Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1369 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,079
Mixed:
121
Negative:
169
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Xyn1407Apr 6, 2008
Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made recycled material almost like parchment paper. Two Disc which is the one I ordered. The Extras include 15 Minutes of pics, research, ETC., Trailers, Fishing sequence, Haircut/ Interrupted Hymm, Dailies Gone Wold and THE STORY OF PETROLEUM (ea 1923) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Apr 7, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis is unparalleled in one of the best acting jobs ever done by anyone in history. Even if the rest of the movie was unacceptable, Day-Lewis' performance would alone garner a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaudR.Apr 8, 2008
magnificent, Daniel Day brillianiant, USERS REVIEWS CRAP SO FAR.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyE.Apr 8, 2008
Greatest performance by an actor i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonL.Apr 8, 2008
Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building displayed by the two main male protagonists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshCMay 11, 2008
This is truly a work of symphonic aspirations and masterful execution. Anderson's superb filmmaking is complemented throughout by Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood's excellent score
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJ.May 16, 2008
If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy If you think this movie (and old country) was too "boring" for you, why don't you go watch some mindless BS that doesn't take an ounce of brain matter to enjoy. Seriously, there are two kinds of people my friends. Those that enjoy using their brains and actually thinking about what they are watching, and those that watch forest gump every weekend. Oh, and if you don't like the music in this film, thats a pretty good indication that you have garbage taste in music, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonJMay 4, 2008
The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And as good as he usually is, Day-Lewis is off-key sometimes. The local enthusiast preacher (I forget his name and don't know the actor) needed a stronger player. He is rather weak-- so unctuous and effeminate that he doesn't truly make for a believable nemesis for Day-Lewis. And, yes, that's part of the point, but I still didn't buy it. The film hovers between gritty reality and miasmic fantasy, and it never really decides which it wants to be, which is part of its triumph-- and its failing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikM.Jun 2, 2008
Complex character,secretly alcoholic, mean, and spiteful as he smiles to get what he wants, just like president Bush.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VeikkoH.Jun 2, 2008
This film deserves high scores because it's something fresh and brave compared to today's other films. It's in many ways like Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey": the score, cinematography and the bizarre stripped-down This film deserves high scores because it's something fresh and brave compared to today's other films. It's in many ways like Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey": the score, cinematography and the bizarre stripped-down ending all match to "2001". It won't certainly entertain action freaks, but for friends of minimalism and originality it will be quite addictive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Nigel.Jun 2, 2008
Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the Wow, an intelligent thought provoking film. All too rare these days. The central character played brilliantly by Day is one of the most complex and believable in cinema history. The story is thoroughly absorbing and well written too and the conflict between all the protagonists leads to an interesting conclusion about human nature, greed and what makes people truly happy. Beats the pants off anything Will Smith and his multi-million dollar CGI bore-fests could ever hope to acheive. Cinematic greatness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceVAug 8, 2008
It seems as though many people posting negative comments here are overlooking the numerous qualities that makes this probably the best film of the year; these people are just venting their frustrations that they do not have the capacity to It seems as though many people posting negative comments here are overlooking the numerous qualities that makes this probably the best film of the year; these people are just venting their frustrations that they do not have the capacity to enjoy such a brilliant film. The film is gripping, with sublime acting from Daniel Day-Lewis & Paul Dano in particular, and a score from Johnny Greenwood that really adds to the tension and atmosphere. The cinematography, from Robert Elswit, alone makes it a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomM.Sep 14, 2008
Those familiar with the past work of Daniel Day-Lewis will not be surprised by his stunning performance in THERE WILL BE BLOOD. During the film I found myself comparing him with some of our classic masters, from Barrymore to Brando. There Those familiar with the past work of Daniel Day-Lewis will not be surprised by his stunning performance in THERE WILL BE BLOOD. During the film I found myself comparing him with some of our classic masters, from Barrymore to Brando. There are also excellent performances by many others in the cast, including Paul Dano as the primitive country minister and Kevin J. O'Connor as the (fraudulent?) half-brother. The story, based on an Upton Sinclair novel, is raw, rivetting, and unusual, and gradually becomes recognizable as driven and ruthless capitalist Americana. I hope to get to the library (or a favorite used bookstore) one of these days to see if I can find this 20th century gem sitting unread on a dusty shelf. Incidentally, the score and soundtrack by Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead is innovative, captivating, and, at times, seems to be suggesting the loose cannon we are following; unfortunately, there were moments when I thought the audio was attempting to upstage the visual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyCJan 3, 2009
I give it a 9 because the acting deserves a 10 and the story an 8. A well-deserved Oscar for Daniel Day-Lewis. This is definitely a movie which makes one think. If you're looking for a shallow movie that provides 2 hours straight of I give it a 9 because the acting deserves a 10 and the story an 8. A well-deserved Oscar for Daniel Day-Lewis. This is definitely a movie which makes one think. If you're looking for a shallow movie that provides 2 hours straight of non-stop action & entertainment, you're in the wrong theatre. The name 'There Will Be Blood' is merely a metaphor, representing D. Plainview's sadistic & relentless pursuit of fame & fortune. The portrayal of this character -- achieved by both the acting & the storyline -- was so successful that I had to look up from websites whether Daniel Plainview was indeed a real character. Overall speaking, I would say that this highly-recommended movie is one which deserves all wins & awards, whereas 'No Country For Good Men' was way over-rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MackJan 6, 2009
Not a movie you will necessarily enjoy watching but Lewis' performance is amazing. You won't soon forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunWMar 7, 2009
This movie is a breathtaking tale of a man torn apart by his own insensitivities and lust for money. It shows the true side of the era,. How ruthless you had to be to make it in America and in contrast to the current war for oil. Daniel Day This movie is a breathtaking tale of a man torn apart by his own insensitivities and lust for money. It shows the true side of the era,. How ruthless you had to be to make it in America and in contrast to the current war for oil. Daniel Day Lewis delivers his lines superbly and mask his former characters perfectly. Don't base your opinion on a guy who writes sux. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyMAug 8, 2009
I can understand the people that didn't like the movie- but most of these negative reviews are ridiculous. I'm sure everyone who wants their "3 hours" will spend it watching "Friends" re-runs ad "The Fast and The Furious". This is I can understand the people that didn't like the movie- but most of these negative reviews are ridiculous. I'm sure everyone who wants their "3 hours" will spend it watching "Friends" re-runs ad "The Fast and The Furious". This is the best movie of the decade. It just goes to show that audiences these days don't care about great films. Sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielPJan 2, 2010
people like, Wad M, find it bring because there childish, bitch. As for R N just because Day Lewis is in it doesnt mean its good. PT anderson is a very good director. and critics look for evry aspect. and whats more boring than oil and people like, Wad M, find it bring because there childish, bitch. As for R N just because Day Lewis is in it doesnt mean its good. PT anderson is a very good director. and critics look for evry aspect. and whats more boring than oil and rocks....the animal known as your mother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewHJan 21, 2010
Daniel Day Lewis delivers the best acting performance I've ever seen in a film. Great storytelling and plot. There will be Blood reminds me of Citizen Kane in that its about a business men whose only ambition in life is to to amass Daniel Day Lewis delivers the best acting performance I've ever seen in a film. Great storytelling and plot. There will be Blood reminds me of Citizen Kane in that its about a business men whose only ambition in life is to to amass wealth, but at the end of thier lives, their money is all that they have. One of of my top 10 movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HGDec 20, 2007
Saw it in Austin. Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimC.Dec 20, 2007
Paul's magnum opus. Best film I've seen in a long time. An utter masterpiece of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimB.Dec 27, 2007
Easily the best, though not the most comforting, movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoC.Dec 27, 2007
The very best rewiew of this movie is still lacking on this site - the one of Time's. That magazine's critic got at the right point: the ending is the most eletrifying ever. And this is one of the best american movies ever crafted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinL.Dec 27, 2007
Daniel Day-Lewis owns this film ... Paul Dano, not so much. But the baptism scene with both of them must be destined to be a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Dec 27, 2007
The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job The pairing of Upton Sinclair and PT Anderson results in a volatile movie as explosive as the sticks of dynamite used to squelch a rig fire. Capitalism and Fundamentalism are both soul-less endeavors for most and this movie does a great job of telling a simple story of men obsessed with their pursuits. Flawless performances, understated but beautiful cinematography and production design and a pensive pace that will throw some people off. An instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberF.Dec 28, 2007
This mesmerizing and brilliant work of art is one of the best films of our time. Please Mr. Anderson, don't ever stop making movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherMDec 29, 2007
The internet has empowered hypercritical dorks like none other. You guys are such internet losers. It's depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jonl.Dec 30, 2007
One of the best films ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillD.Jan 11, 2008
This is a very big movie, an experience, an event. Exhilarating. The movie ended 2 hours ago, and I can't calm down. I'm speechless. If you like movies, you have got to see this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrylF.Jan 11, 2008
Day-Lewis gives the best acting performance that I have ever seen !!!! it was pure joy watching this man act.... and it had some of the funniest scenes that had me laughing harder than some of what they call comedy today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonM.Jan 1, 2008
I think this a very good movie, but in the end I found that it lacked an overall punch. It's got such good acting and PTA is such a gifted director, that it's only after the movie is over that I wondered, "What is this movie really I think this a very good movie, but in the end I found that it lacked an overall punch. It's got such good acting and PTA is such a gifted director, that it's only after the movie is over that I wondered, "What is this movie really about?". It doesn't have a statement to make although many are saying it's about the rise of corporations over the individual, however, Day Lewis's character is his own demise, not the man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
rammJan 12, 2008
They should have named this " There will be Asshole" Sure, I get the message. But what's with the music? It seems that they were trying to make the story something it was not with all the abstract horror strings. Every scene was built They should have named this " There will be Asshole" Sure, I get the message. But what's with the music? It seems that they were trying to make the story something it was not with all the abstract horror strings. Every scene was built up with this omenous music that never led to anything. It had you thinking that diaster was eminent yet nothing ever happened. What was the story on Eli and Paul? They never resolved that to any satisfaction. DD Lewis was brilliant. But was it neccesary to portray him as the world largest colnic apature? I don't get it. Great cinematography. Great acting. But where's the beef? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackH.Jan 12, 2008
It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it It's nice to see a prestige picture that breaks from the traditional "heartbreaking-story-of-humanity" mold every once in a while, without becoming too politicized. This is one of the reasons "There Will Be Blood" is so incredible: it delicately treads the line between humanistic and intimate, and commentative, political. Day-Lewis's portrayal of Plainview is, without a doubt, the film's highlight, to be sure. Coming out of the theater, I was shaking and crying--not due to the sadness of the film, but rather due to Day-Lewis's performance (if he doesn't win Best Actor for that role, then there really will be blood.) This isn't to play down the rest of the film, though: it does an unusually good job of making all of its characters, not just the protagonist, complex and believable, and by the end, it'll be difficult to decide who's the de facto "good guy"--or if there even is one. Many comparisons have been drawn between this film and "Citizen Kane." To be sure, the capitan-of-industry aspect is there, along with the power-corrupts adage worked in. But somewhere between Johnny Greenwood's haunting soundtrack and Daniel Plainview's monologue about his hatred of humanity, you realize this film is nothing like "Citizen Kane"--it's a rags-to-riches story with all the hope and triumph drained from it,like so much oil in the ground, and it feels strangely relevant to the current world. Easily the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanT.Jan 12, 2008
I think 20, 30, 40 years from now, people will look back at There Will Be Blood as an epic work of American filmmaking, following in the tradition of movies like The Godfather.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoseRJan 13, 2008
This movie was slightly more than 2.5 hours long, but felt like a seven hour film. D.D. Lewis' performance is the only thing that kept me in my seat. Paul Dano's performance was also excellent. The movie dragged on for what seamedThis movie was slightly more than 2.5 hours long, but felt like a seven hour film. D.D. Lewis' performance is the only thing that kept me in my seat. Paul Dano's performance was also excellent. The movie dragged on for what seamed like days. I found myself looking at my watch wondering how long the movie had been playing and when, if ever, it would finally end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioB.Jan 13, 2008
An excellent film that hits you like a fever. Absolutely visceral and and hard to stomach, this movie focuses on characters that you will seldom find as the focus of a character study. Unsympathetic but charismatic, Daniel Plainview is An excellent film that hits you like a fever. Absolutely visceral and and hard to stomach, this movie focuses on characters that you will seldom find as the focus of a character study. Unsympathetic but charismatic, Daniel Plainview is portrayed to perfection by Daniel Day-Lewis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkDuffyJan 14, 2008
This is quite likely the most overrated film of the year. Overall, this film is very strongly character driven. Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Bano create intriguing characters that save an otherwise lifeless plot. The soundtrack is great andThis is quite likely the most overrated film of the year. Overall, this film is very strongly character driven. Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Bano create intriguing characters that save an otherwise lifeless plot. The soundtrack is great and the characters intriguing but I simply found myself wanting more. There is nothing to "get" in this movie. The film is rather heavy handed on its critiques of society, greed, etc. Succinctly, this film drags you through the rise and fall of an intriguing character at a slow pace with a hollow ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaleL.Jan 16, 2008
I hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all,I hate to sound extreme and toss my coin in with perfect ten crowd, but this is a goddamn great film. A pretty sprawling, Kubrick-esque American fable. The visuals are stunning, camera work subtle and sharp. Performances are, above all, memorable. Whether you dug it or not is your thing, but why else are we sitting around shitting about how AWESOME or TERRIBLE this thing is. It's a stark work of art. And usually with one of those, there is mass division. So, don't feel bad or pretentious for digging it, and don't feel self-righteous and scornful if you didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikkoCOct 16, 2008
Mark's post is barely good enough for one entry, let alone two identicals... please remove it (all?). Mine can take one's place :) Anyway... the movie is a moral study on greed etc, yes, but Eli is not a good character either. It Mark's post is barely good enough for one entry, let alone two identicals... please remove it (all?). Mine can take one's place :) Anyway... the movie is a moral study on greed etc, yes, but Eli is not a good character either. It has as much to say about the greed and the destructiveness (on the mind especially... as it narrows...) of religion as it does capitalism. The soundtrack is great (sorry Britney was booked Mark)... the performance of Day-Lewis, especially in scenes like when he is revealed as crying in the light of the passing train etc, is not just very good, but the best acting performance (try for a second to picture anyone else pulling it off, or even being remotely convincing for that matter) of this century thus far (only Bardem's in NCFOM comes close). So good, that it outweighs the film's qualities in the end and thus it gets a 9/10. It's ballsiness, courage and intelligence is very heartwarming to someone used to dumbing-down to supposedly high-grade film-making which is largely underwhelming, so, thank you Mr Anderson. Most of all though, I wanted to comment ont he fact that this is clearly not as good, nor ironically is it as well-reviewed as, No Country For Old Men (winner of best picture in the same year and category as this higher rated - on metacritic - film)..... but it is 92 to NCFOM's 91. This is a total injustice, but has been directly brought about by ONE MAN - arrogant, self-obsessed, joyless, hypocritical, ascetic, space-wasting loser - Jonathan Rosenbaum.... he gave it 32. Sure Jon, it's not Bio-Dome you dick. So that even though this film gets lots of 70s and 60s and is poorly reviewed by several critics.... it is NCFOM's consistent 100s, 90s and a handful of 80s that gets bombed by a loser who needs to get laid and a politically-obsessed, self-appointed cock. Metacritic should drop the lowest two reviews to account for such unforgivable pretentiousness. They are not reviewing films, they are soapboxing, banish them. NCFOM doesn't have your pound of flesh Rosenbaum, so brush that chip off your shoulder buddy, or else FO..... amateur. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XTrapnelJan 16, 2008
The ending is not wholly satisfactory, but the middle section of the picture features some of the most bravura sequences -- scored to perfection -- you could ever hope to see. However, Joe K is right about some of the awful, purple prose theThe ending is not wholly satisfactory, but the middle section of the picture features some of the most bravura sequences -- scored to perfection -- you could ever hope to see. However, Joe K is right about some of the awful, purple prose the film has inspired. Mind you, have a look at this: "These people are so desperate to prove how "above" they are of the common movie goer." That hardly counts as English, either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 19, 2008
There Will Be Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveT.Jan 19, 2008
Of course, Day-Lewis is fantastic. Loved Paul Dano, too, but the plot moves along fairly slowly and is oftentimes predictable. The music (if you call it that...it is frequently "sound") is pretty cool as the movie's backdrop. Overall, Of course, Day-Lewis is fantastic. Loved Paul Dano, too, but the plot moves along fairly slowly and is oftentimes predictable. The music (if you call it that...it is frequently "sound") is pretty cool as the movie's backdrop. Overall, worth seeing but not the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanP.Jan 21, 2008
It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe It stunned me. 2007 had its share of great movies. I didn't think stuff like No Country For Old Men and The Diving Bell And The Butterfly could be beat, but this movie knocked me out like no other film from the last few years. Maybe even longer. The ending was over-the-top and bizarre, but it was also 10 minutes of some of the best one-person acting I've ever seen. Day-Lewis is spectacular throughout the whole film, but he just went all out at the end. A crazy masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamBJan 2, 2008
A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, A masterpiece from PTA. Every shot is beautifully composed and in effect places you directly into the film. I don't even know where to begin with the acting performances. This may be Daniel Day-Lewis' greatest acting performance, which says a lot. If you thought Bill The Butcher was intense, merciless, and dynamic, wait until you see Daniel Plainview. Jonny Greenwood's score is creates an uneasy anticipation throughout. It is perfect. There Will Be Blood is a must see film for cinephiles, but the average movie goer might leave the theater feeling empty or perhaps dirty inside. It has that kind of affect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeneV.Jan 2, 2008
Great acting - especially Day-Lewis who carries the film with a performance just slightly more restrained and less threatening that Gangs of NY. Great cinematography and set making a gripping visual portrait of depression era Southwest. The Great acting - especially Day-Lewis who carries the film with a performance just slightly more restrained and less threatening that Gangs of NY. Great cinematography and set making a gripping visual portrait of depression era Southwest. The only problems are those of the Anderson as scriptwriter [unfocused at times] and visuals [some scenes are included solely for the purposes of showing off the director's skills]. Both of these problems are characteristics of Anderson's film making efforts. All in all a must see, especially given the current run of cartoon extravaganzas, mellow-dramas, and shopping mall teen films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoanC.Jan 22, 2008
3 out of 4 of us who saw the film were disappointed. The movie lacks character development, seems irrelevant, and I didn't really care about the characters, although DDL did a fabulous acting job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricH.Jan 23, 2008
It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there It is very rare that I will give a movie a ten out of ten. This film deserves it, hands down. Some say it's too slow, too boring, or too pointless. The opposite is the case. Sure; it does ride heavily on the back of Day-Lewis, but there are plenty of other fantastic actors to keep the movie afloat. What really needs to be taken into account here is character and theme. Put quite simply, the character development is spectacular and the numerous themes have you leaving the theater shaken and, quite frankly, changed. Sit this movie out and you will be rewarded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomJan 24, 2008
The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you The single greatest acting performance of my lifetime. For the life of me, I can't see how you'd rate this movie any less than a 9. I suppose if your attention span is more "Fast and the Furious 2" than "There Will Be Blood" you might find this a bit dull. But if you ever enjoyed a serious work of fiction, see this post-haste. It rewards thoughtfulness, understanding of character, and a sober assessment of what simultaneously makes our country great, and yet corrupts it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CussR.Jan 24, 2008
Does savage ambition inevitably breed insanity? Is true success earned only upon complete deprivation of human emotion? These are among the uncertainties haunting Paul Thomas Anderson
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StaciaM.Jan 26, 2008
One of the most amazing films in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LindaL.Jan 28, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis is mesmerizing in this movie -- although I got a jolt when it's revealed that his character hails from Wisconsin, since he sounds just like his character in "Gangs of New York." We haven't seen a story set in the Daniel Day-Lewis is mesmerizing in this movie -- although I got a jolt when it's revealed that his character hails from Wisconsin, since he sounds just like his character in "Gangs of New York." We haven't seen a story set in the oil boom for a long time, and this is a gritty, engrossing one with dark, complex characters. None of them very likable, which is a drawback for some of us. With so much calamity and grief, I missed having someone like Tommy Lee Jones (in "Old Men") as the anchor and "heart" of the story. And thought the score, with its plinky percussion and busy strings, was awful, actually a distraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveFJan 29, 2008
One of the most brilliant screen performances that I have ever seen! Daniel Day and Paul Thomas have together made the ultimate masterpiece!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenMJan 30, 2008
A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to A masterpiece, but a sure-fire audience splitter similar to the (near equally) "No Country for Old Men." On one side you have people who love to go to the cinema and be challenged, surprised, perplexed, even dare say, confused. We want to debate the film, what it means, what motivated the characters. To, you know, think. We are the people voting 9 and 10 here. The other side are folks who want to go to the movies. To be spoon fed sugary treats, patted on the head, given a good night kiss and sent off to bed without a thought ringing in their heads. These are the folks slamming this film, and who probably just loved "National Treasure 2" and "Alvin and the Chipmunks". It's not wrong. Some people spend their hard earned cash on something and want exactly what they want -- to be entertained but without the hassles. Seriously, does anyone who's seen "National Treasure 2" remember if the next week, the next day, the next ... hour. No. "There Will be Blood" settles inside you like oil, and I know I'll be wrestling with it for weeks and months to come, until I see it again. You've read the plot posts already, Daniel Day-Lewis -- never more brilliant -- is an oil tycoon with oil for blood. He loves nothing but his ambition. He is the corruption of capitalism, which was meant to help all people but has been hijacked by the greed of a few. Paul Dano, who by God looks exactly like my brother who's now in Iraq, represents the corruption of America's other greatest gift, religion. He is an evangelist for himself, not God above. Both men destroy and push away every thing close to themselves until they have nothing but each other -- then they start tearing down again. One stands at the end, or rather slumps. This is a brilliant, methodical film that is as one poster here said, a brilliant disaster film. The disaster of the soul. Again like in "No Country," there is an innocent -- the adopted son of Daniel Planview (the Day-Lewis character). In a brilliant twist, the boy has his ear drums blown out by an oil rig accident and he goes deaf. It's heart-breaking to think a son will never hear his father say, "I love you." The irony is that Planview, when he tells his son exactly that, doesn't mean it. Alas, it's not worth hearing. Yes, it's long, yes, it's challenging, and hard to get a grip of, yes, there's deep, deep thought in every scene. Cinema, lovers: enjoy. All others, do pass. One final note: The score, by Johnny Greenwood of Radiohead, is the best this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveS.Oct 3, 2008
Calling this a good movie is an insult to good movies. I wanted to like it, and DD Lewis is always entertaining, but let's face it - the movie is ultimately a failure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveGJan 4, 2008
Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the Art is very subjective. And the medium of film has perhaps the widest range of any art form. For example, one critic on this site's list of the best movies of the year has "The Borne Ultimatum" at #1. A young woman in front of me at the store last night told someone on the phone that "I am Legend" was the best movie ever made and that WIll Smith is the best actor in the history of film. And a number of users here viscerally hate this film. Opinions are like noses (or any other body part) -- everyone has one. The reason this movie is so well received by critics is that it is stunningly shot and edited, very well acted and tackles a number of important issues. Not everyone has the attention span necessary to enjoy a film like this. Anderson's films tend to be a bit long in the tooth, and this is no exception. But as with "Boogie Nights" and "Magnolia," the long ride is worthwhile, not just for the destination, but for the ride itself. This movie is bearutiful and powerful and tragic and, at times, disturbing. It is also magnificent. I am often dumbfounded as to how people adore some of the movies that are popular. I am equally surprised by the few, but very adament, negative reviews of this film. Paul Thomas Anderson and Daniel Day Lewis will be nominated for Academy Awards again. Those acolades will be deserved. I loved this movie. If you have an attention span not dulled by music videos and sitcoms, and are not a pretentious film school malcontent, you should appreciate this movie too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
antoniom.Jan 4, 2008
Daniel Day Lewis' performance is riveting.......easily the best performance by an actor this past year......every thing about the film is beautiful executed......a wonderful ride!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackB.Jan 4, 2008
I read metacritic constantly and rarely vote, but I just wanted to say that this is one of the finest films I've ever seen in my entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeH.Jan 5, 2008
Inspiringly beautiful movie making on all levels. Don't be afraid of the misleading title and critics mistakingly pigeon-holing it as simply a Western; "There Will Be Blood" is one of the best films in years and will be remembered for Inspiringly beautiful movie making on all levels. Don't be afraid of the misleading title and critics mistakingly pigeon-holing it as simply a Western; "There Will Be Blood" is one of the best films in years and will be remembered for many years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilKJan 5, 2008
Best movie of the year. Hands down. See it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickBJan 5, 2008
Best film of DDL's career, and the year's best. A must see in theaters. Well worth price of admission. I can't say enough about the acting on all accounts, but the writing too really is something, and the story twists and Best film of DDL's career, and the year's best. A must see in theaters. Well worth price of admission. I can't say enough about the acting on all accounts, but the writing too really is something, and the story twists and turns in gut-wrenching ways that you will be thinking about weeks after. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
OliverC.Jan 6, 2008
Great use of sound, good acting and directing bring to life an otherwise mundane plot that we've all seen a million times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leannem.Jan 7, 2008
A morality tale on a very big scale, a story told in bold strokes, cinematograthy and a sound track to jar your nerves (in a good way), evil vs evil in your face, There Willl Be Blood is terriffic entertianment and enlightening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamieH.Jan 7, 2008
Without Daniel-Day Lewis this movie would be pretty forgetable. One great acting performance can't catapult this movie to greatness surely. Plot, great story lines, dialogue is what makes for great cinema. There are some wonderful Without Daniel-Day Lewis this movie would be pretty forgetable. One great acting performance can't catapult this movie to greatness surely. Plot, great story lines, dialogue is what makes for great cinema. There are some wonderful scenes and acting but the movie is too slow and plodding. Was hoping for so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnGuyJan 7, 2008
It gave me nightmares... I havent slept since the night I saw it... O.K, I just got back from seeing it. "I'm Finished"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonSJan 8, 2008
The film-making is astonishing, the music haunting, and Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is unforgettable. There are missteps (Dano is only okay) but this is a masterful movie and will long be remembered and savored by everyone who loves The film-making is astonishing, the music haunting, and Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is unforgettable. There are missteps (Dano is only okay) but this is a masterful movie and will long be remembered and savored by everyone who loves film. Surely it's churlish to note that the negative reviews on this message board feature many misspellings and grammatical mistakes, but it should be mentioned that this movie is not for the impatient or the unimaginative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Jan 9, 2008
Possibly the best American film of the decade thus far, Day-Lewis is flawless, Greenwood's soundtrack enthralls, and Anderson reinvents himself as a director. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IainF.Oct 9, 2008
This film is amazing. A relentless, brutal, gripping, psycologichally moving film. This and No Country For Old Men were two of the best films I've ever seen, the only difference in the two is that There Will Be Bloo has a distinct lead This film is amazing. A relentless, brutal, gripping, psycologichally moving film. This and No Country For Old Men were two of the best films I've ever seen, the only difference in the two is that There Will Be Bloo has a distinct lead character. And this is Daniel Day Lewis' character, Daniel Plainview, a relentless and brutal oil man who cares about no one but himself and his own image. The anti-hero he plays is a interesting and complicated character, but whats most intriguing about this film is DDL's performance. If you've seen any of his other films such as My Left Foot, you'll be familiar with his work. He's absolutely amazing. However, after viewing metacritic and seeing the user reviews on NCFOM and TWBB, I realised something. These films I thought as brilliant aren't perfect. Far from it. They have one gigantic floor, and this is... Dumb people. Pathetic people who don't have the patience and brain capacity to appreciate the films magnificance and deeply moving narrative. They can't appreciate the script, the characters and there motives, the cinematography or anything. They just think, oh there hasn't been anyone slaughtered to death, or any sexy women yet, so i'm gonna give this film a zero. Think about it. It makes sense. And who are you gonna believe, film critics, who aren't dumb and can actually appreciate the film in it's entiretym or audiences who find anything other than porn stale, dull and boring. This film is a work of brilliance... Unmissable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryM.Jan 9, 2008
Are you an angry man? Are you envious? Do you get envious? I have a competition in me. I want no one else to succeed. I hate most people. There are times when I look at people and I see nothing worth liking. I've built my hatreds up Are you an angry man? Are you envious? Do you get envious? I have a competition in me. I want no one else to succeed. I hate most people. There are times when I look at people and I see nothing worth liking. I've built my hatreds up over the years, little by little. I see the worst in people. I don't need to look past seeing them to get all I need. I want to earn enough money I can get away from everyone. I can't keep doing this on my own... with these... people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamCFeb 11, 2008
Absolutely awesome in every way. There was nothing i would change about this movie. The forced Baptism scene was one of the greatest moments of cinema in the past century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RB.Feb 10, 2008
No sugar coating here. Simply a dark movie with a hell of a story. If you see movies on a regular basis, you have to see this one-even if you know you won't like it. The performance of Daniel Day-Lewis is one for the ages. Just as you No sugar coating here. Simply a dark movie with a hell of a story. If you see movies on a regular basis, you have to see this one-even if you know you won't like it. The performance of Daniel Day-Lewis is one for the ages. Just as you think of George C. Scott when you think of WWll and General Patton, you will thing of Day-Lewis everytime you fill up your gas tank. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BbFeb 12, 2008
Highly overrated. I liked-hated it. Saw the greatness but couldn't wait for it to end, and at 2 1/2 hours it could have easily been edited without any harm to the story. Over the top acting by Day-Lewis, but I hated him in "Gangs of NY" Highly overrated. I liked-hated it. Saw the greatness but couldn't wait for it to end, and at 2 1/2 hours it could have easily been edited without any harm to the story. Over the top acting by Day-Lewis, but I hated him in "Gangs of NY" too, and for the same reasons, and used to love him. It's no "Chinatown." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkCW.C.Feb 15, 2008
I find it interesting how many people loathe this movie, however I am not against it. While it is one of the more overt and slow paced movies of out times, it is one of the most subtle and interrogative. I do have some problems with its I find it interesting how many people loathe this movie, however I am not against it. While it is one of the more overt and slow paced movies of out times, it is one of the most subtle and interrogative. I do have some problems with its length(I think PT could have filled some areas with something of interest) and I do not have yet any conviction on its ending I admire it for the degrees it reaches. The allegory is so self referential and all encompassing and yet it achieves nothing but poignancy. PT is a subtle master of building the drama-he is very patient and very crafty and I often think he intends to test his audience (Magnolia with the frogs-why? I hated that decision at first and as time went on I began to admire it for his brazen decision, which has no parallel in cinema) I was underwhelmed when I first left the movie and as the days went on it propagated throughout my bones and I felt like I had to see it again, and did, and while it might not be my favorite movie, I have never been so thankful for a piece of art. PT and DDl seem to have invented emotions, however, the do not. They uncover things that I don not believe anyone has ever expressed at least not with a comparable eloquence. DDL's performance is BIG, and thats why I think some people think it is over the top. His presence is big when he doesn't bat an eye. The most memorable part of the movie is his stare right before he threatens to slice the mans throat. The whole production is big and subtle-typically an either or concept, however not here. Its is the execution of an exquisite and surreal histrionics that is needed to enrapture a part in our history that reveals a timelessness in our soul with an acuity and honesty that I is without analogy, save the allusions in found in music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Feb 17, 2008
The fastest 2:38 movie you'll ever watch. Keeps you waiting for what could possibly come next and the ending will get you. Best most intense movie in a long time and DDL does it again! What a master!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CliffBFeb 17, 2008
Just my two cents. Great film. If your attention span has been shortened by our world of instant gratification, don't go see it, but it gripped my attention from beginning to end. If you are one of the hollywood sheeple, you will simply Just my two cents. Great film. If your attention span has been shortened by our world of instant gratification, don't go see it, but it gripped my attention from beginning to end. If you are one of the hollywood sheeple, you will simply expect to have everything laid out for you to follow so that you won't have to use that space between your ears. I know it is hard you big babies, but c'mon. As for overacting ..... have you ever seen an episode of "Cops?" People can act pretty crazy, and I thought DDL did a great job of portraying a guy who spends most of his life repressing his emotions only to suddenly let them burst forth from time to time. The music .... hello it is supposed to be creepy. As for the supposed indictment of capitalism, oil, the gilded age, etc, I just didn't really see it that way. That was just the setting, and though it was a great one, the story that was being told could have taken place elsewhere and in another time. Go see it and form your own opinion, but see it again after you have some different life experience, and see if you don't get something else out of it. I usually say to each their own, but if you can't dig past the surface of this film, well yes indeed, you are pretty stupid. And deep inside, I think you know it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulA.Feb 2, 2008
Best film I have seen in years. Daniel Day Lewis has performed the best acting job since David Thewlis in Naked 1993. Its a performance that happens but once a decade. The film itself conjures Kubrick at his best, pure intense genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamN.Feb 22, 2008
Wayne W., you mean you spoke to 6 people and they hated it? Well, that must mean that the vast majority didn't really 'love' it! I guess the acting wasn't really brilliant! I guess the music wasn't really perfect! I Wayne W., you mean you spoke to 6 people and they hated it? Well, that must mean that the vast majority didn't really 'love' it! I guess the acting wasn't really brilliant! I guess the music wasn't really perfect! I guess the direction wasn't really astounding! See how it works, you stupid fuck? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Martak.Feb 24, 2008
While DD Lewis' acting was, of course, great and I enjoyed the cinematography, the film missed several opportunites for insightful character development and story context. OK I get the greed and the need for revenge but please give more While DD Lewis' acting was, of course, great and I enjoyed the cinematography, the film missed several opportunites for insightful character development and story context. OK I get the greed and the need for revenge but please give more insight to help me make sense of the horrific ending. The film took place during a historically fascinating time with ramifications still felt today. Don't hint at it, take us there. Just a bit more effort to replace the sometimes tedious and non-sensical sections with insight would have made this film great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBFeb 27, 2008
Wow. This movie was amazing. At first, I wasn't sure how I'd feel about it, but after seeing it, I was talking with the person I went with--asking what he thought of this and that and what this meant to him and did he notice x, y, Wow. This movie was amazing. At first, I wasn't sure how I'd feel about it, but after seeing it, I was talking with the person I went with--asking what he thought of this and that and what this meant to him and did he notice x, y, or z--it's been a long time since I've left a movie with that kind of feeling, and it's been following me around all night. Definitely the indicator of a fantastic flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosR.Feb 28, 2008
Beginning with P.T. Anderson's prior films, Boogie Nights was humourous but I could only enjoy it once. Magnolia had a powerful replay value and moved its images through pity, weakness, sadness, and beautiful cinematography in its Beginning with P.T. Anderson's prior films, Boogie Nights was humourous but I could only enjoy it once. Magnolia had a powerful replay value and moved its images through pity, weakness, sadness, and beautiful cinematography in its vignette of personalities. Punch-Drunk Love was unexpectedly enjoyable, yet it also weighed on pity, sadness, weakness, in other words, the very common, all-too human, pathologies with an injection of splendid, raw humor. Emotionally, There Will Be Blood was unlike anything P.T. Anderson had ever done before; and, in comparison to other films, something most directs would never dare. This film's emotional foundation is a cold and gleaming gold, a sense of power, a depreciation of everything egalitarian, handicap, and democratic. I was blown away, he is the best living director and this particular film affirmed this rank. However, in terms of this rarely used emotion of esoterism and power, Ingmar Bergman will always remain both father and master. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuyHFeb 28, 2008
Brilliant performance by Daniel Day Lewis. In an age of sadistic, exploitative guff that passes for horror like 'The Hostel', 'Wolf Creek',etc, etc this is truly frightening - a man who finds it impossible to connect with Brilliant performance by Daniel Day Lewis. In an age of sadistic, exploitative guff that passes for horror like 'The Hostel', 'Wolf Creek',etc, etc this is truly frightening - a man who finds it impossible to connect with those around him and in fact actively wants everyone around him to fail. To him 'these people' are just 'COM-PET-TI-TORS'. Chilling Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottM.Feb 5, 2008
I have to disagree with Mike N. I believe this movie deserves comparison with "Citizen Kane", though i believe this film is far more poetic and powerful than "..Kane". I see how some are disappointed, it truly is a one-of-a-kind film, albeit I have to disagree with Mike N. I believe this movie deserves comparison with "Citizen Kane", though i believe this film is far more poetic and powerful than "..Kane". I see how some are disappointed, it truly is a one-of-a-kind film, albeit for better or worse. I personally believe for the better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickFeb 6, 2008
A movie all about drilling for oil in the early nineteenth century...and not about drilling for oil at all. Daniel Day-Lewis gives a intriguing performance as Daniel Plainview, constantly allowing the viewer to be torn between excitement for A movie all about drilling for oil in the early nineteenth century...and not about drilling for oil at all. Daniel Day-Lewis gives a intriguing performance as Daniel Plainview, constantly allowing the viewer to be torn between excitement for his success and business flair, and sickness at his greed and cold-heartedness. The movie tackles many social values as it winds its course through history, including religion, prophecy (or the lack thereof), and trust. At almost three hours long, the movie begins at some points to border on excess, yet each time pulls the viewer back through the use of gritty action, tense dialogue, and an excellent soundtrack. It may leave readers of Upton Sinclair's "Oil!" slightly confused, but does capture points from the book most relevant (and understandable) in today's world. The final three minutes of the movie leave audiences scratching their heads if they are interpreting much of the movie correctly, but this is a small price to pay for an excellent showcase of the American experience. It will most likely not win best picture, due largely to its massive scope and strongly suggestive subject matter, but Daniel Day-Lewis and Paul Dano both deserve Oscars for their performances. This movie shines as not just a movie experience, but as an achievement in cinematography as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichR.Feb 9, 2008
Well, I haven't even seen it yet, but I know I made this comment on there when the movie came out, and that is: Daniel is totally channeling Jack Palance, so, until I actually see this, I have to say that is not too cool of a thing to Well, I haven't even seen it yet, but I know I made this comment on there when the movie came out, and that is: Daniel is totally channeling Jack Palance, so, until I actually see this, I have to say that is not too cool of a thing to do. If it is better than No Country For Old Men, I will be amazed; THAT is a great, almost perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleG.Mar 15, 2008
My favorite films are character studies. With that said, this may be one of the finest I've ever witnessed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdTMar 17, 2008
Russ T- there's a good reason Day-Lewis sounds like John Huston- he was actually emulating Huston's cadences and speech and had used recordings of Huston speaking to research the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Mar 31, 2008
This Is a great movie. Probably the best movie of 2007. I felt that it deserved to win best picture, though so did No Country for Old Men. There Will Be Blood is an epic story of greed and corruption. This movie is a true satire about what This Is a great movie. Probably the best movie of 2007. I felt that it deserved to win best picture, though so did No Country for Old Men. There Will Be Blood is an epic story of greed and corruption. This movie is a true satire about what happens when greed takes over someone entirley. Daniel Plainview goes from a good business man to a greedy robber baron. Daniel Day-Lewis gives the greatest proformance I have ever seen, and the way Paul Dano and Daniel Day-Lewis play off each other is incredible. Paul Thomas Anderson is one of the greatest director's of our gerneration. The people giving this movie a zero just want to see blood and guts, and don't know a good movie when they see one. They were thinking "hey it says Blood in the title, lets go see it". Hey guys, this isn't SAW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimmusM.Mar 4, 2008
Dull, awful, pointless movie. Daniel Day-Lewis is very good at his part, as unlikeable as it was. The soundtrack is mostly jarring noise. I struggled to find one character I could identify with, or admire. Yeah, yeah, film "critics", I get Dull, awful, pointless movie. Daniel Day-Lewis is very good at his part, as unlikeable as it was. The soundtrack is mostly jarring noise. I struggled to find one character I could identify with, or admire. Yeah, yeah, film "critics", I get it - money is bad, religion is bad. Bad, like the taste this film left in my mouth after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CSMar 4, 2008
Very engaging character acting, after that this movie is WAAAAAY overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelMMar 4, 2008
I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know that all of you who are praising the film for it's aesthetic appeal or it's amazing acting I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know that all of you who are praising the film for it's aesthetic appeal or it's amazing acting just sound like a bunch of pretentious douche bags who are trying to impress one another with how sophisticated you are, that you can see the inner allegorical meaning of a movie etc. etc. I'm sorry to say that I believe you have lost site of what movies are supposed to do and that is of course entertain. From what I have heard this film was made by film nerds for film nerds, thus making it unfit for mass consumption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPriceMar 5, 2008
It's been a few months now, and the more I reflect upon it...the better it becomes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalebB.Mar 8, 2008
I thought that this was a very well constructed film. Daniel Day-Lewis did a wonderful job of acting. The characters were engaging and the story just pulled me in that much more. All in all it was an overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonApr 10, 2008
It's unlike anything I've ever seen and a movie that I appreciate more every time I watch it. P.T. Anderson is THE best director of his era. Killer score from Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveAApr 12, 2008
I loved this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was awesome. However, I didn't care for Dano's acting in this movie. In some scenes, his voice was straining and cracking, and his actions were overdone and unconvincing. I also didn't care I loved this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was awesome. However, I didn't care for Dano's acting in this movie. In some scenes, his voice was straining and cracking, and his actions were overdone and unconvincing. I also didn't care for the Henry subplot. It seemed more like an unnecessary and lengthy detour than character development. However, it was still an awesome movie. I felt like it deserved the Oscar for best movie. It had a lot going for it, instead of just a hell of a good bad guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeanF.Apr 12, 2008
A pretty good movie, a little bit overrated by the critics, and the Hollywood establishment. Very good acting, excellent cinematography, but the plot left many unanswered questions, and was quite confusing at times (including the ending).A pretty good movie, a little bit overrated by the critics, and the Hollywood establishment. Very good acting, excellent cinematography, but the plot left many unanswered questions, and was quite confusing at times (including the ending). There were many better movies in '07, but this movie (even though deeply flawed) definitely fell at the top of the heap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AkisP.Apr 13, 2008
Very slow movie...but very good work from the cast and crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoryD.Apr 19, 2008
An excellent film. With out doubt one of the best films of the decade. The three main components ( direction, script, acting), are supported by equally excellent technique: cinematography, score, editing/pacing. I love the parallel of Daniel An excellent film. With out doubt one of the best films of the decade. The three main components ( direction, script, acting), are supported by equally excellent technique: cinematography, score, editing/pacing. I love the parallel of Daniel and Eli. The play between them that leads to the terrifcally to the climax. There was blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffLApr 19, 2008
The opening was good and then it was down hill from there. I was having a hard time staying awake during this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis's character tended to jump around a lot leaving his character a little hollow and shallow. Nothing The opening was good and then it was down hill from there. I was having a hard time staying awake during this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis's character tended to jump around a lot leaving his character a little hollow and shallow. Nothing really happens in the middle of the movie. The preacher character is just weird and actually steals some of the craziness from Daniel Day-Lewis's character. I don't plan on watching this movie again. It is no where near Unforgiven or Crash's power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbyT.Apr 20, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis gives the best performance I've seen in a decade. The movie isn't perfect but it deserves a 10 for not playing it safe and exposing the darkest side of humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimM.Apr 22, 2008
Didn't get it. Two hours I'll never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattG.Apr 23, 2008
I thought this move was excellent. I have to say though it was for sure not what I expected it to be. I felt intrigue throughout the whole movie. Daniel Day-Lewis gave an incredible performance as always. The role was one of my favorite I thought this move was excellent. I have to say though it was for sure not what I expected it to be. I felt intrigue throughout the whole movie. Daniel Day-Lewis gave an incredible performance as always. The role was one of my favorite characters yet. Wow what a crazy guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful