Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1382 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,091
Mixed:
121
Negative:
170
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
This is a big, bold film from huge talent Paul Thomas Anderson, but it
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Daniel Day-Lewis's unbelievable performance nurtures this very intelligently written film into a deeply disquieting, perpetual steamroller of vengeance and malice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersMay 26, 2013
Daniel Day Lewis was absolutely fantastic; one of the best performances by any actor I've ever seen. He was so real and convincing, every moment was just perfect. A good performance by Paul Dano as well, especially in the church scenes andDaniel Day Lewis was absolutely fantastic; one of the best performances by any actor I've ever seen. He was so real and convincing, every moment was just perfect. A good performance by Paul Dano as well, especially in the church scenes and the final scene. I was hesitant to watch this movie because I've heard so many bad things about it, that it's too long, boring, and that it's pointless. I just have one thing to say, and that is this is a masterpiece. By far the best movie of 2007, and one of the best of our time. My favorite scene in the entire film is the last scene, it really puts it all into perspective. This is a brilliant movie, you absolutely must NOT miss it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJun 21, 2013
A masterpiece plain and simple. Paul Thomas Anderson directs this film beautifully with shot after shot leaving me overwhelmed. The score helps guide the scenes with perfection. Finally Daniel Day Lewis gives one the finest performances inA masterpiece plain and simple. Paul Thomas Anderson directs this film beautifully with shot after shot leaving me overwhelmed. The score helps guide the scenes with perfection. Finally Daniel Day Lewis gives one the finest performances in cinematic history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
genericreviewerJun 30, 2013
Disciplined, polished, beautiful, without any surplus.
As many reviews with low score said it, it is not fast-paced but it is not meant to be and if the only thing you seek in movies is blood-pumping adrenaline shot actions, well..
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaJun 15, 2014
Many critics called it "a masterpiece" and "One of the best film of decade", then I really agree about that. You can't easily find many film like "There Will Be Blood", very rare, an epic drama film. With a story about family, oil, religionMany critics called it "a masterpiece" and "One of the best film of decade", then I really agree about that. You can't easily find many film like "There Will Be Blood", very rare, an epic drama film. With a story about family, oil, religion and greed, this film easily become one of the richest film ever made. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is outstanding. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
claudiuanophelFeb 13, 2014
A great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He isA great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He is feeling surrounded only by enemies, only by competitors. Anderson proves once more that this world we are living in is a jungle, where the main goal is to succeed no matter what are the consequences. The last scene summarizes the grotesque, making Daniel Plainview one of the best icons of the fallen man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FordFanatic19Jan 25, 2014
Daniel Day-Lewis did an excellent job as his role of Daniel Plainview. This to me is a high quality film that deserves a lot more credibility. I recommend everyone should see this movie once, because this has to be one of the best movies everDaniel Day-Lewis did an excellent job as his role of Daniel Plainview. This to me is a high quality film that deserves a lot more credibility. I recommend everyone should see this movie once, because this has to be one of the best movies ever made. Through my short years, I have learned to appreciate a great movie when i see one, and this movie tops them all! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
triedandtrustedSep 19, 2014
Yes ...absolutely one of the best films of that year. Superb acting, taut script and all round class. Job well done! DDL and PTA have crafted an epic tale of greed and ambition
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MikeSurenessJan 14, 2008
Scene after scene of men walking. See that tree one hundred yards in the distance. You are going to watch the actors walk to it and back in real time. Never once during this movie did I ever wonder what was going to happen next or have aScene after scene of men walking. See that tree one hundred yards in the distance. You are going to watch the actors walk to it and back in real time. Never once during this movie did I ever wonder what was going to happen next or have a reason to care. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
2
TerryAndrewsJan 26, 2008
Grandiose, pretentious, irritating, and repetitive, this may be the most grossly overrated movie of the year. Day-Lewis is mannered and showy, and comes across as a caricature of virtuoso acting rather than as a believable human being. TheGrandiose, pretentious, irritating, and repetitive, this may be the most grossly overrated movie of the year. Day-Lewis is mannered and showy, and comes across as a caricature of virtuoso acting rather than as a believable human being. The music is intrusive, jarring, and distracting, and most of the characters are cardboard background figures. To see how truly derivative and shallow Anderson's "masterpiece" is, have another look at "Citizen Kane." Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
3
ELMay 4, 2008
Slow and boring, wish I'd done my ironing instead. The film lacks any interesting story line and I found myself falling asleep more than once. I must admit however, that it was exciting in comparison to; Girl with a Pearl Earring and Slow and boring, wish I'd done my ironing instead. The film lacks any interesting story line and I found myself falling asleep more than once. I must admit however, that it was exciting in comparison to; Girl with a Pearl Earring and Lost in Translation. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
8
ReviewCriticDec 28, 2011
Daniel Day-Lewis gives the performance of his career in There Will Be Blood. Receiving several Oscar nods, including Best Picture, as well as a win for Best Actor, There Will Be Blood is a story about a wicked oil man who hits jackpot.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
cindynnevinsApr 3, 2008
No hero in movie. It was boring, long. I found it to be tedious. Waiting for something to happen. The ending was terrible. I still am not sure of the consequences of what he did. Save your money. It was over rated
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DaveS.Jan 24, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis awesome as usual. Most annoying sound track I have ever heard. Scenes dragged out too long.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
stanleylJan 6, 2008
I found all critics to be over rate -the movie had poor dialogue -violent without cause- loud music a kid for a-preacher- cheap sets- one great actor with a poorly developed theme
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DougL.Feb 24, 2009
Just because a movie is "unlike any other" doesn't make it good. Is it too much to ask for a film to be inventive, thought-provoking, insightful, etc., while still entertaining its audience? I feel like I was being bludgeoned to death Just because a movie is "unlike any other" doesn't make it good. Is it too much to ask for a film to be inventive, thought-provoking, insightful, etc., while still entertaining its audience? I feel like I was being bludgeoned to death (or at least, to sleep) with the snail's pace of this film. To quote the late, great George Carlin, "It's like watching flies f***!!". I have yet to hear a convincing explanation from anyone as to why they liked this movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MikeSJan 5, 2010
Started off boring and progressively got worse.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
philaJan 5, 2010
I'm a movie buff and soon to be director. this movie was worthless. paul thomas anderson somehow got into the legion of "can do no wrong" with critics and gets a pass on all his movies. ever see one of his interviews? he cant answerI'm a movie buff and soon to be director. this movie was worthless. paul thomas anderson somehow got into the legion of "can do no wrong" with critics and gets a pass on all his movies. ever see one of his interviews? he cant answer 'yes or no' questions. does he have a rich daddy in politics or news media or something that gets him a free pass? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KeithD.Jan 12, 2008
Long and Boring, 1 good actor, nothing more, I really didn't even think there was that much for DDL to do anything with. You just keep waiting and waiting for something to develop and nothing does.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
mmiddleJan 29, 2008
What Michelle said. The photography is gorgeous, the actor playing the son is fine, but the storytelling is flat and careless, and Day-Lewis just extends his silly performance in "Gangs."
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
jimhJan 7, 2008
pretty boring. dreadful overacting. totally overrated. if yu want real drama see the Rumanian film 4 months 3 weeks and 2 days. if you want a film that's travelled right up its own backside check this out though.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
FredGFeb 10, 2008
Highly overrated in my opinion. A tale of greed. I wish I hadn't seen it, because it wasn't that entertaining. The story also wasn't crisp. There was a good movie in there somewhere.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BetsyMFeb 2, 2008
This is one where I just don't get the great reviews, hard as I try. The movie was long and boring and had no real redeeming social qualities. I was hoping that the performance by Daniel Day-Lewis was as great as everyone says, but it This is one where I just don't get the great reviews, hard as I try. The movie was long and boring and had no real redeeming social qualities. I was hoping that the performance by Daniel Day-Lewis was as great as everyone says, but it wasn't. He just limped around and brooded. Very disappointed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
FrankL.Feb 6, 2008
I expected much from this movie, especially after reading through critics and user-ratings in here and at other sites. To make it short i was mainly heavily disappointed on following points: 1) Music There are movies without music. There are I expected much from this movie, especially after reading through critics and user-ratings in here and at other sites. To make it short i was mainly heavily disappointed on following points: 1) Music There are movies without music. There are movies with music, where the music can transport emotions or atmosphere and suspension. But there are also cases where the film music is so elaborated, so off limits that it simply puts itself way too much in the foreground. 2) i did not read the book, but only after reading to some user comments i understood that major parts of the underlying story were not told. It created on me the impression that i was just looking on some crazy, selfish ppl doing crazy and selfish things. No real message or system critic was really formulated. Frank@germany. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BillL.Mar 11, 2008
Terrible musical score meant to impress detracts from story and performance of Daniel Day Lewis.Not as interesting as the critics think it is. Full of bombast not epic story.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MattB.Apr 11, 2008
I watched this movie because it was highly acclaimed and one many awards. I was very disappointed. The character development was great, but the movie felt like 4 or 5 hours and moved very slowly. The music was awful, and, in times seemed I watched this movie because it was highly acclaimed and one many awards. I was very disappointed. The character development was great, but the movie felt like 4 or 5 hours and moved very slowly. The music was awful, and, in times seemed unnecessary. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
JoeM.May 4, 2008
I have to agree with Barbara M's review of all sound and fury coupled with slow pacing and extended melodrama. I sometimes found myself sighing over my labor to make it through to the end of this plodding film. Not to take away from I have to agree with Barbara M's review of all sound and fury coupled with slow pacing and extended melodrama. I sometimes found myself sighing over my labor to make it through to the end of this plodding film. Not to take away from Daniel Day-Lewis' effort, because he rivets you with his always incredible screen presence, but otherwise I really couldn't wait for this movie to end. I'm glad I caught it on DVD rather than pay $9 to see it at the theater. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
ErinB.Jun 4, 2008
I HATED this movie! Could we have a little more over the top acting Mr. Lewis?!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BBMar 24, 2009
This is an awful movie. Just awful. Who do I see about getting the three hours back. I had to apologize to my DVR for wasting it's time. I like epic pictures. I like big vistas and stirring musical backgrounds but this isn't epic. This is an awful movie. Just awful. Who do I see about getting the three hours back. I had to apologize to my DVR for wasting it's time. I like epic pictures. I like big vistas and stirring musical backgrounds but this isn't epic. It is trying to be epic. It is trying to be to much. It fails. Based on the ratings I watched through to the end to see if it would come together in the end; it didn't. Did I say awful enough yet? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
khcinOhioApr 3, 2009
This is a movie that doesn't know what it is doing. The main character is a "soul-dead," grasping, ruthless man. OK. We know that before the movie starts. After this nothing happens. This is a truly awful movie and an utter waste of the This is a movie that doesn't know what it is doing. The main character is a "soul-dead," grasping, ruthless man. OK. We know that before the movie starts. After this nothing happens. This is a truly awful movie and an utter waste of the leading actor's obvious talents. Why are the critics awed? Stay away! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
KevinB.May 2, 2009
Glad I waited to see this on dvd. Even so, I was barely able to sit through it. I guess I kept hoping it would get better, considering the critics rave reviews. The characters seemed shallow , and the plot too. A sad story about a sorry sad Glad I waited to see this on dvd. Even so, I was barely able to sit through it. I guess I kept hoping it would get better, considering the critics rave reviews. The characters seemed shallow , and the plot too. A sad story about a sorry sad man. I did enjoy seeing the history of the early oil extraction techniques. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
LeonardP.Jan 11, 2008
This has to be the biggest joke critics have played on the film going public.it's like watching Bergman on Valium.SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Boreing. Paul Thomas Anderson is the most pretentious director working today.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DeeS.Jan 12, 2008
I'm rating this babdly because I know bad votes get more attention...but I will admit that this is an incredible film. I was worried about Day-Lewis and his theatrical antics, but he showed remarkable restraint in his perfirmance, and I'm rating this babdly because I know bad votes get more attention...but I will admit that this is an incredible film. I was worried about Day-Lewis and his theatrical antics, but he showed remarkable restraint in his perfirmance, and was perfectly cast in the part. Anyone who doesn't rate this film highly is not terribly bright. I hate almost all of Hollywood's generic output, but this stands out without a doubt. And I will also add that I disliked Magnolia, and was hesitant about seeing this film. This film has a lot of ideas strewn throughout its shifting narrative, and what I particularly liked is how the film made BIG OIL a personal issue. Most documentaries that deal with oil (and there are so few of them) leave no room for personal politics; P.T. Anderson's film relies on a close study of how mankind's raping of the earth reveals troubles that evolve exponentially, culminating in our present state of affairs (the effects of which we are facing now more than ever). But placing the film less than 100 years in our not too distant past should be a wake-up call to anyone with even a semblance of a brain. In an artfully convincing way, this film is a desperate call to action. If people could only take their bicycles or public transportation to the screening. And that's the irony with modernity, isn't it? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DonnaS.Jan 19, 2008
Disappointed with the plot, but DDL was worth watching.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DaveBJan 26, 2008
Boring! Did anyone else not notice how DDL walked with a limp after a horrific accident, then had no limp for a time, then had the limp return?
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
DanGJan 29, 2008
Unappealing and long. "Pixote" meets "Citizen Kane". Great performance by Day-Lewis, but on what dispiriting material!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MattyJJan 31, 2008
Haven't looked forward to a movie so much in years. Very disappointed...I thought Anderson was going to add more life to a great but painfully long story by Upton Sinclair. Instead the director takes only the first few chapters into Haven't looked forward to a movie so much in years. Very disappointed...I thought Anderson was going to add more life to a great but painfully long story by Upton Sinclair. Instead the director takes only the first few chapters into account and somehow manages to make isaid story even longer by eliminating the socially important aspects of OIL!. Gone is the relevant stuff--Sinclair's complex look at a moral businessman's son deeply troubled by his relationship with both labor and a corrupt industry, instead turning it into a simple story of a crazy man getting crazier. DDL was perfect and is probably the only reason folks dig this the way they do. Paul Dano was amazing in Little Miss Sunshine, but that was because he didn't speak in it...in this movie he becomes a shrieking, Peter Brady squealing banshee who's representation of the parallels of revival culture in the early 20th century to that of industry is put too much on the backburner when it could've been Anderson's contribution to a storyline understated by Sinclair. And why did Anderson make Eli and Paul twins? It leaves anyone who hasn't read the book wondering if they're the same guy until the end, for no real reason. It is painfully boring for those who like movies to take them places...even harder on those who like to think about the movies they see (yay No Country!!!) And anyone who is revved up about it must just like eccentric characters who don't change (which is understandable, but useless in the grand scheme of things). I would say if you're thinking about seeing it you should YouTube Howard Dean's historic on-camera breakdown and then imagine watching that for three hours an how painful that would be..then go see diving bell and the butterfly or no country for old men...or follow the advice of the guy who put 30 Days of Night above this. Vampire flicks rule!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
shFeb 15, 2008
THIS MOVIE FUCKING SUCKED! I SAT THERE FOR 2.5 HOURS AND FUCKING TRIED TO KILL MYSELF. IT WAS SO FUCKING POINTLESS AND IF I HAD A GUN I WOULD HAVE KILLED MYSELF, BECAUSE THE MOVIE SUCKED SO FUCKING MUCH. JUST WATCHING IT MADE ME WANT TO GOTHIS MOVIE FUCKING SUCKED! I SAT THERE FOR 2.5 HOURS AND FUCKING TRIED TO KILL MYSELF. IT WAS SO FUCKING POINTLESS AND IF I HAD A GUN I WOULD HAVE KILLED MYSELF, BECAUSE THE MOVIE SUCKED SO FUCKING MUCH. JUST WATCHING IT MADE ME WANT TO GO FIND THE ACTORS AND DIRECTORS AND FUCKING KILL THEM. WTF! IM SO FUCKING PISSED OFF AFTER WATCHING THAT MOVIE!!!!!! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BarryS.Feb 16, 2008
The most over-hyped movie perhaps ever- for those of you artsie freaks who think- 'well you just dont get it" - oh i get it all right- i understand DD Lewis is a brilliant actor and that the film is beautifully shot- but thats as far as The most over-hyped movie perhaps ever- for those of you artsie freaks who think- 'well you just dont get it" - oh i get it all right- i understand DD Lewis is a brilliant actor and that the film is beautifully shot- but thats as far as anyone could go with this film- Paul Thomas Anderson needs to stay behind the camera- period. His screenplays are tired and not clever- no happy ending here and either hopefully for PTA career. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
JohnS.Feb 8, 2008
Great period settings and geographical scenes and clothing. Horrible story line with unredeeming qualities! Magnificent performance by Daniel Day Lewis. This started out great and then left me in a pool of black oil. Why would such a great Great period settings and geographical scenes and clothing. Horrible story line with unredeeming qualities! Magnificent performance by Daniel Day Lewis. This started out great and then left me in a pool of black oil. Why would such a great actor let this happen? Was a short cut taken and the substance left on the cutting room floor? Daniel Plainfield the character shows compassion and love in the beginning then sours into a pool of drunken insanity. Very long and boring, Daniel Day Lewis is great but the writer must of killed himself half way through! Or went on strike? Did this movie get made on the cutting room floor? Daniel Day Lewis needs to pick better movies to be in. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
joek.Jan 13, 2008
The funniest thing about this film is its ability to inspire some of the most patheitc armchair critic user reviews ever written. These people are so desperate to prove how "above" they are of the common movie goer, they don't even The funniest thing about this film is its ability to inspire some of the most patheitc armchair critic user reviews ever written. These people are so desperate to prove how "above" they are of the common movie goer, they don't even realize how stupid they sound. Look at these gems: "It is more exciting for its very real clashing of strong characters set to an EQUALLY RELEVANT (!?) background." "Rarely does a movie so EXCEED THE CONVENTIONS (!?) of todays film making as this one does." "Immediately after seeing it I was amazed. Not only was it by far the best movie of the year. But it might be one of the best movies I have ever seen." (ever heard of a comma?) "but the writing too really is something". Was ready to love this film, but watching this movie was like being a proctologist for two hours- go see it if you like staring at a$$h()les. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Great movie... original feel to movie in general and for certain in DDL's performance. Loved it and refreshing compared to the majority of movies made these days.

Best of all time... no ... but only 1-2 movies a year are made that are worth
Great movie... original feel to movie in general and for certain in DDL's performance. Loved it and refreshing compared to the majority of movies made these days.

Best of all time... no ... but only 1-2 movies a year are made that are worth watching..... I'm so glad they are... I'm running out of old classics to watch lol.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
AdamAdamsMar 21, 2008
Can't understand the appeal of this movie at all. I would like to think that I know a good movie when I see one, which is why this movie creates a disturbing dilemma for myself. But, do normally love Daniel Day Lewis. Amazing that heCan't understand the appeal of this movie at all. I would like to think that I know a good movie when I see one, which is why this movie creates a disturbing dilemma for myself. But, do normally love Daniel Day Lewis. Amazing that he can win an Oscar for this craptastic movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
2
SteveMar 30, 2008
can't think how this moves got so much praise. It has the world's worst music and Danny' boy's accent is even worser. A pitiful waste of film stock and my time and I like movies a lot. Makes Pirates of the Caribbean seemcan't think how this moves got so much praise. It has the world's worst music and Danny' boy's accent is even worser. A pitiful waste of film stock and my time and I like movies a lot. Makes Pirates of the Caribbean seem like Citizen Kane. Humans are crap is the message but I knew that already Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
3
RobertMAug 25, 2009
I'm still trying to figure out what was so great about this movie!! The first fifteen minutes were addicting since it had no words. I found that compelling, but the movie failed to make me care about an ambitious, cold hearted oil I'm still trying to figure out what was so great about this movie!! The first fifteen minutes were addicting since it had no words. I found that compelling, but the movie failed to make me care about an ambitious, cold hearted oil tycoon! I was upset that he didn't die or get killed! This was 3 hours of a snorefest! Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
3
AlexROct 22, 2009
I started whittling in the middle of this film to stave off boredom. Yeah. It starts off well and lays a solid foundation for what could be a captivating plot. Then functionally nothing happens for like two whole hours. No discernible plot, I started whittling in the middle of this film to stave off boredom. Yeah. It starts off well and lays a solid foundation for what could be a captivating plot. Then functionally nothing happens for like two whole hours. No discernible plot, with only Day-Lewis' intense portrayal to carry the film. His performance is actually kind of squandered since they could have given him more interesting dialogue or action. But, no. Just two hours of nothing. Then the ending comes out of nowhere, spews one memorable catchphrase, and finishes on a completely ridiculous note. I understand that this is art, and the cinematography is nice, but why can't art be entertaining? Don't let this film trick you into thinking that it makes a profound statement about society or the human condition or whatever just because DDL plays a brooding, mean guy and it's really sparse and atmospheric. Without him, this movie has nothing and would easily be seen as such. There Will Be Blood is all set-up. All the pieces are in place for this to be a good film, they just forgot to write the plot. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
The movie may be slow and tedious, but that is why "There will be Blood" enlightens and amazes the audience.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
HasbroBJan 6, 2008
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. I went into it with low expectations and it still disappointed. This is not the next great American classic. It is an excuse for a movie with no distinguishable plot, no fascinating characters (no, One of the worst movies I have ever seen. I went into it with low expectations and it still disappointed. This is not the next great American classic. It is an excuse for a movie with no distinguishable plot, no fascinating characters (no, not even Daniel Plainview.), and most of all, no underlying meaning. Any hint of political or religious meaning is lost at the hands of Anderson. The movie meanders, meaningless characters are introduced and disappear, scenes feel out-of-place, and even the soundtrack by the great Jonny Greenwood feels too epic for the picture it is trying to support. I honestly do not see what the critics are seeing in this movie and cannot fathom anyone finding more from "There Will Be Blood" than a true classic like "No Country For Old Men". Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MikeLeeApr 5, 2008
One of my favorite movies of all time. I am not sure why people absolutely NEED to like the main character in a movie. Day-Lewis' performance exceeds any performance by Brando, Hanks, Deniro, Pacino, Penn, etc... The raw emotion youOne of my favorite movies of all time. I am not sure why people absolutely NEED to like the main character in a movie. Day-Lewis' performance exceeds any performance by Brando, Hanks, Deniro, Pacino, Penn, etc... The raw emotion you get from Day-Lewis is enough to make shivers to run up your spine. I can watch this movie multiple times but the evil that resonated throughout makes it only watchable twice a year at most. There are many quality parts of this movie plot-wise. It is all done magically without many words. The anticipation of what might happen next makes the movie fly by quickly. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MattAJan 15, 2008
I hate to sound like all of the others, praising Daniel Day-Lewis for his performance, but the lead actor is deserving of it. His character was a believable figure enthralled by greed and power. His relationship with his son H.W. and hisI hate to sound like all of the others, praising Daniel Day-Lewis for his performance, but the lead actor is deserving of it. His character was a believable figure enthralled by greed and power. His relationship with his son H.W. and his hate for those around him create a complex character which strikes almost fear in the common man. The story was very interesting. There were also a few spectacular scenes of dialogue. I can see how some may not like it, especially if the topic doesn't interest one. However, look deep into the development of Daniel plainfield as a man throughout thirty years, and you'll see a creature worth watching. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TheoSFeb 24, 2008
Male movie. Hard, boring, easy message served in 3 Hours. Would have made a good short-movie. 30 minutes max. Aggressive music, anoying at best. (And i am actually musician (classic) but that combination did not worked out for me.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TokyochuchuMar 5, 2013
There Will Be Blood is fantastically photographed, written and acted. The central performance of Daniel Day Lewis is of legendary proportions. Better yet, the film is unbelievably funny, it's comedy blacker than the gushing oil that PlainviewThere Will Be Blood is fantastically photographed, written and acted. The central performance of Daniel Day Lewis is of legendary proportions. Better yet, the film is unbelievably funny, it's comedy blacker than the gushing oil that Plainview covets so badly. There Will be Blood is a truly unforgettable piece of cinema. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JasonGMar 16, 2011
What an amazing film. Daniel Day Lewis is haunting. Each of the 156 minutes from the initial pioneering scenes to the final Kubrick-esque moments dazzles in it's intensity. Meanwhile, the loss of consciousness, of mind, of vision, of sanity,What an amazing film. Daniel Day Lewis is haunting. Each of the 156 minutes from the initial pioneering scenes to the final Kubrick-esque moments dazzles in it's intensity. Meanwhile, the loss of consciousness, of mind, of vision, of sanity, is so subtle, is so delicate and unassuming that hours after the final credits have rolled one can only blink and say 'wow' Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaAug 9, 2012
One of the best films ever made. The intrigue of the characters; the rich themes and the great acting add up to an experience that has only been matched by few films. Sight and sound pisses me off because it seems as though they ignore allOne of the best films ever made. The intrigue of the characters; the rich themes and the great acting add up to an experience that has only been matched by few films. Sight and sound pisses me off because it seems as though they ignore all the great newer films to make themselves feel sophisticated. Mulholland drive was the only movie in the top 50 from the 2000s. What a crock! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxJan 5, 2012
First off, Daniel Day Lewis is untouchable (as always) and makes the film that much greater from his performance alone. There Will Be Blood gives us a cold hard look at the world of Oil Drilling and I loved it. It can be a little boring atFirst off, Daniel Day Lewis is untouchable (as always) and makes the film that much greater from his performance alone. There Will Be Blood gives us a cold hard look at the world of Oil Drilling and I loved it. It can be a little boring at times ,god knows the run time takes away from the film a bit, but the majority of the film is simply amazing and more then makes up for it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
infMtFeb 3, 2012
Best movie of the 2000 decade. This sentence will fill the remaining character requirement which is 150 characters long...................................................
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelFeb 14, 2013
Masterpiece.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
WadMAug 23, 2009
This movie Blows!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful
5
MarkWAug 12, 2008
I consider films to be an art form and not just mindless entertainment. Like most forms of art the satisfaction in born out of seeing/hearing something new and refreshing, something that challenges the way you think. However, originality I consider films to be an art form and not just mindless entertainment. Like most forms of art the satisfaction in born out of seeing/hearing something new and refreshing, something that challenges the way you think. However, originality doesn't guarantee a masterpiece. That's where "There Will Be Blood" fits in, original but far from the masterpiece that the film critics would have you believe. The score was hideous and totally out of place at times and the acting or perhaps the characters were totally overdone. I don't think the central story of greed was very convincing and rather looked more focused on a mans degrading sanity. To top it all off the ending was awfully contrived, it just didn't fit and was poorly done. Eli Sunday could have easily escape and that was painfully obvious. I get the sense that this is one of those cases where as soon as Hollywood produces a film that is brave the critics rave, but compare this film to some of the better lesser known independent films and it pales in comparison. You can intellectualise this film as much as you like but when it comes down to it simply it isn't that good. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
5
lancekozDec 22, 2012
I like to see movies artistically done, so this film didn't bother me exactly. It was just long, unfocused, and forgettable. The main character was not a real stretch in acting chops for Day-Lewis, and trivial parts were carried out forI like to see movies artistically done, so this film didn't bother me exactly. It was just long, unfocused, and forgettable. The main character was not a real stretch in acting chops for Day-Lewis, and trivial parts were carried out for absurd lengths of time. Visually and in thematic details, it DID ring of some real truths and passions, which alone would make it standout against most Hollywood fare, but unless you are dedicated to odd stuff, you will definitely find it a mediocre entertainment. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Jun 9, 2011
Easily one of the best performances in the history of cinema! Daniel Day-Lewis is great in every role, but this one is so believable and entertaining. I found myself unable to wait for his next line. This film grows on you...it takes a lotEasily one of the best performances in the history of cinema! Daniel Day-Lewis is great in every role, but this one is so believable and entertaining. I found myself unable to wait for his next line. This film grows on you...it takes a lot out of you, but the experience stays with you. It elicits that slow boil of thought afterwards, which makes you want to step back and watch it again. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
filmfanaticDec 4, 2010
A work of truly brilliant madness. It's the kind of film that sticks with you for a very long time. After seeing it only once, I knew there was something special here. Daniel Day-Lewis gives one of the most fascinating performances in movieA work of truly brilliant madness. It's the kind of film that sticks with you for a very long time. After seeing it only once, I knew there was something special here. Daniel Day-Lewis gives one of the most fascinating performances in movie history. From beginning to end, it never stops being a crazy, imperfect, frustrating and masterful piece of cinematic history. It comes highly recommended for anyone who is interested in film as an art form, and, in my opinion, it trumps the overrated No Country for Old Men. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
JoeyHFeb 15, 2008
It just wasn't that good. I have a lot of respect for PT Anderson, Paul Dano, and Daniel-Day Lewis. Especially Daniel. Unfortunately, great acting doesn't make a movie great. Kind of like how having Lebron doesn't make the It just wasn't that good. I have a lot of respect for PT Anderson, Paul Dano, and Daniel-Day Lewis. Especially Daniel. Unfortunately, great acting doesn't make a movie great. Kind of like how having Lebron doesn't make the Cavs great. I guess rating art is kind of pointless, but I really wouldn't tell anyone to go see this. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
RNMay 29, 2009
Just like every other Paul Thomas Anderson movie, this one would suck without such a big name as Daniel Day Lewis. His performance was phenomenal but lets face it, this was a movie about oil. What could be more boring than that? Maybe if Just like every other Paul Thomas Anderson movie, this one would suck without such a big name as Daniel Day Lewis. His performance was phenomenal but lets face it, this was a movie about oil. What could be more boring than that? Maybe if they did a movie about rocks. Seriously, without the charisma of Daniel Day Lewis nobody would have ever herd of this movie and it's because of him that this movie is getting such a high rating from me. If they would have put say, Nicholas Cage in this one instead this movie would tank and be a one. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CuthrinK.Aug 29, 2009
Quite overrated but the looks of it. Excellent acting by most of the actors, but the story is like an acid-time-travel trip to the olden times.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Lambo442Mar 14, 2013
An irrefutable masterpiece and anyone who denies it should have their milkshake drunk ASAP. It's original, intense and pretty much perfect in every way. You can feel Anderson's engagement with his subject matter and his passion for the work.An irrefutable masterpiece and anyone who denies it should have their milkshake drunk ASAP. It's original, intense and pretty much perfect in every way. You can feel Anderson's engagement with his subject matter and his passion for the work. You don't feel that sense of disengagement like you do with most empty Hollywood films. This is cinema at it's best, a disturbing portrayal of human nature and the effect of power. I'm just grateful that we still have at least one brilliant Director left in the world. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
ALangdonJan 9, 2011
This is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anythingThis is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anything interesting about this film. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
YoursTrulyNov 11, 2012
The acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes andThe acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes and tumbleweeds. Long winded, dry and not an inkling of refuge in sight. If only they would have whittled it down to a neat and simple package, this could have been great. But as it stands, snooze fest. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
Russian55May 16, 2011
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as depicted or the Churchmen as depicted.

So, people can be bad and corrupt? We needed over 2.5 HOURS of wasted film for this?

The performances were excellent, the cinematography was outstanding, but there was simply no real plot and nothing to care about in this tedious film.

It is a pity I cannot score it lower than 0.
Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
0
gm101Oct 4, 2010
I couldn't think of a more boring movie. Good acting? Looks more like imitating Sean Connery's accent. I hated this movie so much I would actually use the poster as toilet paper!
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
Prowler477Jun 22, 2011
Absolutely awful movie! I saw this movie because there was nothing else on and to say I didn't like it is an understatement. Truthfully the entire movie is uninteresting, boring and supremely stupid.
1 of 25 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
5
DorothyV.May 5, 2008
While the acting is phenomenal, the story is incoherent and meaningless, meanspirited and cruel. There is nothing redeeming about this movie and in the end is not a great movie. It is unenduringly bleak and insofar as this is true is does While the acting is phenomenal, the story is incoherent and meaningless, meanspirited and cruel. There is nothing redeeming about this movie and in the end is not a great movie. It is unenduringly bleak and insofar as this is true is does not portray the real complexity of a character or an epoch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
P.O.Mar 5, 2008
I am not sure about this one. I hardly ever disagree with Metacritic but this movie was pretty boring. I was just waiting for something to happen. I was impressed by the acting and the visuals were quite powerful. I thought it was a ok movie I am not sure about this one. I hardly ever disagree with Metacritic but this movie was pretty boring. I was just waiting for something to happen. I was impressed by the acting and the visuals were quite powerful. I thought it was a ok movie overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LuisC.Apr 15, 2008
I don t give less than 5 because of some brilliant scenes and great acting in some parts. But 80% of the movie was boring...and in a movie of 2.5h its to much. I was expecting much more.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JBMay 27, 2008
Mediocre at best. Great camerawork and great atmosphere, but the plot drags on... and on.... and on... 2h38m could have easily been condensed in a 1h20m movie. The music is probably the worst I have ever heard. I don't remember ever Mediocre at best. Great camerawork and great atmosphere, but the plot drags on... and on.... and on... 2h38m could have easily been condensed in a 1h20m movie. The music is probably the worst I have ever heard. I don't remember ever being bothered by a musical score, but the screeching and scratching got old really fast and did not seem to have any relation to the movie. It sounded like they ran out of money and decided to cut the music budget down to one guy with a violin and a microphone. Very forgettable movie.. Cannot believe it has a 92 score on metacritic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeremyP.May 30, 2008
The only reason it gets a five is because the actors performed well. Only problem was that the story itself leaves you wanting. It's not a good thing when you can tell the whole story when trying to just explain the plot. "Bad guy The only reason it gets a five is because the actors performed well. Only problem was that the story itself leaves you wanting. It's not a good thing when you can tell the whole story when trying to just explain the plot. "Bad guy becomes oil man." That's basically the whole movie. Nothing more needs to be said. The only reason to watch it is just to find out what makes him a bad guy. There's no redeeming qualities to any of the characters. In fact, it's simply an exercise in a cynical worldview, only looking at the worst in the oil industry and religion with no counterbalance. I think that's why Hollywood ate it up. Anything that focuses on the fringe aspects of "hocus pocus" religion or posits that big business is inherently greedy and rooted in evil intentions is immediately considered Oscar material it seems, and this has both! But, as I said before, the acting was the only redeeming quality and Daniel Day Lewis was definitely deserving of his best actor nod. But it's just a shame that his great performance was shackled by such a hopeless, aimless story. Let me put it another way, the only people praising this STORY are doing so because they feel it makes them smart. These are the same people that pay $15,000 for an impressionist painting by a 5 year old. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DaleMFeb 10, 2008
Good character study and nice historical touches, but it lacks an engaging storyline and comes off as rather tedious and boring. There are basically no women in the film which may point to a rather interesting sub-text about repressed Good character study and nice historical touches, but it lacks an engaging storyline and comes off as rather tedious and boring. There are basically no women in the film which may point to a rather interesting sub-text about repressed homosexuality. This sub-text, though hinted at by numerous men being maimed or killed by blunt objects and by two men having a baby, is never very much developed in an overt manner. The only sub-text the film overtly develops very much is about ambition. There is nothing wrong with this. What's wrong is that the ambition theme is not developed very creatively (as in Citizen Kane, for example). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
IverP.Feb 26, 2008
Great looking, but ultimately quite tedious and unbalanced.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RaimondR.Feb 29, 2008
There Will Be Blood, a 2007 film directed, written, and produced by Paul Thomas Anderson (best known for his work directing and writing the Adam Sandler film Punch-Drunk Love), opened on December 26, 2007 to a limited release in New York and There Will Be Blood, a 2007 film directed, written, and produced by Paul Thomas Anderson (best known for his work directing and writing the Adam Sandler film Punch-Drunk Love), opened on December 26, 2007 to a limited release in New York and Los Angeles and then was later widely released on January 25, 2008. It follows the story of an Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
RichardS.Apr 11, 2008
Well made movie about someone you don't like or care about. Too bad Day-Lewis can act in every way except to express pain. The editing was bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CarlM.Apr 12, 2008
Dramatic but confusing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AndreNApr 19, 2008
This is one of those movies that does everything right. The acting, the music, the cinematography are all brilliant but technical excellence alone does not necessarily make for a good movie. The other ingredient - enjoyability is sorely This is one of those movies that does everything right. The acting, the music, the cinematography are all brilliant but technical excellence alone does not necessarily make for a good movie. The other ingredient - enjoyability is sorely lacking from this movie. This has got nothing to do with the dark atmosphere created in the movie - as there are many dark, but also enjoyable movies. The plot is simplistic, the dialogue is boring and there is minimal character development over the course of the storyline. Although Day-Lewis acting probably deserves the Oscar, this alone cannot save this one-dimensional movie. A big disappointment! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JonathanC.Feb 25, 2008
What do you say about a movie that has great acting, directing, cinematography, and a good subject, but you forget about it minutes later? Guess what...you say that it's not a great movie! Compare that to No Country for Old Men, that What do you say about a movie that has great acting, directing, cinematography, and a good subject, but you forget about it minutes later? Guess what...you say that it's not a great movie! Compare that to No Country for Old Men, that gives you the willies days later. I almost feel like people like this movie because not feeling anything is supposed to be "artsy". Please! Movies are either pieces art or a good story...Great movies are both. This was only art. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JJ.Apr 11, 2008
Drastically overhyped and paced like the bastard step child of Solarace and English Patient on qualudes. The third act is a mess that will leave you with that sense of bewilderment. Clearly a movie that chose device over substance to evoke Drastically overhyped and paced like the bastard step child of Solarace and English Patient on qualudes. The third act is a mess that will leave you with that sense of bewilderment. Clearly a movie that chose device over substance to evoke some hackneyed emotion. The score is one of many devices that I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JA.Jun 14, 2008
This movie is a one trick pony that quickly tires midway through. I found myself looking at my watch more than the screen. The only thing thinner than the plot are the characters. What a disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BengalsfanAZMar 13, 2012
I still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moralI still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moral dilemma thing just escapes me. I mean, in real life who the hell acts like these people do? The only positive things I got from this movie were the visuals and the acting of Daniel Day-Lewis. Other than that, avoid this movie unless you want to be bored to tears and pissed off at the ending. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 31, 2012
The only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to beThe only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to be up for best picture. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
No matter how superb that acting was and the overall quality of the film.....it is wayyyyyyyyyy too long and pointless. It was the farthest thing from a gripping movie. There were some very good scenes and music, but come on....so boring.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
5
ExKingMay 24, 2013
this movie is too awkward with an obnoxious writing i mean i know Daniel day-lewess made an awesome performance there is no Doubt about that but the writing keep you away from the story i mean why when his son became deaf he was happy ?
why
this movie is too awkward with an obnoxious writing i mean i know Daniel day-lewess made an awesome performance there is no Doubt about that but the writing keep you away from the story i mean why when his son became deaf he was happy ?
why his son burned down the house ?
why he killed his brother ?
why he waited all these years until he told his son that he was adopted ?
why in hell he killed the monk ?
omg i felt stupid after watching this movie.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Jimbo82Apr 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This films started off well, but once we've seen how Plainview (Day-Lewis) set up the business and his early difficulties in buying land to drill for oil that the film starts to take a nose dive. First of all, there is little to no character development we learn nothing about Plainview's work force, his son (who turns out not to be his son) is only developed very slightly towards the end. There are also a few things that don't make any sense i.e when Plainview abandons the boy on the train. He is returned back to Plainview later in the film, but where had he been? Where did they find him? How long had he been gone for? None of this is explained. I also felt the ending was over the top. I gave it 4 mainly because it started out well and Day-Lewis put in a good performance (not Oscar worthy though). I also thought the guy who played Eli put on a good performance too. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
SchizophreniacFeb 10, 2014
some scenes are boring. but I I need to talk about all of body, yes good film. Daniel Day Lewis carries this film on some scenes, but at the beginning of film you will see the perfect scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Raven25Sep 20, 2014
Do not watch this movie for the plot. Watch it for Daniel Day Lewis and his character. The character's interaction with the world is the plot, and it is amazing. True masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
cocofortuneOct 8, 2015
i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Whyi hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far as i could tell, and i don't understand how anyone likes it. i feel complete disdain and hate for this movie. Expand
0 of 13 users found this helpful013
All this user's reviews
10
KaseySJan 7, 2008
I still can't get it out of my mind. Horrifying. Excellent. I praise the return of silence in movies. It makes the sparse dialogue that much more meaningful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennCJan 7, 2008
Audrey, you are a complete moron. This film was the best of the year. Go see a terrible film like P.S. I love you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Jan 7, 2008
I really wanted to like this one too. Started out OK, however, the last 30 minutes or so were ridiculous and over-the-top. I think P.T. Anderson is like Tarantino. P.T. makes the great "Boogie Nights", and while we all thought he was going I really wanted to like this one too. Started out OK, however, the last 30 minutes or so were ridiculous and over-the-top. I think P.T. Anderson is like Tarantino. P.T. makes the great "Boogie Nights", and while we all thought he was going to be a great director. I think we now realize it was just a fluke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomB.Feb 20, 2008
Not as good as I expected, but still a very fine movie. DDLewis's performance is stunning, even if it's over the top in a few places, but I blame that on the director not the actor. This is a visual masterwork but the script/story Not as good as I expected, but still a very fine movie. DDLewis's performance is stunning, even if it's over the top in a few places, but I blame that on the director not the actor. This is a visual masterwork but the script/story was not as fulfilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddbMar 2, 2008
I would let day-lewis sleep with my wife just to raise his offspring. thats all that needs to be said he's a genius and you people who think this movie is boring or over hyped, go watch your saw movies and shut the hell up. your I would let day-lewis sleep with my wife just to raise his offspring. thats all that needs to be said he's a genius and you people who think this movie is boring or over hyped, go watch your saw movies and shut the hell up. your uncultured and useless to society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Apr 8, 2008
It may very well be the best film of 2007; certainly time will be kind to this eccentric, almost Wellesian masterpiece from Paul Thomas Anderson. Can he follow it up with anything like an Ambersons for a one-two puch to achieve true greatness?
0 of 0 users found this helpful