan 19, 2008
Of course, Day-Lewis is fantastic. Loved Paul Dano, too, but the plot moves along fairly slowly and is oftentimes predictable. The music (if you call it that...it is frequently "sound") is pretty cool as the movie's backdrop. Overall, Of course, Day-Lewis is fantastic. Loved Paul Dano, too, but the plot moves along fairly slowly and is oftentimes predictable. The music (if you call it that...it is frequently "sound") is pretty cool as the movie's backdrop. Overall, worth seeing but not the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Jan 21, 2008
It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe even longer. The ending was over-the-top and bizarre, but it was also 10 minutes of some of the best one-person acting I've ever seen. Day-Lewis is spectacular throughout the whole film, but he just went all out at the end. A crazy masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamBJan 2, 2008
A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, which says a lot. If you thought Bill The Butcher was intense, merciless, and dynamic, wait until you see Daniel Plainview. Jonny Greenwood's score is creates an uneasy anticipation throughout. It is perfect. There Will Be Blood is a must see film for cinephiles, but the average movie goer might leave the theater feeling empty or perhaps dirty inside. It has that kind of affect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeneV.Jan 2, 2008
Great acting - especially Day-Lewis who carries the film with a performance just slightly more restrained and less threatening that Gangs of NY. Great cinematography and set making a gripping visual portrait of depression era Southwest. The Great acting - especially Day-Lewis who carries the film with a performance just slightly more restrained and less threatening that Gangs of NY. Great cinematography and set making a gripping visual portrait of depression era Southwest. The only problems are those of the Anderson as scriptwriter [unfocused at times] and visuals [some scenes are included solely for the purposes of showing off the director's skills]. Both of these problems are characteristics of Anderson's film making efforts. All in all a must see, especially given the current run of cartoon extravaganzas, mellow-dramas, and shopping mall teen films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricH.Jan 23, 2008
It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there are plenty of other fantastic actors to keep the movie afloat. What really needs to be taken into account here is character and theme. Put quite simply, the character development is spectacular and the numerous themes have you leaving the theater shaken and, quite frankly, changed. Sit this movie out and you will be rewarded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomJan 24, 2008
The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you might find this a bit dull. But if you ever enjoyed a serious work of fiction, see this post-haste. It rewards thoughtfulness, understanding of character, and a sober assessment of what simultaneously makes our country great, and yet corrupts it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CussR.Jan 24, 2008
Does savage ambition inevitably breed insanity? Is true success earned only upon complete deprivation of human emotion? These are among the uncertainties haunting Paul Thomas Anderson
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StaciaM.Jan 26, 2008
One of the most amazing films in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveFJan 29, 2008
One of the most brilliant screen performances that I have ever seen! Daniel Day and Paul Thomas have together made the ultimate masterpiece!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenMJan 30, 2008
A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to debate the film, what it means, what motivated the characters. To, you know, think. We are the people voting 9 and 10 here. The other side are folks who want to go to the movies. To be spoon fed sugary treats, patted on the head, given a good night kiss and sent off to bed without a thought ringing in their heads. These are the folks slamming this film, and who probably just loved "National Treasure 2" and "Alvin and the Chipmunks". It's not wrong. Some people spend their hard earned cash on something and want exactly what they want -- to be entertained but without the hassles. Seriously, does anyone who's seen "National Treasure 2" remember if the next week, the next day, the next ... hour. No. "There Will be Blood" settles inside you like oil, and I know I'll be wrestling with it for weeks and months to come, until I see it again. You've read the plot posts already, Daniel Day-Lewis -- never more brilliant -- is an oil tycoon with oil for blood. He loves nothing but his ambition. He is the corruption of capitalism, which was meant to help all people but has been hijacked by the greed of a few. Paul Dano, who by God looks exactly like my brother who's now in Iraq, represents the corruption of America's other greatest gift, religion. He is an evangelist for himself, not God above. Both men destroy and push away every thing close to themselves until they have nothing but each other -- then they start tearing down again. One stands at the end, or rather slumps. This is a brilliant, methodical film that is as one poster here said, a brilliant disaster film. The disaster of the soul. Again like in "No Country," there is an innocent -- the adopted son of Daniel Planview (the Day-Lewis character). In a brilliant twist, the boy has his ear drums blown out by an oil rig accident and he goes deaf. It's heart-breaking to think a son will never hear his father say, "I love you." The irony is that Planview, when he tells his son exactly that, doesn't mean it. Alas, it's not worth hearing. Yes, it's long, yes, it's challenging, and hard to get a grip of, yes, there's deep, deep thought in every scene. Cinema, lovers: enjoy. All others, do pass. One final note: The score, by Johnny Greenwood of Radiohead, is the best this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveGJan 4, 2008
Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the store last night told someone on the phone that "I am Legend" was the best movie ever made and that WIll Smith is the best actor in the history of film. And a number of users here viscerally hate this film. Opinions are like noses (or any other body part) -- everyone has one. The reason this movie is so well received by critics is that it is stunningly shot and edited, very well acted and tackles a number of important issues. Not everyone has the attention span necessary to enjoy a film like this. Anderson's films tend to be a bit long in the tooth, and this is no exception. But as with "Boogie Nights" and "Magnolia," the long ride is worthwhile, not just for the destination, but for the ride itself. This movie is bearutiful and powerful and tragic and, at times, disturbing. It is also magnificent. I am often dumbfounded as to how people adore some of the movies that are popular. I am equally surprised by the few, but very adament, negative reviews of this film. Paul Thomas Anderson and Daniel Day Lewis will be nominated for Academy Awards again. Those acolades will be deserved. I loved this movie. If you have an attention span not dulled by music videos and sitcoms, and are not a pretentious film school malcontent, you should appreciate this movie too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
antoniom.Jan 4, 2008
Daniel Day Lewis' performance is riveting.......easily the best performance by an actor this past year......every thing about the film is beautiful executed......a wonderful ride!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackB.Jan 4, 2008
I read metacritic constantly and rarely vote, but I just wanted to say that this is one of the finest films I've ever seen in my entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeH.Jan 5, 2008
Inspiringly beautiful movie making on all levels. Don't be afraid of the misleading title and critics mistakingly pigeon-holing it as simply a Western; "There Will Be Blood" is one of the best films in years and will be remembered for Inspiringly beautiful movie making on all levels. Don't be afraid of the misleading title and critics mistakingly pigeon-holing it as simply a Western; "There Will Be Blood" is one of the best films in years and will be remembered for many years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilKJan 5, 2008
Best movie of the year. Hands down. See it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful