Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1316 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,026
Mixed:
119
Negative:
171
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
mweichengNov 9, 2016
Paul Thomas Anderson is a cinematic genius with an amazing resume that includes masterpieces such as The Master and Magnolia. However, There Will Be Blood is unmistakably his magnum opus. The film is gripping and haunting with anPaul Thomas Anderson is a cinematic genius with an amazing resume that includes masterpieces such as The Master and Magnolia. However, There Will Be Blood is unmistakably his magnum opus. The film is gripping and haunting with an out-of-the-world performance by Daniel Day Lewis combined powerful character depth and conflict and bolstered by what I consider the best film soundtrack of all time (composed by Radiohead's very own Jonny Greenwood). The memorable scenes (milkshake scene anyone?) and beautiful cinematography will certainly stand the test of time to put this at the top of film history with other classic masterpieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
marceliniJan 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tenía muchas expectativas por la puntuación, pero salí defraudado completamente. Cuando había transcurrido una hra y 15 minutos, decidi apagar el televisor. En una sola palabra ABURRIDO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
cocofortuneOct 8, 2015
i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Whyi hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far as i could tell, and i don't understand how anyone likes it. i feel complete disdain and hate for this movie. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
deadanothinkJul 25, 2014
I will resume this movie in three words: **** ING ****
Daniel Day Lewis is not better actor than Adam Sandler or Paul Dano, and the oscar goes for him?
This society is simply awful.
1 of 26 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
3
YoursTrulyNov 11, 2012
The acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes andThe acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes and tumbleweeds. Long winded, dry and not an inkling of refuge in sight. If only they would have whittled it down to a neat and simple package, this could have been great. But as it stands, snooze fest. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 31, 2012
The only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to beThe only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to be up for best picture. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
No matter how superb that acting was and the overall quality of the film.....it is wayyyyyyyyyy too long and pointless. It was the farthest thing from a gripping movie. There were some very good scenes and music, but come on....so boring.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
1
BengalsfanAZMar 13, 2012
I still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moralI still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moral dilemma thing just escapes me. I mean, in real life who the hell acts like these people do? The only positive things I got from this movie were the visuals and the acting of Daniel Day-Lewis. Other than that, avoid this movie unless you want to be bored to tears and pissed off at the ending. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
0
Prowler477Jun 22, 2011
Absolutely awful movie! I saw this movie because there was nothing else on and to say I didn't like it is an understatement. Truthfully the entire movie is uninteresting, boring and supremely stupid.
1 of 25 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
0
Russian55May 16, 2011
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as depicted or the Churchmen as depicted.

So, people can be bad and corrupt? We needed over 2.5 HOURS of wasted film for this?

The performances were excellent, the cinematography was outstanding, but there was simply no real plot and nothing to care about in this tedious film.

It is a pity I cannot score it lower than 0.
Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
2
ALangdonJan 9, 2011
This is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anythingThis is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anything interesting about this film. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
gm101Oct 4, 2010
I couldn't think of a more boring movie. Good acting? Looks more like imitating Sean Connery's accent. I hated this movie so much I would actually use the poster as toilet paper!
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
1
philaJan 5, 2010
I'm a movie buff and soon to be director. this movie was worthless. paul thomas anderson somehow got into the legion of "can do no wrong" with critics and gets a pass on all his movies. ever see one of his interviews? he cant answerI'm a movie buff and soon to be director. this movie was worthless. paul thomas anderson somehow got into the legion of "can do no wrong" with critics and gets a pass on all his movies. ever see one of his interviews? he cant answer 'yes or no' questions. does he have a rich daddy in politics or news media or something that gets him a free pass? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MikeSJan 5, 2010
Started off boring and progressively got worse.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
AlexROct 22, 2009
I started whittling in the middle of this film to stave off boredom. Yeah. It starts off well and lays a solid foundation for what could be a captivating plot. Then functionally nothing happens for like two whole hours. No discernible plot, I started whittling in the middle of this film to stave off boredom. Yeah. It starts off well and lays a solid foundation for what could be a captivating plot. Then functionally nothing happens for like two whole hours. No discernible plot, with only Day-Lewis' intense portrayal to carry the film. His performance is actually kind of squandered since they could have given him more interesting dialogue or action. But, no. Just two hours of nothing. Then the ending comes out of nowhere, spews one memorable catchphrase, and finishes on a completely ridiculous note. I understand that this is art, and the cinematography is nice, but why can't art be entertaining? Don't let this film trick you into thinking that it makes a profound statement about society or the human condition or whatever just because DDL plays a brooding, mean guy and it's really sparse and atmospheric. Without him, this movie has nothing and would easily be seen as such. There Will Be Blood is all set-up. All the pieces are in place for this to be a good film, they just forgot to write the plot. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful
3
CuthrinK.Aug 29, 2009
Quite overrated but the looks of it. Excellent acting by most of the actors, but the story is like an acid-time-travel trip to the olden times.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
RobertMAug 25, 2009
I'm still trying to figure out what was so great about this movie!! The first fifteen minutes were addicting since it had no words. I found that compelling, but the movie failed to make me care about an ambitious, cold hearted oil I'm still trying to figure out what was so great about this movie!! The first fifteen minutes were addicting since it had no words. I found that compelling, but the movie failed to make me care about an ambitious, cold hearted oil tycoon! I was upset that he didn't die or get killed! This was 3 hours of a snorefest! Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
0
WadMAug 23, 2009
This movie Blows!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful
2
KevinB.May 2, 2009
Glad I waited to see this on dvd. Even so, I was barely able to sit through it. I guess I kept hoping it would get better, considering the critics rave reviews. The characters seemed shallow , and the plot too. A sad story about a sorry sad Glad I waited to see this on dvd. Even so, I was barely able to sit through it. I guess I kept hoping it would get better, considering the critics rave reviews. The characters seemed shallow , and the plot too. A sad story about a sorry sad man. I did enjoy seeing the history of the early oil extraction techniques. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
khcinOhioApr 3, 2009
This is a movie that doesn't know what it is doing. The main character is a "soul-dead," grasping, ruthless man. OK. We know that before the movie starts. After this nothing happens. This is a truly awful movie and an utter waste of the This is a movie that doesn't know what it is doing. The main character is a "soul-dead," grasping, ruthless man. OK. We know that before the movie starts. After this nothing happens. This is a truly awful movie and an utter waste of the leading actor's obvious talents. Why are the critics awed? Stay away! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
BBMar 24, 2009
This is an awful movie. Just awful. Who do I see about getting the three hours back. I had to apologize to my DVR for wasting it's time. I like epic pictures. I like big vistas and stirring musical backgrounds but this isn't epic. This is an awful movie. Just awful. Who do I see about getting the three hours back. I had to apologize to my DVR for wasting it's time. I like epic pictures. I like big vistas and stirring musical backgrounds but this isn't epic. It is trying to be epic. It is trying to be to much. It fails. Based on the ratings I watched through to the end to see if it would come together in the end; it didn't. Did I say awful enough yet? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DougL.Feb 24, 2009
Just because a movie is "unlike any other" doesn't make it good. Is it too much to ask for a film to be inventive, thought-provoking, insightful, etc., while still entertaining its audience? I feel like I was being bludgeoned to death Just because a movie is "unlike any other" doesn't make it good. Is it too much to ask for a film to be inventive, thought-provoking, insightful, etc., while still entertaining its audience? I feel like I was being bludgeoned to death (or at least, to sleep) with the snail's pace of this film. To quote the late, great George Carlin, "It's like watching flies f***!!". I have yet to hear a convincing explanation from anyone as to why they liked this movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
RS.Jan 2, 2009
From the very first minute, this film grabs you by the throat and makes you want to puke. It may be a bold and strange parable in the Huston and Welles traditions about what's right and wrong with America, but who wants to watch such a From the very first minute, this film grabs you by the throat and makes you want to puke. It may be a bold and strange parable in the Huston and Welles traditions about what's right and wrong with America, but who wants to watch such a boring movie that portrays exactly what everyone already knows! This film is a total waste of time. On a craft and technical level, the film is low quality. The camera moves are similar to what you would expect of your own vacation video shoots. There is nothing complex or impressive. The visuals are matched by Jonny Greenwood's musical score which sweeps, surges and sux just about as bad as the scenes. It matches the film's dull mood and meaningsless drama perfectly! Definately a must not see!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RexS.Jan 2, 2009
This is truely one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. I suffered through every minute expecting something, anything to happen and got nothing. It is predictable from beginning to end. I didn't appreciate the script, the This is truely one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. I suffered through every minute expecting something, anything to happen and got nothing. It is predictable from beginning to end. I didn't appreciate the script, the characters, their motives, the cinematography or anything. The film critics, who are so sophisticated may find something to actually appreciate about the film, but then they also find give numberous awards to all those stupid movies that nobody has ever heard of. I encourage everyone to not waste their time on this film. It was truely a let down!!!!!!!! Oh yea-the music suks too!!!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
schoonschoonNov 25, 2008
Dull, confusing. I like intelligent/slow movies - Brokeback, Remains of the Day, Apocalypse Now etc, but this had nothing. Love Radiohead but the score was awful too, it seemed Greenwood thought "how irrelevant can I make the score". Hammy Dull, confusing. I like intelligent/slow movies - Brokeback, Remains of the Day, Apocalypse Now etc, but this had nothing. Love Radiohead but the score was awful too, it seemed Greenwood thought "how irrelevant can I make the score". Hammy acting. Magnolia was crap too. And the first PTA film. Loved Boogie Nights. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaB.Aug 25, 2008
I honestly believe this was one of the worst movies i have ever seen! Thought it was a joke when I saw it actually on the list.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
juggawuggaAug 24, 2008
god jesus buttfucking christ this is a piece of shit, ass-licking movie. absolutely nothing new or insightful presented. yep, some doucebag oil man sends off his "son" after he goes deaf at his own cause and is of no more use to him. andgod jesus buttfucking christ this is a piece of shit, ass-licking movie. absolutely nothing new or insightful presented. yep, some doucebag oil man sends off his "son" after he goes deaf at his own cause and is of no more use to him. and then he kills a few more people along the way, blah blah blah, guys with mustaches are bad because they have bowling alleys in their houses. that's it, fudgepackers. the same people who rated this movie highly also like shakespeare and opera. if that's not you, don't listen to them or you'll be just as pissed as i am right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TSDAug 11, 2008
I spent hours waiting for it to get good, and then the credits rolled. No redeeming features whatsoever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RichJul 17, 2008
No am0ount of stellar acting can hide from the audience that this movie, indeed, has no point. Daniel Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect for this role, if only he had some meaningful dialog. This movie reminded me very much of 2001: A Space No am0ount of stellar acting can hide from the audience that this movie, indeed, has no point. Daniel Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect for this role, if only he had some meaningful dialog. This movie reminded me very much of 2001: A Space Odyssey in that it is very long, has some good music, and is boring to the point of nausea. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobJul 11, 2008
This is one of the most pointless movies ever made. All you guys awarding 10/10 are deluded, or maybe it's just the old thing of you must never say that you don't understand for fear of looking stupid. They sure pulled the wool This is one of the most pointless movies ever made. All you guys awarding 10/10 are deluded, or maybe it's just the old thing of you must never say that you don't understand for fear of looking stupid. They sure pulled the wool over your eyes on this one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful