Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1367 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,077
Mixed:
121
Negative:
169
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
bohemiangentAug 7, 2017
From the long cinematic shots to the remarkable acting performances, this a masterpiece of movie (my favourite). It depicts greed vs piety and so many other rich themes. Just splendid moviemaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixJul 17, 2017
Paul Thomas Anderson's 'There Will Be Blood' deservingly won 2 Oscars and was nominated for 6 more. Daniel Day-Lewis was given an entire year to prepare for the role of Daniel Plainview and it shows. Even more incredible is the fact thatPaul Thomas Anderson's 'There Will Be Blood' deservingly won 2 Oscars and was nominated for 6 more. Daniel Day-Lewis was given an entire year to prepare for the role of Daniel Plainview and it shows. Even more incredible is the fact that Paul Dano was given just 4 days (!) to prepare for his breakout role as Eli Sunday after he was originally cast to just play the smaller part of Paul Sunday (the script was quickly re-written to make the brothers twins so that Dano could pull double duty). While the Oscar for Day-Lewis' performance is a no-brainer, the other--for cinematography--is actually quite debatable. Sure, the Texas locations and landscapes were quite remarkable, but there were also plenty of times when the images on the screen were unnecessarily dark. I would've preferred if the film won the Oscar for best sound editing (for which it was indeed nominated) as the use of sound--including distinct moments of silence--heightened the overall viewing experience to an even greater degree. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MantisJan 10, 2017
Daniel Day-Lewis portrays a sly oil seeker in this rather tragic story. The movie is slow paced with attention to the few characters it has, which benefit from that and results in great conversations and beautiful shots. Interesting movie toDaniel Day-Lewis portrays a sly oil seeker in this rather tragic story. The movie is slow paced with attention to the few characters it has, which benefit from that and results in great conversations and beautiful shots. Interesting movie to say the least! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cine1Dec 29, 2016
A slow burn film about American capitalism and its ability to corrupt and isolate. Daniel Day Lewis towers through the entire film, and his ability to slowly wind his way towards explosive rage and violence is terrifying and fascinating atA slow burn film about American capitalism and its ability to corrupt and isolate. Daniel Day Lewis towers through the entire film, and his ability to slowly wind his way towards explosive rage and violence is terrifying and fascinating at the same time. Paul Thomas Anderson has recreated a period of American history that leaps off the screen and pulses with the ambition, violence, and progress of that time. I highly recommend this one to mature and intellectual audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JackricherSep 17, 2016
BEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XXBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX CenturyBEST MOVIE OF XX Century Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Artist18Jul 3, 2016
This movie was amazing and i loved it.It has an incredible perfomance by Daniel-Day Lewis and incredible directing too.This movie shows us the madness and the sadness of a normal businessman and his relastionship with his son with anThis movie was amazing and i loved it.It has an incredible perfomance by Daniel-Day Lewis and incredible directing too.This movie shows us the madness and the sadness of a normal businessman and his relastionship with his son with an excellent way.I like this movie but it is a little boring.Great movie I recomend it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScraperJun 28, 2016
There Will Be Blood's crescendo lies with this character, Daniel Plainview, and the rotting of his soul. At first, I was looking to his success or failure or that of the oil industry to deliver a climax/resolution. Not so. The cinematography,There Will Be Blood's crescendo lies with this character, Daniel Plainview, and the rotting of his soul. At first, I was looking to his success or failure or that of the oil industry to deliver a climax/resolution. Not so. The cinematography, wonderful acting, and dead-on feel of the period allow the perfect breeding ground for all these characters to writhe in their awful ways. Entertaining as hell to watch if you can stand the fact that Forrest and Jenny don't get back together and have a lovely son. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marlinspikeMay 24, 2016
A veritable opus. If an still argued against the possibility of cinema as art, I would show them this movie. There isn't much of a spire to the plot (save for the end which you SHOUDN'T SPOIL) but that's because the film tells the story wayA veritable opus. If an still argued against the possibility of cinema as art, I would show them this movie. There isn't much of a spire to the plot (save for the end which you SHOUDN'T SPOIL) but that's because the film tells the story way it wants to. Daniel Plainview is a man that starts out as an indifferent silver prospector and ends as a self serving sociopath. In the the end, for this movie at least, it doesn't really matter if the story took us around d the world and on a detour because it's not about the spectacle, it's about daniel. His progression as a character essentially IS the plot, and second only to a Clockwork Orange is probably the greatest progression, if not film entirely, in history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
micahezzesApr 13, 2016
Truly Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece. Everything about this movie is perfect: its scoring, its acting, and its thematic implications that shake up the mainstream view of America's favorite pastime: capitalism. The dichotomy between thisTruly Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece. Everything about this movie is perfect: its scoring, its acting, and its thematic implications that shake up the mainstream view of America's favorite pastime: capitalism. The dichotomy between this unfettered capitalism against the established order is brilliantly portrayed through Daniel Day-Lewis's terrifying, dehumanizing Daniel Plainview and Paul Dano's scrawny, opportunistic preacher Eli. The landscapes are beautiful in their desolation, and the landscape reflects the mood and theme wonderfully. Truly nothing bad I could say about this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 5, 2016
"Oh yes, there will be blood."

And so, there is only one true movie that will have blood and that's There Will Be Blood. Sorry, Saw II, but that tagline belongs in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aduneyeDec 29, 2015
It is challenging and pretty slow-paced, requiring a lot of thinking during and after. I would not recommend it to just anyone, because it is a complicated film and the main character is not at all likable. Regardless, it is a very beautifulIt is challenging and pretty slow-paced, requiring a lot of thinking during and after. I would not recommend it to just anyone, because it is a complicated film and the main character is not at all likable. Regardless, it is a very beautiful film, with incredible scenery, an amazing score, and fantastic performances. The plot is simple, but it feels very original, dealing with themes of greed, family, hatred, and faith. I would certainly call it a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
everlastallSep 26, 2015
Eerie, unsettling, mad and beautiful. Daniel Day Lewis performs as a delightful and scary man losing everything, including his sanity, in his path toward success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 18, 2015
A compelling and fascinating character study and a powerful look into a man's descent into madness and greed. Paul Thomas Anderson is a brilliant filmmaker, and I cannot wait to see what films he has in store for the future!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talhalafciJun 20, 2015
Simply the best film of the 21th century. From it's incredible cinematography to extraordinary performances, it's great on every level.A modern masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123May 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Daniel Day Lewis launches into a highscore grade A+ performance as an ambitious oil man whose life crumbles with insanity and madness by his inner obsession with greed, as he tries to snag a reservoir of oil from a religious zealot family and their sanctimonious pastor of a son,

a film with a chilling performance by the powerful critically acclaimed actor who knows how to keep his acting list clean and a well done philosophical tale from Paul Thomas Anderson, a unforgettable oscar-winning classic
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaesaroctopusMay 2, 2015
This film is the Citizen Kane of the 2000s. An epic story of a man consumed by greed and desire for power, There Will Be Blood is artistic and magnificent in every aspect of its storytelling and presentation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heathermApr 12, 2015
This sprawling Western epic showed the compelling trajectory of a man who experienced incredibly professional success, but whose personal life was difficult. It was interesting to watch his character adapt to all his successes, but remainThis sprawling Western epic showed the compelling trajectory of a man who experienced incredibly professional success, but whose personal life was difficult. It was interesting to watch his character adapt to all his successes, but remain completely unable to compromise in the face of difficulties and conflicts. It was also a visually stunning movie, as the landscape of the oil fields provided a dramatic backdrop for the entire film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Matsoni93Jan 23, 2015
Not heavy on special effects, but rather focuses on strong acting, atmosphere and stylish cinematography. Daniel Day-Lewis's performance is absolutely amazing, and the movie delivers scene after scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
As an epic, there will be blood is dripping with innovative ideas about the clash between religion and capitalism and the fine line that separates idealism from greed.
But as a character study, it's flawed. In fact there will be blood just
As an epic, there will be blood is dripping with innovative ideas about the clash between religion and capitalism and the fine line that separates idealism from greed.
But as a character study, it's flawed. In fact there will be blood just doesn't work as a character study. We learn so much about who Daniel Plainview is but virtually nothing about why. From his initial hatred of humanity to his final descent into loner hell, we’re never given an understanding as to what’s behind it all. Early in the film, he seems like a rapacious capitalist. Then we begin to see him as more malicious and cruel. Then we come to see him as a raving lunatic. He works hard for reasons that are never explained- seemingly uninterested in pleasing God through his diligence or even himself for that matter. And the more I think about it, the more I begin to realise how severe this problem is. It doesn't just limit the character's impact, it greatly undermines Plainview's relationship with his son. He seems to love the boy, at times, a bit. Yet he also exploits the boy for his own purposes. He seems to feel guilty when being a rotten father, but is uncomfortable with the consequences of affectionate feelings. It just doesn't add up. I guess what I'm saying is we never get to see the humanity in Daniel Plainview or lack of humanity in him.
But I give it 7/10 because when the film works it really works.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moslegend34Dec 3, 2014
A superb film. Day-Lewis commands the screen with superb facial expressions and well versed dialogue. Greenwood's soundtrack; particularly 'The Prospectors' is majestic. Thomas Andersen does a superb job exploiting the gorgeous scenery asA superb film. Day-Lewis commands the screen with superb facial expressions and well versed dialogue. Greenwood's soundtrack; particularly 'The Prospectors' is majestic. Thomas Andersen does a superb job exploiting the gorgeous scenery as well as the zoom in shot of the well, way beyond his years of experience. If I had to be hypercritical, I would suggest to things:
-Despite the original beginning with no dialogue, the movie was a little slow
-The lack of a strong female character (more to do with the story maybe?)
Overall, an excellent movie, a classic if not quite a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
katharynmaryNov 9, 2014
After all the hoopla, I found the movie disappointing. It's about ambition, manipulation, power, greed, and the different forms they take in capitalism and religion. One character is a man so full of self loathing he tries to stamp out anyAfter all the hoopla, I found the movie disappointing. It's about ambition, manipulation, power, greed, and the different forms they take in capitalism and religion. One character is a man so full of self loathing he tries to stamp out any feeling of humanity he has ever had. The other is just as bad, but with hypocrisy added to the mix. Both very unpleasant, but sadly we've seen them too many times before. Thank goodness we were spared a redemptive ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Raven25Sep 20, 2014
Do not watch this movie for the plot. Watch it for Daniel Day Lewis and his character. The character's interaction with the world is the plot, and it is amazing. True masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
triedandtrustedSep 19, 2014
Yes ...absolutely one of the best films of that year. Superb acting, taut script and all round class. Job well done! DDL and PTA have crafted an epic tale of greed and ambition
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Viper8787Sep 10, 2014
I can see how many people find this movie boring but I found it really great, yes it does drag on at a lot of parts but it is just a fantastic movie. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing in this movie and deserved the best actor award at the Oscars.I can see how many people find this movie boring but I found it really great, yes it does drag on at a lot of parts but it is just a fantastic movie. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing in this movie and deserved the best actor award at the Oscars. The visuals are also very good as the scenery in this movie is cool. Also some great cinematography kept me into this film the whole time. Good supporting acting and a very good all around movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaeIJul 7, 2014
Paul Thomas Anderson created a masterpiece when he wrote and directed "There Will Be Blood" but, unfortunately for him, another masterpiece (ever-so-slightly closer to perfection) edged the Academy Award for Best Picture in 2007. However, inPaul Thomas Anderson created a masterpiece when he wrote and directed "There Will Be Blood" but, unfortunately for him, another masterpiece (ever-so-slightly closer to perfection) edged the Academy Award for Best Picture in 2007. However, in terms of character study this film is up there with Taxi Driver and Citizen Kane and, when this is combined with the indomitable performance of Daniel Day-Lewis, "There Will Be Blood" is in a league of its own. Some may find this film long, slow, or even boring but there is no doubt that the fascinating message that PT Anderson conveys so successfully will still stay with you - memorable, horrifying and enlightening. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaJun 15, 2014
Many critics called it "a masterpiece" and "One of the best film of decade", then I really agree about that. You can't easily find many film like "There Will Be Blood", very rare, an epic drama film. With a story about family, oil, religionMany critics called it "a masterpiece" and "One of the best film of decade", then I really agree about that. You can't easily find many film like "There Will Be Blood", very rare, an epic drama film. With a story about family, oil, religion and greed, this film easily become one of the richest film ever made. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is outstanding. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawMay 1, 2014
Now to my mind, it's an abomination to consider that any man, woman or child in this magnificent country of ours should have to look upon (this particular) loaf of bread as (anything but) a luxury

I have drank this milkshake and I approve.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysMar 1, 2014
The best part about There Will Be Blood is the fact that Day-Lewis can give his character depth in the first ten minutes without saying a word. This shows what an actor he is. The rest of the movie falls in place from there, and is one hellThe best part about There Will Be Blood is the fact that Day-Lewis can give his character depth in the first ten minutes without saying a word. This shows what an actor he is. The rest of the movie falls in place from there, and is one hell of an experience. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
claudiuanophelFeb 13, 2014
A great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He isA great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He is feeling surrounded only by enemies, only by competitors. Anderson proves once more that this world we are living in is a jungle, where the main goal is to succeed no matter what are the consequences. The last scene summarizes the grotesque, making Daniel Plainview one of the best icons of the fallen man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJan 25, 2014
Just fantastic. This was my first film that I've seen directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and it did not disappoint in the least. The film is slow, but the acting from Daniel Day-Lewis, Paul Dano and cast, is just so engrossing that you cannotJust fantastic. This was my first film that I've seen directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and it did not disappoint in the least. The film is slow, but the acting from Daniel Day-Lewis, Paul Dano and cast, is just so engrossing that you cannot look away. The sets were brilliant and looked extremely realistic and fit in perfectly with the times they were depicting. Those who claim there is no story are missing the bigger picture. Sure, there is no direct story, but what we are seeing is so much bigger than that. The interaction of every character and the constant "peeling back of the onion" that is Daniel Plainview and how evil he truly is make up for any story people may be searching for. In fact, I dare say that is the story; the revealing of how far a man will go to make money and how cutthroat you had to be to make it in the the time period depicted. Fantastic film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews