Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1380 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,089
Mixed:
121
Negative:
170
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JeffBJun 17, 2008
This perfectly shows how stupid and manipulable today's society has become. Make a film that basically has no point other than having no point, mix it with the most annoying music - it's actually not worth calling it music - that This perfectly shows how stupid and manipulable today's society has become. Make a film that basically has no point other than having no point, mix it with the most annoying music - it's actually not worth calling it music - that humanity has ever had the displeasure to hear and last but not least unnecessarily protract the whole act AND voilà, critics will call you a genius! The audience will follow the critics because it is afraid of being called dumb if they dislike the film and so we have one giant ludicrous farce. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RichJul 17, 2008
No am0ount of stellar acting can hide from the audience that this movie, indeed, has no point. Daniel Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect for this role, if only he had some meaningful dialog. This movie reminded me very much of 2001: A Space No am0ount of stellar acting can hide from the audience that this movie, indeed, has no point. Daniel Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect for this role, if only he had some meaningful dialog. This movie reminded me very much of 2001: A Space Odyssey in that it is very long, has some good music, and is boring to the point of nausea. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TSDAug 11, 2008
I spent hours waiting for it to get good, and then the credits rolled. No redeeming features whatsoever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
juggawuggaAug 24, 2008
god jesus buttfucking christ this is a piece of shit, ass-licking movie. absolutely nothing new or insightful presented. yep, some doucebag oil man sends off his "son" after he goes deaf at his own cause and is of no more use to him. andgod jesus buttfucking christ this is a piece of shit, ass-licking movie. absolutely nothing new or insightful presented. yep, some doucebag oil man sends off his "son" after he goes deaf at his own cause and is of no more use to him. and then he kills a few more people along the way, blah blah blah, guys with mustaches are bad because they have bowling alleys in their houses. that's it, fudgepackers. the same people who rated this movie highly also like shakespeare and opera. if that's not you, don't listen to them or you'll be just as pissed as i am right now. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WadMAug 23, 2009
This movie Blows!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful
3
CuthrinK.Aug 29, 2009
Quite overrated but the looks of it. Excellent acting by most of the actors, but the story is like an acid-time-travel trip to the olden times.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
HaroldM.Dec 23, 2007
there Will Be Blood is mouth aching, in a bad way, as the audience is having a tough time enjoying this, all it does is annoy, frustrate, bore, and ware out on ideas, and makes you instantly want to return home, where life truly is.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CeliaC.Dec 23, 2007
My least favourite movie since Epic movie this year, Epic movie is much worse, but this is still pathetic, it feals like a low-budget, snoozing, lazy, and dull atmosphere. i cannot belive how much these critics are enjoying this!Because this My least favourite movie since Epic movie this year, Epic movie is much worse, but this is still pathetic, it feals like a low-budget, snoozing, lazy, and dull atmosphere. i cannot belive how much these critics are enjoying this!Because this REALLy SUCKS!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SunshinefanChristensonDec 23, 2007
Very weak at heart, and cosmetically stupid and dumb. The storyline is awkward and really really really dull, how is it possible to make a good movie out of this kind of idea?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EricS.Dec 29, 2007
Way too long - a good 1930s director would have done a better, stronger job with the story in 90 minutes, or less. The music was awful - intrusive and used far too much. At times it was almost laughable. Daniel Day Lewis was good, sort of, Way too long - a good 1930s director would have done a better, stronger job with the story in 90 minutes, or less. The music was awful - intrusive and used far too much. At times it was almost laughable. Daniel Day Lewis was good, sort of, but frankly, a nasty drunk isn't all that tough a role. There was far too much reliance on tight closeups of people's faces to try and wring emotion out of the audience - a cheap trick that was overused to the point of not working. Boring! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
gm101Oct 4, 2010
I couldn't think of a more boring movie. Good acting? Looks more like imitating Sean Connery's accent. I hated this movie so much I would actually use the poster as toilet paper!
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
2
ALangdonJan 9, 2011
This is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anythingThis is literally a terrible film. I love Daniel Day Lewis but NOT in this film, there is just nothing going on with the acting. A big yawn fest. A couple of good one liners so the script isn't awful but there is just not anything interesting about this film. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
Russian55May 16, 2011
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as
Never before have I seen such a well made film that was so TERRIBLE.

I still have no idea why this film gets good ratings. I cannot even discern a plot, other than a story of how corrupt people can become, be they the Businessmen as depicted or the Churchmen as depicted.

So, people can be bad and corrupt? We needed over 2.5 HOURS of wasted film for this?

The performances were excellent, the cinematography was outstanding, but there was simply no real plot and nothing to care about in this tedious film.

It is a pity I cannot score it lower than 0.
Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
0
Prowler477Jun 22, 2011
Absolutely awful movie! I saw this movie because there was nothing else on and to say I didn't like it is an understatement. Truthfully the entire movie is uninteresting, boring and supremely stupid.
1 of 25 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
1
BengalsfanAZMar 13, 2012
I still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moralI still am baffled at how anyone thinks this is a good movie. I have watched it twice now and both times I was so bored and confused as to what the meaning of this turd was, I had to fight to stay awake. I get the plot, but the whole moral dilemma thing just escapes me. I mean, in real life who the hell acts like these people do? The only positive things I got from this movie were the visuals and the acting of Daniel Day-Lewis. Other than that, avoid this movie unless you want to be bored to tears and pissed off at the ending. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 31, 2012
The only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to beThe only reason this movie gets a 2 is because of its acting other than that zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. I almost cried because i was so bored. I rather watch grass grow in my backyard. What a disgrace this movie is and it doesn't deserve to be up for best picture. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
No matter how superb that acting was and the overall quality of the film.....it is wayyyyyyyyyy too long and pointless. It was the farthest thing from a gripping movie. There were some very good scenes and music, but come on....so boring.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
YoursTrulyNov 11, 2012
The acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes andThe acting is superb and Daniel-Day Lewis is captivating as always. But I had to drag myself through this one. It has it's moments, but overall There Will Be Blood is a like a never ending desert highway riddled with pot holes and tumbleweeds. Long winded, dry and not an inkling of refuge in sight. If only they would have whittled it down to a neat and simple package, this could have been great. But as it stands, snooze fest. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
cocofortuneOct 8, 2015
i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Whyi hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far as i could tell, and i don't understand how anyone likes it. i feel complete disdain and hate for this movie. Expand
0 of 13 users found this helpful013
All this user's reviews
3
marceliniJan 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tenía muchas expectativas por la puntuación, pero salí defraudado completamente. Cuando había transcurrido una hra y 15 minutos, decidi apagar el televisor. En una sola palabra ABURRIDO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mweichengNov 9, 2016
Paul Thomas Anderson is a cinematic genius with an amazing resume that includes masterpieces such as The Master and Magnolia. However, There Will Be Blood is unmistakably his magnum opus. The film is gripping and haunting with anPaul Thomas Anderson is a cinematic genius with an amazing resume that includes masterpieces such as The Master and Magnolia. However, There Will Be Blood is unmistakably his magnum opus. The film is gripping and haunting with an out-of-the-world performance by Daniel Day Lewis combined powerful character depth and conflict and bolstered by what I consider the best film soundtrack of all time (composed by Radiohead's very own Jonny Greenwood). The memorable scenes (milkshake scene anyone?) and beautiful cinematography will certainly stand the test of time to put this at the top of film history with other classic masterpieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews