User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1164 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrentB
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Could be slightly tightened (trimming ~5 minutes) but still a great portrayal of the ambiguities of capitalism and ambition.
  2. TylerG.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I watched No Country For Old Men in theaters because it came relatively close. I thought that it won Best Picture because I hadn't seen There Will Be Blood. But now I see the light, There Will Be Blood is a flawless film in my eyes. There isn't anything I would change in this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis showed just how amazing of an actor he really is with his portrayal of Daniel I watched No Country For Old Men in theaters because it came relatively close. I thought that it won Best Picture because I hadn't seen There Will Be Blood. But now I see the light, There Will Be Blood is a flawless film in my eyes. There isn't anything I would change in this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis showed just how amazing of an actor he really is with his portrayal of Daniel Plainview. It is such a moving performance you just might be a different person after watching it. Now I am by no means saying No Country For Old Men isn't worthy of Best Picture, but There Will Be Blood should have gotten it Expand
  3. SharonH
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    Brilliant. A masterpiece. One of the most artful and elegant films I've seen. It's exploration of the human condition is magnificent, underscored by the most intriguing and innovative use of music in a film to come around in a long time.
  4. MattR.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    A truly excellent movie, one with a compelling story, a musical score that casts this movie in a layer of impenetrable darkness, and Daniel Day-Lewis in one of the most striking performances I've ever seen. This movie is one of the best of 2007, and probably one of the best for a good while to come.
  5. RoryP.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    A slow film that is remarkably hypnotic for reasons beyond this viewer, this is an essential american film. Whether its greenwood's score or Thomas Andersons inspired direction (which was always remarkable, but now feels like it is no longer trying to impress) the erriness of the film overwhelms, and stays with the viewer for days after. Thoroughly recommended.
  6. CaptainSpaulding
    May 25, 2008
    4
    To paraphrase Phil Hartman as Frank Sinatra, "What is all this crap?!" If not for the excellent acting of Daniel Day-Lewis, this movie would be horrid. If not for Mr. Day-Lewis, I'd give his a negative number if possible. A horrid movie and 2 hours of your life that you'll never get back! Quick advice? RENT SOMETHING ELSE!
  7. SO
    May 27, 2008
    9
    Very good but could use just a little more action to keep the suspense audience interested longer.
  8. RyanN.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    A really bizarre and wonderful film. The cinematography, acting, and story were spectacular, all set at a gloriously steady churning pace. I loved it!
  9. WesLyons
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    An American classic. There has been a lot of complaining that the film is boring, pointless, and the ending: horrendous; but what those that think that fail to realize is that this is a definitive character study. The film is not constructed on the basis of telling a linear story, it is merely a 2.5 hour analysis on the deranged persona of Daniel Plainview. The running time, for me, is An American classic. There has been a lot of complaining that the film is boring, pointless, and the ending: horrendous; but what those that think that fail to realize is that this is a definitive character study. The film is not constructed on the basis of telling a linear story, it is merely a 2.5 hour analysis on the deranged persona of Daniel Plainview. The running time, for me, is enough time to fully flesh out this strange character and director P.T. Anderson doesn't waste his directorial skills on doing so. As a result, we get a relentless, at times sadistic, tragic American-dream-tale of a film. By all means, the film comes out strange and offbeat at times, but that does not deny the brilliance of the acting, directing and cinematography -- all of which are wisely used in this landmark of a film. Expand
  10. SteveL.
    Jul 20, 2008
    6
    I was disappointed in this movie. It's theme was about a violent, mean, miserable, disturbed man. I saw no redeeming value in it. It was dark and depressing. Great acting. Crummy story line.
  11. BenM.
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    Great that there are still directors out there who aren't either playing to the lowest common denominator or just hitting the same old emotional cues.
  12. CurtisB
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Probably the best piece cinema out of the U.S. in the last 5 years.
  13. russellj.
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    There will be blood divides opinion. Some people say it's painfully slow and has nothing to say. Others say it's a masterpiece which shows that ambition and wealth can be your own undoing if you are not rich in forming meaningful bonds with people around you. If it did have nothing to say then the Christian majority wouldn't have been so disapproving of the nihilist tone of There will be blood divides opinion. Some people say it's painfully slow and has nothing to say. Others say it's a masterpiece which shows that ambition and wealth can be your own undoing if you are not rich in forming meaningful bonds with people around you. If it did have nothing to say then the Christian majority wouldn't have been so disapproving of the nihilist tone of the movie and it's negative view of the church (and capitalism and pretty much everything else). The film is slow admittedly and as sudden jumps in the narrative which leads the audience to infer what has happened. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible and carries the movie. I love the sedate pace it reminds me when epic movies had faith in their audience and not to barrage them with over the top CGI explosions. The final scene in Plainviews mansion in the bowling alley will go down as one of the best and most random final scenes ever. Expand
  14. JimH
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. There Will Be Blood is sure to make cinema history.
  15. JohnW
    Dec 24, 2009
    7
    While I see the points that they were trying to make about power, capitalism, and religion, I just wasn't very entertained while watching it. In my mind, that what makes this movie good, but No Country For Old Men great.
  16. FoogR
    Mar 23, 2009
    6
    This movie had some outstanding moments and some very well designed dialogue. Unfortunately, the story and conclusion truly leave something to be desired, the main character, Danial Plainview, doesn't develop grow or shrink over the course of the movie, and doesn't change much at all; however, Daniel Day Lewis performs outstandingly, which may bother or confuse some because of This movie had some outstanding moments and some very well designed dialogue. Unfortunately, the story and conclusion truly leave something to be desired, the main character, Danial Plainview, doesn't develop grow or shrink over the course of the movie, and doesn't change much at all; however, Daniel Day Lewis performs outstandingly, which may bother or confuse some because of the odd contrast. The score will annoy some, but it is actually a brilliant work with a Bela Barok style that will disturb and intrigue if studied. Overall, the movie was good quality, but the plot and characters were weak if not aggravating. Expand
  17. LeoB
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    Anyone who deems this work of art a 'movie' is truly mistaken - a film of the highest caliber.
  18. MarvinS.
    Aug 5, 2009
    10
    This film is outstanding in every sense. What troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . did some boorish prol torment you as children? Didn't you two make this same sort of display on the board for NCFOM too (an excellent film, certainly, but not as good as TWBB)? . . . I mean, just what is it you think you'reThis film is outstanding in every sense. What troubles me, though, are the reactions of some of my fellow TWBB fans - Iain F and Nikko C ? . . . did some boorish prol torment you as children? Didn't you two make this same sort of display on the board for NCFOM too (an excellent film, certainly, but not as good as TWBB)? . . . I mean, just what is it you think you're accomplishing? Shaming people for being uncultured? The only thing you've accomplished is showing us how to be a dick Expand
  19. ChristelleV.
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Existentialist and honest. Mesmerizing. After the 3rd time watching I am again left disquieted - just as I should be.
  20. AndyG.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Gripping, compelling stuff - for the right audience.
  21. JoshP
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    After finally watching this movie, i can see why it is so highly claimed. Paul Thomas Anderson directed his masterpiece around Daniel Plainfield, and Daniel Day-Lewis created a character I could watch for hours on end.
  22. CraigT
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    First let me say some may see this movie as a slow starter but that is deliberate and highlights key themes within the film. Brilliant-brilliant performance by Day-Lewis, truly one of the best acting performance I have ever seen a genius method actor. The soundtrack fantastic from Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood, he has re-inforced his musical talents and understanding a fantastic First let me say some may see this movie as a slow starter but that is deliberate and highlights key themes within the film. Brilliant-brilliant performance by Day-Lewis, truly one of the best acting performance I have ever seen a genius method actor. The soundtrack fantastic from Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood, he has re-inforced his musical talents and understanding a fantastic score. This film has a mighty strong story and that is what holds it above other films. Expand
  23. RobertH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    About once a decade a flilm changes the face of cinema. How lucky we are to witness the vision and brillance of Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece "There Will Be Blood".
  24. JoshG.
    Dec 25, 2007
    6
    I've been a P.T. Anderson fan for a long time. I put up with his "how-do-I-end-this-tale" shenanigans 'cuz he's a fine craftsman and wonderfully observational when it comes to character. "There Will Be Blood" (much like "Magnolia") suffers from the former, and benefits from the latter. Unfortunately the character is not likable, and since there is essentially no ending, the I've been a P.T. Anderson fan for a long time. I put up with his "how-do-I-end-this-tale" shenanigans 'cuz he's a fine craftsman and wonderfully observational when it comes to character. "There Will Be Blood" (much like "Magnolia") suffers from the former, and benefits from the latter. Unfortunately the character is not likable, and since there is essentially no ending, the whole trip feels pointless. The ONE thing this movie has going for it is Daniel Day-Lewis. He is nothing short of phenomenal. That said, this film is in no way worthy of the mutterings that have been floating out of cinematic circles comparing it to "Citizen Kane" and "The Godfather." If this isn't the hype machine at work, I don't know what is. NO ONE is going to go see this movie. It's overly long, visually uninspiring, and ultimately incomplete. I couldn't help thinking that Mr. Anderson was giving us a glimpse into his own persona in the character of Daniel Plainview. No one chooses the hand their dealt, but some folks make the best of it. And some of those folks rise to the top. And some of THOSE folks become so self-centered and infatuated that they completely lose sight of the world around them. Those types of people tend to alienate even their closest allies and never hesitate to destroy their adversaries -- all in an effort to create something so entirely self indulgent, it becomes laughable. "Their Will Be Blood" is not unwatchable. Day-Lewis' performance alone is worth the price of admission, and I'd have gladly sat through two more hours of this miserable tale just to see him chew up the scenery. But a great performance does not a great film make. And in this case, it doesn't even make for a very GOOD film. This is auteuristic masturbation almost on par with Vinent Gallo's "Brown Bunny." The once sensational Anderson has clearly become his Daniel Plainview. I suppose in that regard the film and it's place in the director's life is somewhat "Citizen Kane"-ish, but unlike the Wells-ian tour de force, "Their Will Be Blood" isn't breaking any new ground stylistically, visually or otherwise. It's too bad too, 'cuz I had really high hopes. Take Daniel Day-Lewis out of the mix and this is a 1 or 2 star review at best. Day-Lewis will likely win the Oscar, but P.T. Anderson's "genius" had absolutely nothing to do with it. If the Academy includes the writer/director in their little awards dance, I'll simply have to... Boo. Expand
  25. GeorgeM.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Terrance Malleck meets Orson Welles in this contemplation of a movie. Great acting all around.
  26. GlenC.
    Dec 26, 2007
    6
    The first commentator, Josh G., is right. This emperor has no clothes. For all of its restless and oftentimes inventive camera work, There Will Be Blood is a peculiarly sterile and shallow meditation on the inevitable "war" between Capitalism and Fundamentalism. From its literally driven-deaf by greed innocent (H.W.) to its hypocritical and vain false prophet, the characters are little The first commentator, Josh G., is right. This emperor has no clothes. For all of its restless and oftentimes inventive camera work, There Will Be Blood is a peculiarly sterile and shallow meditation on the inevitable "war" between Capitalism and Fundamentalism. From its literally driven-deaf by greed innocent (H.W.) to its hypocritical and vain false prophet, the characters are little more than mouthpieces for Anderson's hollow posturing. It's all too easy to mark the parallels between the Plainviews and an equally notorious, powerful, contemporary American oil family, and I'm certain this makes at least half the reason for the film's puzzling and rapturous critical reception. But the truth is, Anderson's done much better work than this and, at least for this commentator, he takes a giant step backwards into the pedestrian mainstream. With self-conscious echoing of every major cinematic milestone from Sunrise to Sunset Boulevard, There Will Be Blood struck me not so much as a ground-breaking exercise as a pastiche tribute to American film. Daniel Day Lewis is fine, sure. But it's a performance so mannered and so calculated as to suffocate every ounce of evil spontaneity in the character. Those who don't see the film's final scene coming haven't been looking for it very hard. Paul Dano's been underappreciated here. His is the difficult role and frankly, he pulls it off with more surprises and more delicacy than Day Lewis does. One truly inspired scene: Day Lewis disowning his son, late in the film. Expand
  27. JimK.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Best movie I have seen this year! Better than No Country for Old Men & Before the Devil Knows You're Dead!
  28. Peter
    Dec 27, 2007
    4
    A self indulgent colaboration between a fine actor and and a director who obviously cannot write an engaging plot. Try to think away the suberb performance of Day Lewis and ther's no there there. The story is pedestrian and clliched - see Treasure of Sierra Madre or Citizen Kane. Both of the latter films had editors who knew when a scene is over long and sometimes duplicative of A self indulgent colaboration between a fine actor and and a director who obviously cannot write an engaging plot. Try to think away the suberb performance of Day Lewis and ther's no there there. The story is pedestrian and clliched - see Treasure of Sierra Madre or Citizen Kane. Both of the latter films had editors who knew when a scene is over long and sometimes duplicative of earlier scenes.And then there's that jarring, inappropriate score - where did that come from? Finally, can Hollywood construct a story line which doesn't always show the venality of all entrepreneurs and businesspeople and the stupidity of religion and its believers. Also, there's the film critics, next time I go to the movies I'll drink beforehand whatever they were drinking when they reviewed this one. Expand
  29. DavidM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    Thanks for that spolier Glen C. Really appreciated that. Moron. I did not see the film, so i gave it a 6 -- middle of the road. You're not the first person to speak of TWBB's flaws... but, you are the first person to speak about Day-Lewis' performance in a bad way. Therefore, you're probably just some faus-pretentious film student or something, wanting to go against Thanks for that spolier Glen C. Really appreciated that. Moron. I did not see the film, so i gave it a 6 -- middle of the road. You're not the first person to speak of TWBB's flaws... but, you are the first person to speak about Day-Lewis' performance in a bad way. Therefore, you're probably just some faus-pretentious film student or something, wanting to go against the grain -- try putting all the film theory to use... however misguided it may be. Thanks for the spoiler GLEN! Expand
  30. NathanT.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    A feverishly provocative epic that happens to be the best Paul Thomas Anderson's best effort since the great "Boogie Nights" in 1997 (and when you remember that his last two films were "Magnolia" and "Punch Drunk Love" that's a pretty big statement), "There Will Be Blood" is a big departure from his past material. As Daniel Plainview, the wicked single minded oil man at the A feverishly provocative epic that happens to be the best Paul Thomas Anderson's best effort since the great "Boogie Nights" in 1997 (and when you remember that his last two films were "Magnolia" and "Punch Drunk Love" that's a pretty big statement), "There Will Be Blood" is a big departure from his past material. As Daniel Plainview, the wicked single minded oil man at the start of a new century, Daniel Day-Lewis gives a ferocious, layered performance that ranks as the best of the year. This one strange and great film that literally made my jaw drop. Expand
  31. Jimbo
    Dec 29, 2007
    6
    I wouldn't go so far as to say "There Will Be Blood" isn't worth seeing, but I don't think it lives up to the hype bestowed on it by so many critics. The film is essentially two and a half hours of "one-man-show"-type setpieces (the one man is Daniel Day-Lewis; there are other actors in the movie, but they're not really developed except to act as foils) about the rise I wouldn't go so far as to say "There Will Be Blood" isn't worth seeing, but I don't think it lives up to the hype bestowed on it by so many critics. The film is essentially two and a half hours of "one-man-show"-type setpieces (the one man is Daniel Day-Lewis; there are other actors in the movie, but they're not really developed except to act as foils) about the rise and fall of an amoral early-1900s oil-man. Day-Lewis is a solid actor and does his best to make each vignette interesting, but this story arc has been filmed many times before, from "The Power and The Glory" through "Citizen Kane" and "The Godfather," and "There Will be Blood" brings nothing new to the formula--to me, every scene in this movie felt familiar and completely predictable. Expand
  32. PaulK.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    The pacing is sluggish at times, and I wanted more character/relationship development between Daniel and HW, but otherwise, this is a great film. Superb acting, great cinematography, and a compelling story. See it.
  33. RyanC.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    2007's great movie is There Will Be Blood. Day-Lewis puts on one of the greatest performances in American cinema history. With a terrific all-around cast, coupled with Paul Thomas Anderson's ingenious writing and direction, this film has no visible weakness.
  34. michaelc
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Immediately after seeing it I was amazed. Not only was it by far the best movie of the year. But it might be one of the best movies I have ever seen. Paul Thomas Anderson's directing is masterful, and Daniel Day Lewis' performance is unbelievable. Its just magnificent.
  35. TerryA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    A "10" does not do this film justice. Rarely does a movie so exceed the conventions of todays film making as this one does. A true masterpiece.
  36. BarbaraL.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing, haunting, thought provoking, and worth every minute of an film goer's time!
  37. JohnBarker
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    There Will Be Blood is simply the best American movie all year, perhaps ever. While No Country For Old Men was fantastic as well, Anderson puts his own original daring ideas into the mix to create something completely unique. It is better because it is imperfect. It is funner for its awkward scenes and twisted sense of direction. It is more exciting for its very real clashing of strong There Will Be Blood is simply the best American movie all year, perhaps ever. While No Country For Old Men was fantastic as well, Anderson puts his own original daring ideas into the mix to create something completely unique. It is better because it is imperfect. It is funner for its awkward scenes and twisted sense of direction. It is more exciting for its very real clashing of strong characters set to an equally relevant background. Expand
  38. RadCompany
    Jan 13, 2008
    4
    Another reviewer below wrote, "Anyone who doesn't rate this film highly is not terribly bright." Most people that believe There Will Be Blood is a good film are doing so to state their "Hollywood Vs. Art" status. Trust me, I don't "not get it". I get it, but it's just one big empty gesture after another, just like the ubiquitous "How many in your family?" question the Another reviewer below wrote, "Anyone who doesn't rate this film highly is not terribly bright." Most people that believe There Will Be Blood is a good film are doing so to state their "Hollywood Vs. Art" status. Trust me, I don't "not get it". I get it, but it's just one big empty gesture after another, just like the ubiquitous "How many in your family?" question the characters in the movie pose before every scene. The opening music is a nod to "2001" that tries to set a tone that something mysterious is happening, but there is nothing deep here, just a cliche morality with no likable characters to identify with. Haven't felt this empty after leaving the theatre in a while. Expand
  39. AlexS.Carter
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    i need to be honest right from the start - i listed 'there will be blood' as my favourite film of 2007 before i had even seen it. luckily, i couldn't have been more right. last night, i sat in a sold-out theatre at the varsity, the only one in canada and one of only a handful across north america currently screening the film. the show was to begin at 8.45pm but by 8pm, alli need to be honest right from the start - i listed 'there will be blood' as my favourite film of 2007 before i had even seen it. luckily, i couldn't have been more right. last night, i sat in a sold-out theatre at the varsity, the only one in canada and one of only a handful across north america currently screening the film. the show was to begin at 8.45pm but by 8pm, all the tickets had been sold and there was a lineup outside the theatre unlike anything i've seen for any film other than blockbusters like star wars, harry potter or lotr. as the previous show emptied, i watched the faces of the patrons as they came out of the darkness, some in excited conversation as if they had just gotten off an amusement park ride, others in quiet contemplation as if having just visited the grave of someone dear to them. one young man exclaimed to those of us in line as he walked by 'you're in for a treat!' while others simple nodded their heads to acknowledge us before we embarked on the journey from which they were just returning. i have been to many films on opening night and there is quite often a lot of excitement, but i must reiterate that i have never experienced this kind of anticipation for an art film.

    and then the film began. i'm not someone who gives a synopsis of a film in my reviews since i feel it can infringe on the viewer's experience. i prefer to explore the various creative elements of the piece and my experience/reaction to those elements. i had no doubt going into 'there will be blood' that daniel-day lewis would be incredible as a nihilistic oil magnate driven by ambition and greed. i was also not worried about the direction since i really enjoyed paul thomas anderson's previous three films ('boogie nights', 'magnolia' and 'punch-drunk love'). i had no way of knowing that this film would not only be both anderson's and lewis' best film to date, but also a master work in music (radiohead's jonny greenwood), cinematography (robert elswit - 'good night, and good luck', 'syriana'), editing, art direction, sound editing, costumes and makeup. no other film in recent memory has impressed me on every level as this film has.

    i also want to specially recognise paul dano who plays a young preacher and is lewis' only real adversary in the film. dano orginally had only a small role and another actor was initially cast in the role of the preacher [http://www.calendarlive.com/movies/cl-en-dano2jan02,0,924101.story?coll=cl-movies]. dano stepped in at the last minute due partially to his previous work with lewis and i am grateful that he was up for the task. since winning best debut performance at the independent spirit awards back in 2001 for playing howie blitzer in l.i.e., dano has had memorable roles in 'the girl next door', 'the king', 'fast food nation' and of course 2006's 'little miss sunshine'. this is one young actor that deserves to be watched and i hope he at least gets a nomination for his incredible work in 'there will be blood'.
    Expand
  40. jimr
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    The terse dialog and stark visuals really highlight and outstanding storyline. This is the only time I've seen huge numbers of an audience burst into spontaneous nervous laughter because the tension in a scene is so palpable. This is great film not for its art house merit but for the punch its story packs.
    reviewers who launch into a diatribe of other reviews and then conclude
    The terse dialog and stark visuals really highlight and outstanding storyline. This is the only time I've seen huge numbers of an audience burst into spontaneous nervous laughter because the tension in a scene is so palpable. This is great film not for its art house merit but for the punch its story packs.
    reviewers who launch into a diatribe of other reviews and then conclude with an argument such as "...was like being a proctologist for two hours- go see it if you like staring at a$$h()les." are the ones who deserve to be mocked.
    Expand
  41. ChristopherC.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    After seeing this film, I felt refreshed. I needed a movie like this to remind me why I love film. I needed a film like this to give me faith that there are still film makers that use the medium as more than just a profit center, but to express ideas and situations artistically. I needed a film like this to reaffirm my faith that not all actors are self-indulgent talking heads. I needed aAfter seeing this film, I felt refreshed. I needed a movie like this to remind me why I love film. I needed a film like this to give me faith that there are still film makers that use the medium as more than just a profit center, but to express ideas and situations artistically. I needed a film like this to reaffirm my faith that not all actors are self-indulgent talking heads. I needed a film like this to proof that proves that films are not just formulas but a means to creative independence. I love this film, and hope that some out there will feel the same way I've felt. Expand
  42. CherylD.
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    Okay people!!! What's the matter here? I can't believe that people are dissing this film because they can't find any CONTENT in it. A fundamental idea in this film is the following: PEOPLE ARE IGNORING THEIR OWN CHILDREN in some vain pursuit for money, prestige and status. THEIR OWN CHILDREN people! It happens ALL the time. Divorce rates are higher than ever, the averageOkay people!!! What's the matter here? I can't believe that people are dissing this film because they can't find any CONTENT in it. A fundamental idea in this film is the following: PEOPLE ARE IGNORING THEIR OWN CHILDREN in some vain pursuit for money, prestige and status. THEIR OWN CHILDREN people! It happens ALL the time. Divorce rates are higher than ever, the average person is less happy than they would like to be (just take the time to ask around), but our society is more materialistic than it ever has been and that is due primarily (and no one can argue against this -) to BIG OIL. This film is a sincere attempt, and the only attempt I've yet to witness, to bring the big oil narrative to as many people as possible in the most uncompromising way. People who aren't 'getting' this film have their heads way up their behinds, and choose to ignore our present predicament as a corrupted, ignorant species that is primed for disaster. People should wake up, turn off the mind-numbing television and ride a bicycle to the film. See how good it feels. Then talk about this film or take a film course and start changing things from the inside out. STAND people! Expand
  43. steveg
    Jan 18, 2008
    6
    It's wasn't that bad a movie but it sure wasn't a 92. D.D.L. did a great acting job but the circumstance just wasn't interesting. A "maverick", "independent" oil mans rise to wealth, yay. I started to dislike the main character once I figured out that there were no revelations or shifts in personality forthcoming and it made it even harder to watch. I had highIt's wasn't that bad a movie but it sure wasn't a 92. D.D.L. did a great acting job but the circumstance just wasn't interesting. A "maverick", "independent" oil mans rise to wealth, yay. I started to dislike the main character once I figured out that there were no revelations or shifts in personality forthcoming and it made it even harder to watch. I had high hopes based on the ratings critics have given it and was very disappointed. The best part of the movie? "I'm done now." Expand
  44. ChadS.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    In order to get financing for "Plan 9 from Outer Space", filmmaker Ed Wood agreed to be baptized by a Baptist church. It happened in a swimming pool as depicted in Tim Burton's 1994 biopic about a man who believed in cinema more than God. Daniel Plainview(Daniel Day-Lewis) is all about the almighty dollar, about building a pipeline to the ocean, so he gets baptized, gets slapped In order to get financing for "Plan 9 from Outer Space", filmmaker Ed Wood agreed to be baptized by a Baptist church. It happened in a swimming pool as depicted in Tim Burton's 1994 biopic about a man who believed in cinema more than God. Daniel Plainview(Daniel Day-Lewis) is all about the almighty dollar, about building a pipeline to the ocean, so he gets baptized, gets slapped around by Paul Sunday(Paul Dano) because spiritual enlightenment for this oil man comes from a crack in the dirt. Interestingly enough, the original title for "Plan 9..." was "Grave Diggers from Outer Space". Daniel is a sort of grave digger from inner space. When the oil man buries a man he just murdered, he throws dirt not only on the evidence, but on his secret desires as well. "There Will Be Blood" asks the viewer to determine whose higher calling is more righteous. Expand
  45. StefaniaS
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    to Joe K.: you're an idiot. if you're rating reviews, go elsewhere. wow no comma. some one pull out a gun and shoot that person. this movie is clearly above and beyond the quality and perceptual genius of most films out there to date. get a life. stop reading other's reviews and critiquing them, just relax. the script, the actors, the cinematography...fine if you to Joe K.: you're an idiot. if you're rating reviews, go elsewhere. wow no comma. some one pull out a gun and shoot that person. this movie is clearly above and beyond the quality and perceptual genius of most films out there to date. get a life. stop reading other's reviews and critiquing them, just relax. the script, the actors, the cinematography...fine if you didn't enjoy the movie. but you're an absolute fool if you cannot appreciate its mastery of the medium. Expand
  46. JayK
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    One of the best films I've ever seen. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible.
  47. JohnG
    Jan 19, 2008
    6
    Oh boy. My expectations were so high for this. I was extremely disappointed. The film was long, unfocused and relied to much on DDL vs, an actual story. The director relied way too much on DDL to save a film that by the end of the film it was like he was parodying his own performance. Also, his cadence was similar to Hug Weaving in The Matrix to such an extent that it was distracting. The Oh boy. My expectations were so high for this. I was extremely disappointed. The film was long, unfocused and relied to much on DDL vs, an actual story. The director relied way too much on DDL to save a film that by the end of the film it was like he was parodying his own performance. Also, his cadence was similar to Hug Weaving in The Matrix to such an extent that it was distracting. The actor who played Eli was not very good. I thought the score was awesome and the cinematography was brilliant. I almost feel like the critics were afraid to give this a bad review. I also thought the same about Diving Bell and Butterfly -- reviewers were so impressed by prinicpals that all flaws were overlooked. Anyone who compares this to the Godfather is silly and emotional. Expand
  48. RL.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    This film was just as good as I hoped it might be. It can rightfully be compared to "Citizen Kane" intersected with "McCabe and Mrs Miller", with a hint of "Treasure of the Sierra Madre." But don't worry about comparisons when you see it. It presents a whole world of its own. Clear your mind, sink back in your chair, and soak it in. Highly recommended.
  49. D.
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    Great acting by DDL, but the story is boring. No arc, no lesson that hasn't already been told before and too long. From the very beginning you know where this is going. It's like watching the Patriots football season. PTA is really overrated.
  50. TaylorM.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Absolutely jarring and relentless cinema that treats its characters and subject matter with the utmost of care and gumption. The men who did (and do) the "legwork" that made modern American capitalism possible were ruthless in their malice toward those whom them fleeced. Henry Plainview is the finest embodiment of capitalist violence ever committed to film. Bravo to Paul Thomas Andersen, Absolutely jarring and relentless cinema that treats its characters and subject matter with the utmost of care and gumption. The men who did (and do) the "legwork" that made modern American capitalism possible were ruthless in their malice toward those whom them fleeced. Henry Plainview is the finest embodiment of capitalist violence ever committed to film. Bravo to Paul Thomas Andersen, and the fine cast that brings his story to life. Expand
  51. AlexH
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    there isn't much character development because people don't change. there isn't a traditional story arc because life's stories are too f***ed up to arc. this is a masterpiece in the same way cormac mccarthy's "the road" is a masterpiece. flawless acting, a merciless score, breathtaking cinematography, and one of the very few perfect endings to a film. picture of there isn't much character development because people don't change. there isn't a traditional story arc because life's stories are too f***ed up to arc. this is a masterpiece in the same way cormac mccarthy's "the road" is a masterpiece. flawless acting, a merciless score, breathtaking cinematography, and one of the very few perfect endings to a film. picture of the decade. Expand
  52. JesseD
    Jan 25, 2008
    8
    I'm sitting at my computer not 20 minutes removed from one of the most thought provoking films I've ever seen. There were moments honestly, where I couldn't hold back a belly laugh. A few times I braced myself for a dreadingly dark sequence. By the end I took all the things from the movie that the Director was wanting to place in my mind as...something more. The reason for I'm sitting at my computer not 20 minutes removed from one of the most thought provoking films I've ever seen. There were moments honestly, where I couldn't hold back a belly laugh. A few times I braced myself for a dreadingly dark sequence. By the end I took all the things from the movie that the Director was wanting to place in my mind as...something more. The reason for the 'average' score, is that it was pretty long with what felt like less of a real "eureka" moment than I'd of hoped. Daniel-Day Lewis is everything advertised and more. If he does not win best actor it will be a crime. Paul Dano is eerily violent and a superb actor in his own right. Solid film you should watch this as soon as possible while it's on the big screen. Expand
  53. MarkK
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Daniel Day Lewis is amazing his best performance. A dark gritty film that is both sad and angry at the same time.
  54. Jonny99
    Jan 28, 2008
    7
    Like being served a grand, sumptuous, banquet only to find out desert is tepid, rainbow-flavored, Jello. I have to go back to 1997's "Contact" to find dissapointment with an ending on this scale. The real tragedy is how unnecessary this derailment was; if the director were to cut out everything that happens in 1927, a fully realized, great movie would be left. Having said all this, I Like being served a grand, sumptuous, banquet only to find out desert is tepid, rainbow-flavored, Jello. I have to go back to 1997's "Contact" to find dissapointment with an ending on this scale. The real tragedy is how unnecessary this derailment was; if the director were to cut out everything that happens in 1927, a fully realized, great movie would be left. Having said all this, I would still encourage you to see the film for no other reason than Daniel Day-Lewis is the best living actor. Expand
  55. Enrique
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    Nothing less than a masterpiece. One of the most important American films in years.
  56. DN
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome!!!
  57. AlexG
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic movie. One person mentioned no sense of humor was present in this film. I honestly thought this movie was hilarious at moments... The overall drama masked everything else. I believe Daniel Day Lewis deserves an Oscar for this one... Amazing performance.
  58. AriK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    Powerful and meaningful, this is a film that can be discussed for hours. The levels of malice, egoism, paranoia, and greed are brought to such high levels, that it is easy to think of this as an absurdest tale - but in fact when viewed in light of actual events taking place all around us, it suddenly seems more like a stark reminder of the fact that we're not too far past this vision Powerful and meaningful, this is a film that can be discussed for hours. The levels of malice, egoism, paranoia, and greed are brought to such high levels, that it is easy to think of this as an absurdest tale - but in fact when viewed in light of actual events taking place all around us, it suddenly seems more like a stark reminder of the fact that we're not too far past this vision of a wild west dominated by paranoid, selfish oilmen and pious clergymen. The first thing I noticed watching this film was the score. Without it, the film is nowhere near as disturbing as it might otherwise be (except of course for the end). In fact, I found the music so disturbing, that I almost had an anxiety attack in the theater. That is, however, par for the course when engaging a PT Anderson flick. Expand
  59. MaxH.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    I can't express my relief that a film as stark and uncompromising as There WIll Be Blood has received so many academy accolades this season; Hollywood tends to favor movies that include elements of romance and redemption, qualities Anderson quite deliberately eschews in his fifth feature. John S. epitomizes how misguided some people's opinions are regarding this film. Plainview I can't express my relief that a film as stark and uncompromising as There WIll Be Blood has received so many academy accolades this season; Hollywood tends to favor movies that include elements of romance and redemption, qualities Anderson quite deliberately eschews in his fifth feature. John S. epitomizes how misguided some people's opinions are regarding this film. Plainview (not Plainfield, btw) DOESN'T show compassion at the outset; this is the story of one of the great salesmen in cinema history. He sees only betrayal in human relationships and treats others as a mere means to an end. The penultimate scene where his son, now a young man finally confronts him doesn't reveal any sort of "transformation" in Plainview but rather clarifies his earlier actions. I also don't understand the continued use of "boring" to describe this film; are audiences so accustomed to The Fast and the Furious and the Saw franchises that they can't shift down to a film that actually studies human beings? And YES, Michael Sragow, "any hint of romance, nobility, or fun" would soften the film! Anderson shows us a man who understands absolutely nothing of those qualities. Astoundingly good. Expand
  60. MichaelE
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Not greater than the sum of its parts, but some of those parts are amazing. It's best to think of it as a black comedy that gets out of hand.
  61. JosefV
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Salon.com and Sanfran gave this movie bad reviews. What a surprise, two film critics giving this powerful film bad reviews and Baltimore suns opinion is as good as a ski shop in California. honestly if this movie doesn't make your top 10, please don't comment because obviously your an idiot.
  62. EdC.
    Feb 17, 2008
    7
    how can 'b shanchez' say that he didnt like the film that much because daniel day lewis attacks christians!! it was in his character! what a totally ubsurd thing to say! 'if the movie hadnt showed blasphemy'...(it also showed murder and alcholholism by the way....) idiot. anyway.... the film wasnt really what i expected, although not in a bad way, and Day lewis is how can 'b shanchez' say that he didnt like the film that much because daniel day lewis attacks christians!! it was in his character! what a totally ubsurd thing to say! 'if the movie hadnt showed blasphemy'...(it also showed murder and alcholholism by the way....) idiot. anyway.... the film wasnt really what i expected, although not in a bad way, and Day lewis is exceptional. the film has a slow and brooding intensity and good performances from the support cast. for a film to last as long as it did and be based almost solely on psychological degeneration they must have done something right Expand
  63. JM
    Feb 17, 2008
    7
    The main problem with the film is it opens a thousand doors for a profound statement about ambition and power and then totally misses each and every one of these opportunities. I already sensed P.T. Anderson's hackneyed and puerile affectations in Magnolia, and even hints of it in the otherwise compelling Boogie Nights, but this film makes it painfully obvious that Anderson totally The main problem with the film is it opens a thousand doors for a profound statement about ambition and power and then totally misses each and every one of these opportunities. I already sensed P.T. Anderson's hackneyed and puerile affectations in Magnolia, and even hints of it in the otherwise compelling Boogie Nights, but this film makes it painfully obvious that Anderson totally misses the potential depth of his own film (!) and instead leans on camp or soap opera pathos. For this film - it's all about the camp, which in a wierd way kinda makes, it cool (I gave it a 7 for glorious camp). Especially the gothic type film title before the final credits - what was he thinking? total camp! Expand
  64. GrantT
    Feb 17, 2008
    8
    What surprised me above all else is that anyone likes this difficult cerebral film at all. The two lead characters are so bad, nay evil, and the critique of America (and thus western civilization) so vicious and unremitting that it is hard to find much to like. A cathartic confronting experience. Thank God Hollywood can still find a place for directors like Anderson.
  65. LuisG.
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    heres a film that take you on a ride with minimal information and stunning characterization by ...lewis and a score that just keep pushing you perfecting Andersons craft and narrating a course that unlike many films seem to be out of this world ..
  66. JasonJ.
    Feb 19, 2008
    6
    This movie could have been a 9 if it knew where to stop. The last 30 minutes (the fight on the two lane bowling alley) was something that should have been put only as an xtra on a DVD. It deserved to be a "deleted scene." The rest of the movie was quite good. The oil industry during that part of American history was interesting. No Country for Old Men, as a movie, made the same mistake. This movie could have been a 9 if it knew where to stop. The last 30 minutes (the fight on the two lane bowling alley) was something that should have been put only as an xtra on a DVD. It deserved to be a "deleted scene." The rest of the movie was quite good. The oil industry during that part of American history was interesting. No Country for Old Men, as a movie, made the same mistake. Great premise, great execution, and then a superfluous ending that makes you feel like you are wasting your time. It's like they are putting the DVD extras in with the feature presentations now. Do the studios pay more for a longer movie? Something isn't right. They are butchering the possible masterpieces of the late 00s. Expand
  67. WuM.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    It's a masterwork. Mixed up 'Wall Street', 'Elmer Granty', 'East of Eden', 'Giant', 'The Ballad of Cable Hogue', 'The Aviator'. Amazing acting, photography and music. A film that floods every boundary, colossal, open. P.T. Anderson is revealed as great Kubrick alumn. A total masterpiece. Run to the theater nearest to your It's a masterwork. Mixed up 'Wall Street', 'Elmer Granty', 'East of Eden', 'Giant', 'The Ballad of Cable Hogue', 'The Aviator'. Amazing acting, photography and music. A film that floods every boundary, colossal, open. P.T. Anderson is revealed as great Kubrick alumn. A total masterpiece. Run to the theater nearest to your home or you'll regret. Expand
  68. RonA.
    Feb 24, 2008
    5
    There will be hype. The most interesting part of this movie involves Plainview's having to be "born again": he's forced, by financial motives, to say he's abandoned his son, and comes to realize, against his will, that he has. But little else remains, aside from the glorious cinematography. One simply doesn't care about Plainview, since he's merely a caricature, There will be hype. The most interesting part of this movie involves Plainview's having to be "born again": he's forced, by financial motives, to say he's abandoned his son, and comes to realize, against his will, that he has. But little else remains, aside from the glorious cinematography. One simply doesn't care about Plainview, since he's merely a caricature, overdrawn by both the script and Daniel Day-Lewis. There's just no story here that can live up to the money and talent expended on it. The deafness of HW is merely an occasion for cruelty, and the violent end of the movie clarifies nothing. One only wonders why Eli Sunday hasn't aged a day. The great Ciaran Hinds is barely used. Expand
  69. DaveW.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    This movie reminded me so much of Stanley Kubrick - especially the opening and closing scenes - except that it may be better than anything Kubrick ever did (which is saying a hell of a lot). The humanity in this movie is definitely there - it just doesn't ram it down your throat like 99% of movies - which makes it all the more affecting in the long run. A movie like this only comes This movie reminded me so much of Stanley Kubrick - especially the opening and closing scenes - except that it may be better than anything Kubrick ever did (which is saying a hell of a lot). The humanity in this movie is definitely there - it just doesn't ram it down your throat like 99% of movies - which makes it all the more affecting in the long run. A movie like this only comes around once every few years. It is extraordinary in so many ways. Watch it several times and it will reveal itself as such. Expand
  70. DanM.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    The intense focus of "There Will Be Blood" only makes Daniel Day-Lewis' performace even more astonishing. Day-Lewis' subtle, intimate intensity is mirrored and magnified by the surrounding cast.
  71. EliSamuels
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    In response to Joseph M.: the characters were far from boring. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing as Plainview; I wouldn't say he was one dimensional, he bonded with H.W. and seemed to like him, but eventually abandoned him and got sick of him and his greediness steadily grew. Paul Dano was also amazing and his character Eli Sunday was very memorable. Also, did you see the movie afterIn response to Joseph M.: the characters were far from boring. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing as Plainview; I wouldn't say he was one dimensional, he bonded with H.W. and seemed to like him, but eventually abandoned him and got sick of him and his greediness steadily grew. Paul Dano was also amazing and his character Eli Sunday was very memorable. Also, did you see the movie after hearing of the milkshake catchphrase? because the film is about greed and fake religion, which are powerful, intelligent themes. Did you expect the movie to be about dirty innuendo and tasty treats? Expand
  72. DiegoM.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. I had doubts about watching this movie but since the first scene it trapped me until the very end. I think the most important thing that this movie show us is the fact that not everything in life is money, success cannot be achieved only by earning a lot of money as we can see with Mr. Plainview (which now i can see why the academy gave Lewis the award). The I absolutely loved this movie. I had doubts about watching this movie but since the first scene it trapped me until the very end. I think the most important thing that this movie show us is the fact that not everything in life is money, success cannot be achieved only by earning a lot of money as we can see with Mr. Plainview (which now i can see why the academy gave Lewis the award). The performance by Duno was very good too and i came to hate the character. The music gives it a great atmosphere and what can you say about the art decoration, outstanding. One of the best movies i have seen this year (2008). Collapse
  73. GerryW.
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Overall, gripping movie for so much rich characterizations and varied visual movement. True to Texas character and ambiance, if not always flattering, from a West Texan who has been there. I recommend it highly. G.W.
  74. WillW.
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    One of the most intense movies I've seen. Daniel Day Lewis is great; but equally as great is Paul Dano(the silent kid in Little Miss Sunshine). Epic battle between good and evil, but hard to tell which is which.
  75. PD
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    Simply stunning, from start to finish. In years to come this film will be seen as a masterpiece and a true classic.
  76. JohnO.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Superb. A true classic and one of the most powerful and provocative films I have seen for ages. I'm normally sceptical of films that receive so much hype but for once the plaudits are all justly deserved.
  77. NickK.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Sublime filmmaking, and Day-Lewis truly deserves his oscar.
  78. MichaelG
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    I drink YOUR milkshake! Great movie. Incredible acting. The soundtrack to this film is absolutely brilliant.
  79. MattBeddingfield
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    No doubt about it: TWBB is better than 99% of the trash that comes out of Hollywood. It isn't perfect, but for an intense and vivid drama, you won't find much better. Daniel Day Lewis is a master of the profession. Worth the price just to see him, but you'll also get stunning cinematography and excellent pacing. Highly recommended.
  80. JohnP.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Basically the Radiohead of films, the greatest movie ever made, better than everything even Birth of a Nation.
  81. AHem
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Very good movie! Obviously a well made masterpiece. Not a movie for people looking for an action packed bloodbath, but it is a ride you will not soon forget.
  82. JayD.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    A modern masterpiece that transcends the movie theater experience and delivers a moving motion picture that does what all great works of art do: reveals us at our core of the good and evil inside us all and the constant struggle to express our nature in the world or within our own internal selves.
  83. NicholasS.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Just an amazing film. To those of you out there who gave it a bad review, professional "critics" included, you just don't get it. So please let an Average Joe explain it to you. The title of the film refers to the future (our present) and the effect almighty oil will have on man. "There WILL BE Blood". It's prophetic - but only because it refers to the here and now. And like it Just an amazing film. To those of you out there who gave it a bad review, professional "critics" included, you just don't get it. So please let an Average Joe explain it to you. The title of the film refers to the future (our present) and the effect almighty oil will have on man. "There WILL BE Blood". It's prophetic - but only because it refers to the here and now. And like it or not Daniel Plainview is the good ol' U.S.A. (maybe I should say the current administration). He has become warped by power and greed - to the point where he will deceive, cheat, and go close to insane. It all culminates in an act of unprovoked and pointless violence against an old foe. I'll let you all guess what that represents. Oh yeah, and oil represents oil. No metaphor there! C'mon people, Paul Thomas Anderson makes a movie in the year 2007 about oil! It's not that hard to figure out! It's a cautionary tale - and a pretty great one at that. Expand
  84. JackB
    May 12, 2008
    6
    It was good for the most part but just dragged on, the story became uninteresting and just plain bad at the end. I think its yet another movie where the critics thought "wow if we see this as a 10/10 we might be considered as lovers of real film" when really, it should all be down to how much you enjoy it as an individual.
  85. MikeB.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Those who don't give this film a 10 undoubtedly have never heard of Arthur Schopenhauer. The film goes well beyond the pathologies of the American experience or even the juxtaposition of the sacred and secular thirst for power to probe the terrors of life and human alienation.
  86. JasonE.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies in recent memory.
  87. BillyP.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    I'm not entirely sure why but this really is one of my favorite movies of all time. Thats all I have to say about it, excellent film.
  88. SinjinnN.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is a love it or hate it film. a lot of people complain about charachter development and plot but i think there is plenty of charachter development , it just doesnt go the way they expect or want. the plot is also not contrived , it isnt a mystery , an action flick or a comedy or a romance, it is instead very original . the truth of of it is that this is a great film with a great cast This is a love it or hate it film. a lot of people complain about charachter development and plot but i think there is plenty of charachter development , it just doesnt go the way they expect or want. the plot is also not contrived , it isnt a mystery , an action flick or a comedy or a romance, it is instead very original . the truth of of it is that this is a great film with a great cast which some movie goers will hate because it doesnt funnel you down a familiar and comfortable and contrived plot. Expand
  89. frederikdewilde
    Jul 14, 2008
    9
    TWBB is a magnificent film with strokes of genius. The incredible performance of DDLewis and the tantalizing and unnerving soundtrack of Johnny Greenwood is just amazing. The strokes of genius in the movie can be found in all the choices made, frame by frame, word by word, step by step, silences and the characters eye to eye contacts. Goddard said that cinema is 24f of truth. TWBB is a TWBB is a magnificent film with strokes of genius. The incredible performance of DDLewis and the tantalizing and unnerving soundtrack of Johnny Greenwood is just amazing. The strokes of genius in the movie can be found in all the choices made, frame by frame, word by word, step by step, silences and the characters eye to eye contacts. Goddard said that cinema is 24f of truth. TWBB is a film that questions these 24f from the beginning to the end. I am surely going to see it again and again although i had think that the the film struggles to find closure, but what a great film! Expand
  90. SeanM
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Honestly, this movie was fantastic. Unforunately I get the feeling that some people who went to this movie were expecting more blood perhaps? This movie is somewhat slow, but if you really pay attention you can pick up on the countless parallels between the oil industry and religious society. Great acting, great theme, great film.
  91. GrantC.
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    Fantastic movie. I was worried about whether I liked it or not, but it enthralled me, and I actually saw past what some call a bad ending and saw a great moral lesson. Greed and selfihness lead to misery and despair in the end. The musical scores were fantastic, done by none other than the genius Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead (my favorite musician ever is Greenwood, favorite band is Fantastic movie. I was worried about whether I liked it or not, but it enthralled me, and I actually saw past what some call a bad ending and saw a great moral lesson. Greed and selfihness lead to misery and despair in the end. The musical scores were fantastic, done by none other than the genius Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead (my favorite musician ever is Greenwood, favorite band is Radiohead). People like Jeff B. obviously don't know what the intentins of the scores were. It wasn't supposed to be music, but more a backing to support the escalation of the film's suspense. Expand
  92. JonathanS.
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    I would have to say that this is quite possibly one of the finest films I have ever seen. And to Jimmy M... bravo. I could not have said it better myself.
  93. TheMan
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Undoubtedly the greatest film of 2007, and perhaps one of the greatest films of all time. There Will Be Blood is a damning portrayal of the horrifying consequences of greed, obsession and competition in a time where oil was worth gold dust. Day Lewis captures the true essence and meaning behind the film and conveys it in a superbly astonishing display very few can acheive. Slow burning, Undoubtedly the greatest film of 2007, and perhaps one of the greatest films of all time. There Will Be Blood is a damning portrayal of the horrifying consequences of greed, obsession and competition in a time where oil was worth gold dust. Day Lewis captures the true essence and meaning behind the film and conveys it in a superbly astonishing display very few can acheive. Slow burning, yes. Well worth it, most definetly. Just one of those films you will look back on and underline as the highest calibre of modern motion picture. Expand
  94. DW
    Dec 8, 2009
    4
    I loved this movie. I loved the photography. The character development. The realism. The premise. All for what? For nothing? Do not make a film if you do not know where the plot is going to go. The plot - goes nowhere. There will be blood? There won't be blood - at least no blood that has any meaning. If you expect to see a good man become evil you will not. If you expect to see an I loved this movie. I loved the photography. The character development. The realism. The premise. All for what? For nothing? Do not make a film if you do not know where the plot is going to go. The plot - goes nowhere. There will be blood? There won't be blood - at least no blood that has any meaning. If you expect to see a good man become evil you will not. If you expect to see an evil man be reformed you will not. If you expect to see an evil man get his comeuppance you will not. If you expect people to suffer terribly or prosper wonderfully, you will be mistaken in your estimation. You instead get: Daniel Day Lewis: a cranky, miserable miser... who is... a cranky miserable miser. The only person who really loses the plot in the film is the screenwriter. There is no plot. And this is why this is not a film, but a series of still of beautiful countryside. There is no plot. Expand
  95. Brad
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    You seriously won't be able to speak when this sucker is over. Your jaw will be on the floor.
  96. [Anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2007
    4
    Is there some kind of mass hallucination going on with these critics? This film is not good. The story is told excruciatingly slowly, and D Day Lewis basically reprises his Bill the Butcher role, but gives him the voice of John Huston. The guy playing the religious zealot is in WAY over his head, he's required to age 30 years yet in the last scene he still has adolescent acne and his Is there some kind of mass hallucination going on with these critics? This film is not good. The story is told excruciatingly slowly, and D Day Lewis basically reprises his Bill the Butcher role, but gives him the voice of John Huston. The guy playing the religious zealot is in WAY over his head, he's required to age 30 years yet in the last scene he still has adolescent acne and his voice squeaks as though his testacles are just dropping! All this nonsense about it being a big statement about religion vs money is trying to paste meaning onto a film that was lazily written. Unfortunately, Day Lewis is starting to have shark eyes which look dead and malevolent all the time, generating not much sympathy or interest within this viewer. Expand
  97. MovieGoer
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    A paramount masterpiece. And I'm not even a fan of P.T. Anderson. Thought "Magnolia" was masturbatory poppycock, an attempt at art that was a 3-hour embarrassment. Clearly, P.T. has matured. D.D. Lewis gives a staggering performance that will go down in cinematic history. This is one of the great allegorical films about the birth of the industrial revolution in this nation: the A paramount masterpiece. And I'm not even a fan of P.T. Anderson. Thought "Magnolia" was masturbatory poppycock, an attempt at art that was a 3-hour embarrassment. Clearly, P.T. has matured. D.D. Lewis gives a staggering performance that will go down in cinematic history. This is one of the great allegorical films about the birth of the industrial revolution in this nation: the greed, the lying, the over-ambition of Manifest Destiny, the raping of our land, all embodied in one man. A ruthlessly coldhearted individual. You will not see another film like this in ten years because studios don't greenlight these kinds of movies. Ever. We almost have to go back to Apocalypse Now for something so uncompromisingly bleak. Expand
  98. JacobB.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great movie, period. I can see that what I suspect is one person has posted multiiple 0 reviews. Don't know why but it is clearly not becuase of the merits of the movie. The way the three reviews are written and posted together is obvious. I doubt whoever it is even saw the movie.
  99. JeffD.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Daniel Day Lewis is ridiculously good in this movie, which is completely of our time and resonates directly on the money-obsessed elite who currently have power in our country. I know it sounds almost ridiculous to say, but the movie this reminded me most of was 'Citizen Kane.' That might be opening night hyperbole, but this is by far the most politically and spiritually Daniel Day Lewis is ridiculously good in this movie, which is completely of our time and resonates directly on the money-obsessed elite who currently have power in our country. I know it sounds almost ridiculous to say, but the movie this reminded me most of was 'Citizen Kane.' That might be opening night hyperbole, but this is by far the most politically and spiritually meaningful film I've seen in a long time. Expand
  100. ThomA.
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    If you haven't seen the movie, don't rate it. What is wrong with you? This is a great film about some very disquieting aspects of the human condition. Ties with No country for my best of 07 pick.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There Will Be Blood is ferocious, and it will be championed and attacked with an equal ferocity. When the dust settles, we may look back on it as some kind of obsessed classic.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    There Will Be Blood is, in fact, not a historical saga; rather, it's an absurdist, blackly comic horror film with a very idiosyncratic satanic figure at its core.
  3. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    100
    Daniel Day-Lewis stuns in Paul Thomas Anderson's saga of a soul-dead oil man.